Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eurovision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,862 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Now we have Loreen strapped to a chair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,428 ✭✭✭SouthWesterly

She was weird

And another recap in reverse 🤕

• Registered Users Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭ruth...less

I don't know who Loreen is …but it wasn't about shock tactics back then…it was about being musically good !!

I don't follow it now tbh...they changed the voting years ago and it wasn't an equal playing ground so I stopped watching then...I don't know how the voting is determined now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭hamburgham

Yes,remember watching it on my own and was blown away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,051 ✭✭✭✭anewme

there’s a long thread already on Eurovision

In after hours on the night of the Eurovision?

Just goes to show how it's not a big thing anymore tbf

And now...the moment we've all been waiting for...Dana...the little girl from Ireland on whom all are hopes are pinned …what can I say about Dana that you don't know already...so let's just watch the film....😅😁😁

Swiss building up a hefty lead anyway…

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,634 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

So can I get something at least half right…I'm in a bar here in Crete with half Cretans and half mixed Europeans and we're asking the same question…did an adult bloke dressed as a 12 year old girl just win the Eurovision?

Not far off. Heard one or two comparisons to Ballet tutus.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,634 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

I thought he was a Greek soldier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

I just noticed on YouTube that Bambie did a cover of Zombie. It already has 147k views. I think she has raised her profile so much that she will be very successful in years to come.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,217 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Seeing as the other Eurovision thread is closed, I'll throw this in here. People aren't happy and want the EBU disbanded / totally reformed

Éirevision Podcast 🇮🇪

@EirevisionPod

🚨 The EBU has released a statement to Irish media regarding the behavior of “delegations” during Eurovision 2024:

“We regret that some delegations at the Eurovision Song Contest in Malmö didn’t respect the spirit of the rules and the competition both onsite and during their broadcasts. We spoke to a number of delegations during the event regarding various issues that were brought to our attention.

The EBU’s governing bodies will, together with the heads of delegations, review the events surrounding the ESC in Malmö to move forward in a positive way and to ensure the values of the event are respected by everyone.

Individual cases will be discussed by the event’s governing body, the Eurovision Song Contest Reference Group made up of representatives from participating broadcasters, at its next meeting.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭thereiver

Eurovision was always a fun over the top camp television event. this year they had to have tight security around the venue to protect it from political protestors who don,t want israel to be allowed to have a singer on stage .

it was always supposed to be neutral and completely non political .it was an important cultural event for ireland in the past with the success of johhny logan and riverdance in the 90,s .it presented a positive image of ireland as it was shown around the world.graham norton and terry wogan made it more entertaining with commnentary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,777 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Jerry Ryan and your wan sound like a pair of robots introducing them.

• Registered Users Posts: 5 RoyRitar

Eurovision is not about music for me for a long time already, even this year France had to be a clear winner, but somehow Switzerland got it.

Wouldn't have predicted a minor Israeli victory at it.

• Registered Users Posts: 647 ✭✭✭bureau2009

Will be fascinating to see where Bambie Thug's career goes from here.

Post edited by bureau2009 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,717 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Their name will keep getting misspelt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

A run on celebrity dancing island?

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,524 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I think their 15 minutes of fame are pretty much over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

There is talent there alright, not sure about the song writing bit though!

I was disappointed to hear though of the rather limp reasons for the spat with the EBU over what some Israeli commentator said. Seemed a bit oversensitive and maybe more a case of playing to the Bambi gallery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,118 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Bambie came 6th from the public, 6th from the juries and came 6th over all.

So, that's 666.

It was also watched an average 666,000 views.

Sort of interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭65535

Am I the only one who has not heard the 'song'.

Apparently the first 2 words are in Aramaic and are Witches Curses ?

What's going on guys - ?

What happened to 'snowdrops and daffodils, butterflies and bees' and all nice things ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭gipi

The first words are a kind of translation of Abrakadabra that JK Rowling popularised, a certain section weren't too happy with their inclusion in the song, especially by a non binary artist

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,932 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Norway easily had one of the best entries, no idea how they came last.

They got to the final by being one of the best. The real last place was Malta with 1 point in their semi-final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭robertpatterson

Israel beat her

Delighted

She's all about the drama that one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,733 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

As if being one of the best is not usually a curse in the Eurovision.

The reason was quite anti-climatic. Wouldn't be any more scandalous than the calibre of commentary from Wogan/Norton or even Wheelan.

This is the first Irish Eurovision song and singer that has created any buzz in the last 20 years.

I think Bambie has the POTENTIAL to be around for a very long time. Check out her intimate/acoustic version of Doomsday Blue on YouTube. She's definitely an accomplished singer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,428 ✭✭✭SouthWesterly

I hope she goes the way of all Wannabees and goes into oblivion , never to be heard from again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

"You'd have to mad to listen to Dana"

"Father Bigley listen's Dana and he's not mad".

"why is he in that home then ?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,663 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

Coincidentally "your wan" is currently one of the Fianna Fail candidates in the Irish South constituency for the European elections.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,932 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

The worst song in the mind of the public was the UK. As one of the big countries they did not have to compete in a semi final. It would never have made the final if they did. None of the 35 other countries phone vote put the UK song in their top 10. That converted to zero votes. Norway was second worst with 4.

Croatia should have won according to the public. 337 from the public, only 210 from the juries. Switzerland got 226 public, 365 juries. The juries also had a massive deviation in the vote for Portugal. Only 13 from the public, but 139 from the juries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,524 ✭✭✭AllForIt

The worst song in the mind of the public was the UK. As one of the big countries they did not have to compete in a semi final. It would never have made the final if they did. None of the 35 other countries phone vote put the UK song in their top 10. That converted to zero votes. Norway was second worst with 4.

It was chronic bad. Since Olly was in It's a Sin (drama about HIV era) the BBC and ITV have been promoting him on various TV programmes (such as An audience with Kylie and a doc about The Pet Shop Boys) as a sorta 'lgbt celeb'. The end result is utter cringe as he swans around being as stereotypical as possible, as if that's how gay people want to be represented in the media. I can assure you my reputation is damaged by being represented by the likes of him. You will understand how happy I was to see his cringe gay act receive ZERO points. I laughed out loud.

A mystery then is why did some of the jury's give the act any points at all. It was the worst song easily. Bet they though oh jeez we better give the gay act some votes for fear of being accused of being homophobic and to appease the gay audience.

The Swiss person got the full benefit of that thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,663 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

That had a lot more going for it though. Nemo is a real talent. That's technically a very difficult song to sing for anyone. Hitting those operatic notes while spinning around on that yoke made it even more impressive. The juries would love that as usually they are singers or producers themselves so would appreciate the difficulty and execution. The song was quite catchy too.

I saw a video a few days later of Nemo singing the Ukrainian song and showing it to the two Ukrainian ladies who were blown away - found it:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,629 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Tyson Fury accuses judges of helping Oleksandr Usyk win because Ukraine is ‘at war’

I'm not saying it's true here, but we definitely seen it when Ukraine won Eurovision in 2022, Sam Ryder was robbed by the Televote, it was by far the best song. I think everyone who is honest knows this.

Eurovision 2022: Top 3

Kalush Orchestra - Stefania

631 points (Jury: 192 / Televote: 439)

Sam Ryder - SPACE MAN

466 points (Jury: 283 / Televote: 183)

Chanel - SloMo

459 points (Jury: 231 / Televote: 228)

The Ukrainian song was very poor in my opinion, and only won because of the sympathy vote from the public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,668 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Did you read the entire article?

In the ninth round, Fury was arguably lucky not to see the fight waved off when Usyk hurt him badly. Usyk, 37, had Fury, 35, out on his feet, but the referee gave the Briton a strange standing count – potentially saving him from a knockout loss. 

It is doubtful Ukraine would have won that year without a sympathy vote… but then, it is Eurovision :)

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,777 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

• Registered Users Posts: 97 ✭✭jamieon

Is there some kind of rule I don't know about that doesn't allow straight white males to compete?

Bambie Thug announces Europe and Ireland tour for this Autumn.