Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Road Deaths due to Lawlessness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,393 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Id say just driving like lunatics is 90%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭batman_oh

The best part is the prolific car thief (17) was still out and about increasing his tally without a care in the world. A few more speed cameras and double points on bank holidays will fix it all right up though, seems to be the solution to everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭drury..

It's not 90% . It's a significant factor but 90% of deaths are not due to lunatic driving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,288 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Ah Mrs O'bumble has joined the thread

Whats your own opinion or are u focussing on the headline crashes which are often due to recklessness

The poster said "driving like lunatics" which is a strong term

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭Quitelife

A certain percentage are due to lawless people robbing houses , moving drugs , stealing cars…….these people should be focussed on rather than hammering honest people going to work ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,202 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

seeing Garda traffic or road policing is a seriously rare occurrence.

Loads more cars and vehicles in general yet…..

https://www.irishtimes.com/crime-law/2024/05/16/numbers-in-garda-roads-policing-units-falls-to-lowest-level-since-2017-says-drew-harris/

Sooooooo, vehicular road use is increasing, but the policing of them decreasing…. Such a great country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,801 ✭✭✭prunudo

i can't say for other parts of the country, but here in east Wicklow, road policing is quite evident the last 6 months, checkpoints, speed checks, go safe vans un marked anpr cars are a common sight.

I thought there was supposed to be an uptick since the 30minute thing came in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,708 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

If ever there was a case to use electronic tagging it should be for someone out on bail for joyriding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭arctictree

And what's the point in Judges giving out driving bans? Sure they are just ignored by these lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,673 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

How annoyed would you be if you lost a family member to a dangerous driver, and be told "ah sure we know about him, he's a mad git on the roads".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,085 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Which is why we need Gardaí to proactively go around to their house or usual haunts and see if there is a car there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,055 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

There doesn't seem to be anything except '' designated drivers '' in the local pubs judging by the amounts of cars parked outside them in my area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭mikethecop

Almost like neutering the police force has consequences isnt it ,

Wouldn't work they'll park elsewhere if that becomes a thing

Perhaps, but that at least will inconvenience them. The guards should swing by on a windy night with sleet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Coverage today on rte of the large number of drivers on provisional licences and many for several years. There has to be a strong suspicion/ certainty even that many of these are driving unaccompanied. Leaving aside the practical benefits of this in terms of getting experience, it's illegal. When did I last see a checkpoint for licences?? Years ago. We also heard that c 13 of these provisional licence unaccompanied were involved in fatal accidents in 2023 I think it was.

This is the sort of work we need our Gardaí at, not 'managing' local citizens at protests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭amacca

I honestly think that shouldn't have to happen

If these people have previous they shouldn't be out...the guards shouldn't have to be running around checking up on them because they shouldn't be at liberty in the first place....maybe tagged but with severe actual consequences if they remove the tag or cheat that system ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Ah Drew Harris… the man who is helping Helen ruin AGS. There was a traffic corps. They concentrated on traffic stuff much to the annoyance of the general populace who like to consistently break road traffic laws. Then the numbers in AGS started dropping. So Harris though a massively expensive renaming/rebranding of the traffic corps to the Roads Policing Unit, and this was so he could tell the life long traffic lads that they now HAVE to do non-traffic calls. And now the traffic situation is as bad as it is, there's even less Gardai and Harris thinks getting the regular units to do the traffic stuff while the RPU do… not traffic…

Here's the thing though. Most people would not be happy to see AGS increase their traffic patrols. Because they won't just be catching the scumbags. They'll be catching the 70%+ of ye who are bad drivers. The ones who speed, regardless of how much over it is. The ones who don't indicate. The ones who can't use roundabouts. What people want is a traffic corp that only targets scumbags but leaves off the general Joe Soap for making "small" mistakes. No. That's not how it works.

And we need stronger enforcement of traffic laws in general. The level of driver competence is shockingly low. But it's not just that, it's the confidence these useless fvcks have while driving is the worst part. They're so confident that they're driving is not bad, that they get thick at you for rightfully blowing them out of it. Add to that that we now have L/N drivers in massive crossover vehicles that they can't properly control. We need these people off the road too. I can't understand people being ok with bad drivers on the road because "they have to".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,673 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

As someone who grew up in NI, and learned to drive there, the idea of learner drivers being allowed to drive around for years on their own is a totally alien concept.

It just wouldn't happen there, so why is it so acceptable in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭Baba Yaga

i dont get how there are so many learners whove any amout of years driving that cant pass a driving test?its not hard(admittedlty i passed all mine back in the 70s) its mostly common sense! although common sense isnt all that common now!

as for the standard of driving…holy shite! drive any road at any time of day or night and just watch the fcukwits…mobile phone pressed to the ear,weaving in and out of traffic,cutting in at last second,no indicators,no lights,i could go on and on…just listen to the radio any day,"1car,2 car,3 car,4 car,whatever number of car/truck/bus crash on the m50/m1/m4/m7/m8/mwhatever…said it before we need more gards,we need the real traffic corp brought back to where it should be and we need the gards NOT to have their hands tied behind their backs,ffs near every time they try to do their job it seems there is a gsoc investigation!

"They gave me an impossible task,one which they said I wouldnt return from...."

ps wheres my free,fancy rte flip-flops...?

pps wheres my wheres my rte macaroons,kevin?

"You are him…the one they call the "Baba Yaga"…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,560 ✭✭✭✭Varik

I think we should copy the US, they've got a charge called felony murder. Someone dies while you're committing a felony ( we don't have that class of crime but could do similar) you get charged for the death.

There's been getaway drivers charged when their accomplice got shot and killed by homeowner they were robbing, people having heart attacks from the stress of being robbed.

Flaunting a driving ban should have a serous mandatory sentence no suspensions, some others driving when they shouldn't might be ignorance not knowing but for the ban it's so definitive.

They might not have years of driving even if they've the learners for years.

I got mine after the change where you'd to have someone with you but I did it in my 20s after I left home so no parents to drive with. It was something I'd to commit to to keep doing lessons to get experience no clue how many lessons I did in the end but that was the only time I was in a car. Calling it common sense is great and all but even if someone is 20 years a learner if they're not in the car often it's they might as well be back a square one nervous and uncertain about everything even if they know what the official book answer to do is.

I got the bike licence since, and that's a set number of lesson in a course( more thought out than the do 12 lessons thing for car) and then you're allowed out on your own (no passengers or motorway). I got the cert and then put a few thousand miles on that with my own bike and test went well after doing a refresh before hand.

On the other hand I've let the trailer license go and about to expire as I've not had time to push that myself as I'd need get an instructor and go out with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,195 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

You can't hammer an honest person with a speed camera. Only ones breaking the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,841 ✭✭✭Floppybits

This is how is it should be, rules need to be applied to everyone regardless of who they are. This laisse faire attitude we have to rules and regulations needs to stop. I can tell you from experience, when you lose someone close to you such as a family member to an idiot who was speeding or on their phone or whatever, your attitude to the rules changes. I would love nothing more than to see people getting pulled over and getting points for speeding, on their phone, not using their indicators (is it too much to ask someone to put on an indicator?), reckless driving and also those drivers who think driving excessively slowly is safe especially on motorways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭Baba Yaga

i get you as regards practice,its probably not that easy for some,i was lucky that way,i had done the bike licence(was way different then in 76or77)then went for the car licence,was still at home so i think i had just turned 18 as i left when i was 18,nearest shop was about 5miles away so every day my father would go with me,sometimes twice a day so got the practice in that way,yes it is something you have to keep up with if you want to be a reasonably competent driver…i dont have any answer for the people on a learners permit that get into a car once in a blue moon…

"They gave me an impossible task,one which they said I wouldnt return from...."

ps wheres my free,fancy rte flip-flops...?

pps wheres my wheres my rte macaroons,kevin?

"You are him…the one they call the "Baba Yaga"…

It is fine to criticise Drew Harris, but the bottom line is that the government has not ensured that he has enough officers and with other policies leading to riots and the like then Harris has to shuffle resources around. Traffic law enforcement has suffered, but there is no real cure except more Gardaí.

The government have not moved sufficiently quickly to use technology with red light cameras and the like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,264 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Does your general law and order problem include drivers breaking the speed limit, using their phones at the wheel, drink and drug driving, not using seat belts? Because they're the major causes of road deaths and injuries?

Oh the government are also to blame, no doubt, thus my mention of Helen McIncompetence. She's more interested in bringing in dodgy thought hate crime legislation but ignoring the dire situation law and order in this country is in. But Harris is also has a large part to play. Not an easy job, but he's made a hames of it. I don't think any other commissioner has had a near universal vote of no confidence from frontline members. That alone says enough, because that's all Garda rank, young, middlin and old, agreeing. Across all units, regular and specialised. That doesn't happen. Ever. But we know he doesn't care, he's admitted as much.

And technology… I don't know if it's the government not allocating money for it, or Garda management mismanaging it, or the courts preventing it, but AGS are decades behind with technology. We* wanted bodycams 15/20 years ago. I've left 10 years and it's a trial is only happening now… ANPR is still only allocated to "traffic" vehicles. AFIS was only introduced 15 odd years ago, the same year I was using my fingerprint to lock my personal belongings into a locker while I went on a rollercoaster in America. And that locker tech was better to take the print than AFIS… 1.6d Hyundai i30's with lights and sirens attached. RPU have fancy monstrosities, but I believe they're quite expensive to maintain. Might explain the i30's. No tasers as standard. I can't see it changing until a young commissioner is promoted or about another 10 years through necessity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭gluppers

A lot of country folk are bloody irresponsible on the road. What's the urgency to overtake at any opportunity? And as for tailgating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

Phones.

I was in a taxi recently, and the driver was watching a football match on his phone while driving.

Stand at any pedestrian crossing/traffic lights for a while and look at the lead driver, and 50% of the time you will see them point their head towards their lap. Often times when the light goes green, the car behind them will have to beep them because they didnt see the light go green.

Is this all true ?

It reads like a speculative word salad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

Laws, Gardai, Courts, Convictions…but no prisons. Jesus wept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭tohaltuwi

Yrars ago I was in a taxi in Warsaw, at a time the driving was absolutely lethal. He had a fairly large screen, watching a match and driving about 80mph to Okecie airport. The driving test in Poland only involved driving around the block & parking.

In the interim there has been a radical change in driver behaviour there. I have mobility issues and every driver stopped way ahead of crossing to let me cross comfortably, nobody looking at phones and driving at a speed corresponding to roads. One taxi driver told me there’s been a huge investment into road safety.

The closure of so many garda stations by Alan Shatter of Fine Gael in 2010 means many people in rural areas never see a guard and theres no fear of been caught driving too fast..looking at your phone...driving after taking cocaine etc etc…..if you live 30 or 40 miles fgrom the nearest garda station the chances of seeing a guard are bordering on zero….

Sounds a very reasonable explanation to me tbh, and matches what we experience.

I drive an SUV myself, a RAV4 hybrid, couldn’t be a tamer vehicle in the world, but I know they are not all like like. It almost shouts at me when I exceed the speed limit, I have it on a very restrained eco mode where it barely sips petrol. All sorts of safety kit to reduce mishap potential. In future all this will be pretty standard across vehicles.

I tetrstingly I’ve just come off the Stillorgan road where I was overtaken by a driving school car. I was doing 59kph in a 60kph limit. The driving school car was doing considerably more and it had a student plus instructor on board.

I'm not following your line of thinking. I'm no wordsmith, but the first paragraph is 100% true, Traffic Corp was renamed to RPU so they could do more than just traffic, and now the regular are doing traffic on their daily shift to cover what the Traffic Corp used to do…

Second paragraphs is based on the fact I used to be one and a traffic offence is a traffic offence regardless of the level of lawfulness of the driver, and from personal daily driving witnessing the shocking level of "competence" on the roads.

And the final paragraph is a personal opinion on the state of driving on the roads today, what parts stick out for me, and what I think should be done about it.

So I'm assuming you meant the first paragraph, in which case I believe it's obvious that is what has happened, because before the RPU regular units were only occasionally requested to join the larger checkpoints, and from personal experience traffic corp were too busy with assigned traffic duties to be assigned non-traffic calls. RPU have a broader range of issues to cover, and as a result the normal daily traffic stuff that the Traffic Corp used to do, is now being handed to the regular to complete every shift for 30 minutes… in-between all the regular calls they have to do, and according to most posters on here they never turn up so maybe it's because they had to get in their 30 minutes of traffic, which delayed every subsequent call by 30 minutes and they genuinely ran out of time/call was missed on handover/posters are making it up.

I have felt like opening a thread on why people keep failing to do the driving test. I’ve known people myself to baulk at undergoing test because they felt they wouldn’t pass it.

I did my test years ago, and failure rate was maybe about 50%. I remember my mindset before I did it, “it’s as easy to do everything right as it is to make a mistake, you actually have to make an effort to make a mistake” . I put myself on the steepest hill I could find, the narrowest road to do the popularly called “3 point turn”, and I kept repeated the manoeuvres. So when it came to the test it was in my muscle memory to do it completely correctly.

People on repeat permits fail to improve their driving to the standard required and fall into very bad habits. Even after passing the test you will make mistakes which you learn from, but at least you’ve proven you can drive to the standard and with more modern & safer cars the typical early mistakes will be less likely to prove lethal.

Post edited by tohaltuwi on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,160 ✭✭✭SeanW

Figured it wouldn't be long before your good self would hijack the thread to make it about "drivers" writ large.

Fortunately, we have the data - the average Irish driver would need to drive somewhere in the region of 300,000,000 kilometres before even being involved in, let alone the cause of a fatal incident.

https://etsc.eu/wp-content/uploads/14-PIN-annual-report-FINAL.pdf

There are 3.25 million drivers in this country and only around 150 fatalities per year. That means something around 99.7% of Irish drivers have nothing to do with road deaths, and never will.

https://www.cso.ie/en/releasesandpublications/ep/p-tranom/transportomnibus2021/driverandvehicletesting/

Ergo, I suspect that the OP is correct in that a lot of problems are caused by a very small number of individuals behaving in a manner that is wholly unreasonable ("joyriding", stolen cars, criminal activities like drugs, burglary etc).

That would also include pedestrians who were found by the RSA to be the sole culpable party in fatal collisions in 70% of motorist-pedestrian collision cases in 2008-2015.
    https://www.rsa.ie/docs/default-source/about/pedestrian-fatalities-on-irish-roads-2008-2015.pdf?Status=Master&sfvrsn=cb71b3df_3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

In my local village, there is a garda station. A two storey building, presumeably which used to have a guard living there, it is now open for an hour on tuesday and thurday. My bedroom looked out at the mainroad, and at about 3am you'd see cars doing donuts at the end of our road. They know they have a better chance of coming across the Loch Ness Monster than a guard at that time of night in that part of the world.

Probably the nearest garda station that is manned 24/7 is the Garda HQ in Galway city about 15 miles away. Its like no mans land out there at the weekend So surprise surprise theres an uptick in crime and one of those crimes is careless, drink and drug driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭highpitcheric

just got back in.

usual craic out there on a Sat, usual tools. Up to their usual antics.

And we know who. Its young Damo trying to be a madlad.

Thought of this thread while watching them trying to be mad things, I think the answer may be restriction on engine capacity for the first 5 (?) years. After that if you've low enough points, a suitably clean driving record, then you can access a bleedin deadly motor. Fck around and you go back to corsa tier 1.3 liters.

Thats if we could police the roads, which is doubtful.

I wonder could part of road policing be done by non-garda private personnel. Like a roaming patrol vehicle with on-board surveillance. With a link to the pulse system. All they do is drive around, and record and report. Passive. Inconspicuous.

So Damo is doing his mad lad act in his 04 bmw, and shoots past a mobile patrol van with a couple of living-wage contractors inside, who catch it all, everything goes in real time to the garda systems. If gardai can respond immediately they have the coordinates, and if not they can follow up later. Proof of excess speed in a location, by licensed contractor with state approved aparatus and some certified training.

There might be some scope for members of the Garda Reserve to live in diverse locations. No need to arrest people there and then but to collect suitable evidence. Such reservists could also put in shift at the weekend with the breathalyser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,288 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

And you said "it's not 90% driving like lunatics".

If you know that it's not that, then please do tell us what it is. Because frankly, most recklessness looks pretty damn lunatic to me.

I'll ask you again what's your own opinion

I stated i don't believe 90% of deaths are due to lunatic driving

I don't have any breakdown on the causes

I know the title is about road deaths, but that's not always the only outcome. From this RSA report, the most up to date for 2019 says that while only 140 people were killed, there were also 7598 people injured and over 40k material damage collisions. One doesn't have to die to have a bad outcome, some people have life altering injuries, others end up in severe financial troubles because of the material damage ones and potentially left chasing an unfit for purpose uninsured drivers claims process.

https://www.rsa.ie/docs/default-source/road-safety/r2---statistics/road-collision-annual-reports/road-casualties-and-collisions-in-ireland-2019.pdf?Status=Master&sfvrsn=a6dcadd8_3

Provisional report says 188 dead last year, with 10% of them not wearing a seatbelt being the probable reason. 45% were under 35 so inexperience/overconfidence is the probable cause. Shockingly, 42% of those killed were killed in 80kmph areas, so I would assume speeding being the main factor here. Only 25% in 100kmph areas.

https://www.rsa.ie/docs/default-source/road-safety/r2---statistics/provisional-reviews/infographic-of-fatalities-1-january-to-31-december-2023.pdf?Status=Master&sfvrsn=b04931b6_5

Unfortunately it is impossible to know the exact reason in the majority of cases, and will continue to be that way until cabin cameras are standard and can be used, same with ECU readings showing the exact statistics of the car and what it was doing at the time of the collision. The ECU records freeze frame data at the point of the fault occurring. Why this isn't currently used is beyond me. ABS has stopped being able to determine by skid mark length so the ECU should be taken. Might get a better overview of causes then.

Insurance has a lot to play too. They are making up figures. I'm driving 17 years without incident, yet I'm paying more than some people I know who have been the cause of collisions. That should never be the case, save for driving a weapon being the cause. My A-Rated 2010 car is twice as expensive to insure as the 10 times as expensive, twice as powerful and heavier 2023 model of the same car. Makes no sense imo. And now we have young people learning in EV's with crazy acceleration and all the distracting doodads of touch screen interfaces… in a car… that they are driving…

Which is the main cause these days imo - distraction. If they're not touching their car to change the temperature, or play a Netflix movie while driving, or watch YouTube while driving, they're doing it on their phone. They don't pay attention, and a lack enforcement is allowing them to get away with it. Behaviour worsens over time to a degree of complete distraction which results in collisions. That, and unwarranted driver confidence in faster, larger vehicles coupled with a sense of superiority that this is my road and everyone else is an inconvenience on it.

/rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Lack of enforcement of existing laws is a serious problem. There's simply not enough being done on the ground against anything but speeding from what I can see. And even that needs serious tweaking.

Mobile phone use and general distraction levels within cars is another in my opinion but again that's down to enforcement which is a bit harder but where there is a will there is a way.

As for general lunatics on the road, solved with enforcement of existing laws.

Rant is most appropriate and covers the very factors that are behind road incidents.

Hopefully these smart cameras will be able to do the job that the severe lack of Garda numbers can't. But knowing this government, they'll buy the cheapest option that makes a friend of someone rich.