Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Coolock Incident

• Registered Users Posts: 453 ✭✭BagofWeed

What peaceful protests are they ? I don't think riots, attacking tents and burning out potential asylum centres are peaceful actions. You think the very same government that has created all these issues in the first place will engage with locals to circumvent the outcomes we have been seeing recently ? This government has completely abdicated it's role in relation to what people want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,607 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

No one I think is denying giving help to anyone coming from active war zones, genuine IPAs, which with the high numbers coming here by chancers are getting over looked and grouped all together as her government are failing to orchestrate any proper order and control for those incoming and then being added to areas without engagement

I agree protesting outside The Dail and TDs offices is needed, peaceful protests of course if there is such a thing now, the government are not even open to the possibility of trying actual sit down face to face engagement it seems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,450 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Protests have been on a downward trajectory in Ireland since the Jobstown water protest, we accepted the wishes of radicals back then and radicals of all hues have been plumbing new depths ever since.

I don't see any of this resulting in rational peaceful protests or frank exchanges of opinion, it only gets worse from here and the continued lack of actual engagement from the government will only make things worse.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,450 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

There are protests at a lot of these centres that haven't resulted in riots. Not that you'd hear much about them because they're not news worthy.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,287 ✭✭✭✭Sadb

We have had these centres up and running for over 20 years, why now are people against them?

What would community engagement do exactly? They would still be at a standstill so I really don’t see the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,587 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

And above I give you one of the main reasons for what we are seeing today.

• Registered Users Posts: 453 ✭✭BagofWeed

Fire in Limerick now, Railway Inn, cowardly stuff. The real criminals sleep soundly while idiots target what in effect are a powerless and vulnerable population. The migrants didn't lock out hundreds of thousands of people from our housing market or create or run our planning bodies or even run our migration policies.

https://www.facebook.com/search/posts?q=railway%20hotel%20limerick&filters=eyJyZWNlbnRfcG9zdHM6MCI6IntcIm5hbWVcIjpcInJlY2VudF9wb3N0c1wiLFwiYXJnc1wiOlwiXCJ9In0%3D

I think because it is too many IPAs are coming in, many are males, some with no English or little English, coming from safe countries, coming through different countries to get here, coming with no documents, crimes committed in other countries, asylum sought in other countries, the list could go on with reasons but it comes down to too many and who are actual genuine real IPAs

Engagement will be taking place in terms of purchasing buildings with the Department of Public Expenditure

https://www.rte.ie/news/2024/0717/1460394-coolock-protest/

I probably sound like a broken record by now but I think rising migrant crime is scaring people also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,559 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

The criminal are the people setting fire to building

Posting a load of nonsense doesn’t change that….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,043 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Social media being around nowadays?

Fake news?

Disinformation?

Overall reduction in the IQ of Ireland

In terms of misinformation, just look at the government thread on here, people will just make up stuff, like in their head that a TD has done or said. Then defend it, for days and report people to mods just based on a lie

Boards Is actually way better than most

On the other platforms people just believe the bullshit or, sorry, just too stupid to realise what is lies and what isn’t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,994 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

The un peaceful protesters are enabled by goverment policy on law and order in the country.

They have probably been in and out of court without seeing a jail cell, due to lack of prison space.

No matter where they go this is going to happen unfortunately.

What i don't understand is the people who are telling us how great all this is don't seem to be benefiting from them being placed in their neighbourhoods.

Surely putting them with the people who want them would be the best thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,341 ✭✭✭suvigirl

What rising migrant crime? You must have some statistics to a rise in crime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Shan Doras

That's what I thought when this all kicked off with oughterard a couple of years ago, because there has been a direct provision hotel a 30 minute drive up the road in Salthill without issue for decades

We need to give back the power to the Gardai, we have been stripping it for years with the "do gooders" in Ireland who waffle on about "a lovely fellow" who is a drug dealing scumbag etc

As i posted already, the "protestors" going from one part of Ireland to another, all paid by social welfare of course. Are starting all the issues and then stand back

Give the Gardai the power to stop them

Stop giving these clowns social welfare

End of story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭prunudo

The irony is, that now the do gooders are helping the asylum seekers and calling the very people they used to help and feel sorry for, far right and looking down their noses at them.

And its not a gardai issue either, they have plenty of power, its a courts and prison issue.

Nope. No one is calling everybody 'far right'

People look down their noses at lawlessness, thuggery and criminal behavior.

What we need is to build a new prison so we have space to put criminals.

The goverment have failed to do that so people like these are free to roam and cause trouble without fear of any consequences.

They don't fear the guards because they know they will likely get away with it.

It is all down to goverment mismanagement of law and order which we are now seeing play out in lawlessness all over the country.

It's a combination of terrible law and order, housing, and immigration policies of doing nothing and hoping for the best is what's playing out.

It is only going to get worse and all they will do is probably send Helen down to walk the street to tell us the streets are safe.

The worst governent I have seen but the opposition is actually worse which is an achievement in itself.

The country is going down the toilet at a rapid rate and unfortunately we have nobody willing to fix problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,187 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

It's the numbers vs population,, for example crooksling pop a few hundred now has large groups walking the roads day and night it looks wrong and it's dangerous, take a drive out and look

The country is not going down the toilet

That's just nonsense.

Just because a couple of scumbags are roaming the country cause issues over immigration doesn't mean Ireland is going down the toilet

Crime on the rise because we don't have enough prison space to put away scumbags who shouldn't be walking the street.

Guards numbers dwindling.

The goverment let's increase the population, not increase prison capacity and focus guards towards policing what people say online.

It is going to get much much worse while the goverment do nothing and shout far right.

Go out and work 50 hours a week and you can't get a dental or doctors appointment for a few weeks.

Again they are doing nothing to improve vital services needed for population increase.

All they are doing is throwing money at problems, tax payers money and the money from multinationals.

Our young tax payers are leaving and multinationals could pull out at any time.

If that happens the country will be ruined and the goverment will be scratching their heads wondering what went wrong.

A shambles of a goverment and the worst in living memory, all they do is throw money at problems and hope for the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,587 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Thornton hall was meant to be our next prison.

Now it’s for 1000 young males seeking international protection something something…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,275 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Well what needs to be done there is what I alluded to earlier. Shift more resources out there.

If Coolock etc. won't take the IPAs then transfer a few of their Gardai and squad cars out to Crooksling to make sure it is as safe as possible out there for those locals. Same as regards funding for amenities. They'll be needed more in Crooksling and should be given higher priority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭TokTik

So screw the Irish and just give all our resources to the illegals coming into the country?? You should run in the next GE with that mandate. See how you get on.

No. The resources are for the locals who are having to put up with them. If there was a heap of them landed in beside you, would you campaign against extra Gardai resources being allocated to patrols in the area because you begrudged the IPAs getting extra resources?

Same for amenities. The local amenities should not be flooded and overwhelmed. So pump more money into them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,824 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

The government made a massive mistake here if you ask me,

They know the area suffer from some of the worst social problems in Dublin, How in the world did they think this was not going to cause further issues, the community, the Garda would have been put under massive strain & there would have been an huge increase in the already high number of anti social behaviour

Now if they don't go ahead with it other are;s see how to stop them & if they do go ahead the people going in won't be safe

Massive failure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭TokTik

Why would the taxpayer be paying for damage to a private building??

Might depend on the contract between the State and the owner of the building.

Its too rural, right now it needs 4 miles of walkways, streetlights and a shuttle bus and that won't happen

I'm sure that there are walkways and streetlights and shuttle buses in Coolock. Funding is easily transferred. You can't transfer the physical walkways but you can transfer part of the budget for their maintenance.

Who are the top brass TDs for the Coolock area? Are residents taking their issues first to them but clearly ROG or his department are not engaging with communities, with residents etc.,

It's a shame and a disgrace that the current government in power just don't care about the people

What would you suggest? Dig a big pit, shoot them and cover them with a bulldozer? They have to be dealt with through the processes that are in place. Those processes need to be speeded up - but there will be a limit to that.

Coolock will match anything the government throw at it therefore a retreat should happen but that will empower every ignored suburb in the country to fight back, it's real **** up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭prunudo

Its only going to get worse, the country is socially broken, D. Harris inflames situations with ruc style heavy handed policing, S. Harris inflames situations with his condescending manner and monologues.

It is no mistake by the goverment, they know what they are doing.

They are putting them into places with social problems knowing their will be trouble, they can then try focus on the trouble instead of what they are doing.

They won't put them into posher places because they are not wanted and they don't want to upset friends.

It's a head scratcher where the people who tell us about how great it is want nothing to do with it.

Their is going to be wars between immigrants and locals in areas with social problems and this is obvious.

They don't give a shite about the locals or the immigrants.

They are keeping the EU happy and their friends happy while they are not enriched like the poorer areas of society.

Eventually though they will run out of under privileged areas and they will need to upset some friends, that's when something will change.

and? This has always been the way. Amongst the genuine ipas you will always have some economic migrants, but that doesn’t mean they are criminals. Most are just normal people that want to better their lives and because they are born in certain countries could never get a visa to work and live somewhere in the western world.

What people seem to forget also is that the people are not in these centres for life. People either move on to another country, go home or become members of our communities, working, paying tax, raising families. Many end up contributing more to Irish society than many of those “patriots” protesting.

I would love to see your stats for rising migrant crime.

I 100% agree, but try building a prison in Ireland and what location will you put it in? as soon as you try to build it expect the same crowd to show up burning out construction vehicles etc

Gradai numbers are dwindling because the public treat them like sh*t and just look at the abuse the Gardai are getting in Coolock.

All from little scumbags with masks on etc and the Gardai are left standing with their pictures pushed around the web for some other asshat to come after them when they try to get home.

Why would they take that sh*t when they can walk out the door and get a job somewhere else?

While the little scumb*g giving them abuse will never get a job in his/her life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,999 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Are you talking about undocumented illegals or those who came here via legitimate means?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,976 ✭✭✭enricoh

Does anyone think leo n Simon coveney give two f@#ks about the people in Newtown mountkennedy, coolock etc as they brush up the cv's for a gig in Europe?

6 out of 21000 asylum seekers went to d4 last year, it's a case of do as I say not as I do from the elites. N better again if they are offloaded in sinn feins heartland!

The claims of the government getting jobs in Europe are long and winding, how many jobs do you think are in Europe for Irish politicians?

How many over the last 20 years have actually got a job in Europe without been voted in?

These are your stats to show increased migrant crime?

You are aware they got Thornton Hall to build a prison, but in no way surprising they done like they do with everything.

Why exactly do you think people would show up protesting at Thorton Hall for a prison being built?

Garda numbers are dwindling because goverment policy allows people treat them like ****.

Let's say a person has 80 convictions, a guard has arrested that person multiple times just to see them left out with no punishment.

Now that is happening all over the country.

That person has no respect for guards and knows they will get away with whatever they do, why would a guard put up with that ****.

Then in other circumstances they get punished for doing their job.

The reason guards are leaving and the reason law and order is breaking down is because of years of mismanagement by the government.

They are a shambles and things are just going to get worse, who would want to be a guard dealing with scumbags who have no respect for them.

These scumbags are enabled by goverment policy to do what they like without fear of punishment, that is on the government.

Will they actually build a new prison or do anything I doubt it.

We will get soundbites about the danger of the far right and needing to stop hate speech instead while the country becomes worse.

People complain that the immigrants aren't being housed in wealthier areas.

Also, people complain that it's unfair when immigrants are given (obviously relatively expensive) accommodation in wealthier areas instead of it going to Irish people.

Usually the same people complaining for both.

You seem to have an even more peculiar view, vigilantism and criminal damage appear to be fine in your world!

• Registered Users Posts: 735 ✭✭✭foxsake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,999 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Don't think the majority of people have any problems with those who come here to work via legitimate means.