Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time for a zero refugee policy? - *Read OP for mod warnings and threadbans - updated 11/5/24*

• Registered Users Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

I see.

I learned how to make and throw Molotov cocktails back in the 1980s. We saw them all doing it on the TV in Northern Ireland so felt we needed to grow that skillset just in case. Might be useful yet.

I throw eggs too.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users Posts: 210 ✭✭engineerws

Most things are stated without evidence. For example, I might say to someone look left and right before crossing the road. They don't typically demand evidence to prove that it is a good idea so shutting down a conversation before it begins for lack of evidence is a bit silly.

The 200k is a completely different topic and I think has been discussed ad infinitum. Included in that 200k are the likes of rehab caring for people with disabilities etc. They're not all there to lobby the government.

Returning to previous, your dismissal is annoying. It could reasonably be argued that increasing university places, pay, etc would encourage more to become doctors/ nurses/ etc and therefore the health system would support itself with the reduced population the speaker describes. Whether that is what people want is another story.

What evidence do you require? Do you think no nations can produce sufficient healthcare staff from their populations? As I say, very annoying.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭kabakuyu

Different era,I now drink my cocktais and fry my eggs.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,746 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

The man stated that the reasons there are delays with hospitals in due to the influx of immigrant. No doubt he would also state that the immigrants are all "military aged men aged 18-29" ….. the category of people who are least likely to need health care. But he might just as well have blamed his horoscopes for any delays. Or he might alternatively have blamed the migrants for the bad weather we had this year.

You know that the famed Brexit bus promise of 350m a week to the NHS seems to have instead resulted in staff shortages in UK healthcare? It never explained the number of foreigners who went to work in the UK for relatively low-paying jobs in healthcare. Nursing homes etc.

He did also explicitly state that there are 200k people employed by NGOs here to lobby the government. There will be eejits that lap that up as literal truth. You can watch the video.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,427 ✭✭✭prunudo

Just on the healthcare angle, its not true that just because they are younger they won't need healthcare. The fact is we don't know anything about these men and what their previous health issues are. Besides, if the ngo's are to be believed, at minimum they could require care due to the ptsd from their traumatic journerys and witnessing the horrors of war.

So to say they don't and won't put stresses on our healthcare and other systems is disingenuous.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 23,516 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Have to agree on this. There has been a significant Orwellian attempts here recently to persuade people that violence does not affect change.

I can easily prove such assertions wrong. In my early twenties, a fellow I didn't know attacked me unprovoked as I walked into town and spent a while stamping on my head. I got stitches and have a scar on the back of my head.

Violence does cause change, for better or worse. Without the intervention of a fellow student issuing violent threats, I could have died. The Maoris unlike the aboriginal people were seen as violent and formidable foes and that helped them avoid annihilation unlike the poor souls of southern Australia.

I would say it's complicated but the suggestion that violence never changes anything is bonkers.

We're now in a position where the government refused to engage with the protestors who were peacefully demonstrating and instead a violent group has emerged to take control. Some might say that speaking with Steenson might have been better than causing a war.

Separately, I have to wonder if the Gardai are fit for purpose anymore. The local Gardai should not be cowering behind cars imho.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭Quags

Well done Ireland, the EU is proud of you 🤑

• Registered Users Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

It is when the tax exile wants an exclusion zone

It isn't when the migrants go in

Have you been denied planning permission because someone threatened the Council with violence?

Have you any examples of this?

There were cases where people tried to get money to remove objections. That's not what was outlined. So I think you maybe didn't read the post?

Not going to engage with paragraph 2 and 3 as off topic.

Very simply put, more people means more hospitals required. Genuine refugees especially may require specialist treatment.

Whether we decide to abandon such people is another matter but if you cannot understand that more people means more healthcare requirements I'd suggest reading some elementary maths.

You may dislike or even hate Steenson but your logic doesn't stack up and flinging brexit and Ngo mud does not mean your point of view is correct.

Look at any basic healthcare planning. More people requires more coverage. Are you telling the academics, administrators, doctors and nurses are all wrong and you are correct?

Here's some literature :

https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/abs/10.1002/hpm.2673

Moreover, strong projected population growth and ageing is expected to increase demand for hospital care substantially by 2030.

In your world, more people does not mean more demand. It's completely counter intuitive and I see no evidence to support such a notion. I cannot imagine anyone else in the world trying to push such an argument. It seems like madness but maybe I am wrong like those who pilloried Galileo.

Please, give me your coherent argument without going off topic that proves that increasing a population would not require an adjustment to the healthcare service.

• Registered Users Posts: 276 ✭✭giseva

Looking at the shape some of AGS are in I wouldn't think they're fit for purpose either.

I'm sure there are plenty in the protests only hoping for a bit of violence, likewise I'm sure there's plenty in the POU high fiving each other in the station if they get to crack a few heads.

Yep, like it or not violence gets things done, it forces people to leave their countries so it must have some effect.

They aren't off topic. Claiming "foreigners are the reason for the delays in the health service" is likely a fallacy. It was proven to be so in Brexit because the grifters failed to admit that it was actually the foreigners keeping the show on the road!

The "logic" they use would contend that if we rounded up every single foreign nurse, doctor, healthcare assistant and deported them tomorrow, the health system here would be better off because there would be less people in the country trying to use it …………

Throwing the baby out with the bathwater is what it is

• Registered Users Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

Crown Paints site, Coolock, was denied planning permission in 2019 for a mixed development which included, hotel, creche, offices, commercial units and 198 apartments

https://www.pleanala.ie/en-ie/case/302155

On the basis that is was zoned Z6 for employment and enterprise.

Came across this online, v interesting

• Registered Users Posts: 18,363 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

On the plus side Winter is coming and life in tents isnt great craic then ;-)

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

Wild, if unsurprising

Where did you see the graph?

So what level of violence would you be recommending or advocating for in order to effect a solution? And against whom?

Ah, you're back. Not advocating or recommending it at all. Just stating that it's foolish to discount the effectiveness of violence no matter who's on the receiving end of it.

Burning the vacant buildings down . Pretty simple .

They aren't off topic

Of course they are off topic. I made an observation on one point Steenson made. I am not here to defend Steenson or any of his points.

You seem to think I'm a Steenson supporter which in effect further reinforces the point I made.

For example, the Nazis were against smoking. I would be of a similar mindset or at least prepared to discuss the pros and cons of that point as an occasional smoker but being willing to discuss anti smoking doesn't mean that I support the Nazis.

I mean this is so basic, I'm not going to discuss further. The world is mad.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭twinytwo

That's fantastic, except how many of the chancers do we actually fcuk out?

All of them? Just to be on the safe side like

There might be a few vacant houses in your own town advertised on daft. Better torch them as well while you are at it in case the Council buy them and AS are put into them at some stage.

Looks like we might also have solved the so-called "housing crisis" as well.

But that's what needs to be done. Advocating burning down buildings that could be used to process them (as advised above) would merely prolong any processing and also result in AS being provided with "own-door" apartments and other accommodation scattered all around the country. It would be extremely expensive and a nightmare to try to manage. Better off spending that money on extra staff to process them quicker

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Emblematic

We're also double the EU average per capita for numbers under Temporary Protection (Ukrainian Refugees). 20037 per million (Ireland) vs 9503 per million (EU) despite being at the opposite end of Europe.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭twinytwo

I do not disagree.

Careful though, a certain poster will be a long shortly to lecture you about deportations.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Can we please ban that absolute religious freak/grifter from this thread. A despicable man.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

Eh, I never said you were a supporter. I said that his simplistic implication - which was repeated on here - that immigrants were the cause of hospital waiting lists had no basis.

In order to illustrate the foolishness of swallowing such simplistic nonsense, I gave you the analogy of almost identical Brexit rhetoric which has been shown to be untrue and in fact actually counter-productive.

But you are free to believe him if you want.