Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline: Thread with no name, Host with no shame

• Registered Users Posts: 7,328 ✭✭✭CH3OH

getting confused now

• Registered Users Posts: 13,119 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

Poor downtrodden child; has to get by with only one trust fund and a free house.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,294 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Inheritance tax is a scam. "Legalized" theft by the State.

• Registered Users Posts: 55,598 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Have to laugh how some describe inheritance tax as only a tax that affects the rich. Utter bollix

• Registered Users Posts: 39,504 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Joe forgetting about mortgage relief which applied to a lot of houses before it was reduced then abolished.

Just the Govt getting some of its money back on the merry-go-round.

Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Registered Users Posts: 7,369 ✭✭✭Tow

One of me chilislers just contacted me to exclam they did not know they would have to pay tax when they inherit me gaff!

When is the money (including lost growth) Michael Noonan took in the Pension Levy going to be paid back?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭tohaltuwi

so as I wouldn’t suddenly be turfed out of Dublin 6 family home when my mother died, she literally sold it whilst still in her relative health, gifted me the proceeds, I paid the tax on the amount over €500K, bought an apartment for me & herself to live in. Saved me a huge amount of potential grief.

• Registered Users Posts: 344 ✭✭Shan Doras

The dead woman should have withdrawn all her money from the Bank in cash and given all the cash to her daughter just before she died

• Registered Users Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭mountain

Duffy is wound up about this,

Clearly has skin in the game,

Another personal

Topic?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,532 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

that's the spirit, take the money off people who worked for it to give to the likes of the coolock patriots and the yokes they are protesting against. I'd sooner burn the house down

• Registered Users Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭zell12

• Registered Users Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭bcklschaps

But, but, but Joe, if nobody does be paying the taxes.... how does the country run itself? Do we forget about the idea of nationhood altogether and set up feudal collectives like in the olde days?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,272 ✭✭✭archfi

Was that the sound of Joes quill on his copybook there?

The issue is never the issue; the issue is always the revolution.

The Entryism process: 1) Demand access; 2) Demand accommodation; 3) Demand a seat at the table; 4) Demand to run the table; 5) Demand to run the institution; 6) Run the institution to produce more activists and policy until they run it into the ground.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,532 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

'they are getting money they did not earn'

did anyone explain the large groups in the welfare state here.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,119 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 7,328 ✭✭✭CH3OH

ring them back and say you are not leaving it to them….too much trouble!

unfortunately not,

It’s a type of perverse pleasure

Sooner rather than later, with me blood pressure from listening to Joe.

When is the money (including lost growth) Michael Noonan took in the Pension Levy going to be paid back?

living in sin for forty five years

• Registered Users Posts: 15,318 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Should have got married love……only takes a few quid..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭tohaltuwi

only for my parents’ hard work I could almost be in a tent now. For decades my health had been bad and I literally would not have earned enough to buy a gaff.

• Registered Users Posts: 344 ✭✭Shan Doras

This reminds of "We already pay for water" "My car tax pays for water "

• Registered Users Posts: 4,504 ✭✭✭cozar

209. Is he not capable of saying two thousand and nine.??

• Registered Users Posts: 5,272 ✭✭✭archfi

Well now there’s someone who fckd up royally!

The issue is never the issue; the issue is always the revolution.

The Entryism process: 1) Demand access; 2) Demand accommodation; 3) Demand a seat at the table; 4) Demand to run the table; 5) Demand to run the institution; 6) Run the institution to produce more activists and policy until they run it into the ground.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,504 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

A pre-death gift like that is taxable, too. A sliding scale, in that if you gift a huge amount to a relative or friend who would have benefitted from your death (in your will) they will pay less tax the more time elapsed before death. ie, six or seven years before nothing is due; but one year before, the full amount is due.

Not certain of the exact % and amounts, but it's there nonetheless. The bastards have it sewn up.

Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

Surely revenue recognise “de facto” marriages?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

I was not expecting a "…ya know wha I meen…" from this caller.

"...no Joe, you rang me !..." A.Caller.

Your wan is wrong, there is relief if you have lived in the home for the previous 6/8? years.

a telepole??

• Registered Users Posts: 15,318 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Aye…..she just assumed it goes to her gratis.

Could have just got dat marriage done on his deathbed.