Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hit & Run Damage to Parked Car - How much to fix?

• 14-06-2024 2:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39

Our car was parked on street two nights ago, and a lady crashed at speed into a wheelie bin and then the back of our car, while trying to pull out. She then got out inspected the damage, and made a call to her husband who moved the car to a different parking spot on the street and they then went off about their business. No effort was made to leave a message on the car, or attempt to own up to it. We only noticed it nearly two days later as we don't use car much during the week.

As it happens, the entire incident was caught on camera, which I have the footage of, so I was able to identify the car and individuals involved. I put a note on their windscreen with my number to contact me, and told them it had all been caught on camera, which I would report to the guards if they didn't contact me.

The husband contacted me shortly thereafter and was very apologetic, claiming they didn't know they had struck my car (which is simply untrue based on the speed of impact, and the wife visually inspecting the damage).

The above is just by way of background.

I'm happy to be reasonable, and not looking to make a quick buck here, but our car has been damaged and is now worth less. We were thinking about trading in soon, and the trade in value will be hit by this. Also inclined not to let the individuals away with it anyways given the attempt to avoid liability.

What would people suggest I do in this instance?

They would prefer to avoid going through insurance, and I'm ok with this as long as I'm not out of pocket.

I attach two photos of the damage (looks worse in reality than the photo might show).

Would anyone have a ballpark as to what it would cost to repair from a reputable garage? We called one of the main brands, and they charge €105 to estimate, before even the cost of the work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭Sono

If they are acting the maggot and you are concerned with the value of your car, contact their insurance company and insist on the vehicle being repaired by a main dealer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭User1998

As long as theres no further damage beneath, which is unlikely, then €300 to €500 is fair for both parties IMO. You wouldn’t be left out of pocket if you decided to fix it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

That sharp a dent looks like a new boot lid.

Just get onto their insurance and let them sort it out, they aren't going to be happy even with the cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭fatbhoy

Take a good look at the floor of the boot to see if it's crumpled. I was rear ended before, and although the damage didn't look too bad at first look, when I lifted up the boot carpet there was a lot of damage to the floor of the boot, and it would have cost thousands to repair. So in your case you might have this, and it might be the case that the chassis is bent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 comuirch

Surely this seems way too low. They want €105 to estimate, before they'll even look at it. I would have assumed that it would easily be multiples of this but perhaps i'm wrong?

Does anyone have direct recent experience of getting similar work done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

You need to bring it to a body shop and have an estimate for repair done. It could be as easy as just puling out the crease or there could be more damage not visible from the outside. While you may not want to go to town on the other party, you certainly don't want to short change yourself either just to avoid that.

Nope, any bodyshop will give you a free quotation and the prices will range from €300 to €500 for a good job. You could even get a PDR done on it which would remove the dent without the need for paint or filler.

Preference about getting on to insurance, even though we're not at fault our premium will go up as we would have to declare the claim…..and don't mention the No Claims Bonus nonsense where miraculously our premium will jump a mile but we'll keep our 50% "discount". See picture below…..

We will go the insurance route if we have to, but we definitely end up out of pocket then as our premiums will be higher for quite a few years. Bullshit that we get stung even though we've literally done nothing wrong here. If this is the route we have to go, i'll also be reporting it to the guards

In fairness to the husband who has been in touch, he seems sincere and very apologetic, so I don't mind being somewhat reasonable

Just get a quote from a local bodyshop. No need to pay €100 for a quote from the main dealer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭fatbhoy

Of course he is, because he's shïtting himself. Don't be fooled. They tried to take the pïss at first till you caught them. Don't go easy on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Go to your insurance. Advise them of the issue. Pass on the insurance details of the other party.

This is why you pay for insurance.

I'd be more likely to avoid the insurance avenue if the other party hadn't been as sneaky TBH but you owe them nothing

The issue with going the insurance route, is that we get stung too. People assume that when the other insurance company pays that is has no impact on you or your premium. Unfortunately that's not the case…..you've been party to a claim which you have to disclose (see screenshot above from typical insurance application form), and your premium will be impacted as a consequence, for years to come.

Not true.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.comparethemarket.com/car-insurance/content/do-non-fault-claims-need-to-be-declared/%3famp

Try Chill.ie with and without declaring a claim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,994 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

Where would you be if you'd no camera footage? This apologetic fcuker wouldn't have given a sh1t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

Honestly, this will make no difference to your insurance. I claimed around €10k though my insurance last year (not all my fault, but needed it sorted ASAP), and my insurance went up by around €100.

The insurance company (Zurich) couldn't have been nicer tbh, were almost happy that a claim cost them so little. Personal injury is where the real money is.

Moving 8km between two South Dublin postcodes rose the premium by nearly as much.

Call their insurance, get the car taken to a body shop, many companies will collect it, get a rental paid for, etc.

They can pay back their insurance if they believe that it will cost them less than a hike in premiums (it almost certainly wont though). They had 2 days to contact you and were happy to let you take the fall for it. Make your life as easy as possible from here on out - on thier dime. Don't go wasting your time chasing quotes, delivering the car, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Whatwicklow

Get a trade in value, as it is today with the damage and if there was no damage. Difference is your loss.

It's not just the cost of the repair, people can be suspicious of a painted panel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭csirl

I've a recent thread on my experience of dealing with a third partty who hit my parked car. I thoroughly regret trying to deal with the people directly and ended up insisting on going through their insurance in the end.

My advice - ring the claims Department of THEIR insrance and let them take it from there. My experience of dealing with their insurance was very good and they got it repaired quickly.

Yes it is.

It allows me to compare quotes from the same provider which are identical except for the claim where i can specify it cost my insurer €0. Kenn Co for example quoted €566 with no claim, and the identical quote with a claim was €638. So €72 difference per year for a number of years, for something where we have zero fault or even cost to our insurer.

Thanks everyone for all the comments. Appreciate the insight. I expect going through the insurance might be the best option to avoid any other potential issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭pooley124

I would get a quote and give it to them. If they pay you right away for it then you're sorted.

Insurance will definitely go up.

As someone has said already that could be likely fixed by painless dent repair.

Anyone who takes a price as on a comparison website without first ringing the actual insurer to discuss the quote in detail (and as such the specifics of any "insurance issues") is missing out on more savings and possibly taking a risk of not getting the right cover.

I've been involved in one simliar situation as the OP in the past - didn't effect my insurance one bit once explained to the insurer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,053 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

This situation often has to be clarified. When you receive funds for damage from another party (or their insurer), you have not ""claimed". You have been compensated for your loss. The party in the wrong has claimed under their policy to reimburse you.

In short, you have had an accident (declarable), but you have not had a claim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Raichų

lads I think the vital thing being missed here is the requirement to declare any and all accidents to your insurer.. your car has been hit and they need to be informed. Your no claims won’t be affected as they will claim off the other insurance not your policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,053 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

Your insurer will not instigate a claim against the other driver unless they have first compensated you as a claim under your policy. Only when they succeed, will the claim be removed from your record

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

Go the insurance route OP- you don’t know what you’re letting yourself in for - had she stopped or left her details then yeah, giving her a chance to settle might have been the way to go but she’s demonstrated contempt for that process- I guarantee you they’ll cause endless trouble, trying to negotiate down whatever quote you give them- not paying until the work is done then still not paying - it’s not worth it - one thing that may be impacted is that your car will be possibly labelled as being in an “accident” if you go the insurance route - maybe someone here might clarify that - and that will certainly impact value

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,282 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Presumably whoever operates the CCTV has signage up to warn the public that they're under surveillance on the public street?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,200 ✭✭✭appledrop

Go through their insurance 100%. I wouldn't trust them as far as I could throw them because they went off and said nothing and moved the car.

I’m pretty sure OP just asked for advice on getting their car fixed. I don’t think CCTV signage is at all helpful to the situation?

It's very helpful if the OP is entering into a quasi legal process to make sure that they're going into that process with clean hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Every time there is a fatal or serious RTC the Gardaí ask for dash cams. There was a car abandoned near me after a serious crime and the Gardaí went door to door looking for cameras which could see the road. While recording a public place with a dash cam, door bell or CCTV is illegal nobody seems to care and as for GDPR the fact it's recorded someone doing an illegal act would cover the use of their data.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

I got rear ended, had to get a fair bit of work done. No impact on my premium, had to get a rental for a fortnight. A quick scan through my emails shows my premium was down €20.

No it won't, the gardai won't be involved. If they don't admit to the insurance company straight away, you send the video, end of discussion. This is a cheap and easy resolution for them, no personal injury, minor material damage, proof of cause.

The person walked away, there is always a risk they won't be cooperative as they should be, just run it through insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭csirl

I dont get why people think their own insurance will go up. You're not msking a claim on your own policy. You're dealing with the other drivers insurance company directly, not your own. Whether the other driver pays out of their own pocket or their insurance company arranges repairs doesnt involve your own insurance company.

One tip. If you are dealing with the other parties insurance company, you are under no obligation to give them your insurance details or any other personal details other than the basics needed to get the repairs done. You're not their customer and under GDPR there is no valid reason for them to collect the details. I was asked a pletora of questions when I contacted the olaims department incl. DOB, family status, driving experience etc. Told them they dont need any of this informatiion to repair my car. They had no issues with not getting the info. I didnt give them my insurance details either for the same reasons. Again, no issues.

No one cares until they realise that the illegally recorded CCTV is going to cost them a few grand, then suddenly they get interested.

This situation sounded like it was recorded on a doorbell camera or a CCTV camera attached to a property. If such a camera is recording events on a public street, it would raise serious questions about legality of the recording from a data protection POV.

The 'illegal act' is really a separate issue from the legal liability for damage. If someone did an illegal act, they should be reported to Gardai for that act.

If the other party or their insurer decided not to pay out, and leave the injured party to go to Court, they would be on dodgy ground in trying to use video recorded in this way.

If it was a dashcam from a passing vehicle or a parking vehicle perhaps, they wouldn't have any problems.

Nothing to do with the Gardai on either side. From a practical POV, you're probably right. If things happened to escalate and go legal, the value of the video is questionable.

I get where you are coming from but it would be a civil case, not a legal one, and the burden of proof is much lower. The judge will go more on the balance of probabilities. In a legal case, CCTV, dash cams are auxiliary to the facts, they require sworn testimony but they more importantly guide Gardai on where to go and look or what to examine, maybe rule certain people / things in and out.

Either way, it won't be a thing here. OP, go through insurance. They will have the chance to pay the insurers the cost if they want, it won't be much and unlikely to do much to their premium either but they need to know that because of their actions, they cannot be trusted and that is why you are proceeding this way. They may be better behaved in future but do not fool yourself into thinking they are remorseful, they are only sorry they got caught, nothing more, nothing less.

Thanks again to everyone for the advice. I've progressed with their insurer, and had it assessed by their approved repair centre…..as expected the cost of repair is multiples of what was suggested above. Quote for repair is €1,950

No need to respond suggesting some lad down the back of the lane would definitely get it done for €300 euro…..this is a legitimate outfit, who have an ongoing arrangement with this insurance company. They wouldn't do that if they didn't feel they were somewhat reasonably priced, as ultimately it would just cost them more and make their premiums uncompetitive.

Insurance process has been very smooth in fairness to date, and will just let it run its course. Time will tell in terms of any impact on our premium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭Norrie Rugger Head

Call their insurance. They will fight any costs you put forward

They're eating the DOGS!!!

Donald Trump 2024

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,672 ✭✭✭ForestFire

I remember this type of question about 15 years ago, when my own car got hit during the night by someone, who finally went to the Gardai after lunchtime (we all knew why) to admit the accident.

I think the question then was only the first part, "have you been involved in any accidents in the past 5 years, regardless of blame" and, as I was tucked up in bed, in another world of sweet dreams, I always answered No, right or wrong never came back at least.

Now with the claims bit added, it might be more difficult to claim this now.

If you went to an insurance company approved repair centre its obviously a jacked up price that probably includes a whole new unpainted boot lid bought directly from Skoda which has to be resprayed. You clearly know nothing about automotive repairs so theres no need to single me out talking crap about a lad in a lane. There are plenty of decent bodyshops that don’t try rip customers off with brand new main dealer parts or whatever other nonsense they are charging for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭enricoh

There sure is, n I'd use one if they had left a note on the windscreen. They didn't n only for CCTV the owner would be high n dry. So f#$k them, the dearer the better!

Yeah, personal choice really. But my issue is the poster claiming the quote they got must be reasonable otherwise the insurance company wouldn’t deal with them, and that suggesting it can be fixed for anything less must mean its a cowboy down a back lane doing the work. Anyway best of luck OP