Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time for a zero refugee policy? - *Read OP for mod warnings and threadbans - updated 11/5/24*

• Registered Users Posts: 960 ✭✭✭boetstark

Why just catholic, lots of other Christian religions also.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,775 ✭✭✭thomas 123

It’s all well and good putting up the tents - keeping the “IPAs” there is another story entirely.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,324 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

We should be using the army for that as well tbf. Detained until processed.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

I didnt mean have the army just put up the tents, I meant put the IPAs under the control of the army. Anyone camping in the city centre not under the army's control is subject to arrest.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,457 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

SF are MORE left and populist than any of them (bar the greens).
    Voting SF would be worse again!
    Voting ind makes f all difference as they won’t work together (by their nature of being independent) so therefore will never have a majority to make any type of rule change.

I hope for your sake you've mixed her up with someone else...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭emo72

Well if they can find their own accommodation and support themselves, well brilliant, off yis go lads. Not staying here? No supports.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

/me googles.

Ah jaysus, yeah I did mix her up with someone else.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭Northernlily

I wouldn't trust this Goverment to give me the correct time of day.

I think they want to be seen to be phasing the hotels out due to the election. They've been caught rapid transferring hundreds of millions into a few hands with this.

There Is a tribunal in all of it. To quote Hamlet - Something is rotten in the state of Denmark.

Simon Harris first advisor appointments were all connected media people. People saying they are impressed by him and his approach which is moving Fine Gael up in the polls shows that them appointments are working.

We are extremely gullible.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭maebee

If you want change, there's zero point in voting SF. Mary Lou and her crew will be a hundred times worse.

"16 Apr 2024 ... Sinn Féin leader Mary Lou McDonald stating that "our precious Muslim community must be part of shaping the new Ireland" . I can't find the video. Maybe it's been deleted.

No thanks.

I’m all for internment until IPA status is confirmed and identify confirmed.

I don’t want any people with no identity competing with our genuine citizens and legal migrants for work or homes.

Yes @LambshankRedemption, I’d agree - never going to happen though.

Especially given certain people are allowed cast their thoughts to the general public via the national broadcaster regularly without any question and others are not allowed protest without getting assaulted by Gardai just doing their “duty”.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

List of properties providing accommodation for asylum seekers back in May 2023 when numbers were lower - probably completely out of date at this stage. Does not cover education, medical, or any other supports provided, no legal services either

https://www.oireachtas.ie/en/debates/question/2023-05-04/213/#pq_213

How long can our small population be expected to fund this?

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭minimary

What do ye think will happen post the UK election? If it goes as predicted and Starmer and the Labour party are elected, they've said they're cancelling Rwanda. In theory there should be no impediment to sending everyone that came to Ireland from the UK with the Rwanda excuse back but in reality, I think our shower of idiots will decide that being nice to Starmer is #1 priority and won't acutally follow through or will send a token few back and claim they're doing all they can

• Registered Users Posts: 670 ✭✭✭creeper1

Just watched this from Aontu

It is a very visual waste of money the provision and subsequent taking away and destroying of tents.

However there is another circuitous waste of money probably far, far worse. Namely that identified by Tobin.

They are spending tons of time and money identifying people not eligible for asylum. Having done that they issue deportation orders.

Finally the orders are simply cancelled. UNBELIEVABLE.

It's as well Ireland is the richest country in the world by some measures because the amount of waste is astonishing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

From Independent Ireland

To put the figures in context, a transport expert on Newstalk estimated free public transport could be given to the entire country at a cost of half a billion per annum. This is what we’re fecking our cash away on instead

• Registered Users Posts: 13,437 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Any who equates somebody volunteering for a migrant or homeless organisation with the likes of Derek Blighe is not thinking straight .

Volunteering is the backbone of a lot of charities .

What have any of our paaatriots done for their communities

There is a history of decent people gaining experience in areas that cannot afford to find them until they can get a funded job / or when they finish their studies And nothing wrong with that

And she is a student so you are wrong again .

What have any of our paaatriots done for their communities .? Nothing , except encourage violence and leech off our social welfare .

She and other volunteers should not be for discussion on a SM forum

It's a low ball ,even for this thread .

• Registered Users Posts: 9,266 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

I have never heard of her either and I do watch the news. Honest. I am not on Twitter or whatever. What other immigration threads are there?

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭ooter

There's a gaa forum on here, the players are all volunteers, should that not be discussed?

How would you feel if you or one of the other volunteers were targeted by a group on social media discussing your motives and your appearance even as has been discussed here on this thread before ?

What I replied to were posts not discussing her opinions which if made public are fair game .The posts were discussing HER .which is wrong imo ..

Like the 'NGOs bashing ' why are people working in the community now being targeted , with this vitriol and online trolling ?

Somebody needs to ask that question .

Why do people not focus on government , those getting paid for a job and not doing what they are paid to do ..

I don't care if I am the only voice here saying it but this is a descent to the gutter and if allowed to continue them this thread is not worth reading

• Registered Users Posts: 960 ✭✭✭boetstark

Please Ireland is not the richest country in the world. When did this rubbish start doing the rounds.

Immigration to Ireland in CA is another thread but across multiple other threads the narrative and spammy type tit for tat posting is evident.

Olivia is quite literally interviewed everytime there's a piece about the canal. So you either don't watch the news every night or you've been very unlucky to miss her regular cameo.

Given how much effort online Surgirl commits to this subject I find it suspicious shes never heard of her.

But even supposedly not knowing or hearing of her she still managed a defensive POV discussing her.

• Registered Users Posts: 160 ✭✭Blind As A Bat

She (Olivia Headon)describes herself as an 'experienced media and communications specialist', all the more reason why her statements to the media should warrant some scrutiny.

What do you mean by patriots? Do you just mean scumbag teens who beat foreigners to death or do you mean ordinary Irish people who are worried about the state of our country?

There are plenty of working class Irish people btw who don't have the Dublin 4 accent, who might even be what my dear mother would call 'common' but who have done plenty for their communities.

I have watched the news on the canals several times - very repetitive and boring to be honest - but I took no notice of her in that I googled her earlier and found zero recognition. I will watch out for her. I have just started watching the F1 documentary on Netflix so I am often behind the curve!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭tom23

according to a poster here we are the second richest country on paper in the world. On paper. So have we been bumped up to richest country in the world on paper?

Talking about those particular ones that are running for election which I referred to iny post ?

Like Derek' kick a dog' Blighe and other lovely characters like him .

"There are plenty of working class Irish people btw who don't have the Dublin 4 accent, who might even be what my dear mother would call 'common' but who have done plenty for their communities."

Nowhere were 'ordinary people 'mentioned by me or did I say that it was one particular type of person volunteering

That would be your twist .

And that is BS.

There are people from every group in society volunteering

Students, retired people , young people, looking for something good to do , or to add to their CVs , people who have time before they collect their kids ...

But you mention D4 accents ..so is it her accent now and not just her qualifications that are the issue ?

Not replying further on this.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭jack of all

We've got to turn off the tap that is proving to be the draw for these (vast majority) chancers.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

Why couldn’t they do it 1/2 years ago though when it was obvious to anyone with a critical eye what was happening? No, they just dismissed it as far right talk, and their inaction encouraged thousands more to arrive in that time. They shouldn’t just “be moving in the direction of reforming the asylum system”, they should already have moved at this stage!

Do we really want these incompetent people in charge when they have already proven they have no foresight and can’t see what’s going on around them?