Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time for a zero refugee policy? - *Read OP for mod warnings and threadbans - updated 11/5/24*

• Registered Users Posts: 349 ✭✭slay55

I don’t have twitter/X , yet i knew about these tweets almost immediately.

word of mouth, media, external apps etc

You’re clutching at straws and it’s almost embarrassing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

I find it odd though that, on one hand, you talk about European countries taking back control of their destinies but, on the other, you talk about new treaties being signed which are invariably sovereignty-limiting in order for them to be in any way workable. Give it a few years and so many treaties will be signed, imposing obligations that restrict our ability to simply do as we please, that you end up somewhere not far from where you started only without a centralised forum like the EU institutions as a way to administer the treaties. Europe is a pretty unique landmass, there is no other part of the world containing such a large collection of small, relatively wealthy and prosperous countries squished into a small area. This part of the reason why it was an incessant war zone for centuries and it's part of the reason why it is almost inevitable that a complex web of treaties is necessary for its functioning. The EU is, in many ways, a reflection of Europe's uniqueness as a continent where the alignment of interests of member states is crucial to the functioning of its constituent states.

What I would be interested to know however is what people actually think would drastically change in terms of fixing anything if we did just revert to a trading bloc. Presumably trade will continue and ease of trade will be seem as mutually beneficial. So borders will remain porous for trade across continental Europe. Then there is the people question — even without the EU is there an appetite (not to mention the resources) to drastically close borders across the continent to the level necessary to prevent illegal migration?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,281 ✭✭✭twinytwo

You seem to have a weird obsession for the idea of closing EU internal borders as required/seen as the only solution to prevent illegal migration. I have lost count how many times you have referenced it at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,693 ✭✭✭✭klose

Sisk contractors have apparently pulled out of work on the site marked for modular homes in Clonmel, interesting to see what happens in the coming weeks there.

Yes — whips, chains and closing the EU borders as the only solution to illegal migration. My weaknesses.

Setting aside my arousal for a moment however, I am talking about the subject of the EU. Right? And one of the defining features of debate about the merits of the EU is in relation to to the lack of control over borders that membership of the EU apparently imposes, yes? So when someone talks about countries replacing the EU with something else ...in the context of a discussion around migration ... I would be inclined to mention what the replacement of the EU border controls would look like and the extent to which people are willing to go in order to tighten those borders.

Anyway it's lunchtime and I'm WFH so it's time to open a Google Incognito tab and start searching images of checkpoints between France and Germany. Brb.

EDIT: I see you changed "fetish" to "obsession". You had it right the first time lad!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭Lotus Flower

And if the tweets were not meant for a wide audience there has been plenty of time in 3 years to follow up with clarification. And the tweets are still up

• Registered Users Posts: 238 ✭✭Sunjava

I didn't say there was. Then again you'd have said the same in Britain 20 yrs ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,877 ✭✭✭Augme

I know they are a minority, but they are still posting on this thread and I'll keep challenging them.

You really wouldn't have said the same about Britian 20 years ago. In 2010, the first poll I can find on the subject, has leave at 47%, remain at 33% and undecided 19%. One good thing about brexit though, is that it has pretty.made everyone realise how terrible an idea it is.

Even the British people have realised.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭Northernlily

Moving the goalposts to fit the narrative of the day.

It's basically saying

"We fudged up border control and domestic security. Instead of admitting it and taking measures to fix it let's just claim it's our policy and it will all work out perfectly grand as the party and its supporters will get rich along the way"

• Registered Users Posts: 18,611 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

You know about these tweets because Gript and various right wing Irish Twitter accounts have been tweeting continuously about them since around April 2023. It's a load of nonsense aimed at gullible eejits - asylum claims are well up right across Europe in 2023 and 2024, nothing to do with some obscure minister fella sending out a few tweets that were hardly seen by anyone at the time.

An obscure minister fella? What?

It's been suggested by posters here that migrants are both simultaneously savvy enough to know that Ireland has the 2nd highest GDP in the world ("the 2nd richest country in the world!") but not savvy enough to use twitter or find out about "obscure" senior politicians

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭Miharo

I doubt they had much impact either other than pissing off a lot of people living here who saw it as an advertisement to economic migrants to come here and live off the generosity / naivety of the state.

The main draw is probably the very soft asylum system with little chance of deportation.

• Registered Users Posts: 146 ✭✭Will0483

It's all the ultra left-wing types have left. They've roundly lost the argument so trolling is the tactic now. I think this thread is nearing an end because it's just everyone agreeing with one another bar 3-4 people who post the same tired stuff that we're all bigots because we don't want to triple the population in 5 years with every undocumented migrant who can catch a ferry when everyone under 40 is living with their parents because they can't afford housing.

When you type it all out, you realise how mental the whole situation is.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,184 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Would you blame them? One thing dealing with generally law abiding locals who are protesting vigorously and quite a different matter dealing with the opposition in Clonmel.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,184 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

It's a sign of nervousness that they talk so fast, that they don't really believe in what they're saying and/or are afraid of being challenged. It's a real tell. If you were interviewing them for a job, you'd be marking this down. She's not the only one and our new leader is of this ilk as well.

Compare this to a politician sure of their position. They speak in a measured and thought out way.

Frauds the present crowd are.

It's very hard to be believe that asylum seekers would choose to move to Ireland based on a single tweet in February 2022 by a minister nobody outside Ireland has ever even heard of.

Tens of thousands of asylum seekers are heading to the UK every year despite the fact that two recent Home Secretaries, (Patel and Braverman), were hard right and probably racist.

No one is saying that everyone is here because of that tweet but it might have helped some. And again, you dont have to follow someone or even have heard of them to see their tweets because of algorithms

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭tarvis

On the face of things our little island on the edge of Europe is not yet full - but our small population - akin to greater Manchester I’ve been told , has not to date shown itself capable of supporting our health, education, civic and housing services - all of which are over stretched and with long waiting lists.

I would like those representatives who welcome all comers to explain just how a society which cannot adequately support its own can take on the support of people from far more populous and fast developing countries.

… the golden geese - our future and newly qualified tax payers, just starting out on their lives —-are leaving.
    Who EXACTLY is going to be paying the bills?

• Registered Users Posts: 349 ✭✭slay55

That’s completely incorrect.

This was reported in the Irish independent ( 26/02/21) as something “positive” at the time

what makes someone gullible or an idiot when that is exactly what was said by O’Gorman?

What gives you the right to say how or where people read this from ? I don’t follow gript.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,775 ✭✭✭thomas 123

22k "Our comprehensive accommodation strategy is designed with those sort of numbers in mind".

So did we know this was coming? Nearly double what came last year?

Why cant we spring another Athlone size town out of thin air every year if the numbers stay at this rate. Jesus C.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

Misinformation eh. So there we were tipping along nicely over many years. In Feb 21 O'Gorman sends out his tweets (signed off at cabinet level by all 3 coalition parties) - Covid is still an issue but fades within a year - Then what happened Straz?

This-

But it's all just a coincidence right?

You downplayed the languages used in the tweets - French was one - What was going on in France that we didn't know about?

Oh look - French is the official language in the following countries - and a 2nd language in many others

Don't get me started on the Arabic speaking countries, There was also Urdu, Somali, Albanian, Georgian - Absolutely ******* mental thing to do!

But it's all Gript's fault is it. We know ye don't like Gript. There's a whole thread set up to discredit them but funnily enough all ye did was try to trash Gript the organisation with zero dismantling of their articles - It's just they didn't like what the articles say

The lefties tend to vastly underestimate the collective intelligence of the hive mind of the online world

• Registered Users Posts: 46 joeymcg

https://www.businesspost.ie/news/exclusive-government-contacts-hundreds-of-property-firms-in-bid-to-house-asylum-seekers/

"Close to two hundred branches of estate agents and auctioneers have been contacted by the Department of Integration as its grapples with the accommodation"

Hundreds of estate agents and auctioneers across the country have been asked to identify available commercial properties as the government scrambles to house unprecedented numbers of asylum seekers.The Department of Integration has contacted more than 200 property professionals for large, vacant commercial and industrial units in a bid to ramp up the provision of accommodation for people coming to this country.Officials in Roderic O’Gorman’s department are already believed to be in negotiations with several interested property owners of larger units to lease or buy. However, sources cautioned it would likely be several months before accommodation would come on stream through the initiative.

‘Work is ongoing to identify supply pipelines for commercial conversions with a focus on empty office buildings’

A spokesman for O’Gorman, the Minister for Integrations said: “The department is committed to moving away from reliance on short-term, private accommodation and towards a core of state-owned accommodation.“Work is ongoing to identify supply pipelines for commercial conversions with a focus on empty office buildings, and contact has been made with commercial real estate agents and property providers.

Read More

Government expects to have to move 250 asylum seekers from tents every week“The intention is to bring additional beds into the system this year,” they said.Separately, the government has launched a portal where property owners can contact the department directly to sell or lease a property with 150 beds or more.

Prompted

A spike in commercial property vacancy rates has partly prompted the Department of Integration to turn to the sector, sources familiar with the initiatives said.The department believes that estate agents and auctioneers are well-placed to identify suitable properties in need of refurbishment and act as a go-between at a local level for the department and property owners.O’Gorman’s department has pointed to recent Central Bank research which outlined vulnerabilities in the commercial real estate market, driven in part by hybrid and remote working patterns and the impact on lending costs of recent rate increases from the European Central Bank.

Research has indicated that some counties in Ireland have commercial vacancy rates of 15 per cent or higher.

According to a report published in January from Lisney, the estate agent, the vacancy rate across offices in Dublin stood at 16 per cent at the end of last year.

Implemented

O’Gorman, Green Party TD, announced plans in March to source 14,000 state-owned beds. However, there is a view within the coalition that deterrents need to be implemented given the numbers arriving in Ireland seeking accommodation.The move comes as the coalition scrambles to find suitable accommodation for asylum seekers. The issue has become a major political flashpoint in recent months. Government and opposition parties have sought to sharpen their immigration policies in light of the renewed focus on the issue, and ahead of local and European elections next month.Speaking in Dublin on Thursday, Simon Harris said that “a blind eye was turned by official Ireland” to the development of dozens of tents on Mount Street and that the country needed to have “a sustainable migration system.“It’s extremely important that we have obligations in relation to accommodation that we meet, but it is just one part of a broader conversation that needs to happen,” Harris said.

Across government, ministers have been tasked with delivering or reforming aspects of a new migration system.Heather Humphreys, the social protection minister, and O’Gorman have both been given six weeks to carry out a review of asylum seeker welfare benefits while Helen McEntee, the justice minister, is reviewing the government’s list of safe countries.Under an accelerated decision-making process introduced by the minister in November 2022, international protection applicants from safe countries receive decisions on their applications in less than 3 months.Peter Burke, the enterprise minister, is also set to step up targeted workplace inspections to ensure that businesses are compliant with work permit regulations for migrant workers.

https://www.unep.org/ozonaction/english-speaking-africa - and don't forget Africa… Lets not pretend the English tweet was designed for only Ireland, the Uk and the US.

Ah, we are no longer letting the Private market right the housing situation. Class.

I'm suggesting the rapid rise in asylum claims post-Covid in Ireland would have happened anyway. Attributing it to a solitary tweet by O'Gorman a couple of years ago scarcely seems credible:

"The number of migrants lodging asylum applications in the EU has jumped 28% in the first half of this year compared to the same period last year, official figures released Tuesday (5 September) showed.

Numbers have since rebounded, with 2022 seeing a 53% rise in applications, putting many EU countries “under pressure,” the EUAA said.

That puts the EU on track to receive more than one million asylum-seekers this year (2023) — the biggest number since 2015-2016 when it saw a huge influx, mainly Syrians fleeing the war in their country."

• Registered Users Posts: 7,899 ✭✭✭suvigirl

Wow, so now we should tell people who they can and cannot form bonds with? Should we control Irish people the same way, maybe force them to play GAA, or the harp? You want to keep numbers small so you can control their lives. This place gets worse.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,231 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Hostel in Ennis kicking out their Ukrainians and negotiating with the Government to replace them with IPA applicants, must be more money from them?

Is there a reason why the graph doesn't also highlight the Russian invasion of Ukraine?

Going by the graph, you'd think the easing of Covid restrictions and the obviously globally-significant event of a relatively unknown Irish politician posting a tweet were the primary factors — and not the minor detail of a war which saw the displacement of 6 million Ukrainians across Europe. . .

• Registered Users Posts: 1,592 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump