Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time for a zero refugee policy? - *Read OP for mod warnings and threadbans - updated 11/5/24*

• Registered Users Posts: 48 wovay

It's simply inevitable.

If this continues at pace, let there be no doubt that this time next year it will be worse still. No guesses needed.

If it continues past next year it will be worse the next year. And so on.

We're seeing people being left with zero alternative already.

In the utter absence of any plan whatsoever, the absence of limits, the absence of political representation, the absence of any solution or appeasement or even bare acknowledgement, what else can happen?

There'll be towns of 200 people being forced to accept 1000 migrants? Why not 5000? Why not give over the phoenix park as a tent encampment?

And if the phoenix park were an encampment, what next for those countless arrivals?

Who in their right mind would have predicted 10 years ago that the country would be so over brimming with extra people that they'd be trying to force 300 migrants into towns of less than 200 irish people? Nobody.

Like that boiling frog analogy, it's necessary to take a step back and look how dire things have become. Then get back to me about the implausibility of a phoenix park encampment.

Again, it is the situation itself that is incitement to violence. I'll gladly listen to anyone's different interpretation of what people are expected to do otherwise.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭thomas 123

There is year upon year upon year of proof that politicians are going to do nothing.

They are so willingly dumb, deaf and blind they are today still trying to ram migrants into small villages to the extent of outnumbering irish people 2:1 practically overnight.

It isn't a question of whether politicians have checked out, it's a question of whether they were ever checked in.

You'd be as well off emailing an anteater asking them to stop eating ants. They have unequivocally given us the answer for 10 years straight; their mandate is to themselves and that mandate is to get as many people packed in no matter the consequence. Believe them!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,401 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Aragh sit on your hands so and tell us all how helpless and hopeless it all is...there is always arson…🙂

And vote for a loony mouthpiece....

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

And there is year upon year of proof that the voting base of the country will put the same TDs back In election after election.

It’s by design and clearly there is sweet F.A anyone can do about it. We all should have seen the writing on the wall with the formation of the Public Order Unit. RTE and the 7 million euros worth of media advice the government get do their very best to paint every protester as a vile far right scum bag which stops the vast majority of people from expressing any dissatisfaction.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

McEntee on Newstalk now , when asked about the high court ruling that Ireland has breached asylum seekers human rights by not providing accommodation on arrival and will we have to pay them compensation.

Her reply was that we are trying to source more accommodation, the world is changing with wars and climate change it’s natural people will end up here looking for a better life and we’ll have to help them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭Quags

Or send emails from 3 different accounts that get answered by some random secretary of your lucky, the TDs are whipped as you know - do you think a single one of them will change their opinion on something based on an email(or 3) from a constituent. Maybe their opinion will change but will their vote?

We had a local councelleor who was fantastic for 15+ years and they ran for TD and got In. The day they went into the dail they turned into a different person(based on their voting patterns). Toeing the party line has become the absolute norm now - I doubt junior TDs(or even the senior ones) get a say on any of the mainline policies at all.

An email may work to get some potholes filled but their minds are made up on immigration. As the poster above says - direct action is likely the only step which will effect some change - like it did for water.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

And accept there’s nothing we can do to stem the numbers coming in, it hasn’t worked anywhere, if we try the numbers will only increase? IHCR man on RTÉ now discussing their case. Says it legally binding now that the Government has to provide housing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭combat14

how can we continue to offer asylum when we have no where to put people

Gas, am I right I saying we(Irish Citizens) don’t have a similar protection in the constitution?

If they were going to respond to people's concerns and demands, surely they'd have done it by now.

Something, just something even approaching representation. But there isnt.

You joke about the likes of arson, but what else is supposed to happen here?

It's a genuine question. Nothing has caused a blip on the political radar regarding this situation for umpteen years of escalation, to the point that they're currently forcing, and force is the correct verb, more and more migrants into the most laughably inappropriate places and conditions.

With that record to date, what do you realistically see happening politically, in a timeframe equal to the magnitude of this disaster?

Or perhaps a better way to frame the question; what should the people in dundrum, tipperary do next?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭eggy81

Arson and worse is simply inevitable in the long term if this continues unabated and with zero consultation or planning. It’s quite literally laying the ground for mass civil unrest and could end up anywhere.

There is nothing, absolutely nothing, natural about neverending migrants arriving on a tiny island at the far edge of the atlantic which is suffering under deepening infrastructural deficiencies for years on end.

Nothing in the slightest natural about it.

By the same token you could say the same about people arriving in Iceland, or Greenland, or Novosibirsk. It's completely abnormal for such a thing to happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

From the article:

"IHREC welcomed the High Court judgment with Head of Legal Michael O'Neill saying…"

…that superyacht is getting closer by the day😎

It was the wonderful Sinéad Gibney that said -

In a sworn statement to the court, the IHREC’s chief commissioner, Sinéad Gibney, said the Commission very carefully considered the matter before deeming it essential to bring this case.

https://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2023/1221/1423309-human-rights-commission/

Gibney has nailed her colours to the SocDem's mast as she aligns closely with their policies - As above, Gibney deemed it essential to bring the case - She then deemed it essential to feck off from the IHREC a few weeks later and run for a cushy MEP job paying €600k salary over 5 years with massive unvouched expenses also at about €600k for the 5 years - €1.2m over 5 years was just essential to go for wasn't it Sinéad?

I think it's essential not give any sort of a vote to the SocDem's as they'll be as bad as the Greens…just sayin

This is the thing.

I'm sure some would read this and jump immediately to "these people are condoning violence".

But it's not that at all.

It's a simply framed question: having tried everything available to them, the people in dundrum, tipperary are to do what next?

Read about their experience of "consultation". It means nothing, its simply, "you're taking these people, end of story".

So, what should they do next? If you yourself live there, what would you do next?

Expand that ultimate question out to the whole country. What's supposed to happen next?

Something is going to fill that void, it's inevitable.

• Registered Users Posts: 127 ✭✭LongfordMB

It was the courts who ordered the government to essentially triple the cash payments to men without accomodation following a different ruling.

Makes you wonder, who is sovereign here. The courts should not have the authority to tell a government to change policy. The people elect a government to make policy, not a courts system to instruct the government.

We must legislate quickly to more narrowly define what a refugee is, and what the government will provide if they are deemed to be genuine. No more rule by judges.

• Registered Users Posts: 496 ✭✭Ozvaldo

There is no opposition party in government lads shinners are a waste of space.Government is free to run riot .

Ireland is turning into a 3 rd world sh1thole day by day.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,197 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

More money for the legal system. Leeches everywhere.

The fly in the ointment with anything like that is will, or the lack of will, to be more precise.

If somebody could point to just one single moment of tangible effort from governments to curtail migration, from the last decade, I'd be surprised.

For them to go from zero to suddenly hurtling through complex legislation and law is nigh on wishing on a star.

It is unlikely to the extreme.

And if many many constituents send emails, no effect you think?

If you yourself were in the position of a local in Dundrum, Tipperary, obviously vehemently opposed to the migration scheme, and having exhausted all means available to you...what would you do next?

You see, theres all the buzzcocks about legalities and frameworks and obligations and courts and everything else that has yielded nothing of note for what feels like centuries.

But what it will inevitably come down to is Johnny Everyman and what he does himself when faced with the problem right on his doorstep with no time to spare right now.

And that's what everyone needs to answer, governments and individuals alike, what is supposed to happen next?

I have no problem with protests and blockades. As long as they don't turn nasty i.e. arson by thugs. Violence and criminal damage loses the entire argument. Plays right into FFG hands.

I am sure the local politicians in these areas are inundated with comms from their people. Everyone else from outside the area could and should help too if they care enough.

Timing of election should not be wasted. Local elections are done.

There are a huge amount of problems to fix.

Yeah yeah heard it all before but let's try and prevent that.

• Registered Users Posts: 127 ✭✭LongfordMB

Then ultimately that's how this must/will end. A new nationalist government is elected which does have the will to legislate against what the NGOs want.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,211 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

That sort of baloney suggests you never lived more than 5 miles from your Ma's flat !

I agree largely.

Except with the "losing the argument" over violence part and it helping the government. As I was saying, if every other effort amounts to nothing, and leaves space for only violence, that's entirely a loss on the government. That's their creation.

Or, another way to frame it. Let's say a blockade is set up, for how long is that blockade to be maintained before most people agree "that's long enough without result, time for something different"? 6 months? 2 years?

At what point is the sheer pig headedness of the government acknowledged as being simply without mandate?

I do agree with people supporting the likes of Dundrum from outside the area. The reason these places are being picked is due to their vulnerability. Specifically in this case, the small number of people.

• Registered Users Posts: 496 ✭✭Ozvaldo

What happens next is that eventually the immigrants will take over

• Registered Users Posts: 8,211 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

How about Johnny Everyman getting a life and stop swallowing all the horseshyte being peddled by the far right on social media!

• Registered Users Posts: 342 ✭✭JP 1800

As I mentioned earlier in this thread, when individuals are backed into a corner, there will be flight or fight instinct and the latter will likely happen. The groups that have protested, went down the legal route may feel they are out of options and have no representation. This is when they may seek representation from Maguire and Paterson and take matters into their own hands. Also this new ruling from the High Court will force the government's hand which I can foresee escalate tensions further.