Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Accept private payment for damage

• 10-06-2024 3:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭

Quick question would you guys accept an offer from someone (Company) to privately pay for car repairs or insist on going through insurance,

At first they argued the circumstance & liability,which was answered with a simple that fine no problem but can you share your insurance details & we can let them deal with it , They hung up but then called back & offered to pay for all the repairs, If they where given a quote first,

Would you accept or insist on going through the insurance ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭carfinder

Based on their behaviour up to now, absolutely not. They will question the quote, then say they can get it cheaper etc etc. Just go through insurance - its what it's for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

I would give them a quote and see what they say. They'll probably argue and then you can say it's fine, you'll go through insurance. I would give them the benefit of the doubt, often people will argue liability and when they sit down and do the math, it ends up being better to pay privately (such as if they have a fleet or pool of cars).

Don't let them source a repairer, or offer what they would have paid their repairer. Always look after the repairs yourself or through your insurance company. If your car is on PCP, make sure it's done by an authorised garage otherwise you may encounter problems with the GMFV - it's in the fine print with PCP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Whocare

Go and get quote that unlikely to change in price tell them pay for it before work start if do .there no real need for insurance to get involved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,425 ✭✭✭✭the_amazing_raisin

A lot of people prefer to pay privately so as to not affect the insurance discount. Also, my one brief experience of an insurance company's preferred repair shop was they're vastly more expensive for no benefit

So if you're okay with finding a repair shop then go ahead and sort it out privately. It could be easier for you as you can find someone closer to you, and they're very often cheaper

Get a few quotes and pick whichever one you think is best suited for the job. Present this to the other party and say you'll only accept this repair company

You might want to insist they pay upfront if you think there'll be any sudden payment problems when your car is ready

"The internet never fails to misremember" - Sebastian Ruiz, aka Frost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

I guess could send on the quote & see what the say,
    The issues would be if during the work something else is found that needs repairing (which can happen ) they would probable reject any increase from quote,

It's not me , its my sister car & she will insist on bringing it to the main dealer to get it done, Which she is entitled to ,

The main worry is you go get it fixed and then payment i refused & if you want payment up fornt & the price increases for whatever reason they aint going to pay are they,

Also when the car is in the garage what about a rental car , the insurance company wouldn't leave you stuck ,

The main dealer will have a look at it & give a quote, The issues is can you trust them to cough up after the work is done ?and your left with no car when the work is being done insurance would get you a rental

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,235 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

The very fact that you are asking means that you have doubts about whether they will follow through on any payment. Go with your gut as life is too short for dealing with people who may mess you around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭User1998

The only real benefit here would be if you got a main dealer quote and the other party paid up and then you went and got it done elsewhere for a fraction of the cost, meaning you would profit a lot of money from the incident. But if your sister insists on actually getting it repaired at the main dealer then getting paid in cash is unlikely to benefit her in any way and it’s unlikely the other party will actually pay up as main dealers will most likely charge multiple thousands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭SharkMX

Inform you r own insurance company and the gardai first. That way if they start acting the maggot you have a record of it and proceed through inurance.

If they are already being funny about it I would just go through insurance. Make sure you get the repairs done at a main dealer though.

Someone crashed into the other halfs car and said they didnt want to go through insurance. Then they got all antsy when she sent them the bill. Started demanding all sorts of stuff. Luckily she had already reported to the gardai and told them they were going to pay, she just wanted it recorded. She went back to the gardai and they phoned the messer and the messing stopped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

I did years ago but that was for something worth about £100 damage - got a postal order a few days later - I think your sister will be tricked somehow - get quote get transfer before work is done or get onto insurance company - no messing

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

I already answered this in the other thread - trust me as someone who has been processing insurance claims for almost 30 years - go through insurance. This could get messy. Theyve already acted the bollix by arguing about liability - shows their true colours. Let insurance deal with and be done with it.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Thats exactly what they will do - extra work wont be paid for and you cant then go back to the insurance company looking for payment. More than likely if you accept the cash offer they will ask you to sign something to say you arent going through insurance and wont be in the future. Be careful.

Once the quote was sent , the person stop replying to call & texts,

So looks like its left for insurance to deal with,

One issues was they never shared there insurance details but being a company & having the truck reg's surely that won't be an issues ??

See my previous posts - I can almost guarantee that the driver wasnt insured and you are going to struggle to get this covered.

You say they never exchanged insurance details, a garda didnt attend the scene and the driver was anxious to get away as quick as possible - It all sounds dodgy as f**k to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I'll bet too that when you try to lodge a claim against the employer's insurance, the individual will probably deny all knowledge of the incident, claim it wasn't them or have a different version of events. It could end up being your word against theirs and the company may not even give you their insurance details if they believe their driver's story and there were no Gardai or witnesses at the scene to prove otherwise. This is why you should take pictures or video of the damage to both vehicles at the scene as well as pictures of the other driver's insurance disc.

Picture where taken but no insurance displayed in window

it wasn't me ,its my sister,

She took pictures of the damage, the truck with company logo, and what was in he window

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Whocare

If truck driver will be insured as any policy will have open driver anyone 25 to 70 unless he didn't have truck licence

So there was no insurance disc in the window??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Have you been in contact with the driver's employer? The driver is wasting your time so you need to deal with their employer since it was their vehicle.

Was the accident reported to the Gardai at the time? Given the driver left before the Gardai could arrive there is a very good chance that the driver doesn't have the proper license/insurance. If they are not insured then the insurance company will not want to know about any claim from you. That is why you need to go through the driver's employer first.

Yes its the owner they have been speaking to, The drive is on "holidays"

He was all for paying cash "no need for insurance " until the repair quote was sent then radio silence ,

Yes reported to the Garda

nope

Well there was a picture taken of what was in the window & no insurance disk, it may have been behind one of the other disks ,