Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

.22 eley subsonic.loud

• 29-06-2024 1:07pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭

hi folks,anyone using above ammo lately,im finding them fairly loud,i remember using the darker green box,and dont remember them being that loud,im wondering since they went from 40 to 38 grain,would that make a difference?

They are very accurate.and no misfires yet in my new cz457 16 inch barrel and wildcat whisper mod,have not tried any other mod,the whisper is only a month old,should i try another mod?or switch ammo?

I'm loving the eley,head shoot rabbits out to 80 yards,but the whole point of using subsonic and mod is to be quite,which is a must on some of my permissions,opinions/advice welcome,thanks……

ps.ive read that using subsonic all one hears is the pin hitting the round,and the thump on the target.i hear alot more than that.

Post edited by Cass on

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭tikka646

I've the same setup as you except with an rcc mod. Extremely accurate and quiet.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭sniperman

Eley subsonic, they are all I use. I've had cci and winchester go loud in the past but never eleys.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭J.R.

I also use Eley 38g subsonic.

Extremely accurate and quiet.

I use a Savage Mark II GL with a Park Hale moderator.

Have you tried firing a few shots with the moderator removed…should be much louder.

hi,ya ive tried without mod,much louder alright,but still a fair kinda crack with mod on,louder than i think it should be

reading this on a sight selling rcc rimfire mods…….RIMFIRE 22 provides excellent sound reduction on all .22 calibers. When firing with a .22 LR Subsonic round, the sound is reduced to levels where you can virtually only hear the mechanism of the rifle……….is this statement true,or just a sales pitch?well i certainly can hear alot more than the pin stricking the case, starting to wonder if the whisper is not really that quite??

Try a different mod maybe. Depending too on your surroundings when shooting for example next to a farm building or a wall etc. an echoing effect can happen which can amplify any sound. It could be a bad box of ammo also?

thanks,i be mainly down ditches,edges of sand pits etc,ya was thinking now of buying a rcc mod to try,can always resell if not that,as for ammo being bad,ive about 500 down the new rifle and mod,all are same sound,can hear alot more sound tan just a click and a thud.ill get a new mod next and try that.might be the answer

• Registered Users Posts: 6,666 ✭✭✭Feisar

It could be the batch of Eley subs are coming out supersonic if they are as loud as you are saying.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 15,023 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

ps.ive read that using subsonic all one hears is the pin hitting the round,and the thump on the target.i hear alot more than that.

In Hollywood action films maybe...

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭garrettod

I'd suggest trying a different sub through the same set up - that'll tell you if it's the set up, or ammo.

Assuming that's quiet enough, I'd then try and source a few Eley subs elsewhere, in case you've ended up with a bad batch.

Then I'd be changing the mod.

I'm expecting you to find the it's the batch of Eley that you've got - probably all bought from the same dealer, who may have received a consignment that aren't what they should be.

As an aside, I agree with you - much rather the old dark green box, but ditching them gave Eley the chance to roll out a few new shinny boxes of 22s, which no doubt produce a higher profit margin.

The old Eley subs used to be my 2nd choice, after Winis, for using through an old BRNO, but the Winis have really fallen off, so I'm in search of a new preferred sub myself, now.

Thanks,

G.

not looking for hollywood quite,but reading this on sites that sell rcc mods…...RIMFIRE 22 provides excellent sound reduction on all .22 calibers. When firing with a .22 LR Subsonic round, the sound is reduced to levels where you can virtually only hear the mechanism of the rifle…this is what i am looking for,are these people that sell these mods lying or what?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,666 ✭✭✭Feisar

Barrel length plays a big factor. My CZ 452 Lux with an Atec Wave is "Hollywood Quiet" A lot of that is down to the 24.8" barrel.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭.243

when was the last time you scrubbed out the mod ???

hi ive only about 500 rounds down it,got cleaned about 200 ago

• Registered Users Posts: 550 ✭✭✭BSA International

RWS subs are quiet, accurate & give "good" kills but are a little droppy due to slow speed.

Barrel length makes a difference. Some of the newer design mods are not as good as the older one. I've reverted to a SAK. Best mod apart from the older Parker Hale, which are long & a bit heavy.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,023 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

They are stretching the truth to sell you a silencer. But to a point where you only hear CLIK of a hammer drop to a PING! As your round hits a target less than a second later, is not very real. As no matter what there will be hot gases exiting the silence after the bullet which will still make some noise.Which, depending on where shot, maybe, or not louder than the maker's infomercial claims IOW did they do this demo out in an open field, a forest or an indoor range? Now, unless you are planning a hit on someone, it's about as relevant in reality as the noise difference as to whether you use whichever brand of tea bags if you are hunting or target shooting.IOW unless you break out the decibel meter and test it in a lab condition it's not going to be that much of a difference in practical terms for hunting

It probably can be done with an integrally suppressed firearm[Like the WW2 De Lesile carbine] A stubby ported barrel in a VAST expansion chamber and then a baffle set up with a wipe on the muzzle that the bullet must pierce IOW the entire silencer is the barrel. Very rare and expensive and virtually never seen in .22 and even then they need almost custom hand loads to be that quiet

As the load is now 2 grains lighter, yes it will have changed as maybe Eley has upped the powder charge to get it to an advertised FPS. But if it is still subsonic the difference in relevant noise on a decibel meter is probably something, but in practical field use its probably irrelevant. Unless you are getting a supersonic CRACK! once the round leaves the gun and passes an object on the way to the target, no silencer will sort out that crack. You have nothing to worry about. You could try running the silencer "Wet" IE and put some liquid, like gun oil, or even some have tried diesel, on the baffles and internals which works like an extra cooling agent for the gases of the shot. Just so long as you are not obstructing the path of the bullet, which as a liquid it won't do,it might quiet you can a few decibels more

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 105 ✭✭17hmr1

When I had cz 455 with some sort of polymer mod which I can't think of the name I always used cci standard mostly because of price but they were really quiet but the eley subs in the white box were quieter but best was rws subs but they were expensive.

Before changing mod buy a couple of different rounds it'll work out cheaper

thanks all for reply's,ill try a few other rounds see how that goes,ill update soon

• Registered Users Posts: 570 ✭✭✭JP22

Barrel length makes a big difference; shorter barrels also produce more of a crack than a bang.

The quality of the moderator makes a big difference and a dirty one is not as efficient as a clean one.

We had a chap on benches one day shooting a 308 with a moderator (Hausken I think, was told high end & expensive), it was so quiet no one knew there was a CF on the line. I swear (and others present can confirm) it was quieter than most 22’s with a mod.

As others have said, before spending more hard earned cash, thoroughly clean the mod and try some other ammo first.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭J.R.

from 3.00 onwards you'll hear what the .22 Eley 38g subs sound like with a moderator.

thanks for that ,wow mine sounds way louder than that,gonna try different mod and see,then different ammo.thanks,will update weekend

• Registered Users Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Uinseann_16

Just a note on the RCC mods they are extremely small which is grand and handy but the main purpose of a moderator is to slow the expanding gases from your muzzle , imho the RCC are too small to be efficient I have one I also have a sak and an atec 22 mods

My semi auto 22 is quiter on a decibel reader with the sak than the bolt gun with the RCC with the same ammo!

It's a mod problem they're just... Shite

just an update,tried a few winchester subs today,was quieter,so must have been the eley subs making the crack,i now swapped my remaining eley for winnies,i guess some batches of ammo can be off,ill try eley again in the future,as they were accurate,winnies not to bad either,thanks all for replys

• Registered Users Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭garrettod

And there I was giving out about winis.. 😉

Thanks,

G.