Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Rest is Politics

• 22-07-2024 8:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭

I started listening to this podcast in the last year. Unlike the Irish ones, they react quickly to moving stories. Last night, they had a panel discussion re Biden’s Presidential withdrawal. Are there any other political podcasts you’d recommend? I’m not mad about the Irish ones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,947 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

The Irish ones are fairly dry.

The Irish times and Matt Cooper with Ivan Yates are best of a bad bunch - although that second one depends on your tolerance for Ivan Yates sh1te talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,873 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I do listen to The Ivan Yates/Matt Cooper one. It's not too bad, but it really does depend on your tolerance for Yates. He can be very obnoxious and the more I listen the more I find he shows his ignorance. I don't mind him in small does, but he's an awful chancer really.

Mick Clifford also has a podcast, but I haven't listened to more than a few. Though he's a good journalist.

The Irish Times ones can be okay. A bit cosy in their thinking I find at times.

Though I think the issue is that Ireland is such a small country and the media pool is pretty tiny as a result.

So whatever they cover has usually been covered to death on the TV and radio, or in the "papers" and you'll hear the same voices again and again talking about the same things, in the same way, with the same people.

And you don't know how much of what you are listening to is just shyte as well: spin provided by political "sources" and regurgitated by the "in the know" journos. It's a bit crazy if you look at all the news journalists in recent years who've jumped ship to become media advisors to those in politics.

It can be hard to find fresh and perceptive voices.

Used to listen to David McWilliams. Just got bored with his style and especially the shtick with the sidekick.

The rest is politics is good enough.

On The Media from NPR is a very good show IMO - US focused.

I used to listen to loads of political pods from the US - but lately I just find it all so depressing that I largely can't bring myself to do it. Slate's political gabfest I might listen to once in a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Bellbottoms

Yates was great when he started on Newstalk. He had a lot of insider knowlege and was fairly level headed. Now he is some sort of cross between George Hook and Piers Morgan with a very dull Irish twist and has become pretty much insufferable.

The Moncreiff show has a weekly segment on lesser reported world news. That is certainly worth a listen.

But as for home grown Irish politics there is a very clear gap in the market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,439 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

…similar to above, but irish podcasts are slow enough to react….

https://podtail.com/podcast/irish-times-inside-politics/

https://podtail.com/podcast/in-the-news/

https://podtail.com/podcast/the-explainer/

https://player.fm/series/your-politics

https://podtail.com/podcast/the-david-mcwilliams-podcast/

ul economist stephen kinsella - ann and steve talk stuff(kinna political) - sporadically broadcast

https://podtail.com/da/podcast/limerick-post-podcast/

not great tbh - lefty alerty!

https://podtail.com/podcast/echo-chamber-podcast-episode-5/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,040 ✭✭✭SteM

Not just politics, but I have The News Agents on my playlist too. That along with TRIP and The Rest is Politics US (although Scaramucci's accent gets on my nerves after a while).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,947 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Similarly, dislike the gimmick style McWilliams has with the sidekick - the way yer man pretends to be an idiot “surely that can’t be right Mac?”, teeing up replies from McWilliams. It gets tedious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,290 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,040 ✭✭✭SteM

Yeah, it's just his pronunciation of 't's as 'd's which just bugs me tbh.

Yeah, I was sceptical about him initially, but I find him to be quite interesting to listen to.

He seems to be very straight up and calls a spade a spade, or, at least that's the persona that he's currently sticking with!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,290 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Never noticed it, but I probably will now, ya fecker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭Hold My Hand

Tried The News Agents. Thanks for the recommendation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Not able for Alistair Campbell, although Rory Stewart comes across as very likeable.

Ivan and Matt doing a live show!

Is their any demand for this? I doubt it.

The show is pretty much Cooper talking about what ever is currently happening, dropping the name of his book. The Ivan just monting off and talking about all the people he met lately at the private events he likes to MC.

It is not a great show.

They are trying to repeat The Rest is Politics formula. But it isn't working. Yeats is to bombastic and out of the loop.

The show might have worked better if they had gotten his old co presenter Chris Donoghue on board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Shan Doras

Yeah the Irish times podcast seems to be very slack putting out new content

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 lf153

You are totally right. It's such a rip off its ridiculous and tried listening but was so boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭Hodors Appletart

It doesn't work because they aren't from different parts of the political spectrum, Cooper is a presenter and Yates is a blowhard Fine Gaeler

TRIP works because Campbell and Stewart are natural LAB and CON voices, bouncing off each other, and crucially, being respectful in their discourse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,594 ✭✭✭jaykay74

The Mooch seems to mention crypto more than is necessary.

I have noticed that as well. But that is sort of part and parcel with anyone holding crypto. The only way for the value to go up is for more people to become intrested in it and buy tokens.

I wonder how long long before he starts naming tokens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Apothic_Red

I enjoy Cooper & Yates, it was far better than The Group Chat anyway.

The Rest is Politics is quality & Scaramoch/Kay really add to it when on.

All my other podcasts are just repeats of Pat Kenny/Brendan O'Connor/Claire Byrne etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Apothic_Red

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭nice bit of green

listened to a lot of the rest is politics in the 1st half of this year. 2 well tuned in, knowledgeable and interesting people but nothing ever gets resolved. It’s just very reactive. Perhaps I am expecting too much but it’s just a talking shop and perhaps reflective of a lot of politics.

And Rory thinks everything is fascinating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

If it was a thing between 1939 and 1945, the Japanese would be playing it to the POWs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

It's purpose is, to inform. It's up to us, the listeners to use that info as we see fit.

The not following up. Is something that they have acknowleged on the podcast. But as the other poster said. The purpose is to inform.

As much as I like Rory. I do think his failure to recognised how much privilage he has is problamatic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Rory does have blind spots. He's conservative, but sometimes hasn't any reason he can articulate for supporting some of its views. He was born a Tory. Maybe that just demonstrates the weak positions often adopted by conservatives.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

edit

They did an election night special with Alastair, Rory, The Mooch, Marina Hyde - from the Rest is Entertainment - and Dominic Sandbrook.

Dominic was absolutely excellent on it. He's not a Trump supporter, but he was the only one on the panel calling a Trump victory before it became obvious and he was streets ahead of the rest in terms of placing everything in its historical and current context, his perceptiveness and how well he articulated his points. It really showed up the limits of political analysis that's more or less entirely focused on the day to day events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Seattle

Does anyone else feel that they overestimate their own ability to relate to the everyday person?

They speak as if the vast majority of people are reasonable, logical, honest and ethical. This is not the world we live in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭The Guru 123

Must say I love regular TRIP, think the 2 lads are excellent especially Rory. So balanced and well informed.

But as regards TRIP US, is there a greater bluffer anywhere on anything than Scaramucci? Total charlatan. Constantly presenting his opinion and predictions as being the inside scoop and more or less consistently wrong on everything. Obviously anyone can get a prediction wrong no issue there but it’s how he presents it as though his view is the only possible correct one.