Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Go through insurance or not

• 06-06-2024 11:06pm
    Registered Users Posts: 20,760 ✭✭✭✭

My sister was driving in the right hand lane of a dual carriage way , so closest to the middle , A truck (sweeper) came from behind in the other lane & drifted over & its front wheels banged into her back passenger wing , Baldy dented the wheel arch & scratched her wheel badly ,

They pulled over & the guy gave her his details but said he couldn't hang around so drive off before the Garda came,

He said to her he thought he was in his now lane & was looking at a cyclist to make sure he didn't hit him but was sure he didn't drift over

There was no witnesses,

Should see go through insurance is she likely to win ?

It was a work truck & there was nothing wrong with it at all

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭User1998

Has the other driver even offered to fix the damage outside of insurance?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,984 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Yes.

Report to her insurance.

Give them his details.

If he comes back later and offers to fix up she can consider that then.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,678 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Absolutely go through insurance. The rear "wing" is the quarter panel and by the sounds of it theres a fair bit of damage.

If its a quarter panel and it cant be repaired it will need replacing which is expensive.

Also sounds strange that he left quickly - maybe hes not insured? Ive seen it happen especially with bin lorries and sweepers where the drivers dont hold valid licences for the correct vehicle.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,760 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

He didnt seem to bothered about the whole thing , although he did not take blame but said he was to busy watching the cyclist & didn't see her, Gave her the details & said these things happen quite often to triuck drivers,

I think because it was company truck he wasn't to stressed about it

Ye it s a bit odd alright, She took his name and number & a photo off all the info in thew window,

Ye im worried the back wheel maybe buckled god knows what kind of damage could be done to the chassis

• Registered Users Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭easygoing39

What type of car is it?? Im guessing by the truck drivers reaction it was a mirca kind of car,cause if it was a bmw or merc I'd think he'd be more concerned!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭JVince

why was she in the overtaking lane?

This will be a difficult one to prove as there's no debris, no dashcam and no witness.

Truck is saying he did not move into the right lane. She is saying he did and she did not move into the inner lane (where she should have been in the first place).

Before contacting insurance see if the dents and scratches are repairable - dent doctor or similar. If this can be done it is about €200-€300

Then contact the truck driver with the quote. But I suspect the truck will deny he went into the lane and the gardai will say its a civil matter.

Its not really an over taking lane,It happened just after a cross roads & heavy traffic so you get stuck on one side ,

The truck was coming up to the cross roads travailing from West to East , She was travailing North after joining the road from travailing West , The truck came up to the lights & veered left onto the slip road that joins up with her road , As he was joining up with the road travailing North ,there was a cyclist on his inside so he gave himself room to pass thats when he went into her side of the road and bang into her rear passenger , The truck was a left hand drive so makes it hard for hims to see or judge the distance,

• Registered Users Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭easygoing39

That'll cost the truck drivers insurance a god few quid to repair,nice car's them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Sono

Do not wait to hear from this guy, contact his and her insurance company.

If this is a company truck, it could take them time to resolve so best off letting her own insurance deal with the matter and let them get the recovery from the other lads insurance company at a later date, at least this way the car gets repaired in the shortest time possible and her insurance company can look into the liability and go after the other insurer.

Whilst the above may not sound ideal and there will be an excess payable it is the fastest and least stressful way to deal with the matter.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭BlakeS94

Missus had a bit of damage to her bonnet recently, was €1500 to repair out of her own pocket, went through insurance and it cost them €4000

• Registered Users Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Sono

So they aul insurance classic went on this morning

She rang up her own insurance to report it & her not knowing what t o do ,they told her to go ring the trucks insurance and sort it out with them,

Laziest shower of bastards you'll eve meet, You literally pay them thousand over the life time of driving & when you need them to actually deal with your insurance the first chance they get they try to pawn people off,

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭Raichų

nothing strange about it really. He gave his details and carried on. You don’t need to wait for Gardai to arrive and they don’t even need to be attend a scene unless someone’s been injured.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭fitzparker

Because thats what it is for, why wouldn't she

That's how it works.

She'd only be contacting her insurance if there was a risk that the claim would be made against her or of the others were not accepting liability and she had to make a claim via her fully comp insurance which her insurance would then look to get reimbursed from the truck insurance.

Its a simple process. You call the claims line or send them an email. Provide the insurance details and the damage details (photos are best) and an estimate from a repairer. They check with the policy holder and decide if they are liable. It gets passed for approval or sent for inspection where they would send an assessor out. In some cases they will send you to an authorised repair place and they pay directly.

On the road lane issue - that was in case the truck driver made an issue of this.

That not correct at all,

Your insurance company should be doing the donkey work , It is literally part if the service you pay for ,

They should should take care of your car & recover the money , What do you think your paying them money for ,

Infact you should never speak directly to the other person insurance , your putting yourself in a situation where you could say something wrong

Because she only had to pay €700 for all new parts and it didn't increase her policy quote at all.

Nobody's fault really, bonnet latch failed somehow and bonnet flew up when she was doing 80km, made **** of the hinges, bonnet, A pillar and windscreen

Quick question the egine llight has now come on in her car, Is it coincidence or can your egine light come on form a bang in the back wheel arch ?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,678 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

In most cases Id agree - usual little tip etc, however having had the "pleasure" of processing a fair few clams over the years involving sweepers, bin lorries Id be insisting on the driver waiting until a garda arrived.

Id say 50% of the cases Ive handled the wrong licence was in place and a fight with the insurance company ensued. Usually with eastern european drivers and the licence not being valid here.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,984 ✭✭✭✭elperello

It's possible.

You really need to get it plugged in and diagnosed to find out the nature of the problem.

I'd disagree.

Your claim is against the other driver and it's far easier to make a direct claim to their insurance.

Either way is fine - usually what Ive found is the bigger insurance companies will handle everything for you. One phone call and everything will be done for you - rental car delivered, assessor will call to your house or job, claims handler will contact other company to handle the payment of the claim.

The smaller companies expect you to do the running around for them.

The best procedure is

Swap details with the other driver.

If its minor that should be all you need to do.

If its major or theres any suspicion then call the Garda - it always helps to have a garda report if the other party decides to dispute the claim.

Call your own insurance company first and report the accident and see what way they want it handled - if your lucky thats all you have to do.

If you have to deal with the other company directly - get the quote for the repair before you call them if you can, get a name of one person to deal with. Send them a claims form if they ask for it with the quote. Let them handle everything from then onwards. If theres any disputes then call back your OWN company and let them handle it from there.

Dont ever accept a cash offer without a quote and without comeback - so many times Ive seen repairs that were double the amount a person received because there were issues hidden behind a panel and only seen when stripped down.

Heres some pics of a 350 euro repair that ended up in our place a couple of years back.

This cost the customer €24,000 euros to fix.

Someone tipped her and said they were going to get it fixed by a "friend" that owns a body shop.

The "body shop" filled the bumper with sealer and yep - thats a wood screw driven in to hold the bumper in place - they drove it straight into the gearbox oil cooler, vehicle ran out of oil, burnt out the gearbox but unfortunately its a hybrid so the box and motor come as an assembly. The repair looked fine until we stripped it down. And the "body shop" no longer existed - the repair lasted a year before the box burnt out in it. Shocking and all because she accepted a cash offer instead of using the insurance.

That is why you pay your insurance company ,To should do that for you ,

What service are you actually paying for if they donlt handle insurance claims you need to make ,

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭User1998

What service are you paying for? You’re paying for insurance, the compensation for loss or damage? Potentially millions of euros for a small enough yearly fee

You pay for them to take care your cars insurance and any claims that you have to make, It literally what you pay them for ,

Alliance's Irish arm made a profit of 52.2 million last year , Lets not play poor aul insurance companies , ,

• Registered Users Posts: 2,976 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

Your insurance company is only obliged to look after claims under your policy, either for loss or damage to your car, or to defend claims made against you. They have no right or duty to pursue another party for your loss unless they first compensate you for your loss as a claim under your policy. It's the rule of subrogation. If they are successful in recovering their outlay from the other party, the claim is removed from your record. If they can't recover, it remains as a claim made