Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Parkleigh, Seven Mills, Dublin 22

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

limited supply I guess and lots of good jobs means people can afford to pay a lot in Dublin.

Tough for the average worker though.

Not enough new places for sale either, as they tend to go for rent only.

• Registered Users Posts: 290 ✭✭Honey50000

I dont like Dublin glad I got out of it but this seems mad for some government rental scheme it doesent even have a bedroom

https://www.daft.ie/for-rent/barnoaks-citywest-barnoaks-citywest-dublin-22-citywest-co-dublin/5396400

its a fair price for the area. Its social housing.

Not a brilliant area, but its grand if youre near your job etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 HiTacxPyar

As a potential homeowner and with almost half a million EUR at stake, I did some due diligence today. I walked through the canal on the other side of the development. Just like a normal Dublin City center walk, I encountered 3 young lads on bicycle smoking weed that engulfed the whole canal with distinct aroma, some graffiti here and there. I have check the trash some bits of normal looking needles for recreational use. Then I have to step aside for 2 lads racing their electric motorbike on the small canal cycle lane. On the other hand in Bawnogue, right on the side of the development there's some quad bike and motorcycle racing and practise going on. Hopefully the development have good soundproof windows for this kind of noise. Overall it has a good potential to be like Portobello, if properly managed and develop 5-10 years down the road.

• Registered Users Posts: 290 ✭✭Honey50000

Sounds like a rough area good luck to anyone who bought there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Eire Go Brach

I’m from Clondalkin. Hard to know how it will go area wise. It will be that big. I can’t see Bawnogue and Neilstown effecting it.

The biggest issue for people buying is schools. Specially the early buyers.

Clondalkin already has issues with schools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭suave.4u

there are going to be 10K houses, so it will extend from the present location to where Kilcarberry estaate is now if I am not wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 44 topal

It isn't just new builds. The various councils are buying up or signing extended lease agreements for houses in 'established' areas also.

• Registered Users Posts: 171 ✭✭Col_30

The 400 units I was referring to are in Parkside, Balgriffin. There's an article in the Sunday Business Post about it (linked below)

Similar deals are being done in all large scale developments.

https://www.businesspost.ie/article/housing-body-in-talks-to-block-buy-400-north-dublin-homes-from-cairn/

And the large scale social housing in the development is only going to make it worse.

They are, but they can only buy whats available. So you arent going to get the same proliferation of social housing that you see with new builds.

Yeah its madness.

Avoid new builds like the plague and let your TD know it isnt on to keep giving new homes over to those that cant afford them, to the detriment of those that can.

• Registered Users Posts: 44 topal

This is true.

You can take it further. Apart from the at least 10% Part V requirement, most developers are of the opinion that 2/3 bedroom apartments are essentially unprofitable in most areas to sell directly to people.

A safe assumption is most apartment blocks currently being built will go to either social housing via the council or housing associations like tuath.

Yes. The part 5 is just the start of it.

The councils then hoover up as many homes as they can so that they can reduce their social housing list and then are dumb enough to seek kudos and likes from the working electorate - the very people they have snatched the new houses from!

It goes like this...

State doesnt bother building social houses.

State waits for developer to build private houses. Private buyers are pleased, as there is potential for them to finally own a home.

State outbids private buyers using private buyers money via taxation, then expects thanks from private buyer.

Private buyer is pi**ed off. But as they arent on any form of housing list, State does not care.

Repeat cycle.

Private buyer emigrates.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Fabiolasays

Did anyone book here? How was the viewing and houses?

• Registered Users Posts: 10 classynow

I was there, didn't manage to book, but I was close. Most of the people were high-income earners from South Asia. Fair play to them and their persistence as some of them stayed there the whole night.

In my opinion, the houses are worth the price; they are like any other new builds. The area is still under construction; this is the first phase. Estate agents told us that nearby duplexes are going for cost rental, and the apartments will be BTS, though ground floors will probably end up with social housing.

Since I was close, estate agents reassured us they will use the cancellation list for the upcoming phases. The next one should launch in 6 weeks, and the move-in date should be February. I'm not sure whether I should trust them; is anyone familiar with HMD and their track record?

I can't help but feel a bit disappointed with the local government and city planners. There is an obvious demand; there were around 300-400 high-income earners queuing up with mortgages/deposits ready, and you can only come up with 50 houses... There's abundance of space there, and I'm sure all of those people would consider larger-spacious apartments as well. Other countries would do everything to keep those people!

• Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭ARJn

Overnight queue to buy in D22 🤣🤣

• Registered Users Posts: 171 ✭✭Col_30

" Estate agents told us that nearby duplexes are going for cost rental, and the apartments will be BTS, though ground floors will probably end up with social housing." 🤣

Estate agents will tell you anything to get the booking deposit. Do not believe a word of this rubbish. They have no way of knowing what will happen with any future development.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 abhirup

I went there last week for the viewing. We were invited for the viewing at 10. After looking at the prices of those houses on sale, I was excited and thought to reach there little early. But to my surprise, I saw a big queue in front of me with atleast 150 people ahead. On checking with people around, I heard some of them stayed overnight at the site. After seeing all these, I lost all my hope of owning a house in Dublin. Prices are cheap if compared with other estates around D22 or Lucan/Adamstown with better connectivity with the city. But again, its a new development with absolutely nothing around within 1km. So it is going to be a risky bet. Congratulations those who managed to book one.

https://twitter.com/protechstone/status/1698092832328667174

The queue seems insane , I guess they have HTB eligible houses

That is not a fake video I can confirm that, that was the queue on open viewing date and also people stayed overnight as well

• Registered Users Posts: 2 abhirup

This is not fake. I see myself in the queue. 😊

And will be surrounded by social housing.

An expensive council estate on the fringe of nowhere. But its hard enough to buy anyehere these days, sadly.

Though I dont think those that missed out will be too dissapointed in the long run.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 xdoe

For those who moved in. How’s it going? Are you able to find school places for your young ones?

I got one in the end, the house buying journey is awful.

Now the area wise, I don't wanna jinx it, but it ended up being better than I expected. It's quiet, the residents are nice and respectful enough. We are yet so see people moving into duplexes (cost rental), and apartments that are built so far (social/cost rental).

The houses are well built, obviously bare minimum, but people didn't have any major issues so far. Cairn is a bit slow, but they do address issues eventually.

In short, it's a massive construction site now, we will all see how it's gonna turn out in the end. It's also open now, so you can drive around and check it for yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 256 ✭✭DonnieCorko

Hey! I booked a house in parkleigh recently but I saw Respond Housing announce that they acquired 350 units in Parkleigh. However, Parkleigh only has 6/700 units I believe, so I presume this is across the entire seven mills. Have you any idea? Do you know the split of cost rental vs social?

Do you have one car parking space or two? Ours only has one and I think its a bit of a disaster so wondering how ye handle it? I am contemplating trying to rent a spot off someone in the estate or perhaps an estate down towards clondalkin village and use a scooter to get down. Any thoughts?

I also read about scramblers down by the canals alot. Any trouble in the estate so far that you know of?

How is the sound insulation between bedrooms? Particularly bedroom 2 and 3?

Thanks!

EDIT: I see you replied to my earlier thread around 2 bed vs 3 bed. Apologies I only saw it now.

Cheers!

For respond housing, folks in this thread who said you cannot know who's gonna move in were right. This is what they announced so far, taken from Respond website:

318 homes at Seven Mills, Clonburris, Dublin 24, (170 cost rental homes and 148 social homes) in partnership with South Dublin County Council.

We have one car parking spot, but also only one car, so that suits us.

No issues from the canal scramblers so far. If you have windows open sometimes you can hear them racing through the canal in the middle of the night.

I think this section of the canal, especially in Adamston direction isn't that bad.

Thanks for the reply!

Good to know that its 50/50 split, could be worse. So based on 5500 homes in Seven Mills, 10% are social automatically and it looks like another 3% based on the 148. 13% isn't too high based on some other places like Kilcarbery Grange.

I thought that the stretch by Clonburris would be the worst part as you have Bawnogue on the other side of the canal. Have you tried walking down the canal at all? Find it safe to do so during the day?

Wondering if you know if Cairn are going to sell more to Respond, would you know? Have you spoken to them?

There are 4 types of the properties, houses (3/4 bed), duplexes (2 and 3 bed), apartments (mostly 1 and 2 bed). What I've seen so far is that houses are mostly private buyers, including affordable purchase scheme.

Duplexes are both private buyers or cost rental.

Apartments so far are exclusively cost rental/social. I hope some of the apartments that are built so far will go on sale. Respond took 318 units, but I think there's more built than that. I would have to compare those numbers with planning docs.

There's a lot more left to build and I assume Cairn will sell to anyone interested.

Yes, I walk along the canal all the time, for my standards it's safe. From what I heard the canal is way rougher towards the city, Bluebell, along Luas line etc. Didn't ever go that far so can't confirm.

Thanks again for the reply.

Would you have a link to the planning docs? I saw the clonburris SDZ plans, but not Seven Mills plans.

I do have an email from the estate agents a while back offering 2 bed apts for sale, but I don't these were located within the large blocks of apts, they seem to be by the duplexes.

It looks like the apt blocks themselves will be totally social/cost rental alright, which isn't great but will have to see how it goes.

How is the train station in terms of safety? Any issues so far?

I read a previous comment about someone who went for a walk along the canal said he saw people racing motorbikes, smoking weed (the least of my worries) etc. You haven't seen this or you have but it doesn't worry you?

Have the residents had any contact with Cairn to try prevent large amounts of the apts etc being sold to housing bodies?

For anyone looking at seven mills, I have found out that Respond bought 350 units out of 720 total in Parkleigh, Seven Mills. Think I am going to pull out as it means 25% of the housing will be Respond Social, 25% Cost Rental Respond Social (fine from my understanding) plus min 10% social housing as part of Part V plus 10% affordable housing (also fine).

Pretty sickened tbh as 35% social housing when the houses cost 470K is insane.

This is the truth here.
    Person who is under 25K and over 120K are doing good. If you are in the middle, then you are basically screwed over again and again.

Check planning portal:
    https://planning.agileapplications.ie/southdublin/search-applications/

Yes seems that apt blocks in the first phase will be social/cost rental. I am guessing the ones next to the main road will be social.

The train station sometimes feels abandoned, I've never experienced anti-social behaviour, but I can imagine there would be kids at odd times that are up to no good. I feel this will get resolved soon as it will become busier. During peak times it's perfectly safe and busy enough.

There are kids/youth along the canal, but also there are people on bikes, joggers, dog walkers, families etc. I've never seen them racing, or smoking weed, but I did hear them from time to time.

There's a lot of construction going on; you cannot base the total numbers just on the first phase. My guess is that the first phases will likely end up being cost rental/social housing, probably because nobody wants to buy or pay full rent in a place without any amenities.

If you ask me, as I've commented earlier in the thread, I would put everything on sale. However, for whatever reason, the apartments they are building now would cost €500-600k, and apparently, the developers don't want to risk not being able to sell them.

I've checked the planning documents for you; here are the numbers:

1st phase - 565 units - Almost fully built
    171 houses (mostly private owners, most 3bedroom) - almost everyone moved in
    148 duplexes (private owners/cost rental? - 2bed/3bed) - about to move in
    246 apartments (cost rental/social - 1bed/2bed, a few 3 bed) - moving in later this year?

Now, respond got 318 homes - 170 cost rental homes and 148 social homes. I'm pretty sure all of the social is in apartments and cost rental is spread between apts and duplexes.

2nd phase - 157 units - Almost fully built
    81 houses (almost all private owners, mostly 3bedroom) - about to move in
    76 apartments (1bed/2bed) - ?

3rd phase - 594 units - Under construction (this is next to the train station)
    594 apartments (mostly 1bed/2bed)
    retail spaces
    office building

4th phase - 565 units - Coming after 3rd phase is complete
    230 houses (mostly 3 bedroom)
    216 duplexes (2bed/3bed)
    119 apartments

with more phases coming down the line…

Post edited by classynow on

The sad truth is that 470k for a house in Dublin isnt expensive. So the housing body are getting a relativley good deal there.

Do we know if respond own the homes or are just renting them?

Very true. The people in the middle income brackets that can avail of cost rental and affordable housing should really be prioritised in these developments.

Majority cost rental/affordable, with a lesser amount to social housing.

I was surprised to see that for Respond's cost rental income brackets are not that strict:

- Your net household income is below €66,000 per annum in Dublin and €59,000 elsewhere per annum.

Which means a couple or single on 100k should still qualify in Dublin.

Yes, the main issue is that these are some of the first cost rental schemes, and all of them get a few thousand applicants.

Applications tend to be open for a week or two only, and I think you get selected by a lottery system.

Yep, but thats why these kind of properties should be prioritised. So people working on middle incomes can actually afford to rent or buy somewhere.

There must be a lot of middle income people who feel they would be better off in terms of housing availability if they quit their job or at least took a pay cut/demotion.

Thanks for the reply again!

I believe the one we booked is in phase 2. I feel more concerned now that I have realised how many apts are going in phase 3 and also partially in phase 4.

I would presume that the apts in phase 3 and 4 will also be social as well :-(

How can I find the relevant info on that planning portal. Seems to be just a tonne of documents attached to each planning permission. Which one is the relevant file to view?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭xyz13

"a tonne of documents" ☠️

Post edited by xyz13 on

Bien faire et laisser dire...

I don't think apartments in phases 3 or 4 will be as numerous. The reason why I think so is because, when those get finished, there will be amenities around, hopefully even DART SW+ planning permission. It's going to be much easier to sell apartments that are adjacent to the DART station. I might be completely wrong about it, and they could end up being like Ballymun towers.

I don't think you will find in planning permissions how much will be allocated to social housing.