Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA Discussion Thread #2

• Registered Users Posts: 8,139 ✭✭✭threeball

I definitely wouldn't be chancing Walsh unless we had to. Introducing him in the 2nd half to bring pace would have been enough. If past form is anything to go by we'll be keeping it tight for the first 35 anyway. No point burning him out tracking back. I'd have Sweeney in there the first 40 to 45mins then bring in Walsh once things get a bit looser.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

Joyce is putting out the best team he has allowing jim mcg to mastermind a strategy to beat us. We then have to scramble to make changes at the 11th hour of the game. Better to put a dark horse out there and adapt as the game goes on

• Registered Users Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭bcklschaps

Who knows, there might be a few last minute changes to the announced starting line ups. A bit of bluff and double bluff. This could be a very interesting game tactics wise.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭SqueakyKneecap

Best of luck to the players and management today. Going up in hope more than expectation as it's a Donegal outfit much improved from that defeat to Cork. Hopefully we bring a big crowd from Galway for a change.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,782 ✭✭✭spurshero

let’s make no bones about it . If this team is to win an all Ireland now is the time . 3 of our best are all in there 30 s and there is a big chance it’s Conroy’s last season . This is a Donegal team just starting a journey under McGuinness although they will think they have great chance of Sam now as well . But I’m the opposite of you I think the expectation is all on us today . We were close 2 years ago …. Close again this year is no good . Hopefully we can do it today cause I genuinely think we are a better team than Armagh .hon galway !

• Registered Users Posts: 4,820 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

The best of luck to the lads today.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭littlevillage

Great point.

Galway are in the sweet spot now. They have lost a recent All Ireland (you gotta lose one to win one box ticked), the age profile is just right, a good bit of experience in the team, but still have the legs for the modern game. Dublin & Kerry both out of the championship.... Only northern teams left, whom Galway have a fantastic record against. John O'Mahony factor.

This looks like Galways year. Fingers crossed 🤞

Only proviso is that a few Galway players may not be fully recovered from recent injuries and in the white heat of Croke Park, they might be found out.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭testtech05

Jist got sent a picture 20 mins (2:15) ago of the Galway team bus being escorted in the N4 at junction 14 I think it was.

I would have assumed they would have planned to be in Croker earlier than that

why ? They travelled up last night so surely they would have arrived at time that suits them best .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭testtech05

Must have been all part of the plan so. Fingers crossed we can up it a bit in the 2nd half we will need to

• Registered Users Posts: 14,463 ✭✭✭✭cson

The game is there to be won for either team and it feels like both are scared to take it.

Another gritty performance.

Definitely fancy them against Armagh, we know we have the beating of them the past couple of years if we keep the concentration.

Another thing - PJ gets a fair amount of stick in here and elsewhere (at times not unwarranted!), but jaysus he gets results. That's 3 Nestor Cups & 2 AI Finals in 3 years along with beating Dublin in the Championship for the first time in 40ish odd years.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,820 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

up the tribes.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭elefant

I've been giving out stink about kickouts for a long time, but that was superb stuff.

Almost flawless performance from Dylan McHugh.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,721 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

In fairness Gleeson had a great game too Imv, just one hairy moment there near the end

I couldn't for the life of me see this happening after watching Paul Conroy having the jersey literally ripped off him in Fitzgerald Park back in March when Kerry we're giving us the run around. Some growth in the team & honestly, I've said it before, but the injuries are a blessing because we got real Championship minutes for lads on the panel, some of whom have taken the jersey for themselves. Being able to bring on the likes of John Daly, an All Star in 2022, to close it out just underlines that & was probably the difference between the teams in the end.

• Registered Users Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Stewball

Fair play to Gleeson, nailed the kickouts and caught two high balls under his crossbar in the second half which were awkward.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

John Maher has some engine.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭O.A.P

They are a tough team to beat now good at closing out games. Talent from 1 to 15 and lots more of it on the bench.

Today was a hard game to watch but we can only play what's in the way, so I'm thinking Galway certainly have it in this team to bring an all ireland west again. Gailimh Abu.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,721 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

A diesel rather than a fancy petrol one, she'll keep goin forever an take any amount of abuse 😉

• Registered Users Posts: 990 ✭✭✭mjp

The man has been in the running for man of the match in all our big games this year.gets on an amount of ball and has seriously soft hands to lay off balls for big lad. Mc Hugh and silke worked some great interchanges there in last 20 mins.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭MfMan

x 1000. Absolutely emptied himself again today. Close to McHugh for MOTM I thought. A huge bonus to the side in this vein.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,748 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Wondering now who will be favourites for Sam? Do Galway people consider Galway favourites?

Certainly will be needle in the match v Armagh which will be great for neutrals.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

well the bookies have galway favs . And there usually right . So fingers crossed . I think we would be favs with a more healthier squad . But question marks over comer Walsh and Kelly makes it a very hard call . But being honest I will be disappointed if we don’t win from here . But sure will all of Armagh !

• Registered Users Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭littlevillage

Congrats Galway. The defense and Conor Gleeson in particular deserves special praise. Some posters on here (you know who you are) wouldn't have him anywhere near the panel,

Hope they go on to win AI now

• Registered Users Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭cosatron

gritty win. overall very good team performance, teirney and mcdaid did a great job on Mogan and McHugh, really sacrificed there own game for the good of the team and came up with a kick out each. Kudos to the coaching team, the movement and kickout placement has improved so much this year and is turning into a real asset now. Finally John F**KING Maher, his the most improved footballer in ireland, when he came on the scene, he was very raw but christ can he ball now and he has some engine. Big test against Armagh but there is a big game in comer and walsh yet so here's hoping its 2 weeks time. galway abu.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,522 ✭✭✭LowOdour

Having watched Armagh against Kerry, I would be concerned about how fast theycan move the ball forward at times. Donegal picked off some good scores at times, and Armagh could do that and more.

Id personally prefer to see Sean Kelly at fullback for the final (assuming fit) and keep remainder of team as is. Think he organises really well from there

• Registered Users Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭SqueakyKneecap

I don't think Kelly is fit enough to feature in a final unfortunately. We're already taking fairly big risks playing Walsh and Comer. One positive is that Finnerty seemed to be moving fairly freely yesterday so I think although he apparently needs surgery after the intercounty he should be good to go for Sunday week.

Was very happy to see the impact off the bench yesterday. Not as noticeable as the Dublin win but the likes of Daly and Heaney really helped settle things when the game could've gone away from us. I think Tomo would've come in earlier but he pulled up in the warm-up.

Was fantastic to see the support we had yesterday. The traffic on the way back was All-Ireland final-level heavy. Tickets will be like gold dust but fingers crossed we get another serious turnout in maroon.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,139 ✭✭✭threeball

Kelly is nowhere near fit. Couldn't even make it through the warmup yesterday. No way could you chance throwing him in a fullback in a final. Park the man up and let him recover. Besides Fitz has done nothing to warrant him losing his spot. Hes been a solid performer all year.

Good win in a game that looked worrying at halftime. I still think starting Walsh was a mistake and I think the same for the final. Armagh would target him physically like they did in the 1/4 final 2years ago. Better to bring him in and use his energy when its needed rather than burn it out tracking lads for 35mins. Its pretty obvious at this stage that the game plan is to keep the game tight for the first half then up the ante in the 2nd. Using Sweeney and Flaherty to do that work for 40mins is the best option then spring Walsh. Lifts the crowd and he's coming in on guys with 4 or 5km of running in their legs.