Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users Posts: 10,066 ✭✭✭✭nerd69

Thats a fairly lazy way to shut down anyone that disagrees with you

• Registered Users Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭SaoPaulo41

Owen Doyle: Ireland-South Africa match officials unlikely to enjoy performance reviews after poor day

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/rugby/ ... -poor-day/

“Ground control to Major Tom, you’re off your course, direction’s wrong.”

For some odd, or maybe obvious, reason David Bowie’s lyrics came to mind as Ben Whitehouse called in, or didn’t, from his TMO command centre to referee Luke Pearce.

Let’s look at the Craig Casey incident when, strangely, there was no call from Whitehouse. Casey was in possession as recent Munster team-mate RG Snyman came past the ruck, probably offside too. He first tried to impede Casey’s pass by targeting his arm. He failed, the ball was gone when he proceeded to tackle the scrumhalf, driving him backwards and into the ground where his head smacked violently on the turf. Casey was knocked out cold, it was a sickening moment of grave concern.

It was a late tackle off the ball, and pretty high too. It demanded a review, but there was only silence from the TMO. As recently as last week, this column emphasised that there are very dangerous tackles where there is no direct collision with the head, and this was one. Given the head contact protocols, the outcome may well have been excused as “a rugby incident,” a term I always find bordering on ludicrous.

But, here we are again, tethered by protocols, and not guided by the laws of the game. There is also something in the equation called a duty of care, which the tackler certainly didn’t seem overly worried about. It was 131kg driving needlessly into 76kg, clearly dangerous, and there is no greater proof of that than the outcome. I am very willing to take any brickbats of disagreement, and there’ll probably be plenty, I’d guess, from South Africa.

But such a tackle, which can result in a very serious brain injury, merits a lot more than “play on”, There have to be consequences. I don’t believe that the TMO should be the final arbiter of such player actions, involving serious injury. It has to be the ref’s call.

Neither can I comprehend how Pearce, watching Casey receive prolonged treatment, didn’t want to see for himself. Caelan Doris certainly wanted him to, but instead he told the player off, albeit politely.

Whitehouse did call up Pearce, to deny James Lowe a try, after a wondrous run down the touchline. Hawk-eyed, the TMO had spotted a potential offence by Ronan Kelleher in a ruck, seconds before. The hooker had gone to ground, the ball striking his foot before emerging on Ireland’s side. Pearce had a direct view of it, and had not whistled it. That’s the crux of the matter – it was a referee decision in a ruck, not for the TMO. However, what he should have picked up was the neck roll on Kelleher which helped put him on the deck in the first place. Ireland would then, at least, have had a penalty, which instead went the other way.

Lowe mixed the good with the bad. His successful attempt to keep the ball in play, with no idea of who was behind him, was unwise. The risk-reward balance was unfavourably skewed, quite the opposite of his sumptuous offload for Jamie Osborne’s score. It led directly to Kolbe’s try, although it took a lengthy study to decide that Lowe was no longer in possession before his foot was on the ground in touch.

There is a another consideration here. The law states that the ball is in touch if it, or the ball carrier, touches the touchline or anything beyond. Having released the ball, the question is, if it then hit Lowe’s thigh, does that qualify as “anything beyond” the touchline. There’ll be mixed views on it, with the only opinion which counted – Whitehouse’s – ruling that there was nothing clear and obvious for Pearce to overturn his on-field “try” decision.

Lowe was also involved in the correctly awarded penalty try for South Africa. Playing the ball deep in Ireland’s in-goal, uncharacteristically he fumbled it; Pearce awarded the inevitable five-metre scrum. The “bomb squad” had arrived en masse, just in time to play a mere 30 minutes of an 80-minute match, which raises again serious safety concerns. They did their business, completely splintering the Ireland pack, with Kelleher singled out for a yellow card.

There was more TMO involvement when the referee was persuaded by Doris to look at his grounding of the ball for a possible try in the second half. One camera angle showed the ball to be short of the line, and that was enough for Whitehouse to rule it out. But there was another angle which seemed to show a clear, if very brief, grounding. Ireland will have a big query on this one, among many others.

Doris and Pearce had an interesting relationship throughout the afternoon, with the Irishman getting under the ref’s skin at times. That’s not really a great idea, but, at times, it was hard to blame him. Assistant Rob Dickson, in charge next Saturday, will have taken good note of the exchanges. The match officials are unlikely to enjoy their performance reviews. They had a poor day, in what was a thunderously ferocious contest.

In addition to World Rugby’s specialist review group on the red card replacement, there are two additional groups working away. One is studying the whole matter of TMO involvement; the other on the question of replacements, aka “bomb squads”.

The groups are due to come up with recommendations for adoption by World Rugby’s council, in November. That meeting cannot come soon enough, both have evolved into something which was never intended. They are in real Major Tom territory – completely off course

• Registered Users Posts: 5,036 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

I made my point, as I said you seem to have little experience of watching Big Joe so pointless going forward.

Im not shutting down anything, people don't have to respond to every ramble you go off on

Whitehouse has history and nobody has done anything about him so far, don't expect anything to change

Sure he can defend his opposing number. Huge and unusual skill for an international rugby player you have me there

Iv watched plenty of him iv rewatched games where iv followed just him he has huge potential as a second row but people have gotten compleatly carried away with what he is now

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

We won 99% of rucks to their 95%. Our maul was pretty effective. Our scrum was close to on top until our subs came on. If you really pushed it then he was a more successful receiver in the lineout. However, SA did not win that game through the forward pack at all. If anything we had their number there and they had more pace (and luck frankly) in the backline.

You are the one who made the incredibly bold statement, it would be nice to back it up with something.

The increadibly bold statment being that i dont think carry stats are a fair judge of mccarthys game vs etzebeth's? Is that really increadibly bold?

This incredibly bold statement

We win that game if etzebeth is playing for us

He wasn't on Saturday.

This obsession with SA locks some people have is ridiculous. Of the starting locks Beirne and Mostert were comfortably the best and Etzebeth and McCarthy were about average. Of the bench locks Ryan was head and shoulders above Snyman (and probably more impactful than Etzebeth overall).

None of this is a commentary on them as players for their career - Etzebeth is one of the greatest ever. Ireland have generally handled him well to our credit and he had an off day.

No i agree were not discussing career that would be an unfair suggestion by me

I think mccarthy has weaknesses but their ones not seen unless you follow him. Id start ryan and bring mccarthy off the bench personally

• Registered Users Posts: 5,919 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

McCarthy was grand, Etzebeth was grand. No more, no less.

If they'd swapped jerseys before the game, the result would have been the same. Really not sure what the argument is.

Etzebeth is on a very downward slope, he's not the player he was even a year or two ago IMO. As someone pointed out above, if McCarthy was playing great, he wouldn't have come off after 49 minutes - but if Etzebeth was really that good, the Boks wouldn't have hauled him off or indeed had a pre-planned strategy to replace him.

On the flip side, McCarthy might not be the finished article but his progress this season has been phenomenal. We're supposed to be happy about that, just to remind people.

Im very excited about the player mccarthy can be to be clear

• Registered Users Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭CMcsporty

no probably about it. Snyman was offside.

dirt

I wonder did he show his face in the Irish locker room after?

Fair play Faf!

https://x.com/captspringbok/status/1809911617879965775?s=46&t=LZNAt8uQdNSsqynXTsT0dw

I actually thought the same when the DJ was playing the tunes…

My God! it's Coldplay! Horrific…poor Casey

• Registered Users Posts: 11,136 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

I agree with your point of view but not with the evidence you're trying to use.

I dont think McCarthy is developed enough fitness wise to last a full top tier international level game for 80 without a drop off in output - made worse by altitude in this situation. He only pretty recently turned 23.

Even games where he has been playing really well, like France in the 6 nations, the Irish coaching team has chosen him to be the guy who is replaced. The only 6 nations game he played the full 80 was Italy.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,986 ✭✭✭leakyboots

I think McCarthy suffered (might be the wrong word) a bit from the hype of the France match in that at the time it was a superb performance against a team that, maybe, at that time we thought were a lot better than they actually were (Italy nearly taking them in Paris, although I do think this Italian team are better than previous iterations).

His trajectory for the rest of the tournament after that was downward in comparison and probably a bit truer to his real level for me (which is still a good level, I just didn't buy into the 'generational' talk of a couple of people on here who champion him a lot, which is fine, we all have our favourites).

He's still raw and not the finished article but it was an exciting breakthrough season for him, bodes well for Leinster and Ireland if he keeps it up.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭ulsteru20s

I would say go back and watch a mccarthy game and just watch him at rucks and you will see stuff you rarely see from international players. He is very raw. He seems to not know when to enter and when not, he has a noticeable amount of ineffective entries, and also just flops into them alot. Ryan for example is a way better player in that situation.

edit: the whole media discourse about mccarthy is weird. They built him up after an excellent debut and no one is pointing out that he hasn't been close since.

Post edited by ulsteru20s on

McCarthys an elite ball carrier. He typically always wins collisions and draws double tackles in doing so. Its by far his best skill and only elite one.

The obsession with irish fans that all our players are elite is ridiculous. We have one elite lock in beirne who is a complete game changer even without a big carry game. Etzebeth is on a different planet to ryan or mccarthy.

The clue is in the word “fans”

I find the obsession that some people have with SA even stranger tbh. We’ve shown consistently that we’re every bit as good as them, so why is it so hard for people to accept that our players might be as good as theirs?

So now we are talking about “elite” and if a player skill level is elite or not just to have a go at a player who has one full season of playing at club and international level

Based on what “elite” is, would Big Joe claim to be elite at anything so early into his career? I doubt it , I certainly wouldn’t be claiming it

What is an “elite” player? Which ones are and which ones are not? Not Irish just world players

Honestly never seen anyone saying Irish players are “elite”

• Registered Users Posts: 24,250 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Just on the Doris/Pearce interaction, that wasn't in relation to Casey. Doris was irritated as there was an obvious deliberate knock on at the line out just before that. A hand came through and slapped the pop pass to Casey to the ground. It was clear. Pearce called knock on advantage and then advantage over just as Casey was scragged.

There's no way in hell it wasn't a deliberate knock on though. It was a single hand, coming through the lineout and batting a pass straight down.

Says the person who said they’d never post here again after a certain SA player got picked!!

But others can’t post their own opinions.

Classic.

again, I got a bit carried away in my support for the Ireland coach. I’m an Ireland fan, it happens. Or at least, it’s supposed to.

If you can show me the bit where I said you can’t post opinions, please do.

But if those opinions are fanboying for another national team and running down Ireland players, then they’re going to be challenged.

Fanboying for another teams plsyers in this instance meaning being any way impartial

Team announcements can’t come quickly enough!

Although I expect that will bring another barrage of superciliousness

Will SA team announcement be early again?

Doubt it, last week was just Rassie been Rassie….

He got no advantage as nobody in Ireland coaching team gave a sh*t when he announced the team so doubt he will do it this week with injuries/knocks

It's also great to see that nobody in Ireland team or coaching have bothered responding to that nonsense from Eben, makes him look like an idiot even more

• Registered Users Posts: 24,250 ✭✭✭✭Buer

• Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭FtD v2

They supposedly are injury free.

I imagine they’ll name today again.

Wouldn’t be surprised to see Kwagga drop to the bench for a bigger ball carrier at 8; think they lacked the ballast a traditional 8 would have given them last week, and think Kwagga offers more off the bench. Could see Vincent Koch getting a start ahead of Malherbe too.

Etzebeth is on a different planet to ryan or mccarthy.

Except he clearly wasn't on Saturday. At all. No one has compared them on their careers.

Also, unsurprisingly, Ryan was far better than Snyman when both were on the pitch because he's a better player. I have no idea why you so criminally underrate our locks.