Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭green daries

What !!! Did you even read the posts .....did you even read your own drivel before you posted it

• Registered Users Posts: 29,424 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

SSpent the day at Dundalk show. We got first prize and reserve champion with a bull calf. **** day weatherwise

Best of luck with the new team. Didn't know it was that easy to transfer. At least hopefully he'll enjoy football again

• Registered Users Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Tileman

I know you mean well for your son and everyone wants the best for their child. But as a coach of an u13 team I have a Pain in my hole from parents constantly giving out that there little Johnny is not startling or playing enough. As a coach u try to be as fair as possible . At that age the kids want to win and you are trying to ensure your team is set up to play as well as possible and to give all the kids a change. If u don’t win a few matches the kids are not happy and the other parents giving out that how would u win when u don’t have the best team on the field. However the amount of parents going on that their lad not playing and they turn up to 25% of trainings. etc. not suggesting that this is the case with your lad but u can’t keep everyone happy and I doubt if he is not getting a starting position in one club he is suddenly going to be in new club unless u are going from a big club to a smaller club.

Post edited by Tileman on

I posted of a crap situation a few weeks ago were my lad was asked to play as the other goalkeeper for age group up had gone awol. My lad was away on a school trip and I collected him and brought him to the game. Other goalkeeper turned up, got full game, played crap , they lost and team out of cup. Pretty crap management. He hadn't been at training or games for a month. Nothing said to my lad at all, just left on sideline. The team didnt deserve that. Bad example to be setting. I'm still annoyed over it

• Registered Users Posts: 18,544 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Awful days weather here. Cool and pouring rain most of the day.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Just out of Thurles great win for Limerick unbelievable achievement. For Clare I think a fair bit of soul searching required deciding to start Tony Kelly was a big call that was probably unfair on a great player Lohan will be under pressure after it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Tbh I would usually fully agree with everything you say with regards to the sporadic trainers but in my eyes this is a different situation than my little Johnny not getting enough game time after being missing for months on end.

He really does train twice a week the vast majority of the time as he likes football and any time he did miss training through sickness etc I made sure to text the coach with reason he couldnt make it. Just for a bit of context on his commitment, his school went on an overnight trip last week. He decided to bring his football gear to the trip with him so I could collect him and he togged in the car to be ready to play albeit a bit late for 6pm training. There are other members of that team who only train once a week as they play different sports one of the nights (which is fine too) .

When I spoke to the coach of the "new" team he said their philosophy was to bring as many kids as possible through to adult football wether that be senior, intermediate or junior B. Thats the sort of ethos i want to be associated with. I don't expect my lad to waltz into any team and he is under no illusion that he needs to work hard on his own skills but with his self confidence on the floor I think it was either take him to somewhere else or he would have opted out of gaelic football altogether.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭Packrat

I'm a bit late into this.

Just to provide another perspective: Packrat junior age 9.5 is playing football with the local team. Good underage structure and he's improving away which is difficult for him given that he has no similar age sibling to be kicking around with and ADHD which makes concentrating on what's going on down the other end hard. We/I make every training. There IS football in him, more than I had, he's fast,mobile and not afraid of the ball or of his marker (I say this as a Kerryman where we're pretty ruthless when it comes to natural ability)

Thing is, we're a very small club and they've been beaten every single game last year and this year. Driving up to 2 hours to be hockeyed by town or amalgamated teams.

He's obviously getting sickened by the whole thing.

I'm pointing out that if he was in a bigger club, that it would be difficult to even get a game.

We are joined in a district team from u11 up and training is 45mins away. Only the best 3 or 4 from our club even bother because they're up against 60 or 70 players for a starting place.

Unless he does wonders next year, that'll probably be it for him, and no near option again until senior.

I think this is sh1t.

Be glad for the area you're in, where there's two options, neither of which is anything like what my poor ladeen is facing.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

There are other sports, we've been there with one of our kids. He was the last player to be put on for 2 minutes or whatever, always at training etc. He started running. Really grew into it, was a bit ott at it for a while.

Another great run there for Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Cushtie

• Registered Users Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭Packrat

Utterly heroic. And no woman alive deserves it more. Delighted.

On the other thing, little other sports locally here.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

• Registered Users Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Was involved with minors at club for a number of years, the biggest problems was the lads that their parents were involved in the under age level on the way up along they had the attitude to getting games regardless of training, turning up on time etc. at present good friend son is playing at under 13 level and is not getting much game time because his dad played for another local club at a higher level, the young lad made the school first year team and was one of the main players on the winning team and some of the lads from his club didn’t make the team and proves that bias is big at club level underage.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,286 ✭✭✭Robson99

Managers / Trainers of underage teams need to understand its about developing the youngsters skills and improving the weaker ones as well as the better ones. Too many think that winning an U11 D competition and getting there picture in the paper makes them [ M/T ] the bees knees. The goal should be for as many as possible to make it to Adult level

• Registered Users Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

There was an article about corofin football club in Galway a while back.
    The man over the underage structure places no emphasize on scores or winning up until u15 or similar. It is all down to developing the players, and focusing on improvement all the time

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,750 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

The strange thing I don't get is where managers give all the attention to a few young lads who develop early but pretty much ignore the ones who need a bit of help with technical skills and building confidence.

Some of the ones who are ignored give up and then the team is struggling for numbers. Might be different in bigger clubs but that's what happened with rural GAA and soccer clubs around here.

It doesn't do the stronger lads any good to get all the attention, even in the most basic sense of being able to field a team next year.

And while I'm having a rant…the big match at the end of training doesn't do anyone any good either. The smaller/younger lads don't get a look in and the bigger lads just develop bad habits soloing the length of the field, shoving younger lads out of the way, etc.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

Totally agree, if you say anything you're an asshole. They'll play the stars from the age below to make up the numbers rather than give the weak players gametime. As for the game at the end,dont get me started

• Registered Users Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

I got to say our local club is brilliant in that regard. They play mini games, maybe 5 a side but they focus on everyone getting involved. They mix the kids with different abilities on a team and one example is, they say maybe 2 or 3 passes needed before a player can score.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,750 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Sounds great to be fair. More clubs should be like that.

I go into the local school on a Thursday morning as part of the GAA club's coaching group. It's junior infants up to 2nd class and fairly mental for trying to get them to do anything close to what you're showing them - they're too busy laughing, hopping on one leg while soloing (one lad at this constantly), fighting, tying laces, going to the toilet, getting a drink of water, taking a rest(!), etc.

I always have a quick look at this lad's account on Twitter for ideas before I go in: https://x.com/ShaneSmith197

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

Fair play to you. At that age it's all about coordination, to help them to solo.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

wantateachpe on X is great, there is Taurus and cul camp sites too

• Registered Users Posts: 10,753 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

My niece was playing camogie in Croke Park yesterday. There were 1,300 young girls playing there from all over the country. Great day out for all involved.

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭zetecescort

its funny to be disappointed with silver for Adeleke after the last few days. great race and just pipped in the last few metres. things really coming together for us for the Olympics, some genuine contenders not to mention the boxers, rowers and other sports

• Registered Users Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Cushtie

Ah I hear you. I'm involved with my young ladies U8 team. It's like herding cats some nights at training. One of the other coaches is very good at coming up with fun drills to keep them engaged, but at the same time getting some basic skills work in. Funny thing even at that age, when we have a game or a blitz they are much more tuned in.

Was a super race, she seems very grounded, not short of talk

• Registered Users Posts: 18,544 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Are Newzeland the first to take agriculture out of their climate goals strategies??

it’s a bold move and perhaps more will follow as more sense prevails

https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/agriculture-to-be-exempt-from-new-zealand-emissions-scheme/

• Registered Users Posts: 5,509 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Don't think so as a lot of countries never included it in the first place. New Zealand An Taisce will be livid with this decision

• Registered Users Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭50HX

I see Clare Daly lost her seat 🥳🥳🥳

She's blaming the establishment 🙄

• Registered Users Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Clare Daly eliminated.... a great day