Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,689 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,200 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

The financial problems of young people now is that most squander money for the first ten years after leaving school and then wonder why they cant afford a house. There is no more a housing problem now than there was when my age group was getting married

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭Tileman

that’s not the issue. Even the ones with money can’t get housing .

Anyway they are dead right to travel/ you only live once and they should do as much as possible before settling down and having family or concentrating on career.
    wish I had done more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,200 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

If they had sense, they'd have a house, If they don't travel they have litters of children before they're 25, they can't have it both ways. I know parents that won't let them back once they leave home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Suckler

If you ignore all the facts and wish to engage in a 'bloody youth of today rant' then yeah you're dead right……

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,865 ✭✭✭Odelay

Lord bless. The days when you could buy a site for €5k and whack up a bungalow. Do you think the building, planning, county council fees, tightening of cash for direct labour, VAT and other regulation have not changed ever so slightly since then?

• Registered Users Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Jack98

I have a friend who just left for Sydney traveling across Asia for 3 months first now, out of college 2 years and was on 65k this past year and 55k in his first year with all accomodation paid for by company and company vehicle and fuel card, he got a loan from credit union of a couple of k to make sure he had 10k in the bank when he left. I was in shock when he said he’d to get a loan to make sure he’d 10k when he was leaving he went on a load of holidays the past two years but Jesus where did that money go when his only expense during the weeks working was feeding himself.

There is very few my age (mid 20s) left around, I’m still living at home and have no intention heading off to aus did a fair share of traveling and living abroad in my college years. I’m paying into a pension since I started working after college that the company match and saving a considerable amount every month while paying towards a land loan also.
    I don’t think any of the young people who couldn’t save money here will do any better abroad even though a lot do work they’d never dream of doing here abroad, most are only going for the lifestyle for a few years but by the time they’re home they’ll be trying to start a career 5 years later than those who stayed.

My two cents

Sure young wans just spend it all on avacados and take away coffee….

• Registered Users Posts: 2,307 ✭✭✭green daries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,907 ✭✭✭straight

I could have written that exact comment 20 years ago. Mid 40's now... Travelled loads over a few weeks every year but kept the job and kept saving away. It all paid off in the end.

There was some amount of girls doing traffic control in Nz/Aus when I visited. They wouldn't dream of doing it here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Came home home at 25 started a trade will be mid next year again im fully signed off due to lack of training facilities. Saved a nice bit the first 2 years due to Covid then had about a years run of bad luck/college/flatweeks and spent the back end of laat year trying to make up for that and was near burnout due to it. Came back from the second block of college a month ago and got given (hadnt to ask and not entitled to it) the qualified rate since then. Finally bacķ on track now and off to college in January again gonna put the head down till then plenty of OT on offer at the minute, i still get a shock when i see the payslip these last few weeks ive schoolmates with degrees not getting a smell of it. Fair enough there not broke up and not doing savage commuting either. Still reckon Australia is still on the cards when im qualified as even though the moneys great here at the moment i just cant see myself making a go of it here, ill be 31 about when i get back out there at this rate so im still young enough to get going over there too.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,143 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Went down to the Fleadh in Wexford Monday and Tuesday, we went up around Wicklow on Tuesday evening and Wednesdy. Back to work yesterday, I was fencing away and tripped over a stone the size of a golf ball yesterday evening and ended up spraining my ankle. Hobbling around on crutches since yesterday evening. I'm lucky i have someone with me to milk and my dad can look after the stock

I've a second cousin who is a doctor in his thirties wife has a good job in her thirties . They have no car no house no savings worth talking about .......they have bought a flat abroad two months ago in wife's home country..... his father had to pay the deposit his brother and sisters cannot fathom what they have done with their money...… there only commitment is a cat ....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭older by the day

And the worse thing about it is that, anyone who will see you on crutches will think you strained yourself fighting or was langers, at the Fleadh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

I remember watching some financial guru on Youtube talking about why people were short of money. He put it down to one or a combination of 3 things. "Too much house, too much car or too much lifestyle". I have to say it struck a chord with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,634 ✭✭✭roosterman71

They're snorting it.

Had it near me too. Young lad, brains to burn. Did college, masters, doctorite. Was working and lecturing then part time. Parents were telling me he was pulling in over 100k/year. Lived at home. Didn't go wild on pints on the weekend. Had no partner. No car - used the train to Dublin or borrowed the mothers. Mother got a goo at his bank balance one day and couldn't understand why there was so little in it and lots of cash withdrawals. He's in an addiction centre now and apparently owes a fortune to dealers.

Post edited by roosterman71 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭enricoh

Was a site engineer in Dublin during the Celtic tiger. Outta college on e500 a week. Had to fold off the payslips off printer yoke n fold em n hand out to the lads Friday mornings.

Being of an inquisitive nature I'd have a goo at who was making what! Lads on a grand a week and they'd be looking for a sub off me on Tuesday!

Any of the foreign lads or lads off farms were good with cash- sandwiches with them etc. The dubs were unbelievable, they couldn't spend it quick enough!

There was more drugs sold on that site on a Friday morning than any nightclub in the country. Lads heading home the weekend n taking orders for half the village.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭148multi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,748 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

If i had my time again I would like something like an Ice Road Trucker, Oil rigs in Africa or Wildlife Vet(with heli licence) in same. Something like 6months on, 6 months off. Think I'd rather die young then do a 9-5 office gig with commuting into Dublin - grim, grim, grim !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

See it myself on the site im on the fellas from more rural/farming stock are way more steady. Not just the dubs but fellas from smaller country towns with us would be fairly bad cases at times bumming smokes on Tuesday mornings as they havent a bean left till Wednesday night, one fella nearly had a breakdown one week our wages were a day later than usual same fella is living with mammy mid 30s and would surely clear €900ish most weekd. Gave up buying lunches myself too this year makes a noticeable difference each week. Online gambling is a big thing on our site too, id have the odd flutter myself or enter the odd competition but one fella told us he was down over €3k on one weekend alone backing horses.

Better living everyone

I worked on an oil refinery in Iraq, the guys did 4 week rotations. Worked well; some missed xmas/weddings/birthdays etc. but seemed to take the rough with the smooth and loved it. Then it was moved to 6+2 weeks off. Now that was rough. You work 7 days a week 12-14 hours a day for 6 weeks, two weeks wasn't enough. Lads generally spent 2-3 days of the 14 off travelling.

A fantastic experience to have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,852 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Adeleke running at 7 folks. 400m final.

'If I ventured in the slipstream, Between the viaducts of your dream'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,151 ✭✭✭zetecescort

After the heats she will be up against it for a medal but top 5 would be brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

She looks relaxed and confident, Hope she does well.

4th, brilliant from Adeleke given the standard of the others runners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

Who interviewed her from RTE after the race? She was devastated to begin with - he has to be commended for that interview.

David Gillick. former athlete doing commentary for RTE. Did a great interview with Sarah Lavin earlier today too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,689 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Apart from all the ads rte have had great commentators, Rob heffernan and Derval o rourke very good too.