Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

German police officer dies after stabbing on Friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,150 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

What's really disgusting is that No one here really cares at all about police getting murdered. They only care about the offenders. I would think any actual police person would think exactly that.

I have no idea how you come to the conclusion police are not human to me, that's too ridiculous.

Unrelated? I thought the thread was about police officers being murdered. But I see my mistake now, no one cares about murders of police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

It's sad but true that its going to take something very bad to happen in this country before the woke lefties realise what a total mess that the country is in. And how seriously dangerous some of our towns and cities have become. Alot of Europe is now seeing this with the policeman in Germany a costly but small example of what yet is to come. Our law enforcement has shown that its just barely fit to handle our own countries problems without taking on other far worse countries problems.

• Registered Users Posts: 374 ✭✭sekiro

It's fascinating that within 30 minutes of a post about a police officer being stabbed to death in Germany you've managed to show up with a link to a shooting from January 2022 for some reason.

What's your thought process there?

I assume you had to actively go and search for cases where police in Germany had been killed?

If this was just intended to be a "gotcha" to try and say "well nobody cared when 2 German police were shot two and a half years ago so why do you all care now" then it's worth noting that your post was only the 8th in the thread and was posted before even 30 minutes had passed. Not a lot of time for people to even learn about this thread and this case nevermind trawl up a case from years ago to also care about.

Seems like you acted very quickly to contain the conversation and to try and steer the discussion.

What's that all about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,441 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Did something not already happen in this country?

What about the guy who stabbed young kids and their teaching assistant?

I'd call that fairly serious.

If a big lump of a fella starts stabbing in Grafton Street or O'Connell Street, how many will he kill before he is overpowered?

And there is no doubt, it will happen here. Its only a matter of when.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,517 ✭✭✭mikethecop

gowan out of that , the only value that mans life had to you was so you could score a few internet points . im very sure you have no idea what and "actual police person " would think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,898 ✭✭✭volchitsa

I don't believe the cop hesitated to shoot in case it was racist. That's frankly ridiculous. They hesitated to shoot because in a busy space where it wasn't clear what was going on (the bypasser who mistakenly tackled the wrong person for example) opening fire brings a whole new level of risk to the public into the equation.

Yes, in hindsight maybe he could have opened fire sooner, but their training is meant to cover all eventualities, and learning to take a beat to see what's happening is not, fundamentally, a bad approach. The idea that they should be taught to shoot first and ask questions later though, as @Manic Moran is suggesting, is far worse in the longer term, IMO.

As Uvalde shows, it doesn't even work anyway when there's a real threat - only against some doped up kid who's probably not even got a real gun.

Reem Alsalem UNSR Violence against Women & Girls:"Very concerned about statements by the IOC at Paris2024 (M)ultiple international treaties and national constitutions specifically refer to women & their fundamental rights, so the world (understands) what women -and men- are. (H)ow can one assess fairness and justice if we do not know who we are being fair and just to?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,761 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

German police officer dies after stabbing on Friday

That's the thread title, it's pretty specific tbf, not sure where the confusion is coming from.

It isn't fair to suggest that people don't care about police being murdered because they didn't make the same connection you did to a case in a region of Germany most people in Ireland wouldn't have much knowledge of.

If you want my opinion, that was a sad case as well, awful that those police officers died. It has no relationship to this topic though.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭highpitcheric

maybe there is a cultural diffrrence, or not, i dont know. One cant tell from one video.

If there is some difference between u.s. and e.u. cops in readiness to fire it would probably be down to the u.s' screwed up relationship with firearms.

if you want to see a u.s. officer take his time firing his weapon, and making a bit of a balls of it, look up the case of Nika N. Holbert.

No I didn't have to search I was well aware of the incident as it involved two police officers being murdered. But like I said, posters don't care about police being murdered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

You Think it was serious.I think it was serious. Lots of people thought it was serious. Its a pity our government didn't think that it was serious though.

As I said, it's a sad fact that it's going to take something a bit bigger to maybe make certain people understand what is happening.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭ToweringPerformance

It's what happens when state news organisations are under the thumb of the government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭doh777

After watching the video myself I had to double take this piece of reporting from.The Guardian.

He 'appeared to be cut in the neck'.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭ToweringPerformance

Wish people would stop responding to that yoke. Every single thread being ruined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

The cop was stupid, he was tackling the wrong guy, had turned his back to much more serious threat, the real attacker armed with knife.

It was only when he was attacked did the police shoot the armed man.

If one was to adopt a conspiracy mindset one could argue they weren't very proactive when in ending situation when it was right wingers being attacked.

Expect more votes for AfD.

There are going to gain even more seats in EU elections.

I am not allowed discuss …

But there is a thread about Gript and misinformation.

That same organisation had an article on this attack on Friday afternoon.

RTE would have nothing but for fact cop has now died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,270 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

Lads, will ye just do us all a favour for the love of god and 'ignore'. Please. That's all you have to do.

Was it buried?

It definitely was not anywhere near front page in early afternoon.

Ignoring people and things doesn't make them go away.

The elections on Friday are going to bring that home to a lot of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭gossamerfabric

The Polizist was brave and I'd hope I would find similiar courage when a knife is produced.

AfD are going to do diddly-squat in Baden-Würrtemberg and especially not in Mannheim where just under 50% of the population have a history of immigration. Not a very pretty City but nothing like the hell-holes of Belguim for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,797 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

One would think when someone is actively trying to kill people the police would take no chances and aim for the head.

Or are they instructed to aim for the torso in these kinds of situations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,524 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Remember this?

"Not everything on your feed can be trusted", indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

yeah life’s not a video game, center mass shots.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,322 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,851 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

Same place where the police officer was killed on Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,761 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Whether you agree with a politicians beliefs or not there's no justification for this type of thing.

We see politicians here getting drinks and eggs thrown at them and protests outside their homes in this country, the rule book has to be ripped up and redrafted for people running for political office now everywhere, Ireland in particular seems to be waiting for something awful to happen before any action is taken.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,733 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

You always aim for the torso, especially when it is serious and you need to kill/stop the person quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,733 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Places that are quickly moving outside of the rule of law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,851 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

Indeed, if one dare criticizes a certain religion they will be met with a terrible faith. We've barely moved on from the power grip Catholic church had over the people of this country, only to import a new one which will cause serious problems in the very near future, worrying times ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,059 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Bizarrely i notice the people who are up iñ arms about any attack on irish politicians are not here condemning this.

I thought people so passionate about this would be consistent in their views.

It's not on when you cant campaign without fear of being attacked.

• Registered Users Posts: 744 ✭✭✭foxsake

quite so.

their morality only kicks in when it suits their views.

he may have been brave but was pretty stupid in pulling off and pinning down the one guy holding the attacker at bay. You'd wonder why?

on his colleagues . the women cops either ran away (one) or only produced their gun after the attacker was shot.

a damning indictment of the caliber and selection of the cops . police are paid to be brave in danger its a job requirement . if you're not then get another job. the entire society is at risk from cowardly cops collecting a pay cheque.

say what you want about US cops - they are sh1t to a large degree - but your man Islam would be dead prompto and everybody else would have gone home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,898 ✭✭✭volchitsa

Reem Alsalem UNSR Violence against Women & Girls:"Very concerned about statements by the IOC at Paris2024 (M)ultiple international treaties and national constitutions specifically refer to women & their fundamental rights, so the world (understands) what women -and men- are. (H)ow can one assess fairness and justice if we do not know who we are being fair and just to?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,643 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

ITs 80 years to the day since D-Day today. Could someone please start a thread about that please as I still can not :(

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,133 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

As another post has said there are verified reports of US cops not doing a damn thing in an active shooting never mind security in places running away. Also that attacker may have had a gun then a knife. Also victim blaming much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,465 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

It’s the usual, these attacks are completely unrelated to the religion, no siree bob. It must just be a mental health issue now shut up. The mainstream press have shown once again that they are completely untrustworthy.

well that is true in the school shooting

i don't subcribe to the concept of "victim blaming" so your dig is wasted.

victims often have a hand in their misfortunate. The notion that they are entirely blameless cos they are the victim is weird af

i concede that . they were a disgrace and should be jailed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Feisar

Me and you could be friends! This weird notion that people are without personal agency and completely at the mercy of the whims of others is strange.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 11,133 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Yes it's true of school shootings and I am sure can be of any other kind of shooting

The officer was doing his job isn't that what yours expecting them to do. Catch bad guys which has an inherited risk to it. What should they do?

He is entirely blameless just like anyone else who has a crime brought on them. Yes you are victim blaming you said it yourself. You don't think there blameless. That is what victim blaming is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,808 ✭✭✭take everything

I'm shocked at how delayed the cops' response was here. At the start of the video he's literally stabbing anyone that's near him with the knife, with clear intention to either seriously harm or kill them.

After he gets up, if he continues to do the same towards anyone else (unless he responds to a call to drop the knife) that should be it, he should have been shot by the police.

Instead he's allowed to get close to the policeman again with the knife. I can't believe that was allowed to happen with so many cops around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Vote4Squirrels

He was murdered by a vile Islamist - who thought it a good idea to offer a Muslim call to prayer at the day of remembrance for the officer ?