Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2024 (Munster And Leinster Championships,Liam McCarthy Cup)

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭Knockdromin

Because as we know these things are linear.

I asked myself what would happen in a neutral venue and here’s your answer; haven’t a fecking clue. By the time Limerick play their next game 8 weeks will have passed since that match. Who knows what might happen with injuries or what kind of trajectory the teams in the preliminary quarter finals and quarter finals go on. Far too many unknowns.

If someone had put it to you five weeks ago to ask yourself what would happen given the fact that Limerick have won their first two games and Cork have lost their first two games? Based on that style of linear logic Cork may as well have not bothered turning up that night.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,647 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Well anyone who knew the situation and thought Cork were definitely going to lose was bonkers.

The fact that it was do or die for Cork was a huge factor.

Yep. Every game is do or die now. Looking at the semi final and final last year, and taking the games in Ennis and Cork this year; Limerick are prone to taking at least half an hour to get to grips with a game and can often find themselves anything up to ten points behind. They have time and time again proven capable of turning those situations around but they won’t do it every single time.

All I’m saying to people is that Limerick are not unbeatable. Very difficult to beat absolutely. Seems to be upsetting some (not you) to suggest that and that we may as well just award Limerick the trophy now as far as they’re concerned.

• Registered Users Posts: 14 Thady Quill

Limerick only won by a point and with the massive assistance of James Owens in the Stade McManus last year.

• Registered Users Posts: 41 King Power Fox

Limerick were far superior in the third quarter and looked like comfortable winners. A Cork goal against the run of play brought them back into the game and made it a tighter finish.

A Gillane pull down of Sean O’ Donoghue that should have been a free out to Cork but Owens gave a penalty to Limerick instead brought Limerick back into the game against the run of play.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

That's the way it goes... could easily have been a free out rather than a pen but a pen is what was given.... I remember 30 years ago Thomas mulcahy scoring a goal in a munster final again limerick.. he handpassed the ball from one hand to the other... scored a goal kicking the ball to the net.. he had lost his hurl.. it was a clear free out but goal was given... thems the breaks I'm afraid...

If it was to be a clare Limerick final I'd strongly fancy Limerick... clare have issues with beating Limerick.... Limerick don't have to play well again clare.. they can just wait for Clare to implode and Limerick can be sure clare won't disappoint on that front... but if cork were to beat Limerick and if it was to be a Clare Cork final i'd fancy Clare... they just seem to have Corks number at the moment...

I was responding to a guy ( Edit: who I see was actually you) who said Cork only beat Limerick this year because of home advantage. I was pointing out that away to them last year in do or die for both teams it took the ineptitude of the worst referee in inter county hurling to keep them in the championship. James Owens had a hand in all 3 Limerick goals that day , none of which should have been. He only needed to get one of those decisions/non decisions right and Limerick were not only beaten by Cork, they were out of the championship . And at home. 32 years ago is irrelevant. But the whole game , and not just the third quarter as you seem to think, is not irrelevant.

• Registered Users Posts: 61 ✭✭Not made with hands

Home advantage is huge in pretty much all sports. I'm not sure why you think it wasn't a factor that night in The SuperValu.

Where did I claim it wasnt?. Point was that we were also the better team against Limerick in the JP Arena last year. We also lost to Clare by a point last year away but Clare were the better team. Limerick were not.

Gillane got the touch and broke it away. While turning towards the ball, O’Donoghue - behind Gillane, with Gillane between him and the ball, opted to wrap his arms around Gillane.

SO’D played the man who was moving into space (no supporting Cork defenders near Gillane) and Gillane held his arm to highlight how O’Donoghue’s arms were wrapped around him. SO’D gave the referee a decision to make when he wrapped the arms around Gillane, he fouled him in the course of a strong goal scoring opportunity.

All right in front of the six yard box.

If the defender doesn’t win the ball in that scenario, shepherd the forward out, get between the forward and goal, stay tight and get a block in. Don’t wrap the arms around him.

It was one moment in a 70 minute game. Cork had plenty of time to respond to that penalty. Cork won plenty of frees that day via exaggerating contact. Big hit? Throw yourself down, maybe throw off the helmet and Hoggy will do the job. And with Horgan on the placed balls why the hell not? That’s smart. O’Donoghue’s defending in that instance, naïve, not smart.

Seriously to anyone still complaining about it; get over it.

Gillane wrapped his arm around SO’Ds arm and dragged him down with him. Enough to con a substandard ref who was 50m away. A ref who allowed a Will O’ Donoghue baseball style overhead throw and punished a Cahalane ‘pick off the ground’ which was in the air which led to goals as well as numerous exaggerated dives by Limerick players etc. awarded with frees. Gilllane cheated for the penalty because he knew he would not be sanctioned but the potential reward was a guaranteed goal from Byrnes.

Yet again I’ll point out that I was responding to a guy who claimed Cork only won this year because of home advantage and I pointed out that it took the absolute incompetence of James Owens to get Limerick over the line by a point against us last year in the Stade McManus.

championship 2023 is done and dusted.. gillane/o'donoghue incident is over a year ago now so its irrelevant anymore.. refs make their decision on what they see… in over 30years watching gaa i have seen many decisions made by refs where it could have gone the other way… but over time teams will get their fair share of decisions to go their way… and their is only one game in my 30years watching GAA where i would say that the ref definitely without doubt cost a team the game and that was the 2010 leinster football final…

• Registered Users Posts: 61 ✭✭Not made with hands

These lads with their "if my aunt had balls she'd be my uncle" type arguments are hilarious though. Especially over a year later.

• Registered Users Posts: 41 King Power Fox

JP Arena and Stade McManus! Please have the decency to call the home of Limerick GAA by its correct name instead of all these cheap digs (similar to Declan Dalton on Kyle Hayes in the last Cork Limerick match).

• Registered Users Posts: 2,430 ✭✭✭High bike

I can't believe that people are engaging with a troll who tried the same shite on the Limerick thread and was ignored.

There isn’t a single one score game in history where the defeated team can’t point to a few decisions that didn’t go their way in order to paint the defeat as an injustice.

It’s just sour grapes, lacking dignity in defeat. Heck we saw last month an absurd scenario where an umpire got slated for making the correct call on a 65.

I like how Kiely shot down any questions on the 65 that wasn’t given at the end of the 2019 semi final. Refused to use it as an excuse and focused more on how the performance over the 70 minutes wasn’t good enough and called out Kilkenny’s vastly superior start to that game.

Yes very true... and kiely was right.. Limerick were septic in 1st half of that game... but that leinster football final of 2010 was just the worst in my memory anyway... last play of game and without consultation with umpires ref awards goal... shocking tbh...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Rosita

This old nonsense about Kilkenny being only two/three points back with ten minutes to go comes out of the woodwork again. Means nothing. They were well beaten. They were level after 50 minutes and outscored 0-13 to 0-4 in the last 23 minutes. Can't have been many finals down the years where the ending was so emphatic in the real key minutes.

Cork were a point up in injury time, not to mind ten minutes to go, in 2013 and it has meant little since. Tipperary were four points down to Limerick after 73 minutes in the 2021 Munster Final. Clare were a point ahead with less than 10 minutes left and were level at the end of 2022 Munster Final. Didn't guarantee anything to any of them down the road.

Certainly Kilkenny will be in the final (assuming they play a Clare team in serious regression in the semi final) but don't be codding yourself that the result of last year's final was not merited.

Plausible arguments could be made for lots of teams if ten minutes to go is the barometer.

It’s not nonsense - that was literally the case. Limerick moved 3 points clear for the first time in the 60th minute. Go back and check if you still don’t believe me.

Don’t be codding yourself by claiming I said the result wasn’t merited. Go back and read what I said. I literally never said that.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Rosita

No need to be so defensive. I never said you said anything. Read back my post if you're not sure on that. But the of you comment implication was clear. And while we're at it, I literally never said it was not literally the case that the teams were close after 60 minutes or so. But the implication (and you can hardly disown that) is that for some reason this is a guide to the outcome of their probable meeting in this year's All Ireland final. Means nothing.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,647 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

I haven't met any Kilkenny fans out in the real world who think they were close in last years final.

It's only on the internet you hear that kind of shte.

• Registered Users Posts: 732 ✭✭✭French Toast

I remember seeing the score at 00:30 seconds live, it was in the opening minutes of the second half.

Ball in hand, 8 steps before it’s struck.

• Registered Users Posts: 732 ✭✭✭French Toast

Over carrying the ball could be more tightly policed in hurling imo, a bigger issue than the thrown hand-pass. Even the post-match analysis described the above as “gets a bit of space” 😂

Moreso an observation than a point tbh, stood out when I watched it live.

Oh OK but as u say I have yet to watch a match where it doesn't happen,by some players more than others.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,865 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Noticed during the Leinster final when they called a throw ball for a free Michael Duignan commented something to the effect that "people often complain that we don't call out throws during matches, but to be honest they're all throws". I'm not normally a huge fan of his commentary (huge fan of his work as a chairman mind you!), but I'm glad he said it, only wish they'd have an actual discussion about it during a panel discussion. I feel like Cusack completely smothers any attempt to debate this issue with his nonsensical claim that it's all just so fast you can't see the handpass, and then when refs actually implement the rule Anthony Daly is on hand to claim the ref is destroying a league match in February, therefore it should just be let go.

People are always complaining that one or other analyst or commentator on RTE is biased against their team or towards another, which is funny because it makes zero difference whatsoever if they are. But demonstrably, these guys have a massive influence on debates around rule changes and implementation because they dictate the issues we all discuss after matches. They set the agenda here, and if they decide not to ever mention throwing, or if they condone it, then the result is nothing gets done about it. They absolutely shouldn't have this kind of influence over the game, but the fact is that they do, and I think people should be more het up about their failure to be real about the throwing than they are about whether Duignan has a pro-Kilkenny bias or Cusack is a bit ridiculous when he talks about Cork etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭zetecescort

more rules than the handpass being ignored yet nobody seems to have and issue with players making "clothesline" type tackles, hurleys around the neck etc.