Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia-Ukraine War (Threadbanned in op)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Russia is such a huge land mass that sowing the fear we would like is not likely in the main cities my concern about this move is can Ukraine cause as much damage as possible but be able to get out without losing their soldiers who must be the more elite ones on this mission .Have Ukraine enough resources to keep fighting on the move hopefully so .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,441 ✭✭✭embraer170

It would be great to them make it to Kursk, or at least the road and railway junction south of the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭thatsdaft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,050 ✭✭✭RGARDINR

I know it's a bit random. Russia must of paid up front for these. You would think 🇮🇷 ran would want to keep them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭rogber

This is the key task and question and still too early to tell. If they hold territory or inflict massive damage and escape it'll be seen as masterstroke.

On the other hand, if hundreds or thousands of elite soldiers get captured or killed it'll be seen as a big mistake and huge blow to morale.

Hopefully it'll be scenario 1, but who knows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,494 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

• Registered Users Posts: 711 ✭✭✭scottser

Anybody got a link to a list of potential Russian military and strategic targets within missile range of Kursk?

They're not fukin about, I'd expect UA to absolutely cripple Russian logistics while they're there.

To be fair, the Iranian government need manners put on them. The Iranian people however are golden. Decent, lovely people who, to a man would tell you they hate their regime as much as we do.

Post edited by scottser on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Tbf about 20% of the population are religious extremists which the government need their support to exist. But the majority don't seem to fond of the brutal islamic dictatorship.

• Registered Users Posts: 180 ✭✭Roald Dahl

I'm feeling very upbeat about Ukraine's jaunt into Mordor.

The Russians have nothing left. I'm certain of it.

The first sign of their utter uselessness was long before the invasion of Ukraine, during the Battle of Khasham of 2018. A gang of 500 Wagnerites and their Syrian lackeys attacked a base with 40 Americans. The Americans couldn't quite believe the stupidity and responded by annihilating them. It is thought that Prigozhin ordered the attack in response to being indicted some days before in the US for election interference.

They say 200 of of them were killed, the Russian and Syrian accounts of course play down the figure. Exactly zero Americans were injured.

We then see the Special Military Operation of 2022 and the shambolic attempt to capture Kyiv Airport, the disastrous convoy of junk on the way to Kyiv, the extermination of the 1st Guards Tank Army and the other "elite" regiments. Then came Prigozhin's unhindered drive towards Moscow, which showed how exposed and vulnerable Russia is internally.

On top of that, their hardware has been proven to be absolutely rubbish.

Essentially, by three days in it was already looking like their invasion would not succeed. Their military is only good at murdering unarmed civilians, in fact they are quite excellent at that, but they are of use to neither man nor beast when it comes to taking on a well-trained and modern army.

They have now nothing in the way of military capability left. They have plenty of OMON, Rosgvardia and Putin's own personal little army, but these craven stay-at-home curs are only good for harassing civilians and will be seen nowhere near the front lines. They will no doubt be used to round up entire villages when full mobilisation is declared, drive them to the battlefield and form blocking units to prevent the retreat of those unfortunate devils.

Putin has massively overplayed his hand, due to his uncontrolled arrogance and lack of intelligence. A fool who overestimates himself and underestimates others, he never once thought that he could also be attacked by Ukraine. It is thankfully a long time since people have referred to him as a 4D chess master. I always thought of him as nothing but a coarse thug, more like the shadowy leader of a gang of child pickpockets than a statesman.

It is over for Russia. It is unclear how long more it will take, but it is over.

I hope I turn out to be right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,270 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

To me it seems like they may not like the government/system of government but obviously aren't over the moon on having their country attacked because of their government, but there doesn't seem to be any near term possibility of having their system of government replaced.

My personal favourite Russian clusterfuck was marching infantry through the forests around Chernobyl and hundreds of them ending up with radiation poisoning. Honourable mention of course to the elite Akhmat forces from Chechnya who are currently displaying their ferocious capacity for surrender and a speed of retreat that is genuinely remarkable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭briany

We've predicted the imminent collapse of Russia's military before and we're still here two years later. As ever, we live in hope, but we can't do much other than see how this one pans out. Certainly an interesting and bold move from Ukraine and one that Putin or his generals don't appear to have much budgeted for. It's been the ability to surprise Russia which is one of the things that has kept Ukraine in the fight.

Given the effectiveness of this move so far, it's only a pity that Ukraine wasn't allowed to make this move sooner. Imagine if they'd feinted on last year's Summer offensive, making the same move we're seeing now. Then again, maybe the move couldn't have worked too well without the additional air support they now enjoy, but that's also something they should have been receiving well before now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,873 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

You're (still) seeing this as a bit of a mad dash for the nearest decent sized city on the other side of the border. It's far more than that: Ukraine has moved the frontline 20-30km east-ish by exploiting a weakness in local Russian defence. There's no need for them to "get out".

This is very similar to what they did back in 2022 when they managed to break through various defences and drove the Russians wayyyy back from where they were. The Russians never really recovered from that - even today, they're still desperately trying to re-take towns and villages that they previously held, and at great cost.

In addition, there have now been so many Ukrainian soldiers trained in NATO countries - and, presumably, in NATO tactics - over the last two years (not to mention their own impressive drone army) that there's little reason to believe that these raids are being carried out only by the most elite troops. At this stage, the whole army can probably be considered "elite" compared to who and what they're facing.

I would expect that we'll see more attacks at various points along the border over the coming weeks, and a lot of sideways movement, resulting in an easily defended, easily-supplied, band of occupied territory that stays under Ukrainian control for a very long time - at least until they liberate Crimea and the Azov coastal towns. That's when they can invite Putin to the negotiating table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,699 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

The FSB got the former director of the MIG fighter jet plant thrown in jail for what they say giving information to a former ukrainian partner and giving MIG replacement parts to Ukraine in 2022 when Putin decided he'd like to play soldiers in Ukraine.

Ouch. Even your innovators and who you depend on for your military hardware, think Putin is a dick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,712 ✭✭✭amandstu

Is there a chance that ,if Ukraine holds an area of territory in Russia for a decent length of time that the population (if it remains in place) will turn around and say "Could we stay in Ukraine ?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭briany

Doubtful. I would certainly hope that the Ukrainian soldiers do not brutalise Russian civilians the way that Russian soldiers have done to Ukrainian civilians, but I don't think they're going to turn that pocket of Russian territory into Lviv either.

Ukraine don't need to hold that territory. They just need to obliterate the airfields, munitions dumps and supply routes that accommodate glide bombs, missile and drone attacks which are used on Ukranian civilian infrastructure while they're there. If they wanted to, they could sweep southwards knocking out Russian defences from behind their own lines and reclaim the occupied regions as they go. With any luck they could finish off with the mother and father of all fireworks displays by taking out the Kerch bridge at midnight on New Years.

Um, No. That's because Ukraine are knocking out military targets, and not children's hospitals and residential apartment blocks. Or raping women and children, torturing POWs, murdering civilians en masse or stealing property.

Cnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,712 ✭✭✭amandstu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,544 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Ukraine in one week captured as much of Russia as they did of Ukraine for the first half of 2024.

Away from the battlefield, a sad reminder of how war brutalises men and as always women pay the price for it. One more reason to get Russia off Ukrainian territory and end the war as soon as possible

Daft thought but maybe the Russians won’t so readily surrender if they were treated better by their own?

Meanwhile it sounds like FSB have also been bumped off the command of the counter attack (as have the army) and control given to an old Putin bodyguard, awaiting confirmation.

White House offers a solution

Today on “ordinary Russians are not responsible”

At first, Ilchenko was kept in Melitopol for several weeks and tortured together with other prisoners. According to RSF, the Russian military connected electrodes to the genitals of the prisoners and intimidated them with staged executions.

"This is the first time, in nearly forty years of defending journalism, that RSF has documented a journalist, blogger or whistleblower subject to total slavery and forced to participate in a war effort against their own country," said RSF head of investigation desk Arnaud Froger.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Paddigol

Your obsession with these random 'ordinary russians' posts is as odd as that fella who's obsessed with deporting Ukrainians back to the war. It's up there with the fellas in the other immigration threads who post random links to offences committed by asylum seekers to try and convince everyone that there'll all as bad as each other. It's a bit weird.

The meme that Russians are not responsible for all the atrocities being carried out by Russians needs a garlic stained stake driven through its heart

It is not Putin who is single handedly carrying out all of these atrocities and prosecuting this war

But so called salt of the earth “ordinary Russians”

BTW Russians to this day blame all Germans for the atrocities they committed during WW2 and put a blind eye on the raping and pillaging their own lads did all they way to Berlin

Let’s say Putin is killed tomorrow and the war and atrocities continue, what then? You put the blame on the new guy on top and wave away all the millions who “are just carrying out orders”?

What do you have to say about the thousands of Russians in prison or on trial who actually did protest the war? The lawyers who defend those people in court? Are they guilty too in your eyes? Lack of differentiation is always borne of hatred and reveals a lot about the person propagating it

Trump's latest comment in the war:

“Russia defeated Germany with us, and they defeated Napoleon. You know, they’ve been around a long time. They’re a big fighting force, and it’s very unfair … We’re in a very bad position. And I’m not going to blame, exclusively, but I can tell you, I could have stopped that."

Fingers crossed for Harris....

Those are clearly a minority of extraordinary Russians

The majority of “ordinary Russians” are too busy and too happy committing crimes in meantime, as Putin can’t single handedly be everywhere all at once in person to himself pull the triggers or connect torture equipment to genitals in person or push people out of windows or assault own soldiers or rape prisoners

The meme that most Russians are passive observers three years into this war is by now bordering on a joke