Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

330e Battery out of warranty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,061 ✭✭✭kirving

If it's so uncommon, then it's an even bigger co-incidence that three 330e's that I personally know of have had major electrical issues. (one was covered under warranty after an argument).

The alternative viewpoint is that plenty of people who have spent a lot of money on a premium car are unlikely to admit that it wasn't so reliable after all. They rightly want to protect their investment too.

Ask anyone on the street what they thought of Peugeot vs BMW quality, and you'd hear one answer only, but JD Power said otherwise of BMW between Nov' 15 to Jan '18.

All cars have their issues, no argument there, but if something does go wrong in a 330e out of warranty, there is limited expertise to fix it, and it's complicated, so it's expensive.

The bar for a recall to actually happen, if it's not a safety issue, is astronomical.

Europe doesn't really have class action lawsuits, and US consumer law is actually far better in many regards when it comes to common problems. The below BMW TIS's are just some of those uploaded by the NHTSA Office of Defect Investigation, due to investigations and complaints about the 330e. Obviously that doesn't include failure rates, but it does show that the problems was common enough to come to the attention of NHTSA.

https://static.nhtsa.gov/odi/tsbs/2018/MC-10145275-9999.pdf

https://static.nhtsa.gov/odi/tsbs/2018/MC-10149575-9999.pdf

https://static.nhtsa.gov/odi/tsbs/2016/MC-10151185-9999.pdf

https://static.nhtsa.gov/odi/tsbs/2018/MC-10136347-9999.pdf

If it's so common that you have personally seen 3 330e with issue then why have the 5 people I personally know with hybrid BMW never had a single problem with them.… That's an even bigger coincidence 🤣

Im not even going to bother reading all that, if this issue was so prevalent there would be major recalls on this car which there have not been... So your argument is all effectively bullshit

Saying people are covering it up to protect their investment is utter laughable horse ****

I reckon this is people buying massive mileage cars and then crying when something goes wrong. You can be guaranteed the tik tok video above, the cars probably averaged over 200k km on every one

And why is it just 330 , what about ,530 running the same gear but you hear nothing about issues

Anyway you buy a car you can afford, a 3k bill on a BMW is expected at some stage. Shouldn't be bank breaking unless someone bought more car than they could afford which is what seems to be the issue here

All you ever do In the motors forum looking through your posts is bitch about BMW hybrids and how bad they are, you have an agenda clearly.99% of people are delighted with their cars and have ZERO issues

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,706 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Probably a stupid question but anyhoo, is it possible to just rip out the electric gubbins to convert them to a 330i?

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,061 ✭✭✭kirving

Battery pack layout, packaging, cooling, cable routing, potential for overheating, water ingress and vibration will all be different between a 330e and 530e, and that may influence failure rates greatly.

Given how irate and personal you're getting over my posts, calling it bullshit, horseshit, and suggesting that I couldn't afford a fix, I think my point on owners trying to protect their investment isn't too far off the mark.

Why on earth would an OEM preemptively recall stuff, when they can just take the hit on warranty, and tell their other customers to pony up if their hilariously short warranty runs out?

I work in automotive electronics, and stuff is designed to, and should easily last 10-15 yrs and 350k km.

The other 2 cars I know of were below 100k km as far as I know, and were both owned by people who get bonuses bigger than the average salary. I sold mine (after it was fixed) to a family member for around half the market value. It was never about money for any of us, it's about the principle of not paying BMW a fortune to fix their bad quality product.

• Registered Users Posts: 958 ✭✭✭1jcdub

I have a 2017 330e and I've owned it since 2018. Originally bought with 33k kms. And I've now got 114k kms. Its been reliable apart from having to replace the KLE charge unit a few months ago. The previous unit was the original from factory. And the newer KLE units are reliable compared to the 2017-2018 units. I've had it serviced with BMW when in warranty. But I've been servicing it myself since. Oil and filter changed every 10k kms. The spark plugs changed at 80k kms and I had the gearbox serviced at 100k kms. Even though bmw says it does not need to be serviced for the life of the car. ZF the gearbox manufacturer says it should have the oil and filter changed every 100k kms.

I get 22-24km out of my battery between charges. And on the motorway at 110-120kph I average between 45-50 mpg

Would I buy another bmw hybrid? Yes 100%. I'm hoping to change my car later this year. And I'll either go for a G20 330e or a G30 530e. Either late 2019 or 2020.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,802 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Vlad has a constant flow of the bmw hybrid cars in and out. Same for Mercedes too in fairness.

With the bmw, it’s not the battery that’s a problem, it’s the KLE, EME and associated units that go on them regularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭User1998

Yeah my mate had hybrid issues with his Merc E350e too. Mercedes specialist quoted him €2k for repair but he ended up sorting it himself for 200 quid or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Whocare

Why 45/50 mpg is nothing especial diesel will do better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,813 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

That's what I average. But the other advantage is city driving when in full electric mode. That's when all petrol and diesel cars consumption really ramps up regardless of having auto stop start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,375 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

The additional petrol or diesel consumption of city driving a pure ICE will NEVER, EVER outweigh the costs associated with an older PHEV.

€4k for a battery module? You could drive 35,000kms in a 320d for 4 grand. At least!

And I always turn off my start/stop anyway. It makes little to no difference when averaged out and I recently had to change out the starter motor on the wife's car, after 260,000 kms of start/stop use.

It's very good. That was my point. The most efficient diesel car on the market now (Octavia) will do 52.4mpg on the motorway. And that's from testing, not real world. You'd expect that to drop below 50 in real world conditions. And it's the best.

A diesel will do better if drove at 60mph on motorway. If you want something for around town but don’t want full EV, then these 30e’s will do 50+ mpg. Twice the mpg as per my previous 520d for the same journey profile over a period of time. It drops to 40mpg at motorway speeds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭pale rider

I have made enquiries with two trade dealers that I know and respect and both say avoid Mercedes’ and BMW hybrids citing real life specific model car issues they encountered

I’m aware these might be rare issues but after reading this thread I am very inclined to avoid BMW, I’m not a betting man but it would be me it would happen to.

I’ve owned 4 PHEV’s and never had to replace a battery? Saved hundreds in fuel. A full tank lasted me 6 months at one point.

I personally would never buy another PHEV either. Battery wise they have been fine but the bmw electric side of the house, KLE, EME and Aux Heater all went. €17k bmw quoted to fix. Loads of fighting and angry emails to bmw Ireland got some goodwill for a portion of the work but I ended up with Vlad in Vitronix to get it so sorted for a fraction of the bmw estimate.

For me, it’s either EV or ICE. Whatever fuel you like but I’m not a fan of the hybrid or plug in hybrid.

I'm of the same view on hybrids. Three potential points of failure (EV part, ICE part and link part) compared to ICE or EV. And probably multiplied because of the complexity. All for very little gain.

I know a few people with VW group diesel cars and they've all had issues with adblue system failures. Either you the injector or the pump failing. And it's not a cheap fix either if you choose to repair it. But it can be mapped out of the emission system.

So for me the only option when I change my car well be another hybrid

Yeah, I wasn't recommending them, just pointing out where the other poster was wrong about any diesel being able to do 50mpg.

530e.
    BMW had the same failure issues with the REX i3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,375 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Yes, fine, were they new and/or warrantied?

I'm talking to people who are going to go out tomorrow and choose between a 2017 330e and 320d

Most younger generation will take the 330e due to the performance. Lower tax. 300bhp+ after a remap too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,504 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Having owned both a 2017 330e and several 330d's I can't think of a single reason anyone in their right mind would entertain the idea of the PHEV over the vastly superior diesel.

4+ years old and all over 100k miles. Didn’t keep them long to be fair. 6 months to a year each time but never had any issues.

Not really, I have an E Class 220D and on a cross country run easily get over 63 + mpg , it easily maintains 105 Kph on cruise control in 9th gear at 1025 rpm with a/c on, I had a 2’.0 Passat Diesel that could do even better.

I replaced the KLE unit myself. I bought it from a company in Germany with 1 year warranty for €700 delivered. BMW wanted €1500 plus fitting. Labour from BMW was €1000. So €2500. I paid €50 to get out coded to the car and€10 for a bottle of coolant.

Not a direct comparison. 105 is not motorway speed. These are the official figures I'm quoting for the Octavia and it's listed as the most efficient. It will do mid to high 60s in combined mileage. I had a 3 litre Audi that would do 55mpg on cross country. Did it easily on a Dublin to Malin Head trip. Wouldn't get it on motorways at motorway speeds though.

Yes, Hubauer in Germany or sometimes you can get good deals on eBay Germany too.

ok, I was curious myself so this is a picture taken just now showing 53.2 mpg over 31500 kms mixed driving, real world.

my point remains that this Is still good not great and can be beaten by most newer diesels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,668 ✭✭✭maidhc

The problem is bmws poxy implementation of the technology. Hybrids are fine. Loads of Camry and Prius hybrids are doing 1/2 a million km with no massive drama.

You keep forgetting that the conversation you jumped into was about motorway mileage ONLY.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Whocare

Just back in cork from Dublin 2013 vw cc going 80mph and doing nearly 56 mpg on car with over 200.000miles on clock not bad

that’s great. You don’t have to constantly justify your diesel purchase to the internet.

It’s fuel choice. It works for you.