Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dangerous Dogs Owners

• Registered Users Posts: 871 ✭✭✭septictank

Think Simon Harris wants results, so Helen McEntee is going to be under pressure to get AGS to police this.

They will have to contract in professional Dog Handlers to work with AGS.

Get rid of the XL's then identify what other Breeds need attention, Pit Bulls etc.

They are just fashion accessories for scobies, no need for these dangerous breeds.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,005 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

No I don't have one. Some friends have/had them. No issues, lovely dogs but then again their owners weren't scumbags.

I just think it's a waste of time banning them. Nothing will change. As I've said before, we need proper laws, licensing and enforcement around ownership, breeding and selling of all dogs. This ban is just window dressing to say "see we are doing something ".

Post edited by Yeah_Right on

• Registered Users Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Some dog representative on the radio saying that a ban is bad because there are people who are going to release their pitbulls onto the street now!

Perhaps the shooting idea isn't that bad after all?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

There's not enough of wardens and cops want to have nothing to do with this...

It will certainly work...

I've seen article the other day where minister Humphreys talking about locking jaws on XL bullies... There's no dog breed in the world with that ability, but that nonsense is around for ages and people keep parroting it..

• Registered Users Posts: 16,050 ✭✭✭✭event

A lot of animal rescues will have to put down any of these dogs they have now.

Goes to show how quick they can enact legislation for this. If only they would put the same effort in to puppy farms

• Registered Users Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

Yer wan in six one news talking about a big influx of them coming into the country which could see an increase in attacks …

had to check she wasn't talking on the immigration issue, with 1000's of unvetted 20 to 30 something single males coming in

• Registered Users Posts: 16,269 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Just goes to show they were shítty owners all along.

You are showing more taste for blood than any dog I've ever met..

Well Ireland again follows UK, pretty sure there are better examples in Europe how to deal with the problem.. But no, we'll go the easy way, without actually doing anything.. Anything else would actually require work and effort and that's a no go here..

From the article:

Nora Smith, Chief Executive of the USPCA, said that a ban on a small number of other breeds in the UK, that has been in existence for more than 30 years, has failed to reduce the number of dog attacks.

Ms Smith said: "It sounds like action.

"It sounds like a really positive step to say 'we're banning a breed and that will stop dog attacks'. It hasn't worked for 32 years so why is it going to happen now?"

Ms Smith said that the answer to dog aggression is "much more complex and nuanced" and comes down to things like how the dog is bred, its life experiences, how responsible its owner is and socialisation.

She said that a big part of this is responsible dog ownership and there needs to be a bigger conversation around breeding.

Any dog can be aggressive in the wrong environment and in the wrong hands, those are the complex issues we need to deal with," she added.

Ms Smith said "simply branding one breed as aggressive lures the public into a false sense of security".

She added that it "isn't going to fundamentally address the issue of dog attacks".

Things like these were pointed out many times since this thread started, yet some people think ban is going to sort out anything.., in the country which has absolutely no control over the dog owners, not able to enforce the very basics rules when it comes to dog ownership, breeding etc. Non existing statistics on dog's attacks, no nothing.

But hooray we have a first dog ban.

Absolutely laughable IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,564 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Nothing after thought shoot the dog you shoot the git of an owner as well.

Slava Ukrainii

On the locking jaw..

"An adult man can hold a German shepherd’s jaw closed with one hand. An attacking dog can bite a German shepherd’s nose or get a hold of one of his jaws even as the GSD attacks it…but the same is NOT true of pitbulls. It is very difficult to prevent a pitbull’s mouth from opening. You have no leverage against them. There is no easy target on their faces to grab or bite. For people this makes them slightly harder opponents; for other dogs this makes them MUCH harder opponents."

• Registered Users Posts: 8,885 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

How did it take this long to make legalisation about these dogs but the people that owns these type of dogs won't abide by the laws. I'd imagine there will be an influx of these dogs before October. It will be like everything in this country, there isn't enough man power to enforce it

On the locking jaw...

Doesn't exist.

So is the back jaw.

Do you remember that one?

Whether it exists or not they have a fearsome bite and very hard to shake off.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,423 ✭✭✭AllForIt

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2024/0712/1459647-xl-bully/

Articles like this make my blood boil. What do they mean 'they fell in love with the breed'. This is a very weird thing to say. I don't really want to know about their 'thing' for that particular breed.

I could not care less with their love of any breed and this article reads like we should give a feck but I don't.

They talk about the dog breed being 'misrepresented'. This is another really weird thing to say. It hardly reads the press and is offended like some minority group.

If a dog even if only because it's not 'treated properly' (whatever that entails I couldn't care less) is capable of a viscous assault leading to death then it should be banned. We can't go around checking to see if everyone is going to treat their dog properly.

Just ban the breed, stop breeding them, and they will die out. Who care, it's only a breed. It's still just a dog there are loads of breeds of dogs to choose from.

I have to say, there is something really odd about some dog owners. It's like they think being a dog owner makes them a someone.

If a dog even if only because it's not 'treated properly' (whatever that entails I couldn't care less) is capable of a viscous assault leading to death then it should be banned.

Proposing endless list of bans there..

• Registered Users Posts: 8,423 ✭✭✭AllForIt

What you are saying is that all dogs are equally dangerous. They clearly are not.

And if you have to ban them all to avoid deaths, then do that then I wouldn't care. I'm sick listening to them barking in the neighbourhood anyway, I'd hardly miss that.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,986 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

This always happens when a vested interest group doesn’t want things to change, they poke as many holes in the proposals as they can in the hope of stalling or bringing it down completely.

Will a ban completely remove any risk of more attacks? No.

Will it greatly reduce the risk? Yes.

Is there any rational reason why anyone should have one of these yokes? No.

There’s no reason not to ban them.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,512 ✭✭✭volchitsa

Or we could ban the most dangerous dogs and (and bear with me on this, as it's a radical thought I know) - we could also properly enforce punishments on the owners of dogs that are mistreated or neglected.

I don't think it's an either/or choice, is it?

^^^

What would be the definition of the most dangerous dog?

Well yes we could do a lot of things, but are we doing them?

It takes about 10 mins to explain, or teach the dog command "down". And just consistently repeat it for a few days short of periods of time, some treats and voilà. Out of the population of dogs in Ireland, what percentage would you think is able to follow that simple command?

Edit: Again, even the basics around the dogs are not sorted here. For now I would be inclined to say yes to ban XL bullies till we know more, till we sort out puppy farms, back yard breeders, bad dog owners etc. But what are the chances that any of that will actually happen? Pretty slim I would say.

Are you really saying that the reason Nicole Morey was killed by her dog(s) was that she had failed to teach them the "down" command?

Will it greatly reduce the risk? Yes.

That's a big unknown isn't it? It could well end up with quite opposite results.

So what's your suggestion then? Keep calm and carry on, it's all grand?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,985 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

I said to someone throughout the week that the ban on XL bully dogs will only move the focus of illegal breeders to another large and aggressive breed and sure enough this vet agrees.

I’m not sure what the answer is though - whatever it is it will cost lots of money. Only 1/3rd of dog owners actually own a dog licence - but of course enforcing that is near on impossible so unlikely to find the revenue needed from there.

Maybe more professionally run dog training schools- I remember on a Sunday as a kid growing up there was dog behavioural training classes run in a school playing pitch - there has to be a demand for such schools- great employment and career opportunities - I’ve no doubt demand would be high- state sponsored qualifications would get that off the ground in a 3 year period I’ve no doubt.

Would it solve the challenge of absolute scum bags breeding and owning dangerous dog breeds and deliberately making them even more aggressive? No not at all - but maybe long prison sentences for endangering others might.
    https://m.independent.ie/regionals/wexford/lifestyle/pete-the-vet-decision-to-ban-xl-bully-dogs-will-create-a-new-series-of-problems/a2113278063.html

If you're saying that suggestions won't work but have nothing to suggest yourself, then yes it's perfectly fair.

Ah ok, I've posted plenty of resources and my own opinions on the problem, in case you've missed it. Calling me on trolling surely must be a joke. There are posters here suggesting killing dogs and owners on sight, etc. But yeah I'm a troll. Saturday weak moment on your side I would guess.

Well she failed in many things dog's related and it unfortunately ended up the way it did. But this poor attempt of yours is a bad joke.

Edit: Should know better by now, to ignore these kind of wind ups on boards (yeah I know, my bad), but it never stops amazing me how minds of some works. And the logic behind somehow connecting my post to that sad case. Oh well, that's why some people rather communicate with dogs I guess. It's very straightforward communication..

Post edited by xhomelezz on