Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA Discussion part 2 , No Purple Jumpers Allowed !!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,027 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

O'Neil, it was late and I posting it , 🙈

• Registered Users Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭PeggyShippen

I think the penny has finally dropped among certain Clare Supporters that this Limerick team is better than Clare at everything.. not by much but by enough. They are smarter , work harder , more ruthless, better coaching , just all round better. It's taken along time for that penny to drop with some. Fingers was saying 'Clare never fear Limerick "..well fingers we shoud have resoect for them.I say that because there should be no arrogance in our Clare side. We've won nothing but we could still win an All Ireland.

Time to tell Rodgers as good as he is that he can't be missing open goal chances. My granny would have put that away. McCarthy thank you for your service. He has to be benched. Reidy starts for me everytime. Id tell Shanagher be ready for the 45min..you ll be on.

Cleary doesn't need to foul so much. The guy is clueless . A junior hurler . He's a liability. Id drop him. Malone and Lohan..? We can have one of them but not 2. McInerney was terrible.. Conlon..last year for him. Can't move. And let's not forget TK...he was shocking . Should have been taken off. The 2 missed frees...just no. Drop em in..do something clever. Put Duggan on the frees...it might stop.him climbing all over fellas in the first 10 mins of matches if he has that responsibility. Shane O Donnell is a saint ..I dunno how he listens to lohan or look around at greedy eejits like McCarthy and Fitzgerald

Support 🇮🇱 Israel

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭Knockdromin

Agreed. I’d have a few concerns on Lohan’s decision making on the sideline and some of the selection decisions such as in the full back line. But a lot of what happened on Sunday is fixable and a lot of it typically wouldn’t happen. McCarthy on the frees, a few fluffed goal chances. Aggression levels didn’t seem at their normal pitch either.

Granted they don’t have a lot of time but they can definitely fix some of the issues from Sunday in time for the next game/games.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

i often taught he was one of ye at times 😂 . he's right though , you can sulk and feel sorry for yourself or you can start pointing out what needs to be fixed and get it right ,that's what clare need to do now over the next few weeks

there are threads on this website about the dominance of dublin football, it has highlighted where one or two top counties have in sorts waved a white flag to dublin , its the last thing we will want to do beit kilkenny , limerick or whoever

2 weeks time is a huge game for lohan though , if we dont get past wexford there will be serious questions to answer in september or october in front of the county board , if we win its back to where we wanted to be at the very least at the start of the year

the big problem with the missed chances is in the end we were 7 points of the target thats required to give yourself a chance of beating limerick , it would have been set as 30 points plus , we were miles off that between missed frees goal chances and some very poor wides from open play also the level of quality ball into the inside line was dreadful at times , yes we were put under serious pressure at all times when in possession but we are much better then that for sure

• Registered Users Posts: 677 ✭✭✭farmerval

I think Conlon is becoming a liability, Lohan obviously wants lots of ball going through him coming out of defence. His distribution is usually very good, on Sunday Limerick swallowed him up in possession, he was probably lucky with the ref a few times in the first half.

It's very unusual for Clare's work rate to let them down, it did on Sunday. At times they looked too caught up a tactical plan, not playing the easy ball, looking to play the instructed delivery, even when it wasn't working. Quilligan's clearance that led to Limerick's goal was typical, man in space 40 metres ahead and instead he tries to play a long crossfield ball.

A lot of Clare's players are struggling for form right now, they're definitely in a bit of a rut, they look nothing like the free scoring hard running team of two years ago.

I am because I care and I see a great generation not reaching their potential because little tweaks and little inches weren't reached for.

Support 🇮🇱 Israel

How could I forget Calamity Jane in goals. My memory must have gone into black out to protect me from the anxiety he rises in Clare supporters. Under pressure he's a disaster and unfortunately being an intercounty goalie is a pressurised position. The stutter step / goose step would have done the great Australian winger David Campese proud. The only problem was there was no one to trick.. he just had to come to the ball. He had loads of time to get there before Hegarty but he brain farted in a big way. Listen his puckouts were mostly crap aswell.. hitting the sideline like 2018. Just put on anyone over him. The puck out strategy is down to timing ...plain and simple. One week of solid goalie work will get a new fella as good as Quilligan anyway. Id actually put Quilligan in charge of tutoring his replacement for the Wexford game.. It's a team game after all. Suck it up Ivor

Support 🇮🇱 Israel

• Registered Users Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Gael85

Have said before would prefer Conlon in forwards. Lohan hasn't really experimented outside of Cleary at 3 and Conlon at 6 in the league which as created an issue. You think he have done something with that at this stage.

The freetaking has become since Colin Ryan retired. No consistent freetaker Kelly, Duggan, McCarthy, Rodgers and Reidy have been tried over the years.

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭Knockdromin

• Registered Users Posts: 5,280 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Well that's the issue.

Due to lack of experimentation we have no Plan B for 3 & 6. That's despite both of them having suffered injuries in recent years.

I think we have many hurlers potentially capable of played at CB, e.g. Dave Mc, D.Ryan, C.Galvin, D.Lohan, Conneelly etc.. But it's a bit unfair to throw them in during an all-Ireland knockout game.

In terms of a full back, I can't really think of anybody.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

You weren't the only one to notice that. ( A reply to Supernova which won't show up for some reason.)

• Registered Users Posts: 817 ✭✭✭lim4ev

That's a shocking post considering the effort these guys put in. The one week comment with respect tells me you might not know what you're talking about.

There's no doubt Quilligan had a poor game , the reason why lohan played Foudy in the opening round of last yr was he had his doubts that Quilligan was the best ye had but that back fired. Goalkeeping is such a specialised position plus on Sunday he was up against one of the greatest to ever play no1 in my opinion

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 23,961 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Folks,

Attack the post not the poster and trying to dox a poster, even in jest, is a no-no on here.

Finally, if you are going to comment on a players performance, focus on the performance not the individual, these players put in more time & effort than we'll ever know so please post with respect.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 23,961 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Thanks folks for the nice comments, but commenting on mod actions isn't acceptable either. If you have a problem with a post, report or ignore it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Figerty

everyone is entitled to their own opinion , i gave mine a few weeks ago about it (middle east) and it was very much the opposite to mr or even mrs shippen 😉 ,

but from a hurling point of view things have got a little out of hand myself included , personally i dont think we should be getting as carried away with the munster group games as we do , in truth its about here on in ,

peggy is right though , for all our wrongs last week , we give very little credit to limerick and how they set up , they constantly withdrew their half forward line to smother the middle 3rd , then break at pace to launch an attack or better still leave our 3 backs 1-1 with their full forward line , it was a system that was very hard to play against , its a football tactic that is working wonders in hurling

for all the flack the full backline gets , i taught they were our best unit last week especially in the second half , again conor leen was excellent reading the game and really complemented the other two

best of luck to the footballers in castlebar against donegal , a huge ask but qualification is still very much available , the side named is very much a counter attacking one , expect michael garry and gavin murray to drop back the field and cover the runs of ciaran moore , who is fastly becoming the find of the season in the football championship , the likes of ryan McHugh and caolan mcgonagle , who in ulster and against tyrone put in all star nomination performances

the fact that they didn't against cork will give us hope for sure , manus will relish the challenge of oisin gallan , if he curbs him he deserves a mention at the end of the year with his performances on clifford hurley and cavanagh this championship , big ask for cillian brennan on mcbrearty who is really coming into form after a slow start to the year

jason mcgee is out but i doubt donegal will be taken any chances , they need a win and to put a gloss on it two to avoid a 4th round game next week , it offers the ideal scenario for an ambush

if you look at the win against tipp in thurles and the next win against cork , we basically emptied the bench with young lads in both games and all had a serious impact , shane meehan , patrick crotty , roubin mounsey ect , most of them lads have hardly played 2 championship or league games in the last two years since , aaron Shahnagar got 5 minutes against limerick and 30 seconds against cork , yet he changed the game against kilkenny in the league final

the pressure is obviously getting to the manager , he is not willing to make as many changes as he used by the looks of things , and that's the simple answer to the question

in regards work rate , we had two hurlers that got 8/10 in two newspapers on monday morning because of their scoring but both were spent with 15 minutes to go , and both conceded scores off their men , both were forwards , if there is no change on the line you cant fix things

i am not having a go at lohan but he needs to be less stubborn in future , a lot more then him lose out

Here’s what Clare need according to RTÉ:

Clare - Win over Donegal combined with Tyrone result against Cork to advance. Should Tyrone lose to Cork, Clare will likely need to overhaul a large score difference to survive, which will depend on margin of Tyrone's loss. To overtake Donegal on score difference would require an 11-point victory.

A win v Donegal will be very difficult. I guess the hope is that the Ulster teams might somehow be running out of steam. They won Ulster and went hard in the league also.

Good luck to the minor hurlers tomorrow btw, in the All-Ireland semifinal v Kilkenny

• Registered Users Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭fire_man

Shocking result today to end year for footballers.

• Registered Users Posts: 633 ✭✭✭supernova5

Clare are out of their depth in the Sam Maguire, would be way better off playing in a competition that is somewhat their own standard ie Tailteann cup

• Registered Users Posts: 192 ✭✭KIB4Life

Suppose it’s the way the championship is structured, all Clare had to do was beat a poor Waterford team to reach a Munster final and be in the Sam Maguire. The reality is that the Clare team have lost about 10 or 11 starters from last year not many teams would be able to cope with that.

If you add back in the likes of Cian O’Dea, Pearse Lillis, Eoin Cleary, Jamie Malone, Keelan Sexton and Gavin Cooney into the team you have a much stronger team. You have actually a scoring threat in the forwards with Keelan, Cleary and Cooney in the team and you have versatile players in Malone, Lillis and O’Dea who can switch between the half back line/ half forward line.

Also some of the players mentioned above have work rate and will tackle and harass opposition players, which is something that the current Clare team are badly missing. The forwards/ midfielders lack work rate and don’t tackle as hard as some of these players.

• Registered Users Posts: 633 ✭✭✭supernova5

yes I agree, but for this current year and with the players they had available it would have been interesting to see how they'd have fared in the Tailteann

the problem is the championship was structured in that we were always going to be playing in the sam mcguire , given the level of transition taking place in both waterford and tipperary

dont forget either that estaslishbed football counties like cavan , monaghan and meath all took serious beatings in this competition

you are right in what you are saying but the gulf in terms of the really top teams in the country and from mid table in division 2 down is really stark , its pretty much the same as the joe mcdonagh teams v liam mccarthy teams

yeah shocking result but the dye was cast last week when donegal lost to cork meaning the only way donegal could top the group and qualify for a 1/4 final spot was to win by around 17 or 18 points today , they made sure of it by winning by 24

• Registered Users Posts: 5,317 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

Missing 1st choice goalie and best MF probably had an impact.

But very poor performance given there was still a chance to finish 3rd. Not Clare's fault but beating Waterford to get into Sam is ridiculous.

agree totally , but its either get rid of the provincial system altogether or keep it as it is , i think personally it should be like the ladies football in terms of a junior , intermediate and senior championship , the sam mcgiure championship has thrown up some very lopsided games again this year , it was the same a few years ago when the super 8s were in place , at least one team was a lamb to the slaughter every year

the champions league style championship was always going to fail with 16 teams in it , there are only about 3 maybe 4 contenders for the all ireland not 16