Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 22 john457

The IFA absolutely needs to put people on the radio and TV that have the scientific knowledge, excellent on air communication skills and have the ability to debate. The issue is just too serious. Just because you can win a farming organisation election does not mean you should be on the media debating the other side. Was it Francie Gorman on Claire Byrne this morning? He did his best but it was an horrific listen. He was trounced in debating terms by the other speaker and Claire Byrne!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,747 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Problem with that is that if we don't produce feed in terms of grains etc. here used for finishing stock etc. - we will have to increase imports from the likes of South America where environmental, labour, welfare etc. standards are abysmal . Of course the tillage sector here needs to up its game too in terms of the Nitrate issue . Simple measures like fencing off waterways and unploughed setbacks from same, expansion of riparian vegetation zones, better hedge management, contour ploughing, unploughed and unsprayed headlands etc. can achieve alot in this space and really should be mandatory at this stage in vulnerable catchments.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Definitely yes.
    The powers that be need to show how the excess nutrients produced by livestock farms are actually fertilising tillage land and reducing the use of artificial fertilizer. This argument is used here to demonstrate the importance of livestock/poultry production in the overall scheme of things, and it works because it kills any argument against livestock numbers and stocking density.

Maybe it’s time to park the plough in the nettles and go min-till and direct-drill…along with proper use of cover crops etc. Irish tillage is a long way behind in taking up on non-disturbance soil management.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,044 ✭✭✭alps

Is water quality better in France?

No idea, but I doubt it..history of heavy industry and a legacy of seriously polluted rivers has taken its toll.
    On my catchment we’re running on 4-8mg/L nitrates. That’s with 140kg and restricted artificial N.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,617 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Matt: "John, welcome to the show. Lets start with Uisce Eireann. I'm sure you've read about the issues they had over the weekend in Cork where a spill from one of their plants entered the local river, a river in a Special Area of Conservation, and has resulted in a massive fish kill"

John: "I did hear about it Matt. The EPA released their latest water report and it's not good. It's all agricultures fault and I can't believe that, after, how many years now, that the government haven't exterminated all livestock farmers. We're in a climate emergency Matt, and we all need to make sacrifices but those sacrifices wouldn't be as great; we could still have our holidays, our disposable tat imported from China, maybe keep fossil fuel cars on the roads, reduce the spend on retrofitting and all that if we just got rid of farmers and their livestock"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

local town got the tides wrong with sewage release (which is done at night, when tourists arrive)……"do not swim" notices on local beaches atm due to "bacteria in water"…..this bacteria is coming up our rivers when tide is in……epa checking local river……who will get the blame????

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,220 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

We have friends in France who grew up in the Brittany area but settled in the alsasse region and they originally came to Ireland because of the fishing,in fact the only man I ever went fishing with.he always maintained that rivers in ireland were a.million miles ahead of French ones which he said were destroyed.he used to tell the story of how the farm labourers that used to come to his father's farm had it written into the contract that they could only have salmon twice a week because fish used to be that plentiful that the farmers used to want feed fish to the workers all the time as it was free but the fish are gone now.I know a group that was over there recently and the algae in the rivers from nitrates was frightening .

• Registered Users Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭ginger22

That's due to all the tillage. Not much permanent pasture in France.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭ginger22

Been to Nantes a few times and the Loire is actually green.

• Registered Users Posts: 657 ✭✭✭daiymann 5

Farm orgs neef profesional speakers and debaters just because someone is leader of a farm org doesnt make him a good debater or negotiator.

• Registered Users Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Jack98

They won’t pay for them though, same in co ops farmers will give out about the likes of Kerry all day long but they’ll send the highly qualified farmers elected to represent them on the co op boards to negotiate with the plc board about the next potential jv and then wonder why they can’t get a good deal.

Francie made a complete fool of himself yesterday on claire Byrne, his heart is in the right place but just kept circling back around and not answering questions had no actual figures to back up anything he said, Dr.Mcgoff really did make him look like just a stupid farmer which we all know he’s not.

Look lads it's not about one sector or the other it's about the rules and regulations being put down which are drawn up by theorists rather than practical experience which no doubt like alot more things they ll come back in couple of years and oh well actually that wasn't right thing to do but we ll do the opposite now.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,702 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Any time a goverment/dictator has went about meddling in farmers ability to produce food, and cut the legs from under them, you end up with widespread starvation and famines, spent the last two weeks listening to the real dictators podcast and every single one firstly villified and ocstrachised farmers turning the general public against them and then implemented polices to destroy farmers and collectivise land….

The path the Eu commission and are own shower of head-bangers like An taisce/greens are openly advocating socialist/communionst polices its crazy stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,531 ✭✭✭stanflt

had a few culls out today- they were all milked this morning

• Registered Users Posts: 11,642 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

The research is there. Just it doesn't suit the present crusade.

"Room for improvement in conventional and organic systems

In conventional systems, a variety of N management methods are also possible, such as no-tillage, low N input and CCs… Studies on no-tillage systems have shown a decrease of NO3 − leaching by a factor of two to four (Angle et al. 1993; Drury et al. 1993). "

I keep being told by an Taisce the cows have to go in the press. Then the government is saying we need more tillage and is throwing money at it. Teagasc is saying farming sectors should not be pitted against one another. The Grain growers at the ploughing match are showing muck and proclaiming they won't take it. An Taisce is then lobbying the EU to drop Ireland's derogation for stocking rate. The EPA is saying there's no change in water quality. We're up in the best of the EU. But the lobbyist's against the cows are saying the derogation should go if we don't improve again. We'd a sample project of grassland in Timoleague under grassland and derogation stocking rates which improved N leaching rates. And we've now an increase in tillage area in the east of the country from the more money thrown at it.

• Registered Users Posts: 682 ✭✭✭farmertipp

iv been saying it for yrs. farm organisations approach makes them look tick and ignorant on media and media know that.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,702 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Do you not remember rte blocking a very educated and brilliant speaker the time of the calf fiasco, https://www.farmersjournal.ie/news/dealer/behind-the-scenes-for-primetime-lineup-775245

The media especially rte have a agenda and theyll block/not allow anyone getting a platform that can represent farmers and come accross well

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,831 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

If IFA put forward someone who was a PR speaker first and farm expert second, then it’d be harder for any TV or radio show to leave them out.

They want entertainment and sound bites not science and reasoned argument. That’s where the game is at these days.

The sound bites have to backed up by science obviously. But science alone is not enough - it has to be delivered in a way the media like.

Farming is probably the only sector now without professional speakers to represent us. Can you imagine the construction industry sending out a bricklayer onto Claire Byrne to speak for them?

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,664 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Alice Doyle is a good speaker and knows her stuff

• Registered Users Posts: 4,873 ✭✭✭straight

Ya, it was Dr Elaine. She said that 60% of the nitrogen comes out of a cows rear end and he couldn't refute it. Cannot improve water quality then without reducing numbers she said.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,642 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

As @Siamsa Sessions said the ability to come up with %'s on the fly is enough to bamboozle the opposition. The dr knows that cannot be true but it doesn't matter if it wins the argument and is disputed later on. The same one recorded footage in Ferrycarrig, Wexford with Duncan Stewart looking stern. And said all the nitrates in the Slaney were from cows. She would have passed by one dairy farm between enniscorthy and Wexford Town. She didn't know the area but it didn't matter it made television.

If her argument was swung around and it was said tillage ground emits 20ml to water and pasture with cows emits 5, 6, 7ml. Would she then say the cows must stay and tillage must go to save the environment?

She would in her behind. The science is saying the above in measuring leachate. But face it she's anti science and a fundamentalist against livestock. That's all. Part of the green party coming in power was a call from members to get the badgers. They got the badgers under protection of the OPW and away from the dept of agriculture. Another was to end the derogation of stocking rate in this country. Which they are working hard on atm through members as the dr and an Taisce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

What the IFA need to do is get a PR firm to give a course to the lads at the top of each section on how to speak to the media and public speaking to get their point across more definitive and clearly, know of a guy who got to the top of a animal society and got PR person to help him with his public speaking and worked wonders for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

They need to employ one full time to work with leaders at the top and county chairs

• Registered Users Posts: 682 ✭✭✭farmertipp

Sold my last few calves today. 300 euro for AA bulls, sold ones like them for 40 euro 2 months ago. That's supply/demand for you....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Anyone listen to the gibbon on matt Cooper this evening I didn't hear it myself and I m just curious