Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electric Picnic 2024 **No Ticket Sales / Requests** - Waiting in line, terrible time, over familiar

• Registered Users Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Mucker46

The Cure 2012

Wolf Alice 2014

Editors 2016

Duran Duran 2017

La Femme and St Vincent 2018

Johnny Marr and Richard Ashcroft 2019

Naked Lungd and Just Mustard 2022

Chalk and Idles 2023

Call outs also for Stranglers, Massive Attack, Pet Shop Boys and James Vincent McMorrow

2024 - ?????

• Registered Users Posts: 3,708 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Oh La Femme! Good shout Mucker. Massive fun.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,098 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

the most French of French acts, turn up, argue, smoke on stage. Sadly Clémence is no longer with them.

• Registered Users Posts: 537 ✭✭✭mgkelly

I endorse the vote for David Byrne & St Vincent. That felt like a religious experience! I was mesmerised. Brilliant.

• Registered Users Posts: 537 ✭✭✭mgkelly

I was still glad I caught Gil Scott-Heron. Felt like in the presence of greatness. But it was a bit weird etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭Seathrun66

At one stage his manager or tour manager came on to inform him that it wasn’t a four-hour free jazz session in an NYC dive bar and he’d soon run out of time. Made no difference. I’d seen him two decades before so didn’t mind that much. It was a mess, but a memorable mess.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,577 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I gave some lists before, but will come up with something tomorrow.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,098 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

• Registered Users Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Fatfrog

During Leftfield I had my drink at my feet, vaguely remember leaning down to pick it up my head/hearing dipping below the line of the crowd, going from normal/vloud to a sub level that I can’t even describe it as sound! ‘death star’ levels!!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,577 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Well Fcuk me I probably overdone this and what a task going through all the line ups but here's my two bob. 😂

2005 - LCD Soundsystem (Incendiary debut), Toots and the Maytals, Kraftwerk (Incredible), Royksopp.

2007 - Probably the most amount of acts I seen, Chemical Brothers (first time seeing them after running away from seriously packed out LBT for Beastie Boys, CB blew me away helped by some serious MDMA), Sonic Youth, Jesus and the Mary Chain, Bjork (Especially because she opened with my favourite track The Hunter) LCD (again) The Stooges (Incendiary), The Beasties (second set on Sunday.)

2008 - Kila (Opening the main stage with acrobats, climbing draped curtains. Probably the most interesting opening act of my EP years) Tinariwen who followed blew me away, psychedelic Saharan folk/rock music. Pfunk (For groove and for most amount of musicians on a main stage), Sex Pistols, The Congos, Grace Jones, Helios Jive (A fairly unknown US act playing a corner of Body & Soul Village who were fecking mental.

2009 - Went down with Galway friends that year so hardly saw anything. Highlights, Off to see Beardyman in Bacardi but got distracted by the rap group Buraka Som Sistema who were incredible in the LBT. 2ManyDJs I remember this gig as they paid ode to Aphex Twin with their remix of Windowlicker, also enjoyed Ac/Dc's Dirty Deeds. Magnetic Men at LBT (Even though their bass amplifier broke they still put on a tripped out show despite some idiot who cleared half the tent with a smoke bomb). Body and Soul Village used to have spontaneous pop up acts that weren't even on a stage, could happen in the middle of a crowd or on a hill, I remember Hypnotic Brass Ensemble doing this and it was mind blowing at the time.

2010- Roxy Music (when they done the 70s stuff), PIL, Covered 3 of my favourite acts through a time window of LCD at EA, Bloody Beetroots at LBT and catching the Leftfield encore like Seath of Phat Planet (Although I caught the full Leftfield set at June's RockNess festival. Crystal Castles, Fever Ray (incredible).

2011 - Pulp (despite the sound problems), Underworld, Andy Weatherall (a techno storm), Jimmy Cliff.

2012 - The Cure (well 2 and three quarters of an hour anyways), Bat For Lashes, Ritchie Hawtin and Matador who followed in LBT, Squarepusher, LAPD.

2013 - Robert Plant, David Byrne & St Vincent, The Knife, Johnny Marr, Clinic (Whatever happend to them?) Tourist closing the B&S main stage on Sunday.

2014 - Portishead (wins one of the best EP performances ever), Beck, The Stranglers, Bicep at the LBT. Loved Chic and Outkast that year also.

2015 - Jon Hopkins, Blur, Grace Jones, Tame Impala, FKA Twigs.

2016 - New Order (First time catching them), LCD, Daniel Avery (also first time catching him after three quarters of the LCD set), Toots (Again subliminal), Rusangano Family.

2017 - Duran Duran (blew me away, seriously rocked), Madness (Great fun), The Pretenders (Still got it), The XX, Clark (Braindance like Aphex), The Skatalites, Donal Dineen's (This ain't No Disco) (fascinating musical textures.) The debut of The Haunt.

2018 - The Prodigy (They Fcuking rocked), Death Grips (They Fcuking rocked), Scarlxrd (They Fcuking rocked), Kendrick Lamar (interesting hybrid of Blaxploitation and Kung Fu imagery and pyrotechnics.) Chvrches, Garbage (enjoyed their set) and Columbia Mills who were playing the Jerry Fish tent, amazing act. Billy Bailey's stand up set.

2019 - Amelie Lens (Amazing techno), Scary Eire (Salty Dog), Jarv Is, Four Tet, Ritchie Hawtin, Johnny Marr (Wicked gig), Richard Ashcroft (brilliant gig).

2022 - Khruangbin (Amazing discovery for me anyways), The Pixies (my second time seeing them but still a great gig), Fontaines DC (amazing), Kneecap (fun act), Rejje Snow (good gig.) Susan O'Neill and Mick Flannery.

2023 - Main stage stuff starting to disappear from my schedule. Viagra Boys (Finally caught this act and wasn't let down), Young Fathers, Idles (Incendiary), Watched The Killers for half an hour only main stage act I paid attention to. De Danann at the Croi Stage (Amazing gig), Paddy Keenan (The Haunt) also a great gig. Having mobility issues I didn't get to see near enough last year so hopefully will be in better health this year.

Post edited by bodhrandude on

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭rubick

You better believe @desk tidy and I were complete barrier w*nkers for Weatherall in LBT that year. Probably one of the last techno-orientated sets he played - ALFOS had only being going less than a year and BPMs would drop to around a solid 120, as the cosmic overlords intended. Pretty sure there was an ALFOS in Derry that weekend but you can't go to everything.

And thanks to the keepers of knowledge at The Flightpath Estate, here is that very set.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

2024 Highlights? I reckon it'll be Kylie and Ellis Bextor, K'd off their bin, rimming the arse of each other in a caravan in Trailer Park to a soundtrack of the Wolfe Tones bashing out Deutschland Uber Alles on the stage next door.

Big on the all mouth and trousers scene

• Registered Users Posts: 3,891 ✭✭✭Flaneur OBrien

• Registered Users Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭gussieg

Thanks for that rubik. The irreplaceable.

From the guardian 2011

"He isn’t much interested in nostalgia for the era. “It was like having a holiday. I’d been in the dark post-punk world of shadows and neon in the rain. And suddenly I’ve been given this drug that makes me love everybody and, ‘Oh, this music’s quite uplifting.’ But I didn’t become a casualty of it. At some point I stood back and went, ‘Hold on, the only thing I’ve got in common with these people is that we’re in the same room and on the same drugs – I’ve tried talking to them outside, we’ve got nothing in common.’ So I’m not too big on the reunions. It’s like, those **** people were horrible 25 years ago and now they’re not taking ecstasy, they’re taking cocaine. So they’re going to be even **** worse.”

• Registered Users Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Mucker46

Will give it a miss with the Wolfe Tones involved

• Registered Users Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭Hoboo

Enjoying the posts, but can’t help thinking it’s a sad day when we’re discussing past glories and not what the 20th Anniversary has in store.

Anyhooo, apart from the chemical brothers and lcd a couple off times, the year the ambulance went through the crowd when a young fella died at chembros was memorable for the gig and the crowd, I had to move away from the front of the sound stage to the back it was that dangerous, at the time I was training 5 days a week, was 16stone and I’m nearly 6’6 and I was getting moved meters involuntarily. Amazing show, rip to the poor chap.

2004 Mylo will never be forgotten. Live band, drop the pressure at the time was massive. Amazing.

Sonic Youth I think 2007, went to see them because I’d never listened to them, just knew a song or two. Was a murky day and then the clouds parted. Got up the front, mind was blown with the instrumentals. been a fan since.

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭Himselfe

Ticketmaster are issuing emails to those who got installment plan tickets and haven't made the final payment. The email says their tickets are now forfeited along with all their previous payments. Whatever about forfeiting the tickets, but surely they can't keep the previous payments? You're talking hundreds of euros for those bought a couple of tickets.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭Wooderson

Theyre not refunding the money paid to date? Wild craic.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Fatfrog

Did they stop the music and ask everyone to part or was it still in full swing with an ambulance trying to get through?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,747 ✭✭✭Fanirish

yeah in terms and conditions for all ticketmaster installment plans

“ all instalments are non-refundable and no claim can be made to recover this money in any way whatsoever. The first Instalment includes a per ticket service charge of £11.50, which, subject to paragraph 10 below, is also non-refundable”

• Registered Users Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭endainoz

Shower of cnuts

• Registered Users Posts: 255 ✭✭CuriousCucumber

Not really.

They dont need to offer an installment plan, but they do. If people commit to an installment plan, and dont make their payments, why should they be refunded? If that was the case, everyone would be at it.

they treat the instalments as a deposit, until you make the final payment it ain’t yours.
    a lot of industries with deposits/instalments operate the same way.
    bit different with EP as they can only have obviously resell in a heartbeat.
    but then again ticketmaster instalments are at no extra cost, lead to alot of customer service tickets/complaints and hours spent. Have to reclaim cost of providing the service somehow

Didn’t Mylo DJ at the Bacardi tent on the early years. I remember sipping a mojito there as Drop the Pressure came on. Same weekend there was a brilliant thirty-piece samba band in there Used to enjoy dripping into that tent, whatever about the sponsorship/corporate nature of it they at least were stylish and added something to the fest unlike the stages for the E-Lites, Just Eat, Heineken, etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭rubick

Oul Mylo was ubiquitous for a few years then disappeared off the face of the danceosphere.

Wow. That’s shocking. Keep the admin charges for sure but the ticket cost? Change of circumstances, etc. That contract would almost certainly not succeed in the Small Claims Court but who’s going to test it. Take an action against them and they’ll pay out to individuals to prevent it going to court and setting a precedent. A new low.

People could be refunded the cost minus the admin fees as happens with Glastonbury. As happens when the promoter unilaterally cancels a gig.

Circumstances change. People lose jobs, have business difficulties, problems with energy bills, medical fees, children’s expenses, etc. Don’t judge people for a failure to make a single payment. That’s Tory party thinking.

nah, no chance at winning at small courts as instalments/deposits not being refundable is industry practice across dozens of different types of businesses and once it’s in terms and conditions it’s part of contract.
    If you pay for a couch, furniture, TV or wedding dress on instalments it’s the same situation, no refunds on instalments.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,438 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Not the same at all. A TV, couch etc exists and is taken by the customer. The ticket that EP sells is being resold so there is no loss to the company as its not a tangible thing

• Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭CoffeeImpala

Final installment was due at the start April so people have had two months to get a payment to Ticketmaster.

It's not like like they missed a payment and the tickets were gone the next day. I'd imagine people received plenty of reminders to engage before they lost their tickets.