Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

150KTubs - future career in Virgin Radio and other soulful pursuits **Mod: Read OP**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,897 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Just reading stories today that on the day Rte had to get an 725m government bailout, they were sending €132 boxes od macaroons to advertisers, shows how out of touch the organisation is.

Had Tubs returned the 150k, he'd have been able to distance himself from those folk, and appear a man of the people again, but he missed his chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭nonetheless

Vogue covering for Tubridy again this week

I take it that Ryan is showing off and being smug. There is now way that leg belongs to Vogue.

Having a few reconciliation drinks with Kevin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,414 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Ryan Tubridy has 503,000 listeners on Virgin Radio UK with his audience swelling 10 per cent between his first and second quarters on air, according to the first listenership figures for his show on the Rupert Murdoch-owned station.

I don't really get the significance of these figures and can't see the full article but I'm sure some of you professional tubridologists can provide the context…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,439 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Bit of a BooBoo 😂.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭mountain

it means Tubs is a great fella and the step up to senior hurling has been a success

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,181 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

I see Vouge is covering for Ryan again, she's even got her owm Jingle...

https://m.independent.ie/entertainment/radio/vogue-williams-could-use-some-of-livelines-callers-as-she-keeps-ryan-tubridys-seat-warm/a1024357171.html

"the total population in the RAJAR figures is always updated every Q2; and this year, it includes data from the 2021 Census, so it’s changed quite a lot. Particularly, Q2’s data says that there are now 1.3mn more adults than there were in Q1"

Everyone is "up" and our JNLR's may indicate a similar trend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,757 ✭✭✭RoTelly

I think it is interesting that the Irish Time ran a story about this a week after these had been released.

TBH the journalist, honestly she's the biggest palmaser in the Irish Times in relation to broadcasting and media, she rare has a bad word to say.

Presenter welcomes 10% audience climb in his second quarter on Virgin Radio UK, far surpassing his peak RTÉ listenership

far surpassing his peak RTÉ listenership, you'd hope so, he's working in a much bigger country.

And she out does herself in the article no more that what you might get from Evoke or Her or Joe.

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭argentum

Well done to all the people on here who complain about him but listen every day .I'm sure that Q102 will increase their figures too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭fplfan12345

I haven’t been keeping tabs on this story.

Has he paid back the money he owes the Irish tax payer yet, like he said he would, or was that a lie ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭z80CPU
    Darth Randomer

You just forgot to put the [SARCASM] tags between the last sentence? 🙂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Paterson Jerins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,450 ✭✭✭yagan

The only thing worse than being talked about is not being talked about.

Yet for barterboy circumvented backhanders will be all that will be evoked whenever he pops his bobblehead up.

At best a less hated Bertie ahern.

https://evoke.ie/2024/08/11/news/ryan-tubridy-riots-common An Interesting quote from that article:

"Do you mind if I ask you about x, y or z?’ I’d be happy to shoot the breeze"

https://x.com/Risemelbourne/status/1653156124072476673?t=PAFRN0IGtWjQwg1fr1osgg&s=08

A perfect scenario pertaining to such a quote and a very good example of Ryan shooting the breeze 🙂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

Yes, Tubridy should have stopped and conversed with those towering intellects.

But he didn't. And then posts an article stating different.

I don't think he said that he was happy to talk to abusive punters. I don't have a high opinion of Tubridy, but I don't think he should have to put up with that kind of sh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,473 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

You’ve said, before, that he gives you a nod when you see him. Do you think he’d stop and chat to you, if you were to “engage” him in conversation? I’d imagine he would.

Getting “accosted” by deranged conspiracy weirdos accusing you of betraying the Irish people or using adrenochrome is a different kettle of fish.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

They asked him a simple question and he walked away. Now, he has stated in his article that he would be happy to shoot the breeze. I have no problem calling him out when he disguises himself to be genuine, when in reality when he is asked a question he becomes ignorant.

They started by asking how he felt about lying. That was ignorant, and it wasn't long escalating. There are many things to criticize Tubridy for, but ignoring those goons isn't one of them.

Gives me a nod? I don't know where you got that from, probably would prefer to give me a slight punch if he could manage it.

Again, Tubridy is stating that he would happily shoot the breeze but it certainly looks like if anyone out on the street were to ask him an awkward question about Coviid etc or heavens forbid his role in the RTE payments scandal, his standard response would be to ignore them and walk away. But my point is that he should really be honest about how he would really react to such a situation but as evidence suggests, he is not.

Ok, but he’s, somewhat, aware of you.

I’ll happily shoot the breeze with anyone but, obviously, it’s not really “shooting the breeze” if some random oddballs come at you about staying within the covid guidelines or getting vaccinated.

No one is going to hang around too long with that. Didn’t Pat Kenny have a similar interaction while out walking his dog?

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

It doesn't matter how they started the conversation, if he has nothing to hide it should be no problem to him. He could easily waffle, that should be no problem for him.

Why do you think that it doesn't matter how they started the conversation? Do you think that if he had stopped to talk to them, they would have turned into people capable of having a civilized exchange of views? For how long do you think he should have engaged with them?

Again, you have lost me as to how Tubridy maybe aware of me. He doesn't read this thread.

You can gloss over the meaning of his statement to your hearts content but in reality if Tubridy were to be confronted publicly even from a lighthearted non threatening perspective, he would run away.

Response to Brian Scan:

How do you know? From what I can see he was in a public shop equipped with CCTV. He could have answered the question and left it at that.

.…

Then he really shouldn't state something of that nature.

How do I know what?

He could have answered the question, but why should he? They were rude from the off, and they were recording the exchange.

Response to Brian Scan:

Again, how do you know?

Again the second time I will say to you, he could of simply answered the question and moved on.

What was the problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,450 ✭✭✭yagan

To what are you referring when you are asking me how I know?

He could have answered the question, but it was framed in a hostile manner and they were recording him.

He is a public figure and again if he has nothing to hide he should be capable of giving an answer even if he believes that the person asking the question may have been rude to him as to the way that they implied the question. He should not state that he would happily shoot the breeze with anyone ESPECIALLY in the context of personal attacks when he is not prepared to do so.

Again, it is nonsensical for you to attempt to deflect this. Whether it's a shop, a restaurant or a car park is irrelevant. Remember, HE is the one that stated this in the first instance. If he believes or assumes that anyone asking a question is a 'unhinged weirdo' as you put it - then don't make those type of statements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,942 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Not a particular fan of Tubridy, but he's under no obligation to talk to people if they come up to him of their own accord in the street. The same as any other public figure IMO.

From the article you quoted:

"Now, I talk to anyone who stops to say hello but when it’s rude or plain stupid, it’s hard to respect that attitude. If the same guy stopped and said, ‘Do you mind if I ask you about x, y or z?’ I’d be happy to shoot the breeze."

He said he would be happy to stop and shoot the breeze with someone who asked if he minded being asked about x, y or z. The citizen journalists in the shop didn't fall into that category. I think that the second sentence quoted qualified the first.

Do you honestly think if you were to approach Ryan Tubridy regarding a question about the RTE payments scandal or COVID-19 that he would happily shoot the breeze with you? More importantly would you ask him such a question?

What I might or might not do is irrelevant here.

You called Tubridy out for not engaging with a rude man in a shop, citing something Tubridy had said in an article, which you interpreted as meaning that he would talk to anyone no matter how obnoxious that person might be.. I disagreed with you and tried to explain why.

If I were to put a question to him, I would ask it in a polite manner. However I'm not particularly interested in his opinions, so it's unlikely that I would question him

I tell you one thing if RTÉ had need an expert in 1980s Japanese Quantitative easing, Marty would have been in with his CV. Especially if it came with a nice Japanese import!

______

Yesterday

Thank you for your answer, irrelevant being absolutely correct but you did not fully answer my question. Although I cannot help but to believe in your opinion that any citizen journalist would not fall into that accepted category. I find it amazing how you state that you are not interested but yet in a previous post you attempted to nitpick one of mine 😊

incorrect quote sorry Brian Scan

______

Yesterday

Have to say Bob: I have had one very small interaction with Mr Tubs and to be honest he came across as a typical wanta be centre of attention type, it was an odd situation, random-ish. I happened to ending up sitting with him at an RTÉ autumn event a few years back.

He made a crack and I followed on with it, now in no way were either of use in a position to suggest either thing stated was funny, but at the same time he was hugely dismissive in a real child-like manner to someone he didn't know and had never meet and I was in no way being rude. (because sadly I am a genuine enough person and really didn't mind, I did find it to be a bit "you won't be my ever be my friend ever" type of thing). Similar meeting that day with another not so famous presenter who seems to spend her life on twitter giving out about everything, though in this instance I just wanted to say thank you, so I said "I emailed you about a project that I did in college when you were working for x company, just want to say thank you", and she said nothing just looked at me as if to say "who are you? what do you mean stopping me".

However, Tara Loughery Grant was great and seems like a genuine person, and I'd say she's helped a lot of people out in the industry. So who knows, also Catherine Thomas seem nice enough.

But I could have easily got them all wrong. But I am sure they are all fine, and really a kind of a non-interactions with each.

BTW just for clarity I asked to go to the event to see what it was about, I'd been doing a college course in TV and had some contacts, I won't ever get to one of those again, I also went to a TV3 one, and may I say a full day of absolute shiterary in Ballymount. Every programme to be shown and many that only existed in people's heads. They may have said they were going to read Ulysses in full over 2 weeks.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭mountain

citizen journalists are at best idiots, in most cases racist p ricks.

In fairness to Tubs, if he’s out and about I’d imagine he would be friendly to people, a nod and “how’s it going”,

To expect him to engage with random headcases about covid and vaccines etc, is not acceptable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭hawley

Had a similar experience with him. Met him in Cork City centre years ago when he was doing an outside broadcast. Was with two other women who saw him and stopped him to talk. He was virtually crawling on the floor before them but made a couple of snarky remarks about me. I didn't bother saying anything in return. He came across as being a very disingenuous and conceited man. Nothing decent or honest about him just completely self obsessed and selfish.

Nothing decent or honest about him just completely self obsessed and selfish.

Could not have been phrased any better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,276 ✭✭✭leath_dub

I 100% agree with this. There is no such thing as a citizen journalist. Anyone who describes themselves as a "citizen journalist" deserves nothing but contempt. Almost invariably troublemakers, morons and/or rabble rousers

"Almost invariably troublemakers, morons and/or rabble rousers"

But then again I could also have the same opinion of folks who troll this thread, but I don't.

That’s some audacity you got there, B. Sitebanned, at least, twice and you still come back.