Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time for a zero refugee policy? - *Read OP for mod warnings and threadbans - updated 11/5/24*

• Registered Users Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭SaoPaulo41

• Registered Users Posts: 7,387 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

You won't. No right to work and a meagre state cash handout was quite effective previously at controlling economic migrants abusing the system. It's only as that control fell that numbers have exploded.

Even if it was ineffective as a control measure, AS should not have the right to work. It undermines the legitimate way to migrate to this country for economic reasons.

• Registered Users Posts: 226 ✭✭Geert von Instetten

If Ireland were a less attractive prospect than the EU Member States that migrants invariably travel through in order to apply for asylum in Ireland, then it would be entirely irrational for an asylum seeker to outlay additional expense in order to apply for asylum in Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 309 ✭✭keithb93

We need to stop giving them money. That is the main draw for them. No money, just food and shelter. We can already see a drop in numbers arriving from Ukraine since supports were cut this year.

The State is entitled to refuse to process an asylum seeker’s claim on the basis that they were previously in a different EU Member State, technically, though, the asylum seeker is entitled to to apply for asylum in any EU Member State. In other words the onus is on the State to refuse to process asylum claims on the basis that the asylum seeker had the opportunity to apply elsewhere. I say this because it is important that people become aware that the State has a right to refuse to process these claims, it is simply failing to exercise it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭Northernlily

Seen that case. Truly disgusting. Some vile unscrupulous unmoral creatures amongst us.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭timmyntc

If the applicant was previously based in a different EU member state, then the country handling their application has the option, under certain conditions, to request that the former country progress with the application instead

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,882 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

No they aren't. On what legal basis do you think they have this right?

The Dublin regulations say no such thing, they are largely about claiming asylum in the first country it was applied for, though even then there are exceptions.

The number of asylum seekers repatriated under the Dublin regulation is relatively small.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭emo72

Government parties are going to be annihilated at the locals. I know from canvassers who are indies. The scale of this will be huge. Wait till you hear the we've listened to the people sceal outta them then.

Article 13

Where it is established, on the basis of proof or circum­ stantial evidence as described in the two lists mentioned in Article 22(3) of this Regulation, including the data referred to in Regulation (EU) No 603/2013, that an applicant has irregularly crossed the border into a Member State by land, sea or air having come from a third country, the Member State thus entered shall be responsible for examining the appli­ cation for international protection. That responsibility shall cease 12 months after the date on which the irregular border crossing took place.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Replace the social welfare carrot with a mouldy old parsnip.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users Posts: 46 Repro212

I read your post this morning and thought it merited more than just the quick thumbs up I had time to give while at work. It is an excellent articulation of where we are at in this country. If you ever have the inclination to take on and shake up the status quo, I'm sure you would not struggle for votes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,592 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

I wonder where the next tent city will pop up?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

Met Ciarán Cuffe (GP) canvassing at a supermarket this afternoon

CC: Hello

Me: You guys are going to crash and burn

CC: Well, we might….an, an, and we might not

They know they're toast

This doesn't help if they come in from the UK and it doesn't help if they have family members in Ireland. One also needs to prove where they came into the EU. Checking all of this requires processing the application. However, some applicants will be referred under the Dublin regulations to other member states - this already happens today.

You can not, however, just wipe your hands of the problem and dump them on a plane to France.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,057 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭tarvis

Seeing the hideous barriers now placed along the canal one wonders what’s this about? The Taoiseach said very definitely today - tents are not allowed on our streets. Surely that should be enough - plant a tent and get moved on. Sealing off a wonderful amenity that is just coming into its own as the sun arrives is overkill. Is it that someone feels they have to be seen to be doing something? Surely it’s better to enforce the law, tent by tent and allow the locals to resume their enjoyment of their locality. Why add to the resentment ?

Use that half an hour to discover that an existing asylum claim is unnecessary to request a Dublin III transfer did you? Yes, there is an exception for unaccompanied minors with existing relatives in the State, a minority of applicants. Otherwise what I wrote is accurate.

• Registered Users Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Fred Cryton

This is what needs to happen:

1. All new arrivals must go to one large detention centre somewhere like the Curragh. In tents. They must go there, they must not be given a choice. Refusal to go there means automatic rejection for application.
    2. Detain them there using the Army - anyone being processed should not be allowed to leave this centre unless on emergency medical grounds.
    3. Speed up the processing by a factor of 20 at least with a COVID style effort of training and hiring hundreds of assessors. This will be far cheaper for the country than the alternative.
    4. Criteria raised for acceptance as refugee - applicant must show proof they face immediate harm if they return where they came from. Simply being from Nigeria for example, would not be enough. Plenty of safe areas in Nigeria.
    5. Anyone arriving without documentation gets immediate refusal by default unless they can prove where they are from some other way. The onus should be on them to prove it beyond reasonable doubt.
    6. Only 1 appeal allowed.
    7. If rejected, immediate deportation on chartered flights. Straight from the detention centre to the airport.
    8. Strong crackdown on the human trafficking aspect - even bringing these men from Belfast down south in a taxi should be criminal offense - any cross border trips they would have to register with Irish government or face prosecution.

Do all this while putting funding and legal restrictions on the NGO's to reduce legal appeals to bare minimum. Any NGO aiding an applicant to get around these rules, providing tents in unauthorized areas or to transport them around will also be brought to court and / or de-funded.

There is an exception for anyone with a relative in the state, either settled or in the process of an application of their own. They do not need to be a minor.

You also need proof of where they crossed the border - this is where the defacto requirement of the previous application comes from. And it doesn't help if they come in from the UK.

Ireland already uses the Dublin regulation where they can.

Simply being from Nigeria for example, would not be enough. Plenty of safe areas in Nigeria.

This is already not enough.

Anyone arriving without documentation gets immediate refusal by default unless they can prove where they are from some other way

Removing documentation is the first thing that happens to actually marginalised and persecuted peoples.

Strong crackdown on the human trafficking aspect - even bringing these men from Belfast down south in a taxi should be criminal offense - any cross border trips they would have to register with Irish government or face prosecution.

A criminal offence for who? For the taxi drivers? so no taxis from Strabane to Lifford anymore cause why take the risk. For the applicants? It undermines the entire point of the original convention.

I am fully aware the system is under strain and pressure at the moment and for the most part does not seem to be working as intended. The "easy solutions" put forth are what are irritating.

If the argument is that the Dublin III regulation is insufficient, I completely agree, Ireland and the EU have to adopt far stricter asylum policies. It remains the case that the State uses Dublin III minimally and that the ‘legal basis’ for my comment is contained within Dublin III.

A pure reading of EU regulations and directives is never sufficient for making statements about how things work in practice. Proving where undocumented asylum seekers entered the EU is clearly incredibly difficult - where they can do so they make use of the Dublin Regulation.

Your statement came across like they weren't using it cause they didn't feel like it. They do not have a right to unilaterally just not process applications cause they have a feeling the person came from another EU state. Even knowing they came from e.g. France, is insufficient if they do not know where the person entered the EU as France will not accept them back.

Also, in general my argument would be that we should fund the system to a sufficient level to process applications as quickly as possible.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭dmakc

Whatever became of the hotel boats idea?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭nachouser

Aviva would be grand for them. Give them a Gore-tex sleeping bag, they can wash themselves from a hand basin in the jacks. On-site catering already in place. Lock all the entrances. Job done.

• Registered Users Posts: 455 ✭✭DaithiMa

The latest figures are in. Now 30k in direct provision, up 10k on March last year. 600+ arriving per week now, over 80 a day.

There's no need to worry though, Roderic has things under control. His department has pledged to deliver 14,000 state owned beds by 2028.

So, in 4 years time there'll be 14k state beds. If similar numbers keep coming up until then there'll just be the 120k that have arrived (600 per week x 52 x 4 years). The sums aren't quite adding up, are they.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

I shared some research in the other thread showing the factors by which IPAs chose a European country.

First up is friends and family, next comes GDP and employment rates.

They found supports played a role but not nearly so much as the other factors.

Here's that research, looking at it again and it seems faster processing times are also a significant factor.

https://www.economicsobservatory.com/asylum-seekers-in-europe-where-do-people-go-and-why

I'm not so sure the Danish punishment camps and imprisoning children would go down well with the Irish public, given our history of institutional abuse.

I'd think we're far more economically dependent on our position within the EU to not to be seen to play our part, or to push people elsewhere.

Besides if every country in the EU goes that route it's quite likely the effect will be nullified. Deterrence hasn't worked elsewhere.