Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beyond The Pale Festival - 10th-12th June - Glendalough

• Registered Users Posts: 854 ✭✭✭ollkiller

A lovely 3 days was had again. The crowd are the best thing about the fest. Bunch of lovely people. Gilla band, the redneck manifesto and The scratch were bands of the weekend for me. The scratch was some buzz. Crowd went nuts. Found Orbitals set a bit of a let down compared to previous sets I've seen by them.

Food options were good. Only bad points were that they needed more toilets and the beer selection. Five lamps is rank and no stout option. No stout at an irish fest. Not on. Now for the drive home.

• Registered Users Posts: 932 ✭✭✭grudgehugger

An immensely enjoyable weekend. Mount Kimbie best in show for me, with lots of great DJs across the weekend and a crowd of people out to enjoy themselves. Rathaus DJs were an enjoyable late night option on Friday, James Holden was predictably class on a sunny Saturday afternoon and Tourist closed things off nicely on Sunday.

Delighted to see the post re tickets for next year going on sale shortly - looking forward to being back there next year.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Toast

I could see how a lot of people would have loved that, but it'll be the last for us, short of a breath taking line-up next year.

Weather worked out well. It never felt like a festival on the decline. I didn't see any cost-cutting, beyond the missing block of toilets that was on the map beside the Selective Memory tent. If they've survived this year, I can see it on the inevitable path of going bigger and more mainstream that all Irish festivals follow, which is why it's dead to me.

The corporate beer and searches that came with it are always the first sign. The creep of commercialism tainted it too. Kids playing in the Bulmers bubble area (how is this allowed?), Loreal's tone deaf sponsorship, that car thing. The Beyond the Plate area was previously a focal point, but now almost tucked away, with little other reason for people to be there. We were treated like children in some other regards too, with a sudden ban on chairs in the arena on Sunday. The vibe is changing ever so slightly to be more party boy and less seasoned festival goers. Maybe that was just Grace Jones that brought the older crowd out last year.

Musically, there wasn't enough for us after all the clashes. We'd gotten early bird tickets last year so that was on us for not waiting on the line-up. I had hoped this was Ireland's equivalent to End of the Road, but its on the path to yet another identikit Irish Festival beholden to their corporate overlords.

• Registered Users Posts: 854 ✭✭✭dav09

I'm surprised with the amounts of complaints re:beer since it had a free flow policy which is rare these days. The White Hag and Whiplash are two of the best brewers in Ireland which I can see why people are disappointed here after previous years imo but beer sales/sponsorship is a huge part of a festivals revenue streams, C&C/Bulmers likely paid a premium to be there which is standard at festivals, they did B&S for as long as I can remember and I definitely wouldn't have ever classed that festival as ever selling out, festivals are big money businesses often with low profitability margins so sponsors are required.

All major festivals here in recent years pretty much had one major brewer either Heineken, Diageo, C&C or O'Hara's (Estrella Galicia) as a sponsor/bar. C&C's offerings are fine too some are tasty, they could maybe do with a separate 'light' larger option for people who enjoy less craft type taste, maybe not the best of the best but if you've ever been to a Diageo sponsored music event with a choice of either Rockshore (dreadful) or usually Guinness in a plastic glass at the wrong temperature & tasteless, it's always a disaster for me. Not a fan of O'Hara's either, and often Heineken don't serve their 'craft' beers or stouts at events so you're stuck with just their larger mostly, I suppose people have different tastes and expectations.

Good to see a lot of positive feedback for the festival after last year and that it was fairly busy the weekend though as there were some worrying post made in the lead up with regards to numbers of tickets sold.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,382 ✭✭✭Macy0161

1 opened 500ml (at least officially) hardly free flow? Some security were more thorough than others from what I saw.

Without getting into a debate about O'Hara's commercial/ independence, any of their line up is better than 5 lamps!

• Registered Users Posts: 854 ✭✭✭dav09

I've rarely seen a 1 can rule enforced at festivals it's usually lose but maybe it was by some security here. As for that, yeah as long as the beer tastes fine to good I don't usually care who brews it, I haven't seen O'Hara's sponsor a festival in a long time too either since the pandemic seemed to be very common for a while.

I'm reluctant to annoy the beer gods, but while I had no issues, there was others being pulled for more than 1. No idea whether they had put any effort into it though!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,456 ✭✭✭Blisterman

For me, the option of decent beer was my number one reason for choosing this over any other festival. So big let down on that front.
    Other than that, it was nice vibes, and we got lucky for the weather. Don't think I'd go again next year unless I had confirmation the beer offering would be better.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭Fanirish

honestly find that rationale odd as you can bring whatever beer you want to the festival.
    The choice of draught beer being a make or break it thing about a festival.

Don't know whether it would be a deal breaker, but a festival is definitely more attractive to me if it has a decent beer line up to go with the music. Especially as some can be strict on what you can bring into the field.

• Registered Users Posts: 854 ✭✭✭ollkiller

1 can is not free flow. Some of the security were right jobsworths. And the beer offering inside was abysmal. Still had a great time. But a stout and a nice craft beer is not too much to ask for.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭hold my beer

David Holmes the highlight for me. Over 4 hours of quality tunes. A joy to watch an absolute master at work. If anyone knows the name of the 2nd last tune he played let us know. Gorgeous

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭Gary Ibbotson

The Scratch, Courtney Barnett, Marc Rebillet, and Folamour were some of my personal highlights. A couple of improvements could definitely be made here and there (E.g the beer selection, and the showers debacle on Sunday) but overall a very enjoyable weekend and I hope the festival continues on!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,762 ✭✭✭accensi0n

Redneck Manifesto was great.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,114 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

God I'm dying. Toilets and big queues for beer seemed to be an issue this year and weren't in the last two iterations.

Kruger and Dorfmeister were a highlight for me in the sun yesterday. Crowd at festival were great, lots of older folk.

Time for some xanax methinks.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,815 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭jellybeano

Such a brilliant weekend. Highlights were Jungle, Folamour, Kruder & Dorfmeister and Thievery Corporation. Special shout out to the moon on Friday, the sun on Sunday and the trees the whole weekend. They must have blown the toilet and shower budget on those 😂 Word in the woods is that only 9,000 tickets were sold, so maybe that’s why there were a few cutbacks in here and there?

It’s my 3rd BTP and it’s really kept its laid back vibe, even with the increased sponsorship. The size is ideal. We glamped for the first time at BTP. Stages and campsites are a close enough for just nipping back to the tent for refills / toilets. The showers/ beer / free flow never bothered me. Where there’s a will there’s a way 😃 Came home last night so hopefully that’ll help with the recovery. Roll on BTP 2025 🔊🔊🔊

• Registered Users Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭RINO87

I might have caught that on video, I remember trying to capture his lasershow at the end.....I'll need to look later/tomorrow, not up to it now😅

Overall a good weekend, that was let down in a pretty big way by a few things. Most covered above. Some of the security were absolute ass holes to our group....

The crowd were fantastic, so there was absolutely no need for security to be dicks, but there ya go!

Highlights were the Rednecks, 808 state, Helena Hauff....whoever was in the woods sat night, scratch, David Holmes, Folamour, Rival Consoles....many other too actually but brain not working to recall properly right now. Musically it was quite good, stages all seemed to run pretty much bang on time too??

Who was the special guest after last night? They were listed for the woods, but when I passed around midnight the place was closed....but up beside bulmerss stage/puc fada was still going, so I guess they moved the guest up there and kept the bar open....I wanted to go back up but they were STILL doing searches after midnight so I said feck that

There's something life affirming about seeing a happy couple in their 60s sharing a pill on a sunny Sunday afternoon DJ set

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭Gunner5

Tbh... The militant drink searches were a disappointment for me.. while I get the sponsorship thing, the festival still hasn't reached EP/ATN levels of offering but are charging those prices per ticket. The reason I've been three years is that it's not EP/ATN with the added bonus of more chill on the free flow thing.

Had an excellent time though, the people are what makes it.. everyone is friendly and no shite going on. Loved the random pop up stuff, the carnival , the brass band , the bubble DJ. thought the sound at cirrus garden was brilliant too

Anyone have any photos of the bubble bike dj?? Who was it? He was absolutely cracking on sat night...I'm having trouble explaining his set up here.

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭jellybeano

• Registered Users Posts: 212 ✭✭Van Doozy

B & S are asking people to save a 2025 date, and BTP are asking people to sign up for early bird access for 2025.

• Registered Users Posts: 516 ✭✭✭ECookie13

There are videos on the official btp Instagram, I think everyone who was there on Sunday would have come across him.

crowd was great but on sat night we came back to our silk road tent and it was kicking off a bit. some dude wandered into a random tent on our row and fell asleep and then when he was woken up he started kicking off and attacking people, one bloke had blood on his face. the garda came and arrested him and he was resisting and shouting etc.

totally out of kilter with the vibe of the place, imagine ruining your own and other people's weekend like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,456 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I mean by that logic, who cares about the music lineup. You could just listen to whatever you want on Spotify.

I was looking forward to listening to some bands while drinking some nice tasting cold beers and soaking in the atmoshphere. And a big USP for this festival in previous years was that it was the only festival that had craft beers at it. But not this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Ricosruffneck

Could be a blessing in disguise, god knows what would happen if I had access to tasty high ABV ales all weekend.

I'd be in a sore heap in the morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 212 ✭✭Van Doozy

Yea it's inevitable I guess with thousands of people you're always going to get the odd eejit who'd taken too much of whatever or maybe just happens to be an aggro a-hole.

Luckily I didn't meet anyone like that - I found the crowd to be one of the best features of the event, I met hundreds of people at the stand and not one d1ckhead, and several of whom (when I manage to get the time) I had good oul chats with. One guy I was talking to for about 20 minutes and at the end of the convo it turned out I saw him perform at Witnness 2000!

Really nice atmosphere in the campsite as well, where I spent almost the entire weekend, save an hour here or there when I got in to see an act. Sunday night in particular in the campsite was a lovely ambience after the music ended and the moon was rising, nobody being obnoxious or antisocial, nobody totally wasted, people just hanging out and enjoying themselves.

And then on Monday people cleaning up after themselves and dropping their bags of rubbish down to the skip... when I compare it to the last night I ever spent at Oxegen and some dude tried to set fire to my tent with me still inside it (thankfully) awake and reasonably sober.

Many thanks to anyone who cooled their cans. We'll see yiz in the next cartoon. 

• Registered Users Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭hold my beer

Thanks again for the cold cans on Sunday @Van Doozy , they went down a treat.