Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Matches today

• 25-05-2024 8:20pm
    Registered Users Posts: 131 ✭✭

Went to hotel bar today for some grub & they had the Leinster match on all three tvs. Asked would it be possible to watch the fa cup final on one of them and they said they can only show one match at a time on the three tvs & a guy had already asked for the Leinster match. Fair enough I thought and got stuck into my lunch. However, after a while they changed over to the footie as many people were asking for it except one old fecker who was continually hassling the staff to put the Leinster match back on. After a while I said, leave the footie on to him as the vast majority wanted it. Told me to **** off, was I English?? and called me a gobshite😂. I sat there laughing a bit but that fella deserved a slap I was thinking later. Was with his wife too and didn’t think anything of embarrassing her. Leinster rugby supporters eh, shower of idiots (not all of them). Think the world revolves around them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,699 ✭✭✭Gusser09

Absolutely. A bunch of failures who think they are the biz. Frauds. They need to realise that anyone that wasnt privately schooled in dublin doesnt give a **** about that boring game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,694 ✭✭✭Feisar

Ah yis are all up there with the cnuts who "whisht" when some arsehole starts singing Kilkelly.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

Do you not have a TV at home if you really want to watch the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,793 ✭✭✭irelandrover

If I went someplace and asked for a match and they turned it on, I'd be seriously pissed if they turned it off during the game. Either show it or don't. If you aren't going to show it then let me know so I can go somewhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,944 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

There was 3 matches on at the same time today. It's not hard in the morning to stick a note on each TV showing which match would that TV. It's not rocket science and the hotel should've been better prepared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,944 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Fair enough that could be what happend. In that case so you stick with the 1st match you put on unless your sure nobody is watching the rugby then switch over. Pretty poor hotel if they can only put on 1 channel on with the amount of sport on TV these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭griffin100

Typical soccer fan, old man out with his wife wants to watch a different match to you and you think he deserves a slap. Did you have a too small soccer ball Jersey stretched over your gut to complete the look?

• Registered Users Posts: 131 ✭✭Lecter8319

yah I’d agree that the hotel should have been better prepared for it today but the entitlement of this fella was something else. Told him if he wanted to watch the match, go elsewhere in a calm way but was met with insults. I wouldn’t have the neck to start demanding the hotel show the match I want to see, it’s up to them at the end of the day & if you don’t like it, Plenty of other places to watch rugby. It was a hotel in the Leinster area. The area is a more of a working class area aswell so it’s to be expected the majority would be interested in footie. Just an up his own ass gosbhite who thinks because he likes rugby is better than other people around who don’t give much of a toss about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,322 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

You head out with the missus to watch the match, pay for your food and your pints, then the barman changes the channel halfway through. I'd be annoyed as well. I know he's not entitled to dictate what gets shown, but the Hotel should know their crowd and when they put on a match they stick with it till the end.

Bad form on the auld lad for calling you names though.

• Registered Users Posts: 131 ✭✭Lecter8319

I didn’t have a jersey on thank you.

you’d think if the match was that important to him, he’d watch at home or a friends.

was bloody early in the day to start drinking too & they looked like they were going at it

Sure you could say the same about anyone who wants to watch sport in a pub. As you said, there were many people asking for the soccer.

I still think it's bad form on the hotel. Should be first come first serve unless they gave the auld lad notice they'd change the channel when soccer was starting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,364 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Im going to file this under "didn't happen"

It's just to easy to start a thread in AH about this sort of scenario.

Get an old rugby v soccer argument going.

And anyway who the fcuk refers to Association Football as "footie".

Post edited by Fr Tod Umptious on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,514 ✭✭✭✭Calahonda52

I sat there laughing a bit but that fella deserved a slap I was thinking later. Was with his wife too and didn’t think anything of embarrassing her.

says it all about you as a person: considering assaulting someone at lunch time in a hotel

“I can’t pay my staff or mortgage with instagram likes”.

I'm inclined to agree, seeing as the OP can't give any other opinion bar beyond the opening post and just keeps repeating himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,667 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Hotel should be able to switch a tv from the sky input to regular terrestrial tv though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,303 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

We are now discussing matches yesterday. The OP did the right thing in not giving the OAP a slap.