Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Newstalk: Off The Ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭atilladehun

Joe will be missed. He's very collected and intelligent. After a brief settling in period i think he lead a second golden moment on otb.

I still like the show, daily reporting is it's own thing. They seem to have hired a series of sports nerds/dorks in the last few hires. The need a good host now and maybe an accomplished opinion writer too.

Post edited by atilladehun on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,791 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

It was a big deal at the time-40 years ago! It was also the only success in that games (nothing in 88 as well which made it seem even better) despite the help of a massive iron curtain boycott.

I don't really think there's anything new to be said about it at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭cmac2009

Absolutely. Showed again with his interview last night why he will be missed.

Suspect Will O'Callaghan will take over from Joe?. He's a few levels below Joe's standard but well above the rest of gang there, so seems like the most obvious replacement pick.

Will see how it goes but Joe is the main draw for me, not sure I'll be tuning in as much. He's pivotal for something like the 'Slight tangent' slot, and it's clear they know that too as it didn't run on the occasions he was away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,517 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

If I won a medal in the Olympics I would be dining out on that until the end of my days.

FYI, they're not trans boxers. It seems that it's all based on a dodgy organisation and a Russian news article.

Read this for more:

• Registered Users Posts: 195 ✭✭sub3wannabe

Seems Kelly Harrington is refusing to do OTB interviews. Quite right after the disgraceful treatment she received from Shane Hannon previously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,856 ✭✭✭Allinall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,718 ✭✭✭Gusser09

OTB fairly trying to grovel anyway. They've burned their bridges there you would feel.

Not getting into the previous arguements but I think most people enjoy sport as an escape from day to day pressures of life, be that job, politics, mortgage etc , so I don't understand why OTB feel the need to discuss or introduce anything political into their shows at all.

The problem when they do is there is no balance, it would seem when they discuss anything outside of sports they feel are speaking on behalf of their listeners.

Ireland as a country votes majority centre/centre right. OTB presenters in the main are as far to the left as you can get in their views bar probably Joe who I think is quite balanced who is now leaving so in many aspects their views represent a minority of the general population.

If I owned a business I don't want to alienate any listener's, I want everyone to enjoy the show and subscribe to the podcast and bring in the cash. So I am very surprised the parent company haven't had a word.

I think Joe leaving will be a disaster, I am one of the mugs who subscribed to them and I watch on YouTube on the TV every night but it's pretty terrible the last while and with Joe leaving that will be my cue to leave aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭Morgans

I worry about what people's understanding of far left is. It doesn't include putting your products behind a pay wall.

Guess until Ger is photographed assaulting guards in coolock, or boycotting libraries, and Will is debating transgender athletes with objective commentators like Graham lenihan and jk Rowling, they will have to put up with the criticisms of being card carrying communists/groomers.

Can any of those fans of the alt-right talking points provide a link to a sports radio show that you approve of?

Smalll Fish. Wolly Parkinson would be one example of perhaps a guy who leans right. Partly the reason he felt constrained and sensored by OTB originally when he decided to stop contributing and go out on his own.

Previous poster sums it up well. If you're going to consciously mix politics and sport then the least you could do is hire a diverse range of people. It's a liberal echo chamber.

If you are going to consciously mix politics and sport then people can vote with their feet. Of course they are coming from the famously far left newstalk station. Even if your point is **** - that OTB should impose a balance - OTB don't owe you anything or need to pander to your politics.

Previous poster sums it up well.

He/she is prepared to subscribe for the service, until deciding not to. They can give woolberto (perhaps leaning right is funny) their custom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,569 ✭✭✭HBC08

In fairness,I think people have voted with their feet.

Yeah. Market forces in action. I didn't subscribe cos it's not that good and there are better options available. Not sure Joe Molloy deserves all the love he tends to get either. In general, the pay wall move was all very hamfisted with too many mediocre contributors. But it's not because of the politics.

Just as it's I did subscribe to Parkinson's podcast, I wouldn't expect him to balance his political views to suit me.

Journalism is meant to be impartial and balanced. It's literally a foundation of the profession.

Public sector broadcasting maybe. But apart from that you are completely wrong. OTB, not public sector broadcasters, owe you nothing. Listen or don't, your choice. Pay your subscription or don't, your choice.

Joe Molloy is good, but I would tend to agree that it is the 'at best' mediocrity of the rest that make him look so good, and the generally very poor others that make him appear excellent.

He lacks a bit of character/edge that would add to his appeal. Then again most presenters tend to be quite balanced as they're the ones asking the questions so he can't be criticized too much in that regard.

This is bonkers. There's two very recent referendums that have over 60% vote for massive social change. The FFFG stranglehold has very little to do with their policies and far more to do with 1. Local politics, 2. people voting for whoever their parents tell them to. Their policies and spending of both those parties is nothing short of erratic. FF in particular have been happy to spend anything and everything. FG are somewhat more fiscally conservative but they've got plenty of socially liberal notches on their belt.

And as far as calling the presenters far left, that's just outrageous. They're big standard liberal Irish people. Absolute normies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,569 ✭✭✭HBC08

I stopped listening to OTB before their disastrous move to paywall.As others have mentioned I didn't mind a bit of social commentary/current affairs stuff mixed in but when it's leaning towards the far end of either spectrum then I'm out.

I only subscribe to Smaller Fish and a local GAA pod.

I listen to almost every Wooly pod and if there is any political stuff its so miniscule I don't even notice it.

Yeah. It was habit that made me listen before the pay wall. Tommy Walsh, Andy dunne both very good but not on enough then. Pay wall not worth it.

If ye think it's far end of the spectrum, it's worrying.

And if I'd there is a cohort out there who think that if OTB would be more successful if it was that bit more anti immigrant, anti trans, anti vax, just have a few people come on and just ask the odd question about whether Rashida is Irish enough etc, then fair play to Ger for not giving into those arseholes.

Can you please name and breakdown these election results that have called for massive social change to the tune of 60%? Please list them.. because I have never seen these phantom results so I am very interested to see them..

Are you counting referenda since the last general election as an accurate picture of the political leaning of the country? You aren't really are you? 😂

Ironically I think you are and the protest vote in these elections against FF and FG was brought on in its entirety because of their newly found liberal leaning ideas that you claim are socially liberal notches on their belt when in fact it was these liberal belt notches that their core base rejected outright and punished them deeply for, example being the last referendum that failed miserably.

But then you are also claiming this result was a liberal result, computer says does not compute!

When it comes to the only one that actually matters , 70% of Irish voters vote for FF and FG who are both centre/right of centre. This country is the dictionary definition of conservative centre/right of centre leaning no matter what bullshit you bring up to suit your narrative.

We currently have a centre/ centre right government and we will have the exact same government in the next election because that is the political leaning of the country and the will of the people, i.e the complete opposite of every presenter on OTB

I do not know a single person who would agree with any political views displayed on off the ball, under what terms exactly do you class them as "absolute normies"😂

I can guarantee you that in my circle of friends who are all respectable middle class college educated professionals in Dublin not one of them would consider them "normies" or would remotely agree with any of their political views. So I would like to know who exactly these "normies" are and where they are? The sinn fail voters are they 😂

Maybe your friends vote how their parents tell them to, I don't know anyone who votes by local politics or what their parents tell them to vote 😂

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

Yeah, I think that post is all over the shop.

I would think the same sex referendum and the abortion referendum would represent a social change that has occurred over the past years.

So, you contend that OTB are not normies - they are the complete opposite of the mainstream you say. So, who do you think they vote for? Where are they different to the centre-right mainstream opinion of Ireland? Is it on immigration, vaccination, trans rights? Cos I see very little difference between what's they appear to support and what is the law of the land.

Fianna Fail and Fine Gael are on the centre/centre right when it comes to the economy. But on social issues Fine Gael were behind the same sex marriage referendum and the Repeal referendum. Some of Fianna Fail were too.

You can say that Ireland votes more centrist when it comes to economic matters which is fair. But OTB tend not to discuss the pros and cons of the open market and the policies around that.

Acknowledging that trans people exist, that gay people exist, that people of colour can be Irish. That's not a left wing thing. That's just being human.

Would people prefer that they have people on giving out about Rhasidat representing Ireland? What about Daniel Wiffin? He wasn't even born here. Etc etc.

What exactly would you like them to cover and how would you like them to cover it for it to be "balanced?"

I never really got the consensus that Joe's an elite presenter. As you say, I think his baseline is just more noticed compared to absolute clowns like Nathan Murphy for example who I think one poster here famously refers to him as a welly salesman at a country fair.

Joe is quite safe. Quite bland. Monotoned. Lacks charisma. Would he standout at all if you pitched him in the UK or US markets? Not in a million years.

Maybe its a style thing, I think Joe thinks on his feet amd reacts to an interviewee quite well. I suppose he neither fncks up an interview with Tubridy's script style nor makes it about him interrupting the answer breakfast radio style. Coming across collected while trying to do an interview is harder than it seems. Look at how many bad examples there are, joe put the interviewee and the listener at ease and got a decent conversation going.

Morgans and dulpit have covered it, so no need to repeat their work. Yes i was talking about referendums. You can see it when i write referendums.

Look at the family law acts, the social welfare acts, the citizens assemblies acts, gender pay gaps and more. They're all brought in and expanded on by FFFG. Theres plenty more over the years. Those parties are all things to all men. They don't care about left or right. They take ideas from the PDs and the socialist parties.

More absolute nonsense, but par for the course for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Felexicon

US market no, but he is a million miles away from the shock jock schtick they go for over there.

He's an excellent presenter when doing the rugby. Knows the role really well and facilitates rather than takes part in the conversation. Something like The Sunday Game (Live) would be massively improved with his involvement.

He's also a good interviewer. You've only seen him doing sports so there is only so far he can go. Will almost always seem "safe" in that environment.

You have an overly negative view on all things OTB.

Hard to figure out if it's genuine or you just want the reaction from others here.

I think Joe has what Eoin McDevitt on Second Captains has - an ability to let the conversation flow and be directed rather than him be a key participant in it. It's a harder skill than you'd imagine…

I judge value and quality on scarcity and availability. They can arguably pay Will O Callaghan a presumably substantially smaller salary to do a seamless job as he generally has demonstrated when filling in for Joe.

He's grand. Nothing special and eminently replaceable.

Exactly. Both top class interviewers and huge respected broadcasters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,394 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Have they covered the elephant in the room from the Olympics boxing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,654 ✭✭✭RINO87

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,718 ✭✭✭Gusser09

Any show where you still have the likes of Mick McCarthy ass a presenter can't be taken seriously. The guy is dreadful and seems to be on a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,044 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

We all know that's a farce. There isn't a media organisation I can think of that doesn't have some political leanings.

• Registered Users Posts: 299 ✭✭jack747

Hey @sub3wannabe That's really interesting. How do you know this is the case? I seen someone else asked but you haven't responded yet. Havent seen any mention of that from OTB, Kellie or from her camp.

She's done multiple other Irish media outlets and not OTB. OTB and Ger have basically interviewed all high profile and winning athletes at the games. It's pretty clear and with fair justification given Shane Hannons hatchet job on her in the past.

Funny how Shane hannon and otb did a hatchet job on her supposedly when kellies friends in the far right have generated fake memes today regarding how she won't fight any males in the boxing ring. Her buddies have stitched her up good and proper and now any interviewer doing their job will need to ask her for a comment. Then the far right trolls can once again pretend it was a hatchet job. Can't blame arseholes for being arseholes I suppose.

She was emotionally triggered by a post that factually reported a rape of a young girl.

Cornering a working class amateur athlete trying to supplement a modest grant with a bit of work from Spar was and is a disgrace.

He did it as a virtue signal to progress in a ultra liberal organisation and it backfired spectacularly as he was subsequently doxxed himself. Stones and glass houses Shane my man. That's a basic.

Not quite the confirmed BBC/Fergie situation just yet, you are just guessing so. I wouldn't be surprised to see Kellie on OTB again in the future.

Not a fan of either Kellie or Shane but if I was to guess, I'd say both parties are happy to just leave it go at this stage.

Zero chance. I know people in domestic irish boxing. She remains aggrieved and Kenneth Egan also no longer contributes for solidarity.

She had an opportunity to distance herself from an tweet. She made a bags of it and apologised after. It did make her the darling of the far right who assume they have an ally in their cause, rewarding her with a fake meme reinforcing the far right tropes. Best of luck to her. She is being used by scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,394 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Stephen Doyle on twitter is concerned for the mental well being of the Algerian boxer. Says all you want to know about OTB

Edit: while Will O Callaghans chief concern with this stiry is the possble mis-quoting of Kellie Harrington. I assume he had a straight face on him as he types that tweet.

As I suspected and with respect, you are a bit of a spoofer.

Kenneth Egan was on Off the Ball this morning.

What's inaccurate about linking mass immigration with an increase in crime? Its been proved in places like France and Sweden. The only reason we can't say for certain it is the same here is that the government refuse to segment this.

Exactly. Shilling for Joes gig no doubt. If you debase yourself into a wolly liberal you'll be in Gers good books.

The shows political leanings are quite clear and a quid pro quo of anyone who works there.

I would think that sort of shite is better places on the site (current affairs).

But, now instead of poor Kellie who unfortunately inadvertently was triggered by a rape, she was in fact accurately articulating a concern that you and other far right trolls are keen to amplify.

It is you and your friends that are using her for you and your friends political ends. Putting words into her mouth, and treating her as an ally. You are lying when you pretend to be concerned about Kellie.

So, stop crying about Shane hannon asking her a question.