Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Weekly Basic Income for Artists

1235»

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 49,621 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

If you want to boost the economy by boosting spending, you get the money to the poorest in society. Because they don't have the luxury of saving.

• Registered Users Posts: 139 ✭✭Mick ah

A minimum wage job would provide more income than this hairbrained scheme.

Also, by that logic, make the dole a grand a week. The economy would be flying!

They wouldn't even need to be in Ireland to get this pay, they could be on a beach in the Canneries living the good life, compared to us saps who have to work for it.

There's always exceptions but generally artists do their best work in their twenties, I was never into art like paintings, galleries. But in music it's something I have noticed, plus young people set and follow current trends better. Personally I would set it to 18 to 35 age range. If an artist is not established by then the odds of success are low. The reason they should make public the artists involved, as you can see more clearly their intentions and if the artists are deserving of it, if they are doing original work (not AI) because you and I know, the government are bad at this or they might decide to give the money to their relation down the road. It would bring oversight and transparency. Yes diversity quotas can be ok but are they excessive in one area, or are they promoting some artists because it promotes a certain image the government want like the recent Eurovision selection.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,498 ✭✭✭✭Water John

So we now put forward the theory that the Govn't selected Bambie Thug to represent Ireland😂

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users Posts: 29,527 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

…and again, those lower on the socioeconomic scale tend to spend most of what they have, this directly benefits them and the businesses that receive this money, those higher on the scale tend to use more of their money purchasing assets such as property, which only truly benefits those markets, by helping to inflate the price of such assets…..

What's your point exactly?

Up to a certain point, as incomes increase consumption increases. After that people tend to spend their OWN money on assets, such as a pension. Do you think you should be able to dictate how people spend their money?

As a society we offer an unbelievable amount of support for people to up skill. People have numerous opportunities to better themselves in Ireland. At the state's expense. Which I approve of by the way. It's to everyone's benefit when people improve their skills.

However, every transfer payment that the government gives creates a disincentive to work. And as we've seen in Ireland there's a significant cohort who are happy not to work.

Also, why are so many hard work tax payers happy to see their money thrown at the undeserving?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,498 ✭✭✭✭Water John

We're back to the old 'moral hazard' argument. We definitely shouldn't have rescues the developers and banks, AIB twice. Anyone not repaying any loan and interest to the full, should be sent to a debtors prison.

Or maybe they could get another job if they can't earn enough in their current one.

Why should the tax payer be on the hook just because someone can't earn a crust with their art?

If you were being asked to directly pay 300 odd euro a week to someone you'd be fairly quick to say no. But once it's "taxpayers' money" all of a sudden it's fine to waste it.

Edit:

Also, 40 hours a week of work leaves plenty of time for a hobby. Ask anyone who's studied part time while working.

The bailout is a different conversation.

On the topic of debtors' prison:

They're a stupid idea in this day and age. Repossess the house. Allow the individual to declare bankruptcy and let them move on with their lives.

The situation in Ireland where it's nearly impossible to repossess a house is ridiculous. And it leads to tax payers paying the highest mortgage interest rates in Europe.

Over the course of a mortgage that is tens of thousands of Euro. If not hundreds of thousands. But you know, screw the tax payer, he should just bend over so the free loaders can have a good ride.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,941 ✭✭✭randd1

Or plays/coaches sports.

Or enjoys going to the cinema.

Or the simple joy of walking the dog for an hour.

Some people love cooking.

Some people play computer games/watch TV in their spare time.

People don’t get paid for their hobbies. And there’s nothing to stop you doing art when you’re on the dole.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭Flaneur OBrien

The dole used to be described as the artists subsidy. Can't do that anymore now everyone needs to be "activated"

Do you, or do you not think art and culture is important to a life lived?

Of course it's important.

We're discussing how it should be funded.

Of course it’s important.

But is it any more important than a lad coaching young people 2/3 times a week in various sports, not withstanding the benefit society gets from having children active and not obese?

Theres a local man, retired, who got together a group other retirees and spend their free days cutting grass, tending to flower beds, cleaning up the local graveyard, things like that. You’d often see them with their grandkids doing some as well. All off their own bat, and expense (though the community has started a regular little collection for the old folks annual trip). Is it more important than something like that?

Not for me.

Fair play to those lads giving to the community.

It shows a real love of a place when residents are willing to give their time like that.

Yeah, the main lad over it, he has only a very small house, looks incredible. Some of the flower beds near the church are just lovely, some arrangement of colours.

It’s the simple things really that have the greatest effect, and there’s nothing more simple than a bit of nature, whatever its form.

Great for the older folks too that they meet up more regularly.

So all those people could be on 350pw on a basic income, giving them more time to devote to these interests. I mean that would depend on this trial being a success (which is what it's looking like) and getting more people on board (which is the challenge).

Great.

If it's important, it has to be paid for. You can't just pay the "successful" artists as

A: you'll run out of artists as the young ones have to give it up, and get a job unless their parents are loaded. The artists that come late to the game wouldn't be able to take the financial risk of going for it either.

B: You run the risk of underrepresented artists from working class areas (which is already happening) as money is such an issue to them.

C: Basic income is taxable income, so anything they earn over it is taxed straight away. They'll also be spending their 350 on rent (taxable) supplies (taxable) workshops (taxable).

I think we have to wait to see exactly how much what the net cost to this scheme will be before we can judge that. (350pw Vs how much the govt received back).

The problem with that is, where do you stop? The playwright on 350 a week writes a play and receives €7,000 for it, which they're taxed on. Then it's put on stage, actors, backstage support, sets, costumes, lights etc are all paid (and pay tax) and the audience (potentially thousands) buys tickets and have a meal before going in and having a drink at the bar, before getting a taxi home (all adding to the states coffers).

But all we'll see is the tax take on 7000 vs 350pw.

Would the playwright have written that play without the safety blanket of 350pw? Maybe, but it might not have been crafted as well due to having to hold down another job.

It's the basic problem with trying to justify art in a financial sense. It's finance Vs intangibles.

Post edited by Flaneur OBrien on

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 49,621 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

there's only one of those you've listed which would be comparable with creating art; coaching sports. as in, it's the only 'hobby' you've listed where anyone other than the person practicing the hobby benefits.

for example, playing video games, you're a consumer. not a creator.

as mentioned, the grant to the greyhound racing industry costs more per annum than this scheme has, and i don't think you could make a case that greyhound racing benefits society as much as supporting the arts does.

(FWIW - it needs to be mentioned that this scheme is certainly not the only money given to the arts in ireland!)

I'd argue that he'd write a better play without basic income because he would have some life experience from working.

He might be able to relate to those people sitting in the audience, who've spent their hard earned on a ticket.

I doubt Orwell's books would have been improved (or even existed) had he been a life long doler.

Also, any money spent is good for the economy. However, an economy cannot sustain unlimited transfer payments. Someone has to actually do some work to pay for everything!

This "wouldn't it be nice" scenario where other people's money is given to people to fund their hobbies is the typical rubbish we come up with in Ireland. Because we haven't yet figured out that the government can only spend our money, and a significant portion of society lives on the backs of others.

People would have more money to spend on art if the government taxed them less. And, people would be free to fund the art they like, not have their taxes used to fund all sorts of rubbish.

You'd be right if it wasn't for automation removing many jobs.

Fact is, that's already happened. Companies aren't paying as much tax/employers PRSI etc as they used to.

One of the things that needs to be discussed is that we need to increase the tax intake by taxing companies fairly. It's unfair for them to withold profits which should have been money for the exchequer from employing less people

Productivity increases are what pay for wage increases.

If you start discouraging companies from investing in technology then we'll just fall behind the competition. Employment levels will change as new technology emerges. But one thing is for certain, the idea that AI will replace everyone is laughable.

Also in Ireland, what is "fair" when it comes to taxing companies. We don't have a big capital base to tax. The golden geese that are currently paying for our bloated public sector and society's "most vulnerable" will up sticks in the morning if the tax regime here becomes unfavorable. Don't ever forget that. Our prosperity depends entirely on allowing foreign companies access to the EU while offering the benefits of being in a tax haven.