Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

150KTubs - future career in Virgin Radio and other soulful pursuits **Mod: Read OP**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

How do I know what?

He could have answered the question, but why should he? They were rude from the off, and they were recording the exchange.

• Registered Users Posts: 171 ✭✭nonetheless

Response to Brian Scan:

Again, how do you know?

Again the second time I will say to you, he could of simply answered the question and moved on.

What was the problem?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭yagan

To what are you referring when you are asking me how I know?

He could have answered the question, but it was framed in a hostile manner and they were recording him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭Bobson Dugnutt

If someone came up to you in a shop and started ranting at you about vaccinations and lockdown would you stand around and get into a debate with them? Especially when there’s so many unhinged weirdos around. Look at all the lads getting lifted for sending threats to politicians. Better off to ignore and move on. Also, as I said, he’s under no obligation to do anything. He might be running to catch a bus, meet a friend, or simply doesn’t want to chat.

He is a public figure and again if he has nothing to hide he should be capable of giving an answer even if he believes that the person asking the question may have been rude to him as to the way that they implied the question. He should not state that he would happily shoot the breeze with anyone ESPECIALLY in the context of personal attacks when he is not prepared to do so.

Under no obligation to do so, despite what you think.

None whatsoever. Same goes for the Taoiseach out with his family for a Sunday picnic, Brian O’Driscoll coming out of Brown Thomas etc.

Public figures don’t owe you their time.

Again, it is nonsensical for you to attempt to deflect this. Whether it's a shop, a restaurant or a car park is irrelevant. Remember, HE is the one that stated this in the first instance. If he believes or assumes that anyone asking a question is a 'unhinged weirdo' as you put it - then don't make those type of statements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Not a particular fan of Tubridy, but he's under no obligation to talk to people if they come up to him of their own accord in the street. The same as any other public figure IMO.

From the article you quoted:

"Now, I talk to anyone who stops to say hello but when it’s rude or plain stupid, it’s hard to respect that attitude. If the same guy stopped and said, ‘Do you mind if I ask you about x, y or z?’ I’d be happy to shoot the breeze."

He said he would be happy to stop and shoot the breeze with someone who asked if he minded being asked about x, y or z. The citizen journalists in the shop didn't fall into that category. I think that the second sentence quoted qualified the first.

I’m sure he’s more than happy to oblige if some kid wants a photo or there’s a bunch of women in the smoking area who want a selfie with him. Heard he’s a very nice man.

He’s under no obligation to do so though. Or to stay and answer questions by some overweight freak who travelled up from the country with his bus pass hoping to bump into him. The internet has turned a lot of what would have been just old fashioned oddballs and weirdos into something far more sinister. Some lad with thick glasses roaring about Covid and the WEF. Nah, pick up your smokes and your paper and walk out the door.

Do you honestly think if you were to approach Ryan Tubridy regarding a question about the RTE payments scandal or COVID-19 that he would happily shoot the breeze with you? More importantly would you ask him such a question?

What I might or might not do is irrelevant here.

You called Tubridy out for not engaging with a rude man in a shop, citing something Tubridy had said in an article, which you interpreted as meaning that he would talk to anyone no matter how obnoxious that person might be.. I disagreed with you and tried to explain why.

If I were to put a question to him, I would ask it in a polite manner. However I'm not particularly interested in his opinions, so it's unlikely that I would question him

like asking Marty Morrissey about his thoughts on quantitative easing policy in 1980’s Japan.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭RoTelly

I tell you one thing if RTÉ had need an expert in 1980s Japanese Quantitative easing, Marty would have been in with his CV. Especially if it came with a nice Japanese import!

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

Thank you for your answer, irrelevant being absolutely correct but you did not fully answer my question. Although I cannot help but to believe in your opinion that any citizen journalist would not fall into that accepted category. I find it amazing how you state that you are not interested but yet in a previous post you attempted to nitpick one of mine 😊

There’s no such thing as a citizen journalist. It’s usually some angry middle-aged loser who got addicted to the internet in the early 2000’s and went down a rabbit hole of conspiracy theories, gonzo porn and American culture wars.

Same as there isn’t citizen surgeons, citizen pilots or citizen power station operators.

incorrect quote sorry Brian Scan

______

Yesterday

Have to say Bob: I have had one very small interaction with Mr Tubs and to be honest he came across as a typical wanta be centre of attention type, it was an odd situation, random-ish. I happened to ending up sitting with him at an RTÉ autumn event a few years back.

He made a crack and I followed on with it, now in no way were either of use in a position to suggest either thing stated was funny, but at the same time he was hugely dismissive in a real child-like manner to someone he didn't know and had never meet and I was in no way being rude. (because sadly I am a genuine enough person and really didn't mind, I did find it to be a bit "you won't be my ever be my friend ever" type of thing). Similar meeting that day with another not so famous presenter who seems to spend her life on twitter giving out about everything, though in this instance I just wanted to say thank you, so I said "I emailed you about a project that I did in college when you were working for x company, just want to say thank you", and she said nothing just looked at me as if to say "who are you? what do you mean stopping me".

However, Tara Loughery Grant was great and seems like a genuine person, and I'd say she's helped a lot of people out in the industry. So who knows, also Catherine Thomas seem nice enough.

But I could have easily got them all wrong. But I am sure they are all fine, and really a kind of a non-interactions with each.

BTW just for clarity I asked to go to the event to see what it was about, I'd been doing a college course in TV and had some contacts, I won't ever get to one of those again, I also went to a TV3 one, and may I say a full day of absolute shiterary in Ballymount. Every programme to be shown and many that only existed in people's heads. They may have said they were going to read Ulysses in full over 2 weeks.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭mountain

citizen journalists are at best idiots, in most cases racist p ricks.

In fairness to Tubs, if he’s out and about I’d imagine he would be friendly to people, a nod and “how’s it going”,

To expect him to engage with random headcases about covid and vaccines etc, is not acceptable

• Registered Users Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭hawley

Had a similar experience with him. Met him in Cork City centre years ago when he was doing an outside broadcast. Was with two other women who saw him and stopped him to talk. He was virtually crawling on the floor before them but made a couple of snarky remarks about me. I didn't bother saying anything in return. He came across as being a very disingenuous and conceited man. Nothing decent or honest about him just completely self obsessed and selfish.

Nothing decent or honest about him just completely self obsessed and selfish.

Could not have been phrased any better.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,794 ✭✭✭leath_dub

I 100% agree with this. There is no such thing as a citizen journalist. Anyone who describes themselves as a "citizen journalist" deserves nothing but contempt. Almost invariably troublemakers, morons and/or rabble rousers

Some lad whose wife and kids walked out on him going around sticking his phone into the face of a public representative isn't journalism. It's harassment. Not for this thread I suppose, but I mentioned in another thread we need to take a very hard line with those lads. Find out who is funding them, what Telegram groups they are on, what wider networks they are part of.

So Tubs was under no obligation to engage with those malcontents. He should have done what Heather Humphreys did when The Ditch rang her - she told them to "fúck off and leave me alone".

"Almost invariably troublemakers, morons and/or rabble rousers"

But then again I could also have the same opinion of folks who troll this thread, but I don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,891 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

That’s some audacity you got there, B. Sitebanned, at least, twice and you still come back.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

I read a tweet from a former RTÉ executive espousing similar ideas, I thought to myself does that mean RTÉ executives are citizen executives?

______

Yesterday

Keep referring to me as 'B' and you can 'B' rest assured that you are not the only one who can go to a moderator, or better still I will take it up with the head of Boards.ie ok?