Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Glastonbury 2024

• Registered Users Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Wooderson

You reckon? Last time I was there in '22 the Pyramid was great.

Other has been in a state of decline for more than 10 years. This year a low point.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,765 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Can see myself dipping the toe into some of Squeeze, Paul Heaton, PJ Harvey, Femi Kuti, Cyndi Lauper, Michael Kiwanuka, Little Simz, Seasick Steve, Shania Twain, Janelle Monae.

Park - Dexys, Bar Italia, Otoboke Beaver, Breeders, Orbital, Psychedelic Porn Crumpets.

Other - Idles, Confidence Man, Zutons

West Holts - Heilung, Squid, Skatalites, Black Pumas, Jalen Ngonda, Steel Pulse, Justice.

Elsewhere - His Lordship, Albert Lee, The Manfreds, Judy Collins, Lulu, Toyah & Robert, Baggy Mondays, Daniel Avery, Groove Armada, Faithless, DReam, Zero 7, The Orb, Henge, The Trojans, Frank Sanazi.

Going to make an effort to get involved in some other craic too. Smaller venues. Strummerville, Crows Nest late doors et al. A few pub crawls. Rocket Lounge.

Theres a festival there.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,727 ✭✭✭Fanirish

Interesting point that nadine shah makes as why she turned down glasto. Not worth her losing money playing glasto if she wasn’t on stage with bbc coverage

on flip is an act like Fleetwood mac know their worth and just don’t want to lose thousands performing at Glastonbury when the upside for them will be limited in long run

• Registered Users Posts: 5,522 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Tickets arrived this morning and the stage times out too. The excitement has definitely cranked up a few notches today! Although shite day to have been so busy in work. Only really looking at the stage times now, Friday & Saturday looking great for me but will be very open to suggestions for things to do most of the Sunday.

Millions even. Think they got 2.5m for Isle of Wight. Glasto have a 500k cap last I heard.

Emily eavis says her limit is 1/5 of the rate a band gets for other UK festivals or big European festivals. So that seems on the money.
    also Glastonbury might eat up some demand for a London show around the same week. Has to be the right balance for an act

I think she said less than 10%!

Fleetwood Mac are the only act of that size to turn it down due to money that I can think of. And it was only Stevie who had an issue if rumours (😀) are to be believed. MF was down for it

no better bang for your buck in the world than glasto but downside is some acts will just not lose money on playing it so they will skip it

• Registered Users Posts: 12,212 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

It's not great imo. A lot of repetition from previous years which is a frequent problem when it comes to Glastonbury lineups. Considering it's a guaranteed sellout I do kind of wish they'd take more risks, maybe it's a money problem, I don't know.

That said, it's so bloody massive that I can always find more than I'll actually be able to see and this year is no different. I never end up watching on the Pyramid anyway, this year I'll try and be close to the front for LCD Soundsystem and I'll hang around for Dua but if she's boring I'll leave.

I think its better than 2022, Macca aside

• Registered Users Posts: 6,058 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

It is a tough one to call alright. I mean I can absolutely see why Taylor Swift didn't reschedule her cancelled gig. She would lose millions as she's at the top of her game at the moment. Releasing new material that's instantly chart-topping and working with wide range of collaborators etc. Basically anything she touches at the moment turns to gold. And this has been the case for a couple of years and will continue for a couple of years at least.

But for acts that are just peaking (Maybe a hit or two. Vocal fanbase that knows they have 7 or 8 banging tunes) or acts that are going a while. Maybe are not quite at their peak while not quite riding the nostalgia train, Glastonbury appearances on TV can really boost their sales.

As mentioned, Lionel Richie: Beautiful day. Crowd in great form. Huge crowd. INSTANT sales boost. The National before Foos a few years ago.

I suppose these days of streaming, there might not be as much of a bump but sometimes certain sets stick in people's minds after seeing them on TV. My sister wouldn't cross the road to see Muse but she remembers them banging out blinders at 2016. Stormzy's stab-proof vest is an iconic Glasto image. Foo Fighters cutting out all the dross and reducing a 2 hour set to a mid-afternoon high-energy 1 hour set that put a smile on everyone's face watching on TV. Even my 80 year-old mother enjoyed that ("Well of course I knew NOTHING but they certainly were up-beat and the crowd loved them. BBC will pay SOME fines for the swearing though")

So I can understand the likes of Taylor Swift passing because, conceivably, she would probably lose about 15 million for one show with no real benefit as her tour is already generating huge headlines. But eh likes of Madonna and Fleetwood Mac and others like that?. Yes, they are touring and selling out but usually when people talk about acts such as these there are comments such as "Jaysus, they've had some amount of work done" or "How many of them are still alive or talking to eachother". Nailing a Glastonbury live televised set with an energetic crowd behind you could be a real boost.

• Registered Users Posts: 267 ✭✭TenPicnics

Alternatively, if you're as unbelievably wealthy as Taylor Swift, why wouldn't you take a very small dent in the many millions you have and gladly take the chance to play the greatest festival on the planet?

More of a rhetorical question than looking for the usual depressing Because Money reply.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,058 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Well there is always that, yeah. And I mean I'm sure The Foo Fighters got f*ck all for their set last year.

I'm gonna start a totally baseless rumour that she's gonna turn up for a song or two at The National's set. Sure, sure, she'll still be on stage in Landesdown at that time but don't let logic get in the way of a good rumour :)

My ticket arrived today

• Registered Users Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Marty Bird

Guys I’m flying into Bristol on the Friday afternoon is it quicker to get the bus from Temple Meads or train to Castle Cary ?

🌞6.02kWp⚡️3.01kWp South/East⚡️3.01kWp West

See about sharing a taxi with people outside the airport? Bus/Train is x3 the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 370 ✭✭Whipping Boy

Speaking of which: We're on the 2.30pm Aer Lingus flight on the Wednesday. Anyone else on the same?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Marty Bird

🌞6.02kWp⚡️3.01kWp South/East⚡️3.01kWp West

• Registered Users Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭Still Ill

Think it's about £70/80 in an Uber. You should be able to identify fellow Glasto goers to split it with in the airport.

Not long to go now, I've started making the pile in my sitting room, new rucksack arrived today. Thread seems quiet this year I guess there's not many going.

Line up a duffer innit.

Having missed last year (previous one I didnt attend was 2003) I am starting to get a little giddy. Will be on the road down to Summerzett this time next week.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭rubick

Have the sleeping bag in the wash today, festival pile started. Airport pints at Belfast International next Wednesday AM at about 6.30am. Not bothering with the fireworks this year, we're doing a pub crawl. Godspeed ye Worthy People.

Should be getting the bus from Bristol this time next week to join up with the Avalon bar crew. Looking forward to being on site before the gates are open to the public.

No, funny enough the Avalon Inn isn't one of the bars run by Avalon!

There's about 12 different bars they run. Won't know which one I'm in, or my schedule til I get there. Haven't really got any 'must see' acts, so not too pushed what hours I get. From what I gather it'll likely be Wednesday or Thursday and I'll get one of the main days off. So three 8 hour shifts total.

Don't think i've a single must see this year tbh which is a first for me. Best of luck with the bar(s) and shifts you work in mate. I'd say earplugs essential kit for your shift regardless.