Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What’s your most controversial opinion? **Read OP** **Mod Note in Post #3372**

• Registered Users Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Vote4Squirrels

After taking a strong legal prescribed painkiller - I can understand why people do illegal drugs, the initial high is awesome!

Shame it'll wear off after a few days and I'll be left with just the pain killing element - which is great too tbh!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭randd1

A Batter Curry Box (batter burger, batter sausage, battered chicken ball, chips and curry) might not be the best for you health wise, but tastes much better after a few pints than a taco chip.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Father Brendan Smyth, Larry Murphy etc. Is there a way to get post modern about these?

• Registered Users Posts: 29,226 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

…many individuals that are considered 'evil' in fact show signs of extremely complex psychological disorders including cluster b disorders such as aspd, and other disorders such as ice, one of the reasons how we know this is by observing and researching these individuals while in custody, killing these individuals, while in custody, prevents us from doing such critical research, such as what actually causes such outcomes, and ultimately our attempts in preventing them…..

• Registered Users Posts: 33,305 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Okay so no country is requiring such a thing…

• Registered Users Posts: 868 ✭✭✭purifol0

They actively prevent it. They are misandrist and gynocentric, but so is damn near everywhere. What was your point?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

I don't like the term evil myself as usually you end up with talks about the divil, religion etc. Wasn't it Nietzche that came up with the idea of evil with a small "e", the personal non religious type evil. Instead of calling them evil, let's use abhorrent acts. The kind of thing that members of society should not be exposed to and one one not like to happen to themselves. i don't like the idea of the death penalty solely due to the chance of a mistake, but there are some people I won't lose a bit of sleep over if they get the needle.

its a complicated topic, but i do realise, some people are just currently not rehabilitative, but maybe that can change in the future, but thankfully the amount of individuals is small, but we have learned a lot from these individuals, and we still do, but they are bloody dangerous, and some can probably never be truly reintroduced into society

• Registered Users Posts: 20,177 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Yeah evil is often bound up in religious or supernatural ideas. That just muddies the water.

Evil in a secular sense is usually psychopath behaviour. Doing terrible things for nothing more than their own pleasure and not feeling any remorse.

Gets tricky when you consider people who have a strongly held belief in a cause which you think is wrong or even just mistaken. Think terrorists like the1916 lads. They were probably ambivalent about what they did, but probably werent sorry. And got death penalties. Treasonous terrorists to the British establishment, heroic freedom fighters to most Irish people.

But if we're talking about psychopathic murderers like Ted Bundy, it's probably less muddy. Not sure we have many psychopathic serial killers in Ireland to merit introducing the death penalty though.

environmental stressors can also cause detrimental outcomes, my own disorders have been linked to many serious crimes, that dont mean im gonna go shoot up some place anytime soon though…

Sure. Not sure why you're telling me that. If you mean to say that most people with psychological disorders don't commit crimes but some do, then... yeah. Goes without saying, doesn't it?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭ruth...less

I agree with this. I personally find it very hard to define evil in a person but evil acts I dont..and tbh it's not been a good way of thinking for me... because I'm always looking for reasons or excuses for people and I'm too easy on people.

I have seen though throughout life in early childhood years where (now I don't know) there was seemingly no neglect or abuse with this child I fact she seemed quite spoilt but she was particularly mean to animals and bit of a bully..I remember that childhood friend getting extreme joy out of rolling around bees in a jar and I told her to stop. Then again, I was ok with catching the bees but I let them go so I justify that I'm good because I let them go?…but there were differences in me and her from very early on that I don't know I put down to ignorance...I remember having a debate with the same girl and now we were only 10 and she said that all people who had aids should be put on an island and left to die and I remember saying to her no you can't do that to people...then again I grew up with very liberal open minded and accepting parents for the time so I probably wasn't being told the things she was at home! I actually find because I had a nice homelife in my childhood but was surrounded by and experienced and saw a lot of abuse within my community that it's left me very confused as an adult because when I left the safety of my home I still had to deal with things. Such is life but particularly for me the contrast in a good few situations was particularly a shock and big confusion for me.

I was a television version of a person with a broken heart...

On the first part of wat you said, there's a difference between a cause of a behaviour and an excuse. Sometimes finding out the cause of a behaviour is not an excuse at all. I think we should always want to know the cause of a behaviour if we want to avoid it happening again in the future.

A lot of the time you'll find that people who do terrible things experienced trauma early in life. Either acute trauma or prolonged trauma. That might offer an explanation but does it excuse the terrible thing the person did? Most likely not.

Oh ye I get that too. Like I'm not sure how I feel about personality disorders but there is no doubt certain patterns of behaviour are linked together to form the idea of say a narcissist.

The thing I always think about is when they say 'the child suffered a trauma that made them feel neglected, scared etc' ....there can be serious traumas yes but 'trauma' in some cases could be that the mother went out of sight for a five mins or something minute like that which scared the infant and set a pattern of thinking. That's why I'm kind of thinking it's more nature sometimes...what compelled one child to perceive an innocuous event so drastically different to another?

• Registered Users Posts: 25,246 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Yep, true, the FAI should shoulder the majority of the blame.

But Kenny should have been honest with himself and been aware of his limitations. His lack of first hand knowledge and experience of managing top level professionals.. and top level teams…that’s something he should have privately acknowledged and concluded… “ I’d love the job, right now I’m not a suitable candidate, maybe in 6/7 years…“

You are not going to get a person managing Jim & Deirdre’s corner shop with four or five employees to going straight to managing a local Tesco…. With 120 employees…. 1000 times the daily turnover, HR issues, security issues, head office targets, growth strategies etc….

Well, I live with someone who sometimes reads case files for criminals as part of their job. Let me assure you, mam going out of sight for 5 minutes doesn't make the highlights reel of traumatic events. The stuff is genuinely horrific.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭randd1

There's a strong chance that after Trump's conviction yesterday, we're going to see the first shot of the American Civil War Part II: The Donkey/Elephant War by the end of this year, either as a response to Trumpism* losing the election the bat-**** will see it as a corrupt act and a call to war, or else Trump wins and it's taken by some as a sign God to cleanse the nation of non-Republicans.

*trumpism not necessarily meaning Trump himself, but certainly plenty of his acolytes.

No I'm talking about...say someone who's diagnosed with a personality disorder like narcissism and there doesn't seem to be any history of neglect or abuse...in those cases when they are talking about 'trauma'..it was what the infant perceived as trauma…so at some significant point or several significant instances where everything alligns (fear, loss, age etc) something insignificant triggers the child for example to feel abandoned...and this sets part of their perceptions going forward...

It could have happened on another day to the same child or a different child but for whatever reason that did not trigger them…

But when all things aligned it triggered them to perceive it as trauma and set the tone going forward. Not sure if I'm explaining it right.

Not Sure what point you're making.

Some people experience abuse and neglect and it affects their behaviour in later life, and sone people experience seemingly minor trauma which can also affect them later in life. Is that what you're driving at?

Well you don't have to be so rude.

I was talking about how I often make excuses for people and then..when you read about personality disorders like narcissistic or aspd, or even reading about attachment theory's, they often say 'something terrible happened in the childhood which caused x y z' but i don't always think it's something terrible that happened.

We were talking about the existence of evil...and it can't exist in the same way complete goodness can't exist...but it can come close.

Like my example of the mother leaving the child for five mins and that triggering the child. The mother could not know that would trigger the child. She is human and it's human nature not to be perfect. The childs reaction is not controllable by the child but a mixture of biological and circumstancial factors that aligned to trigger the child into eventually becoming.....evil by nature 😁😁

Not trying to be rude. I just didn't get you point.

I don't know if a seemingly minor event like that would cause BPD or the other disorders you mentioned. I'll take your word for it for the sakebf discussion.

Like I said, those things don't make the trauma highlights reel for the criminals and the case histories I mentioned earlier. It's more things like constant fear of beatings, sexual abuse, neglect and not having a parent they can rely on to provide basic needs, safety, stability and boundaries etc.

None of it is necessarily an excuse for anything. But you still need to understand the cause.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭cms88

If it's not going to be a big issue what's the problem with taking a test then?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,236 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Christina Aguilera is a couple of tiers above Britney Spears in terms of looks. And definitely has held up better than her since passing 40, and isn't batshit mental either.

All round classier individual with an under-rated catalogue for the genre.

• Registered Users Posts: 461 ✭✭Kingslayer

Bon Jovi's drummer is a bit crap.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 5,013 Mod ✭✭✭✭spacetweek

Nah I defo prefer Britney. Classier lady and better songs.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,117 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

The amount of media over-coverage and molly coddling of exam students every year now.

This morning it was some guidance councillor more or less saying don't forget your pens and pencils and brain going into the exam hall. Does any other country have wall to wall coverage of bloody exams?

• Registered Users Posts: 852 ✭✭✭Photobox

Have to agree with this, there was an article in the Irish Times about dealing with your teens yesterday, some suggestions were leave them socialise with their friends, allow them to take public transport, leave them at home for a short while before 16 and longer after, I couldn't believe what I was reading. WTF and I have three teens who have been doing all that since primary school. Insane molly coddling

• Registered Users Posts: 11,236 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Sure the poor auld craturs are over-mammied now more than ever.

I wouldn't mind but the exams themselves aren't as difficult or stressful as they were when I sat them 18 years ago (christ). Far more pathways into education if you don't get the points you initially wanted, and fecking even a few bonus points now for just sitting the higher grade. Had I known then what I know now, that they weren't the be-all and end-all, despite having it drummed into me from fifth year, I probably would have performed better than I ultimately did. And me getting my current job, which is well paid and enjoyable most of the time, didn't hinge whatsoever on LC results 18 years ago.

And the exam coverage will be supplanted in a few weeks by music festival season, again something I don't understand the fascination with in this country.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,117 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Paying a small fortune to plod around muddy fields to see mediocre identikit artists. Don't get it either.

Add the Ploughing to national media obsession list. Dublin media decamping en masse to encounter country folk.