Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clampdown on TV 'Dodgy Boxes'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,552 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

a list of usernames, sure. connecting those to actual people in their home is another thing

out of curiosity, what legislation covers theft of service?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,490 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Another one that's OK to do is Insurance Fraud. Not setting up fake car crashes or "slipping" on a supermarket floor, that is what Bad People do. But add a few thousand on to a genuine claim amount, that is what Ordinary Law Abiding People do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,555 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

I pay yearly, I'm not freeloading scum. Anyone paying full whack for sky/tnt etc needs their head examined tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,083 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

…ah tbf, folks can chose to spend their money whatever way they wish, broadcasters such as sky do provide very good services, and if they didnt, us freeloaders wouldnt be doing what we re doing, each to their own, but fcuk that if id ever pay the full legal price of what i am getting, its not possible to anyway, no legal services offer it…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,555 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

I spent 15 years paying Sky for the privilege of letting them choose what matches I got to watch. That was enough for me. My last monthly bill with them was €120 iirc for tv with sports and their internet. My current option is €90 for the year and I can watch whatever matches I want during the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,336 ✭✭✭Homer

if you’re getting good service €90 is not bad value but you should shop around .. mine is €60 and every now and then have special offers (just got 2 connections renewed for £35 each for 12 months)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,083 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

…theyve managed to stifle themselves to some degree with their own rules in regards viewing rights, illegal providers dont have to deal with any of that, if they could manage to untangle those rights, and provide much cheaper packages, that would rival those illegal options, theyd be laughing, may not happen though, so on we go….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭atilladehun

It kills me that Ireland is under uk rules for the soccer. Every single game should be on tv in Ireland like it is in the rest of the EU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,545 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Usernames have IPs attached to them otherwise how are they tracking if people are using more than one connection while only paying for one.

IPs are linked to ISPs who track who has an IP at any one time.

Now before the VPN people jump in saying I'm untraceable. Don't believe the no logs ****. VPNs leaks occur.

Its unlikely that the gardai will go to the effort but don't be under the impression it can't be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Let Sky paddle their own canoe. Cnuts.

But why are they cnuts as you call them?.

Is it because they charge what you believe to be too expensive a price for their service?

If that's the case do you form this opinion with an expert knowledge of the broadcasting industry, the costs of rights, the cost of infrastructure, the cost of labour etc etc and believe they are gouging?

Or do you form this opinion from a point of total ignorance because you have some magic figure in your head about how much their service should cost.

I'd say it's the latter.

• Registered Users Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Happyhouse22

He could be talking about the perceived high prices. In which case you are right.

He could just be talking about the fact that they ( and all their competitors) are simply not nice companies to deal with.

• Prices increasing dramatically after a year.
    • Super hard to cancel
    • Crazy wait times to talk to anyone on the phone
    • Super hard to deal with any technical issues, will brush everything off unless very persistent

In what is the end user inducing sky to provide a service?

Username linked to IP. ISP have a record of which customer has used an IP. Billing details given to gardai. It's not rocket science.

The IPTV operator not Sky.

anyone that thinks that the guards/sky/government will go after end users is clearly a bit simple.. they have only ever targeted the resellers. Mine is out of the jurisdiction as are the servers. It’s a game of whack-a-mole that the providers keep winning. They would be prosecuting themselves as a large proportion of the serving guards I know are all users of IPTV lol

The end users who are out there and think they can't be caught are the simple ones. As said it's unlikely but it could happen.

They don't need to prosecute everyone. Who knows they might shutdown a fly by night service who hast taken security precautions and go after them to scare other people off IPTV.

The current garda commissioner is not afraid to prosecute gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,526 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Prosecuting individual users is a scare tactic, sure they might catch the odd person but personally I wouldn't be bothered. It's the resellers they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭dubrov

Stream is linked to VPN IP though. Any VPN with any sort of reputation has external audits to verify no logs are kept.

Do you work for Sky?

That makes even less sense. You think the end user is obtaining services from the iptv operator by deception?

The IPTV operator is obtaining the services by deception.

You belive that really don't they keep any logs. That's until law enforcement come looking.

Enron had audits, Quinn Insurance had audits. The FAI had audits. Auditors are paid to tell what you want to hear and can only audit what they are shown.

VPN connections and fail all sorts of real reason possibly leaking your IP.

Its all well and good for the super technical but if the normal Joe soap isn't using a VPN or know it's failed. So perhaps they are the users who are picked up for prosecution.

I don't work for Sky.

My last point in this , you may think you are untreaceable on the Web, I have news for you your not.

relax there Liam Neeson 🤣

I asked what crime the end user has committed. So far you have failed to answer that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,040 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951

As far as I am aware there is no such thing as 'theft of service' in relation to this subject. 'Theft' implies depriving someone of the item that is stolen. No one with a dodgy box steals the service as it remains available to others.
    The use of such streams would be under different legislation.

You are not the first on the thread who knows several Gardai doing this. How did you find out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,040 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951

As the dodgy box user pays the provider for the service they receive, there is no theft or fraud between the two parties, which is clearly what this legislation is designed to cover.

7.—(1) A person who dishonestly, with the intention of making a gain for himself or herself or another, or of causing loss to another, by any deception obtains services from another is guilty of an offence.

(my emphasis)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭John arse

Would they kill you when they find you though??????😝

I actually know the guards personally and from talking to them it would appear to be fairly common in the force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭NATLOR

Hi freeloading scum here and been so for 15 years 😇

Had my broadband upgraded recently and the Vodafone engineer was that impressed with my set up that he also became a freeloading scum 😁

This thread is comedy gold keep it going lads 👍

Any Sergeants or Inspectors? This could be the next big scandal up there with the Penalty Points. Very serious stuff when Gardai are paying over money to criminal gangs.

That would be an ecumenical matter father

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,326 ✭✭✭jj880

I'll shake hands with you. Unite the freeloading scum clans! Got 500Mb in myself a couple months ago. 4k HDR sports and movies flying now better than ever on my TOX3 box.

Visited my non techy neighbour who needed some help casting to his projector a few weeks back. Low and behold he has the same package as me on firestick! Oh how we laughed! Small world! 🤣

Yeah its all joking matter here though.

With people who are lawyers, IT Specialists and TV rights experts and know better than anyone else.

You shouldn't argue with idiots as they drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

They don't need to prosecute everyone. Who knows they might shutdown a fly by night service who hast taken security precautions and go after them to scare other people off IPTV.

The lack of action by broadcasters is probably an indication that illegal IPTV streaming is not that much of a problem for them.

The last rights deal, even though the EPL made some small changes that could be viewed as a reaction to illegal streaming was not the sale as some thought it might be.

Plus Sky subscription numbers are actually going up in the last few years.

I have a regular Sky subscription and last year I paid E15 a month on Now for Sky Sports during the EPL season.

This year I'm thinking of getting a dodgy box for the sports, but I'll still keep the Sky subscription.

I'll get more sports for cheaper that way.

So if you take me as an example Sky are only losing my E15 a month Now subscription, which they were giving me at a discount anyway.

So by me getting a dodgy box they will lose feck all.

The mass exedous from Sky subscriptions to dodgy boxes is still a long way away.

There is a big cohort that are afraid of prosecution so stick with Sky, Now etc.

Have to agree with the above. Its far from a rampant IPTV takeover of the nation from what Ive seen in my area. The legit providers are still making plenty from those who are not prepared to make the jump to IPTV (yet).

The problem of moving away from Sky in Ireland is that the alternative (legal) route is relatively messy.

You need a antenna for RITE/Virgin Media, and a satellite for everything else.

You need a box that will take both and then a HDD etc for recording.

Sky has all that in a very functional box and has been offering that service for decades.

People aren't afraid of prosecutions, they are afraid of getting all their TV from a service that could go dark at any moment and that they have zero customer rights if it does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭dubrov

Yes I believe they don't keep logs because they are incentivised not to do so. If it leaked logs were being kept, bye bye business. Plus storage costs. These are companies with a global infrastructure and aren't subject to any one law enforce.

Vpns can fail but that results in a failed connection, not a leak. I didn't even know what a VPN leak is.

Of course, if the incentive was there, law enforcement could eventually seize certain VPN servers, get your IP from the logs, link it to you via an ISP and then try and prove in a court of law that you bought a service knowing it streamed pirated content. Copyright holders have long abandoned this course of action due to cost and low probability of success.

If every Garda station has a "large proportion" of members paying organised crime gangs for cheap TV, there is every possibility of this thing blowing up on them. Especially as some of them seem to be loudmouths who can't keep their crime spree to themselves. Some falling out between members in a station could prompt an aggrieved party to turn into a revenge seeking "whistle blower". Cue a Maurice McCabe type scandal, and GSOC having a field day. It was fairly low level stuff that eventually led to the resignation of the Minister for Justice and the Garda Commissioner.

"Maurice McCabe was a Garda Sergeant, who came to national attention as a whistleblower on corruption within the Garda Síochána, Ireland's national police force. During the early 2000s, he served as sergeant-in-charge at the Garda station in BailieboroughCounty Cavan. McCabe had expressed a number of concerns during his time as station sergeant. Incidents included off-duty Gardaí attempting to deal with a suicide situation, gardaí making use of unmarked Garda vehicles while off duty, and issues regarding the number of hours gardaí were actually working. McCabe lodged multiple complaints about slipping police standards in Bailieborough and the lack of initiative of several gardaí."

Only 2 weeks ago I was talking to someone who wouldn't get a "dodgy box" for fear of illegality. Now he was around my age and not a technophobe by any means. Id wager the older you go the more you would see your scenario. As for rights Id say rights v cost is the obvious balance. 2 years now for me so far with maybe a couple days downtime. If my provider disappeared in the morning Id chance another. All guesswork of course. Not like we can point to some stats / surveys to back up our surmising.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

Watching the Olympics on RTE on my fire stick.

I was watching on the rte player but it kept buffering and the picture is sh1t.

Working perfectly on the fire stick.

I have to pay rte a licence fee to watch their crap player that never works properly, never mind financing their barter payments they pay to some of their staff.

Freeloading scum.

https://m.independent.ie/opinion/comment/rte-sent-dozens-of-132-boxes-of-macarons-to-advertisers-on-same-day-as-725m-public-bailout/a1387442378.html

Each macaron had an RTÉ logo imprinted on the shell. They were sent out on Wednesday, while the Coalition was signing off on an unprecedented three-year multi-annual public funding of €725m.

The €160 TV licence for every household was also retained.

The anecdote about the queen of France during the French revolution is cited as an example of an elite being oblivious of the daily lives of ordinary people.

RTÉ says the timing of the gifts had “no connection to the funding announcement” and was a “thank you for your support of RTÉ’s Olympics coverage”.

Remember RTÉ are socially acceptable freeloading scum. Social contract and laws are for us mugs.

• Registered Users Posts: 704 ✭✭✭rodders999

My 2 year contract with eir is up next week. Been bullet proof with the fire stick and the work from home but the price crept up from €50 a month to €62 per month so it’s good night from me.

Any providers a “bandit” should avoid? I don’t want to tempt fate just as the football season is about to start. Does any provider throttle IPTV streaming?

Sky doing 1mb for €30 a month which would be a serious saving for me but just wondering if there could be any negative consequences to my IPTV - especially from them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,921 ✭✭✭DopeTech

https://www.buymeacoffee.com/dopetech.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭Scottie99

• Registered Users Posts: 704 ✭✭✭rodders999

Nice one! Think I’ll take the plunge at that price. (1GB I should have said - reckon I’d struggle on a mb 😉)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,824 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Most people pay with regular PayPal,Revolut or Debit/Credit cards. These are surely way more straightforward for the law to trace than other methods...if they ever wanted to go down this route but they simply don't have the resources to go after and successfully prosecute individuals. It's not just Garda time that gets tied up, it's everyone in the chain. It is far more beneficial to go after the providers from a rights owners perspective.

There are literally dozens of more important laws in this country that aren't being enforced so I don't see how this one suddenly goes up the priorities list.

Be tough to beat that price. I went for 500Mb from digiweb for 35 per month and cant complain. Football matches not a problem. They have a generous package of VOIP minutes inlcuded to Ireland and UK landline + mobiles which I needed so might be worth a look if you need similar and its not included with Sky.

I do recall some Sky Broadband customers having throttling issues on this thread maybe 6/12 months ago. Maybe theyve been resolved since.

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭dubguy45

What are Digiweb like to deal with. Asked them a couple of questions on Facebook and never got an answer. Cheers.