Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Olympic Games Paris 2024 - AH Thread [Thread banned posters listed in first post.]

• Registered Users Posts: 8,575 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

As was said:

Her second interview was much better

You'd feel, that interviewers were instructed not to "mention the war" and that Kellie was very wary of having it even tangentially mentioned, or even having to go there in her replies.

Which is fair enough, but mentioning she went to a dark place, and not explicitly saying why, ...it kinda leaves the internet bullies off for what they've done

**** hell like....

... it's MASSIVE for us...!!!

Watching it, the first could have gone either way. The the third could have gone either way, I think the second was Harringtons, but that won't win her the fight....

• Registered Users Posts: 16,606 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Yeah the problem was Thomas beat her fair and square and she was a sore loser about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 31,942 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I'm hoping this comment moves us on to the next page

• Registered Users Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭Ceepo

But surely the fighters fighting in the gold medal fight is "another" fight as both of them boxed the semi finals also

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭ledwithhedwith

you cant ask boxers who have just lost to fight again. They are much more likely to be injured. It’s idiotic. Funnily enough Conlans lads had to pull out after that robbery of a judging performance.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

Not too dissimilar to the Jamaicans Then….apart from one of them who a large proportion of people just don’t want to face reality about…😀

• Registered Users Posts: 16,690 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

OTB trying to play up Kellie's victory now. So slimy. Delighted she got the gold and silenced the begrudgers.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,391 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Irish in Olympics action on Wednesday:

08:00 - Stephanie Meadows (Golf Round 1)
    09:39 - Sarah Lavin (110m Hurdles Heat 4)
    10:30 - Brian Fay (5000m Heat 2)
    10:48 - Jack Woolley (Taekwondo R16)
    11:03 - Mark English (800m Heat 2)
    11:17 - Leona Maguire (Golf Round 1)
    11:45 - Sophie O’Sullivan (1500m Rep 1)
    11:47 - Sarah Healy (1500m Rep 2)
    12:13 - Finn Lynch (Sailing Dinghy Final)
    19:45 - Rhasidat Adeleke (400m SF 1)

I appreciate its repost but just in case people missed it. Lot people asking about Woolley in particular.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,391 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Olympics Athletics on Wednesday:

06:30 - Marathon Mixed Relay Walk
    09:05 - Men’s High Jump Quali
    09:15 - Women’s 100m Hurdles R1
    09:25 - Women’s Javelin Quali
    10:10 - Men’s 5000m R1
    10:55 - Men’s 800m R1
    11:45 - Women’s 1500m Rep

17:15 - Women’s Pole Vault Final
    18:05 - Men’s 110m Hurdles SFs
    18:15 - Men’s Triple Jump Quali
    18:35 - Men’s 400m Hurdles SFs
    19:02 - Men’s 200m SFs
    19:25 - Men’s Discus Final
    19:45 - Women’s 400m SFs
    20:20 - Men’s 400m Final
    20:43 - Men’s 3000m Steep Final

• Registered Users Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

Yep would be a game changer. No fan of the fai but they were right to highlight the money horse racing Ireland gets off the back of the betting levy. That money should be distributed between all sports not subsidising a bunch of rich landowners. It's actually scandalous

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭ledwithhedwith

oh would you cop on. You’d be giving out if they didn’t post anything about her.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,489 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

What are Jack Woolley's chances?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,225 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

they get 30000 euro funding if they are the elite of the elite. It’s not major funding. It’s it’ll have to do funding.

But the athletes don’t complain, in fairness. I’ve never heard anyone complain about the funding they got even after they retired and could say what they want. Although our esteemed journalist class never asked the likes of Sonia or Dervla o’rourke about it either after retirement.

The funding issue is more about infrastructure and facilities. Which aren’t normally at an international standard level in Ireland. A velodrome should have been built years ago but that is only one example. Generally if our athletes had to depend on facilities in Ireland they would be poorly prepared. It’s kind of like our defence budget. We depend on other countries to train our athletes/defend our sovereignty. But it’s a lot cheaper to fix sports facilities than upgrade militarily.

Despite our great rowers, we’ve never discussed hosting any European championships so we can build on their success and create a culture of young rowers for the future.

Ireland is a sporting backwater, although our people love sport and invest in it by attending events and buying raffle tickets etc., this is not matched by public investment. Governments look at sport as a source of income (through tax revenues like VAT) not something to invest in.

no doubt someone will be along to say that that’s because all the money goes to the GAA but that’s total bollocks to be honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,280 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Big ask for Lavin to progress, Needs to bust the Irish record to qualify apparently

• Registered Users Posts: 328 ✭✭Hold My Hand

I’d be hopeful. She’s a terrific championship performer

• Registered Users Posts: 614 ✭✭✭klr87

The Aussie in the 3rd heat of the 100m hurdles fell, but got up and finished in 20 seconds or so. This is where the repechage makes sense.

The strength in depth in this event is frightening. It seems there are any number of competitors with a PB of 12.5 seconds or better.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭wazzzledazzle

But it's literally her job to jump hurdles. She gets rewarded for making a bollox of it. This is why i think it should be scrapped and go back to quickest loser time.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,590 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Lovely race from Lavin to finish 2nd in her heat.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭StrawbsM

yesssssss

• Registered Users Posts: 614 ✭✭✭klr87

2nd place for Sarah, straight into the semi-finals!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭archfi

Fantastic, Lavin 2nd in her heat

The issue is never the issue; the issue is always the revolution.

The Entryism process: 1) Demand access; 2) Demand accommodation; 3) Demand a seat at the table; 4) Demand to run the table; 5) Demand to run the institution; 6) Run the institution to produce more activists and policy until they run it into the ground.

• Registered Users Posts: 31,942 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Ah damn, my stream is well behind. They haven't eve started yet

• Registered Users Posts: 14,403 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Fair fcuks to Lavin!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 69,280 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Wow Sarah!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,181 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Apparently not. First three qualify regardless of time.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭StrawbsM

• Registered Users Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

Great race from Lavin, well done

• Registered Users Posts: 328 ✭✭Hold My Hand

Super Sarah