Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Soldier beats a woman unconscious, gets a great reference from his commanding officer, avoids jail.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,636 ✭✭✭Feisar

What's cowardly about not involving oneself in some lad mouthing off? And to go a step deeper when someone foolishly got involved and started getting beaten up, again why is it cowardly to not get involved? Ya gotta be streetwise and avoid situations like that. Look, I suppose the old school upbringing I got wouldn't allow me to walk by when a woman is being beaten but it'd be a sh!t show.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,729 ✭✭✭Bobtheman

Im not agreeing with the sentence but I don't agree with mob justice either. We need the appeals process to work.

I did find it particularly disturbing that he posted about it.

But he is now at the center of a media storm. That should end and the justice system allowed work.

A lot of the virtue signalers on here would be the same crowd giving out about single mothers who could be single because they had a violent partner.

They would also never contribute to women's aid etc

• Registered Users Posts: 55,434 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Diarmuid Connolly avoids conviction, nevermind jail for unprovoked assault on two men. Country’s a joke

• Registered Users Posts: 8,968 ✭✭✭Red Silurian

True but how many of them have caused so much controversy?

• Registered Users Posts: 506 ✭✭✭Morris Garren

The same lad who played for the Dubs, a bit of a thug by reputation? Did the GAA manager put in a good word for him/a great man in the parish/good father blah blah ???

• Registered Users Posts: 14,100 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

A lot of the virtue signalers on here would be the same crowd giving out about single mothers who could be single because they had a violent partner.

They would also never contribute to women's aid etc

wouldn't the wokes be supportive of single mothers and women's aid etc.? surely more likely to be supportive of it than the anti-everything brigade who are trying to attack everything natasha is doing and calling her fake etc.? the patriots attacking her generally hate women and don't want them to have abortion as an option etc., i think you're getting mixed up.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,785 ✭✭✭Greyfox

It's still far better than there been no backlash at all

• Registered Users Posts: 6,425 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

A hypocritical joke at that. He avoided a conviction for a previous unprovoked attack in 2014 in which he broke the victim’s eye socket. Will his victims be receiving a Dail standing ovation and Prime Time special?

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭Doc07

agree, violent crime seems to be dealt with leniently in Ireland (I’ve no idea how we ‘benchmark’ against other EU /wealthy /liberal countries )

This crime against a women by the scumbag soldier catches more attention as it’s such a visceral example of something we hope should never happen and when it does there should be feck all leniency.

Of course we have loads of recent examples of leniency for male on male violence including cowardly 3 on 1 assaults like the unrepentant Kerry councillor who recently topped the poll

• Registered Users Posts: 11,608 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

What's the origin of the phrase used by Crotty when he posted about the tactic he used in the assault - "two to put her down, two to put her out". Is that a phrase used in martial or other activity training to describe how to incapacitate a person?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

How so?

When this has happened to men there was little or no backlash.

I don't think I'm getting mixed up at all. You'd have to ask people. People don't fit into neat categories.

You could be pro abortion yet give out about single mothers. You could be far right and be pro abortion etc

But I do accept that there are people who are attacking her. That's deplorable. But I also think the rush to the microphone needs to stop as it could be argued a fair appeal is now impossible.

• Registered Users Posts: 793 ✭✭✭Juran

I imagine playing Gaelic in New York or Sydney was considered by the judge. Plenty of unknown Joe Bloggs would get a conviction.

To be fair men perpetuating violence on women is more common plus the whole story of the attack. The homophbia. The media posts.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

But in the context of this story.

All things being equal, I'd say a young man is at least equally at risk of a random, street attack as a young women. I dont know the stats obviously.

Obviously in both cases the attacks are predominantly coming from men.

Huh? Random stranger assaults is far more common male on male. I have never seen a male beat a woman no matter what the connection between them. It’s far rarer than males beating males.

Domestic violence is a different category. Natasha and her assaulter are strangers.

Maybe I misinterpreted your reply to Tomb

• Registered Users Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭crusd

Woman stands up for herself and others - "Activist pedigree".

Hmm, should stay quite shouldn't they eh?

• Registered Users Posts: 863 ✭✭✭gym_imposter

Merely said She appears to be no stranger to progressive politics

• Registered Users Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

You are the one that feels a group of women hate you. Why is that?

No , he's at far greater risk of being randomly physically attacked

• Registered Users Posts: 14,100 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Natasha made sure there was a backlash though, and fair play to her. People are literally getting away with murder in this country. I had a male relative killed over 20 years ago now by two teenagers, the only suspects, clearly guilty, and the judge threw it out on a technicality. Our family decided to try legal routes instead of making a lot of noise but that did nothing either. I was too young to be involved at the time but if they had made the noise Natasha is making now I really think it may have made a difference and those two c**ts wouldn't still be out there terrorising people, only a few years ago one of them robbed a girl with a knife to her throat and the judge let him off with it again because his ma gave a sob story about his heroin addiction and paid a few grand compensation. It's a ridiculous system we have, male or female.

Then way say what you said other than as an attempt to discredit by association?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,370 ✭✭✭BrianD3

I see a few mentions online of Natasha O' Brien being an actress, There is apparently a different person with the same name who is an actual actress. But there is still something very odd about the Limerick Natasha's demeanour in all her interviews. The exaggerated and animated head movement and facial expressions are similar to what you'd see from an actor chewing the scenery.

I'd wonder if she has been advised by ROSA or some other militant wingnuts to do that

If those are just her normal mannerisms and she was like that when she chose to interact with Crotty that night, that won't have helped one bit for avoiding an escalation. Her mannerisms are the opposite to what is taught in self protection and de-escalation training as they'd "excite" the primitive brain of the other person, pouring petrol on the fire of drunken aggression. And before any simpletons jump on me with "so what you're saying is it's her own fault , VICTIM BLAMING" I won't be responding to that rubbish. As I said already, leave that sort of crap to the social media activist world of lame points scoring and risk free calling out.

Also, again, there is nothing cowardly about keeping your mouth shut when some drunk angry stranger is running theirs. Life is hard enough without involving yourself in these situations and risking being beaten or killed to protect a stranger's feelings. IME such accusations of cowardice usually come from people who themselves couldn't fight their way out of a wet paper bag,

What seems to be happening here too is we have a combination of victims and perp (gay person, young woman, white male) that the media, NGOs and man haters see as an opportunity to push their agenda. If Crotty had been a Traveller, abused a disabled person (Travellers often use terms like "handicapped down syndrome bastard" as a form of abuse) and a male had intervened, there would be barely a word about this case.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Thing is, you absolutely are victim blaming. You're treating her as if she's "acting", implying that she's being controlled by an NGO. Then following by saying that her mannerisms make her more likely to be attacked. Your overall point amounts to saying she somehow provoked an attack and should be ignored because you think she's a mouthpiece of NGOs. You basically spend your post being as negative as possible about the victim of a violent attack, it's a bit sad tbh.

I don’t think poster means what you’re saying here. He’s making rational points as to why he thinks this attack happened

OK let me clarify my thoughts. The nature of the attack is horrendous. Male attacks on females they don't know are rare. The texts are nauseating.

Thus I can understand why this attack gets so much publicity.

But I would like if people who rush to post on this would also support women's aid. I doubt it. Though I would admit female violence against males in the home is under reported.

I hate virtue signaling as it amounts to very little.

As to the Judge he is entitled to make his judgement. I didn't agree with It but we should not encourage mob justice.

Let the DPP appeal if that's still possible after all this jumping on the band wagon.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,197 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

It’s also possible that the strange and seemingly exaggerated mannerisms are a result of the sudden “fame” and hero status that she has received.

The woman is a victim of a violent attack, but she is not a hero. You can thank the media for this hype.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,551 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

In fact, Togher was required under military law to be present and to give a summary of Crotty’s service record if requested. Words like “exemplary” and “professional” are simply HR terms, military sources said, not a personnel endorsement.

So Crotty's commanding officer didn't give him a personal character reference as people earlier speculated.

Thread title should really be changed as a lot of people clearly jumped to the wrong conclusion on this.