Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sinn Fein and how do they form a government dilemma

• Registered Users Posts: 9,219 ✭✭✭Red Silurian

I don't think the govt are very likely to lose by-elections as it goes. They're riding very high at the moment so unless something disastrous happens they should comfortably win any by-election thrown their way.

Mind you, your points about efforts going in just for another election less than 12 months later could be true for the govt, but also true for the opposition. A cross chamber deal for once-off legislation to not have a by-election could be another solution

• Registered Users Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭touts

Sinn Fein thought this week couldn't get any worse. Then Liveline started.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

For another thread , but yes the lack of step-down care to move patients to respite or even back home is a large part of the challenge.

It's not necessarily more Hospital beds , it's more respite beds and more carers for in-home assistance that are really needed.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,565 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

By Elections take on a life of there own, they end up fought on local not national issues. They be 4-5 of them with someone going to the EU commission. It gives tge government tge excuse to run to the country, they will take that option.

SF have a problem with who to replace MLMD. PD is another screamer and EOB is a nodding donkey. The ideal candidate woukd gave been Peader Tobin but they managed to lose him instead of giving a free vote on moral issues it was careless of them

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 68,848 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

As I said earlier, for a cohort there will be no acceptable leader of SF.

The appeals to change the leader therefore are about as valid as PBP supporters picking the new leader of FF or FG.

Why bother, it is not as if they are going to convince that cohort to vote for them ever.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Bobson Dugnutt

So did candles, horse and cart and outdoor toilets.

Having elderly men in Belfast deciding how the main opposition party in the 26 counties operates, make decisions, aligns with the Northern Branch, decides candidates is just not going to work. You must adapt to your environment, and the environment these days isn’t scratchy jumpers, bombing shopping centres and shooting Garda.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,630 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

FF ruined Ireland and are now aligned with FG because FG rehabilitated FF

This is an untruth and lie.

The people voted for FF in 2016 and again in 2019. Are you calling the people stupid, much like MLMD did yesterday?

Why didnt SF capture these voters who were so unhappy with FF and FG? Blame the people because they are stupid?

This as well.

Anytime I looked at the Euro debates on TV, the FF and FG types were always heads and sholders above the SF types. A few notable Independents were also competent even if I might disagree with them.

Simply put, in terms of talent alone, SF don't have nearly as much as FF and FG. This resonates with people.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭wazzzledazzle

I'd also have to agree with this. I thought they were really poor.

If anything i thought candidates from Green and Labour spoke particluarly well, even if neither candidate will be elected.

I actually voted for Barry Cowen based on the fact he came across as the most professional in the debates i saw believe it or not

FG lambasted FF for what they did in 2008 and the then leader of FG as recently as 2020 said, putting them back in government would be like putting Delaney back in the FAI, they (FG) are now aligned with them - in government together.

With volte face's like that, FG and SF could be the next government. 😁

• Registered Users Posts: 27,909 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Your analysis is missing a whole piece.

The people have realised that the problems with the health service are going to be very difficult to resolve. However, they have also begin to realise that Sinn Fein are not capable of solving those very difficult problems. Ireland is one of the best places to live in this world, and the reasons include the governments we have had so better those who are solving the problems slowly than those who can't solve the problems and will likely make all other things worse.

That is the problem facing Sinn Fein, and no amount of you or MLMD or Eoin bleating that this government isn't up to it will change that. The only thing that will change things is Sinn Fein actually developing some policies that will work better or quicker than the government's one. So whenever I ask about SF and climate change and am shown some ridiculous policy from 2019 or ask about health and get shown the 2017 policy, that only reinforces the conclusion that Sinn Fein have zero ideas.

When they have produced any ideas - reduce all house prices to €300k, putting loads of people in negative equity while bringing back ground rents - they are disastorous.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭Francis McM

Fair play to Joe Duffy. He left someone speechless when he brought up the Mullaghmore bombing when the pIRA deliberately saw kids, and an elderly woman on the little boat and still blew them up.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭pureza

In Wicklow Co Council,a commuter belt county,SF got 2 councillors elected out of 32,Fine Gael got 9,what does this tell us ?

One of the new Fine Gael councillors is Graham Richmond,a 1st cousin of Neil Richmond

In 3 of the 5 LEA's,no SF councilor at all including Greystones

• Registered Users Posts: 9,179 ✭✭✭squonk

One major issue SF need to solve in the near term is their party hierarchy. They are the same party as SF in Northern Ireland but, for the foreseeable future at least, Northern Ireland is part of the UK. Very few countries and electorates would tolerate a prominent party being controlled by elements outside the jurisdiction. This doesn’t get as much coverage as it should and SF should thank their lucky stars in that regard. It’s particularly irksome to see Mary Lou showing up in Belfast trumping Michelle O’Neill’s legitimate position as first minister. We have enough issues here to provide a politician with a full time career and Mary Lou has plenty of serious issues to fix within her southern party to keep her busy.

They need to at least maintain a Chinese wall between the party organisation north and south. Michelle as main persona in NI, Mary Lou here. I get the impression that Mary Lou think she’s bigger than she is. I’m sure it’s very flattering meeting Rishi Today in Belfast and Taoiseach in waiting once ° crosses the border. Really though you can’t trust a party ran from a separate jurisdiction and Mary Lou is finding out if you don’t do the important groundwork, the big stuff doesn’t matter.

This is another of the clear problems that Sinn Fein have - a complete failure to understand election strategy.

They ran too few candidates in 2020 and too many in 2024. Furthermore that was compounded by internal transfer rates that appear to have been as low as 60-70% when traditionally you often had internal transfer rates within parties approaching 90%.

One of the analyses that I will be looking for when the dust settles is the transfer from Sinn Fein when there were other Sinn Fein candidates still in the race.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭Doodah7

Francie, the issue with you and SF is that you keep wanting to go back in history and talk, and debate nonsense.

FF, the crash, FAI, Enda Kenny et all. That is history. It is done. Time to move on.

But here you are, talking about an electoral quote from the 2016 election, that was 8 years ago at this stage, still trying to 'win' a talking point, that no one was made or is contesting..

Marry that with the drubbing SF got, and we get to see why SF aint resonating with people anymore.

And if FF is back in government, why hasnt SF taken advantage? You wont, nor ever will answer that question honestly. Tbh, you are the best advertisement on boards for not voting for SF.

Government: This is what we are doing

Sinn Fein: You are wrong

Government: There is no other solution, in what way are we wrong?

Sinn Fein: It's not good enough.

Government: There is no other solution, it will take time and money, and not everybody will be happy, but what is your alternative?

Sinn Fein: We don't know, but you are wrong.

The above sums up where we are right now in the electoral cycle.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

• Registered Users Posts: 541 ✭✭✭rdwight

Sinn Fein make spectacular mess of candidate selection and vote management for two elections in a row but according to Francie it's the electorate's fault for being so volatile. If only the other parties had to deal with this problem.

If they read opinion polls or knocked on enough doors they could have known by closing date for candidate nomination (as recently as May 18th) that their planned candidate numbers were mad.

And these guys want to be put in charge of the economy.

Heard the first fifteen minutes of Joe Duffy when he tore that guy from Ballinamore to pieces. The caller, who was defending the actions of a SF councillor who doubled as a PIRA hitman, actually compared a monument to murdered Gardai in Ireland as being equivalent to a monument to Nazis in England.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭pureza

Francie, the issue with you and SF is that you keep wanting to go back in history and talk, and debate nonsense.

FF, the crash, FAI, Enda Kenny et all. That is history. It is done. Time to move on.

Syriza and SF is in 'history' too Mark.

But here you are, talking about an electoral quote from the 2016 election, that was 8 years ago at this stage, still trying to 'win' a talking point, that no one was made or is contesting..

Quite wrong.
    Note the date on this article, Varadkar said it in the lead up to the 2020 election and then went into government with…..FF

Philip Ryan, Hugh O'Connell and Cormac McQuinnWed 5 Feb 2020 at 02:30

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar said allowing Fianna Fáil back into power would be like letting John Delaney run the Football Association of Ireland (FAI) in nine years' time.

Mr Varadkar compared Fianna Fáil to the controversial football chief during a televised debate on RTÉ's 'Prime Time'.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/ff-return-is-like-having-delaney-back-at-fai-varadkar/38928336.html

SF cannot take advantage until the pretense between FF and FG ends. They operate as one party effectively to hold power.
    Sham fights, where lip service is paid to difference (see above) but when it has come down to it they will C&S and coalesce to hold on.

No, the Ireland Thinks survey people said the 'electorate was volatile'.

There were factors including getting candidate numbers wrong, not pounding the pavements enough, not being clear on policy etc and a voliatile electorate (enough commentators have said this now re; transfers all over the place etc. )

With respect, that's not what Mary Lou said was the reason of the poor performance.

I didn't claim it was. MLMD has every right to her own view.

Indeed she has, and what damage that has potentially done, who knows.

I'll caveat the negative commentary on here about SF. On checking the odds, SF are still Even money to win the most seats in the next GE, so it's not all doom and gloom

• Registered Users Posts: 541 ✭✭✭rdwight

The strategy of running too many candidates I think is just one of those things, the decision was taken way back and it was dammed if you do, dammed if you don't. Any strategy can fail if half the electorate is only making it's mind up in the last week.

This is you not Ireland Thinks blaming the volatile electorate for SF's incoherent strategy. People don't know what this week's SF policies are, they got candidate numbers wrong, they couldn't get enough canvassers out ( and that has to be a first in a long time for SF): they f**ked up, not the electorate.

It was a ‘factor’ IMO

Do you know what a factor is?
    Part of something not the whole.
    The volatility of the electorate was part of the reason candidate selection backfired. Not picking enough last time out was a factor in SF not getting enough seats.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Bobson Dugnutt

Where did the canvassing teams go to for SF? In the past you would have gotten at least one knock on the door from their team. Usually the tough looking auld fella with the shaven head or the very intense young bearded man types.

Nothing this time. Got a leaflet. FF, FG, SD and Labour all called. Think we missed the PBP chap as well.