Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tour de France 2024 - this time it’s personal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭at1withmyself

He lost by 21 secs in the end, great ride considering they pulled the break all day. A bit of a kicker not giving him the combative prize though 😞

I must watch TG4 more often. I much prefer the live pics and replays then listening to the breakaway. Some great replays of riders crossing the line including Soler pushing Sivakov to get ahead of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,522 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Especially when we saw Carapaz pull at the front for a grand total of approximately 8 seconds before he dropped back and waited to get the double points on the Bonette.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,341 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Are there KOM points for the final time trial stage or will it all be settled tomorrow?

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

2nd cat but if Carapaz can get in the break tomorrow then he can seal the deal tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,341 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Thanks, am hoping Carapaz can do it, prefer not to see Pog claim all the prizes.

UAE are ahead in the Teams classification also I see.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

He can't win the white jersey any more....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭sxt

The most dominant and destructive performance in tdf history. Podge could have won all jerseys available If he wanted to

I still have JV in the TT last year for that award

• Registered Users Posts: 665 ✭✭✭Morris Garren

That sounds exactly what Jerry The King Lawler would say to Gorrilla Monsoon on the WWF Wrestling commentary back in the day! Amazing 👏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Doc07

haha, yes when Pog attacks they could say ‘the most electrifying move in sports entertainment!!!’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,738 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Just seen the last 10k, couldn't watch it today. Pog is better than ever. If he can keep this up for another five years he might break Cavendish's record for stage wins, he has 15 already.

He's the best I've ever seen and by a long way.

I hope he does the triple crown and I'd love if he did the Vuelta as well to become the first ever to win the three grand tours.

Has already said that there's almost no chance of him doing the Vuelta.

Obviously everything he's done this year is in his legs and he'll have to pay the price at some point but considering how good he looks, if he was to try it, I think he'd be the favourite and likely winner by a distance. Not sure there'll ever be as good a chance for anyone do do it. Both the Giro and Tour have been, relatively speaking, leisurely spins for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,713 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

I'de love if he did because I am going to the final TT in Madrid this year so seeing a bit of history would be a great finale to the holiday.

• Registered Users Posts: 545 ✭✭✭lissard

Giro, Tour, LBL and Strade Bianche in one season is already the best season anyone has had in at least 40 years, probably longer. I'd imagine he'll take a good long rest and then target the Worlds and Lombardy. 2 GTs and 2 Monuments in a season is definitely possible. Beats the hell out of the GT specialists of the recent past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,738 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

He's in the Olympics, that's the 3rd of August, so 12 days rest.

**** Americans. Tejay van Garderen on NBC suggesting that TP today is the equivalent of a basketball team being up 10 points and shooting a 3 with the last shot of the game. Basically that he should have let Jorgenson have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,713 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

I do think the GC guys could give the break more room. It's an important part of the ecosystem of the sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭ottolwinner

sponsors want blood sweat and tears though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

He's 25. He could have another 7-8 years fighting it out at the very top of the ladder. 1 more stage and he's equal with Anquetil. 3 stages per year and he'll overtake Sir Cav.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Sigma101

Not sure I'd agree with this. I don't think any rider should hold back if they feel they could win. You would have to ask why anyone in professional sport would let a competitor from an opposing team win. It certainly wouldn't be for the good of the ecosystem. It's a slippery slope.

Imagine you were one of of his teammates breaking your back for him day in, day out and then when, with three days to go, you're asked to put in your biggest shift yet he decides to just "let" somebody else have it. You'd rightly be fuming.

• Registered Users Posts: 30 OnTheCorner

I can’t believe what I’m reading here lads. Have we learned nothing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,968 ✭✭✭griffin100

The days of gifting non team mates stages to build a store of favours are gone I think (as is the practice of buying stages / races / assistance from other riders).

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,222 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,089 ✭✭✭G1032

it's not that simple though. The sport as a whole needs smaller teams winning stages in the 3 GTs and the TdF especially. Sponsors need that exposure. Couple that with the fact that Pog isn't doing himself or the sport any huge favours with these other worldly performances. Wouldn't do any harm to sit up once in a while, pretend to be tired and let another team win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Raoul Duke

As Jorgenson was Visma, he probably tried harder to catch him. And I wouldn't blame him for it. Visma have chased him down plenty over the past few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,968 ✭✭✭griffin100

Oh I agree. Whilst professionals rightly want to win every race if the same 2-3 lads are winning almost everything you can argue it’s not good for the sport.

Will we see a rider like Hugh Carty, Jai Hindley or TGH win a GT over the next 5 years or a rider from outside the big 3-4 teams? Unlikely probably (hopefully I’m wrong).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,186 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

It's mad up at the top of the Bonnette. It looks like a lunar landscape, nothing grows. I went up there but my cycle had a very substantial motor. You could feel how thin the air was just standing there breathing in and out. Any sort of athletic effort in such circumstances seemed beyond belief…

© 1982 Sinclair Research Ltd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,303 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

TGH’s was a complete fluke of Covid. And removing the top 3/4 teams for every year would likely take out 99% of previous winners too.

All it takes is for the big boys to miss the Giro and we’re back to weird winners there. Plenty thought Pog was insane for entering it this year. He probably won’t do it next year and then it’s wide open again