Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,508 ✭✭✭stanflt

had a few culls out today- they were all milked this morning

• Registered Users Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

The research is there. Just it doesn't suit the present crusade.

"Room for improvement in conventional and organic systems

In conventional systems, a variety of N management methods are also possible, such as no-tillage, low N input and CCs… Studies on no-tillage systems have shown a decrease of NO3 − leaching by a factor of two to four (Angle et al. 1993; Drury et al. 1993). "

I keep being told by an Taisce the cows have to go in the press. Then the government is saying we need more tillage and is throwing money at it. Teagasc is saying farming sectors should not be pitted against one another. The Grain growers at the ploughing match are showing muck and proclaiming they won't take it. An Taisce is then lobbying the EU to drop Ireland's derogation for stocking rate. The EPA is saying there's no change in water quality. We're up in the best of the EU. But the lobbyist's against the cows are saying the derogation should go if we don't improve again. We'd a sample project of grassland in Timoleague under grassland and derogation stocking rates which improved N leaching rates. And we've now an increase in tillage area in the east of the country from the more money thrown at it.

• Registered Users Posts: 676 ✭✭✭farmertipp

iv been saying it for yrs. farm organisations approach makes them look tick and ignorant on media and media know that.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Do you not remember rte blocking a very educated and brilliant speaker the time of the calf fiasco, https://www.farmersjournal.ie/news/dealer/behind-the-scenes-for-primetime-lineup-775245

The media especially rte have a agenda and theyll block/not allow anyone getting a platform that can represent farmers and come accross well

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,782 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

If IFA put forward someone who was a PR speaker first and farm expert second, then it’d be harder for any TV or radio show to leave them out.

They want entertainment and sound bites not science and reasoned argument. That’s where the game is at these days.

The sound bites have to backed up by science obviously. But science alone is not enough - it has to be delivered in a way the media like.

Farming is probably the only sector now without professional speakers to represent us. Can you imagine the construction industry sending out a bricklayer onto Claire Byrne to speak for them?

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users Posts: 29,510 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Alice Doyle is a good speaker and knows her stuff

• Registered Users Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭straight

Ya, it was Dr Elaine. She said that 60% of the nitrogen comes out of a cows rear end and he couldn't refute it. Cannot improve water quality then without reducing numbers she said.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

As @Siamsa Sessions said the ability to come up with %'s on the fly is enough to bamboozle the opposition. The dr knows that cannot be true but it doesn't matter if it wins the argument and is disputed later on. The same one recorded footage in Ferrycarrig, Wexford with Duncan Stewart looking stern. And said all the nitrates in the Slaney were from cows. She would have passed by one dairy farm between enniscorthy and Wexford Town. She didn't know the area but it didn't matter it made television.

If her argument was swung around and it was said tillage ground emits 20ml to water and pasture with cows emits 5, 6, 7ml. Would she then say the cows must stay and tillage must go to save the environment?

She would in her behind. The science is saying the above in measuring leachate. But face it she's anti science and a fundamentalist against livestock. That's all. Part of the green party coming in power was a call from members to get the badgers. They got the badgers under protection of the OPW and away from the dept of agriculture. Another was to end the derogation of stocking rate in this country. Which they are working hard on atm through members as the dr and an Taisce.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

What the IFA need to do is get a PR firm to give a course to the lads at the top of each section on how to speak to the media and public speaking to get their point across more definitive and clearly, know of a guy who got to the top of a animal society and got PR person to help him with his public speaking and worked wonders for him.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

They need to employ one full time to work with leaders at the top and county chairs

• Registered Users Posts: 676 ✭✭✭farmertipp

Sold my last few calves today. 300 euro for AA bulls, sold ones like them for 40 euro 2 months ago. That's supply/demand for you....

• Registered Users Posts: 11,190 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Anyone listen to the gibbon on matt Cooper this evening I didn't hear it myself and I m just curious

• Registered Users Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

Sorry I see you next message now. Great price. I see march born bull runners making slightly north of 400, they seem value at the price you got for calves

• Registered Users Posts: 19,536 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Given the relatively high level of educational attainment among children of farmers (compared to national average - I think it has been the case for at least the past 30 years that children of farmers attended 3rd level on a higher basis than non-farmers .. they used to attribute it to, and complain about, farmer's children's ability to avail of grants despite high asset worth), it shouldn't be difficult to find a speaker who actually has a background in farming too.

Maybe it's just the case that certain places are more or less closed shops……..

• Registered Users Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Made a raving comment at the end that nitrates and sewage from cattle are a far bigger issue polluting watercourses referanced the epa report, and even though the irish water pollution issue was unfortunate theirs only a handful of plants and their a non-issue even when they cause pollution/fish kills

• Registered Users Posts: 5,548 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Anytime sewage leaks/discharges are on the news ya can be sure there'll be a spokesperson on to say how they went from 28 sites doing that to 16 in the last while. And they have plans to get to 0 by 2030 or something. They have a plan, but money is the big issue. Never ever ever does the interviewer ask or say would that excuse work for a farmer if he failed an inspection and present a plan for 6 years away and blame cash flow as a problem

• Registered Users Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭visatorro

Have absolutely no way to back this up. Was told a few years ago that there was a crisis in the epa and water quality. Basically told to make the plants clean on paper anyway. No one to investigate or prove this obviously. Like everything else if a private entity is doing anything wrong they are taken to the cleaners. State bodies however seem to dodge the bullet and maybe get more funding to waste

• Registered Users Posts: 11,142 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Pat smith was such a person, only problem was he could out smart the stupid farmers too.

He was gifted and articulate in discussion, Irish times claimed at the time that the only surprise was he was paid so little.

There's an executive secretary on every commitee that has experience and loads of qualifications. They sit in on all the discussions and lobbying. televison interviews achieve nothing.

Construction industry had Tom Parlon front and centre inj the media for years.

IFA would use skillnet courses for their Officers, I attended a few of them.

County Officers wouldn't have the time now to put into IFA unless they had eyes on something further

• Registered Users Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭ginger22

Munster Dairy Producer Organisation is open for membership.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,782 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

There seems to be an out-dated desire for “purity” in IFA. You can’t represent farmers unless you’re a full-time farmer yourself.

I’d be delighted to see them adopt Jack Charlton’s approach where players could qualify thru the grandparents rule. As you said, lots of professional PR strikers are sons and daughters of full-time farmers.

The IFA president needs to stop viewing being on the telly as a perk of the job too.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users Posts: 6,978 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Lot of the well spoken guys/girls end up in politics. It's probably worth it just to pay a few people well to specialise in the area

• Registered Users Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭green daries

Ya I would agree with what you and a couple of others have said its very obvious that we need an articulate and smooth talker in the media the enviros line up to take on the farmers lobby cos they know they can out play them in interviews the farmers attempt to keep it too straight and on point with science etc the environmentalist not so much

• Registered Users Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭older by the day

They could get the "Phil ni hay" wan, the nurses use. She would suit farmers grand,

Oh god love us they are pulling and dragging in the mud all day and all night.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

😁

Or the smooth silvery fella that she took over from, he mightn't be a good fit after.

Maybe Brendan Ogle...

😃

• Registered Users Posts: 19,536 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

There are full time farmers who have degrees and experience in other fields and additional qualifications too. People who went off and got qualified in whatever and then came back to it………probably more than a handful on here.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭ginger22

Education doesn't cut it. You need to be a b,,,,,,,,,r for that public speaking game, like a politician.