Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How would you feel about a prison being built in your area?

• 24-06-2024 1:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,997 ✭✭✭✭

I remember sometime back in the 2000's it was rumoured that a prison was being in our area and the locals was up in arms about it.

I've a relative who lives near a prison and she finds it no hassle. You might see extra Gardaì around,etc and it provides employment.

I don't think I'd be overly concerned if I'm being honest about having one in the area.

How would you feel about a prison being built in your area?

• Registered Users Posts: 177 ✭✭whitelaurel

would much rather a prison than a big dump. Or a big halting site. I’d say it wouldn’t affect much other than as you say employment.

• Registered Users Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Hungry Burger

Wouldn’t see any issue with it as long as it wasn’t one of those prisons where the prisoners can just walk straight out..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,947 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

there is barely room to build another house around where i live never mind a prison. 😅

But from a safety point of view I wouldn’t care.

Prisons however are generally monstrous eyesores so for that reason and all the extra traffic…. staff, visitors, deliveries, etc…. How would I feel ?

Negatively !

• Registered Users Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭Vote4Squirrels

I’m 2 minutes away from a huge prison and it doesn’t bother me, I walk past it every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,283 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I wouldn’t have an issue with it, we need more prisons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭SharkMX

Id prefer if it was built in someone elses area :)

We are all Nimbys when it our own back yards.

But tbh there are worse things that could come to your area than a prison.

A friend bought a new build house in Swords last year this year 2 traveler families moved in. One beside him and one across the road from him. The place is already looking like a halting site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,517 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

2 anti-traveller posts in the first 6 replies. Stay classy AH.

Or just bury your head in the sand and ignore when there are issues. Hey, if that works for you?

It's a thread about prisons in your area (to answer the OP, I wouldn't mind so long as traffic/etc is managed. The fact it's a prison isn't a worry). But it's AH, so break out the racism. Just waiting for the anti-trans and anti-social welfare to get the trifecta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,505 ✭✭✭✭blade1

locals were up in arms?

Id be more worried about them than people behind bars! 🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,997 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

It's going back to the mid 2000's.

I think it was to donwith the type of people it would bring to the area for visiting.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,711 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

I have 2 prisons in my area and no bother at all with them, big employers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,042 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Wouldn't bother me but we don't need any more prisons, nobody goes to jail these days anyway😋

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,832 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

It's a thread about prisons being built like.

Two people have basically just ignored the thread topic and said completely out of context that they don't like travellers.

There's an argument that people don't go to prison because of a lack of space. It would appear that on that basis we do need at least 1 more prison in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,169 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

Absolutely no reason at all for a prison to be built in a residential area- that’s where houses need to be built.

Given we’re so centralised with everything which puts pressure on housing etc the next prison needs to be built close to areas with low employment prospects or very few multinationals or businesses - it would encourage people from the area to stay and put down roots and for others to decamp from larger towns. It would bring millions in revenue into dilapidated towns - would need to be on a railway line also to facilitate visitor travel .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,042 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

There's also an argument that violent people shouldn't be allowed to roam around us because there's no spaces. A judge shouldn't care about prison spaces they should lock them up then it's up the prison service to find room for them. Anyway this is a AH thread I don't want to derail it.

I guess people can be too sensitive to have a normal discussion. Much more important to be white knighting i guess.

• Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭muzakfan

Zero issue with it personally. Yes there are more criminals moving into your area , but they are, ya know behind bars. Plus those of a criminal persuasion are hardly going to want to live in the vicinity of a prison, where I suspect a lot of the properties would be inhabited by employees of the prison.

<QUOTE>Artantevilla

It's a thread about prisons being built like.

Two people have basically just ignored the thread topic and said completely out of context that they don't like travellers.

</QUOTE>

Who said they dont like travelers?

Visitor travel. Kind of like another red line Luas where only upstanding citizens have to pay and you take your life in your hands depending on the type of person who gets on to hassle you. :)

I love it. I vote we build 2 Prisons. One in Clare and one in Donegal, or possibly the Aran islands if we can swing it. We could link them up with a Luas if needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,322 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Same, don't give a thought to either of them at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭covey123

I'd capitalise on it,build a hardware store that specialises in files nearby, and a bakery across the road....

But if there was a new one to be built would you not prefer it was built far away from you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭Quitelife

Ireland badly needs about 2 or 3 new prisons due to increase in population and general increase in violence in this country….having no prison space is presently giving the green light to scumbags to do as they please to the detriment of law abiding people .

I would have no problem with one near me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭nachouser

We've about 5000 spaces, so very roughly .1% of the population are imprisoned. Looking at the UK, they've about 86000 imprisoned, about .13%. We could probably do with one more to hold about 500-800 people. 40-60m or so, on top of the 400m or so we currently spend. Not so much build it and they will come, cos they're already here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭StormForce13

Agreed.

However that has nothing got to do with the title of this thread!

I wouldn't particularly like a prison to be built in my area. That said, I'd prefer it to having an abattoir, an airport, a sewage processing plant, an incinerator or a halting site built there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭nachouser

I live near Arbour Hill. Without the signage you'd think it's a nursing home or whatever. I agree that there are much worse things that you could live near.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,929 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Nimbys for trivial reasons are arseh**es and we are not all Nimby arseh**es. For me I'd have no issue with a new prison built near me as its badly needed

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,711 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

We are over populated by approx 1/5th if I remember correctly and many more cases that are given suspended sentances etc. The only way Ireland could get away with building just one more prison to get out of this mess is to build a Super Prison that holds approx 2500+ people, Thornton Hall was suppose to do that but look at the land now going to housing asylum seekers after the gov paid way over the odds for the land etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,483 ✭✭✭Hoop66

I used to live very near to Pentonvile prison in London. Never a bother. Would occasionally hear bells ringing, and once somebody came to the house looking for directions.

My girlfriend at the time wasn't that for from Holloway prison either (she lived nearby, not likely to become an inmate). If you had very low standards there were always some recent releasees in the pub nearby looking for the ride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,322 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Not at all, it's literally zero impact.

Fact is, if you live in Dublin city centre you're actually already living close to a lot of prisons and similar institutions. Honestly, it's not a problem at all. I could probably hit Arbour Hill with a stone if I threw it from my back garden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,459 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Would be handy to have one nearby in fairness. Otherwise, how is Melania going to come to visit me?

The poor Travelers. Would your buddy not stop making sh1te of the place?

• Registered Users Posts: 177 ✭✭whitelaurel

what are you talking about?nothing but trouble with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,565 ✭✭✭Bobson Dugnutt

It’s the visitors I wouldn’t want. A load of jackeen scumbags calling to visit their brother Kyle in prison. Neck tattoos, overly white runners, tracksuits, dangerous dogs with no muzzle. You know the sort.

Being young is a great advantage, since we see the world from a new perspective and we are not afraid to make radical changes - Greta Thunburg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,581 ✭✭✭Ezeoul

I wouldn't have a problem with it. Its those wandering around who are not locked up (but should be), that you need to worry about. Not those already locked up.

Visitor access needn't be a problem, if they build it while planning a shuttle bus link.

• Registered Users Posts: 162 ✭✭Alexus25

Wouldn't care

• Registered Users Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Baba Yaga

wouldnt bother me at all,in fact build two!

"They gave me an impossible task,one which they said I wouldnt return from...."

ps wheres my free,fancy rte flip-flops...?

pps wheres my wheres my rte macaroons,kevin?

"You are him…the one they call the "Baba Yaga"…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭StreetLight

Seems to be more cons than pros. 😛

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

Depends on whether it's a male or female prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,169 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

Absolutely- then commission a film called Con-Rail- we’ll get Colm Meaney Colin Farrell to star 🤪

• Registered Users Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭ToweringPerformance

Travellers and people living in council housing seem to be free hits on Boards iv'e noticed.

Is there anything you would not like built on the site of the house next door to you? Or in the park beside you?

I think you'll find that if there was to be something you didnt personally want near you like you would find you are actually a Nimby deep down.

Now you are the only person here who didnt assume that the travelers made the mess. Even the people moaning that I mentioned travelers. Fair play to you for being the only person not profiling the travelers.

While I'd love to pretend that that was really the case always, it was more that I've met people from Swords before…………

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭StormForce13

I constantly struggle to understand why that happens. It's so completely illogical, isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,621 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

It wouldn't bother me at all.

My worst nightmare would be a huge shopping centre with all the traffic issues that would cause. The area around prisons are quiet most of the time, well at least in my limited experience of occasionally driving past one.

A drive through McDonald's would be a close second, again there's gridlock as people queue to get in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,985 ✭✭✭✭banie01

The likeliest locations for new-build prisons are generally green-field sites with good road access. There is not a huge impact on immediate neighbours as there are unlikely to be any neighbours within 500 meters or so.
    I live in an area that fits the above criteria, Urban but literally on the edge of the countryside and within the boundary of a planned ring road.
    I'd have no problem with a prison being built in the locale.
    It would provide a lot of employment, albeit given that Moyross would be in the same area. I don't know how much of that would be local, at least immediately.

Prison places are needed desperately. I don't say that as a proponent of "Lock 'em up" but rather that prison places have barely grown despite the rises in population over the last 20 years.
    The impact of a move to single-person cells (Needed IMO) and the lack of building any new prison, rather the renovating existing estate, has squeezed the supply of places.

Prisons are not the answer to crime, but they are a very necessary option.
    Increased prison spending is needed, but so is increased spending on earlier interventions and also post-release supports.
    The two biggest impacts we can have on current prison spaces, are addressing the drift of youths into criminality and ensuring that 1st time offenders who have served a sentence or are likely to. Are supported via probation and youth services to reduce any risk of recidivism.
    Its going to be cheaper for society to prevent a youth becoming a career criminal than it will be for society to keep dealing with them via the criminal justice system.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭ToweringPerformance

Doesn't matter what i think, it's discrimination.