Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this the Ireland we live in now?

• 17-06-2024 10:07am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭

Where gangs of thugs can roam the streets with knuckledusters and attack innocent by standers cause they're foreign?

Cause that's what's happening.

Apparently a spate of this on Talbot St recently.

"Context is that far-right scum have been randomly making up kidnapping stories and attacking foreign men in public. Never ever a shred of evidence. That’s what you are seeing here. Regardless - attacking a migrant and screaming kill him and murder him doesn’t need context"

If you're not convinced, watch that clip with the sound on.

Yes, that's a knuckleduster.

In physics we trust....... (as insanely difficult to decipher as it may be)

Post edited by Sugar_Rush on

• Registered Users Posts: 7,304 ✭✭✭prunudo

Saw that on X, but that's not really an explanation of what the context is though. We can see what is happening in the clip, but context would be what actually happened before that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Sugar_Rush

How is it not possible to have boiling contempt for that north Dublin chav culture when watching this?

A culture that many city councillors actively seek to either protect or endorse.

Nothing happened.

The context is gangs of thugs are setting upon foreign nationals whilst yelling out, "he tried to kidnap a child" in attempt to feign justification for their voicing (or conveying) their discontent with immigration.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

Absolutely disgusting.

It's still thankfully a fairly small group but they've gotten out of hand in this country.

Didn't look so small to me during the Dublin riots recently.

Looked like an entire subculture exploiting the opportunity to be thugs given the slightest opportunity.

This is rife in Dublin (and let's face it, across the entire national culture). Always there just beneath the surface, full of self pity and entitlement.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,304 ✭✭✭prunudo

Maybe, maybe not, but I wouldn't take at face value a tweet from from a pro immigration twitter account.

But lets face it, that part of the city centre is a disaster for public safety. The level of criminality that the authorities turn a blind eye to is shocking. Scumbags will be scumbags, they don't care about the nationality of the people they bully, intimidate or assault.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

I did say fairly small. Thankfully the far-right don't have the same type of wider support here as has been the case in some parts of Europe.

But it's a serious problem and there are a sizable amount of these thugs involved.

With AGS stretched as they are, and our laws I would think outdated around hate crimes and domestic terrorism, it's very worrying.

I worry it's being treated in a very blasé manner by out government. Lots of comments about this and that being unacceptable but no concrete change or action.

• Registered Users Posts: 232 ✭✭BalboBiggins

Is it really a north Dublin thing? There are plenty of these scumbags in Tallaght and Clondalkin.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭tinytobe

I think it's that part of society in Ireland which has no perspectives on the housing market, is increasingly frustrated and angered and seeing also that immigrants are taking their housing.

The problem won't go away, and certainly not if there are less Guards on the streets.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,762 ✭✭✭accensi0n

Really need a couple of more prisons and put everyone with more than 1 conviction for violent or sexual crime away for 20 years.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭Viscount Aggro

Is this Tablet street?

I was reading about plans to spend millions, to gentrify the street and make it safer.

What a joke. There needs to be Garda presence here 24/7.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,884 ✭✭✭Shoog

The government and Garda have been turning a blind eye to this type of thuggery for to long for it to be just incompetence. The Garda have a very active covert surveillance wing which has assets everywhere and in all political groupings yet they can't arrest a bunch of arsonists and thugs.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭tohaltuwi

This part of the city has always been occupied by dodgy scrotes. I’ve worked in many deprived areas and this was by far the worst for having feral elements dominate so much street life.
    Taking likes of Dublin 8, there was always a mix of cultures from long, long back, and friendships formed between people of different backgrounds. However Dublin 1 has been pretty much exclusively Dublin working class people who haven’t got to socialise at any level with other cultures, and have become tribal, and with a long tradition of feral behaviour this is a heady mix for explosive behaviour.
    Of course there are tons of very solid good people living here, it’s just over-represented by a less socially functional sector of society.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭suvigirl

Do you think these lads attacking people for being foreign are worried about the housing crisis? And is that some sort of excuse?

• Registered Users Posts: 22,389 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

This is what happens when people get their news and validation exclusively from social media and scummy racist propaganda outlets like Gript

In the UK in the 70s it was right wing tabloids like the Sun and the Daily mail that pushed this propaganda. Now it's twitter, Facebook and Gript

• Registered Users Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭yagan

I found it interesting when I lived in Dublin that even after generations removed from living in the city centre you'd find Dubs that would still identify by which streets their parents or grandparents came from before relocating out when the tenements were being demolished.

It was kinda of like county jersey, but on a street level.

You'd find that there's still strong familial links that transcend where they live now.

Yes, I think so.

They are taking out their anger and frustration on foreigners.

Either they identify foreigners visually, looking foreign, or by hearing a foreign language.

Foreigners coming to Ireland are certainly not responsible for the lack of construction and the limited supply, but they certainly contribute to the demand.

Ah sorry now, I don't believe it for a second!

Scumbags are scumbags. Anyone going around attacking foreigners or anyone for that matter, are just scumbags.

No excuses

• Registered Users Posts: 8,768 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

I mean it's going to just get worse unless the goverment do something.

Their are people walking the streets who should be in jail because we don't have enough prison space.

Yet they are increasing the population while not increasing prison space.

These scumbags should be locked up but will more than likely be still walking the streets.

You don't have to believe that. However there is always a reason for everything.

I've never found the North Inner city in Dublin nice. Maybe in the late Eighteen hundreds it would have been nice?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭yagan

Considering streets are now being closed off entirely because of criminal behaviour wouldn't it make more sense to block off a few more streets as a prison entirely?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,766 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

It is the free market fanatics who want to bring in people at levels that no govt or society can ever build houses for or provide public services for that are ultimately to blame. They label it solidarity and internationalism but it is extreme Free market, in a way no living person has seen.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭ToweringPerformance

So if someone attempts to snatch a child and get's broke up by a few men there's no excuse for that in your eyes?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,766 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Ye have moved on from the gulag and gas chamber?

• Registered Users Posts: 22,289 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Ah, yeah. Sure I’d let them live out their pointless lives. Just want to prevent them spawning.

W ho

Who is snatching children? I haven't seen any reports of attempted abductions anywhere?

And no, I don't believe in vigilantism. If someone breaks a law, then they can be detained and handed to authorities.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭Quitelife

Free legal aid solicitors think these thugs are great lads and tell the judges that so nothing ever happens these people until they kill someone

The language is further evidence that it's also the feeling of "is this the Ireland we live in now?".

I don't think the words Gulag or Gas Chamber were used 7 or 10 years ago to describe a challenge or problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,346 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Inner city Dublin is beyond disgusting at this stage.

Streets are filthy, businesses are closing, shop fronts boarded up, Human and animal waste is common place. Idle natives and imports competing for space.

Government, councils and law enforcement have completely abdicated any responsibility as far as I can see