Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Property Market chat II - *read mod note post #1 before posting*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

Have you any credible links/sources for your claim that a single man's wage was doubled once they were married?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,815 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

The reason why everything is more expensive In Dublin is time as well as development cost.

First on labour. How much extra would you need to be paid for a job in if you operated out of Portlaois compared to doing the sane job in Dublin? 50%.

Young lad is build a self build at present about 20 miles from Limerick city. All his trades are coming from tge side further away from Limerick city. These lads are coming from up to an hour away. They are pricing the jobs 10-30% cheaper than trades around him as they do not want to travel another hours for work.

Deliver costs for materials in Dublin are crazy. A concrete truck with conveyer did 4 loads in about 7 hours one day and tgat is including his lunch break. His return time was about 40 minutes. He be lucky to do 2-3 in Dublin in an 8 hour day.

If I am up at 5.30 am in the morning and not home untafter 7pm and if when I go to the shop for chicken roll it's 20-50 more expensive than Letrim I want to earn 50% more to do it

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭hometruths

Once again, I am not asking why everything is more expensive in Dublin. Quite the opposite.

Here are some of the questions again, simplified for clarity. Are you able to answer any of them?

• Why are site works and site development costs more expensive in Cork than in Dublin?
    • Why are fittings - kitchens, wardrobes etc - almost 100% more expensive in Leitrim than in Dublin?
    • Why are the siteworks in Leitrim almost 50% higher than in Dublin?
    • Why are finishes - painting etc - over €50k in Louth vs €26k in Dublin?
    • Why do loos and gutters cost over three times as much in Galway as in Dublin?

Site works I presume is the site work. Carried out by the builder even though it says within the site is it actually within the site. Not far from me is a village and another area not a village where there is a school, church, pub and speed limit. A builder got planning subject to him installing a sewer that was not just within his site but also to the public sewers about 3 km away in the next village. That would be an extreme example and the site was never developed.

All Dublin site works would have access to a sewer. A substantial number of developments would have house numbers in the very high hundreds. So you have some economies of scale, as well site development works for apartments are much more compact than houses which there is a substantial number in Dublin compared to elsewhere around the country

The Cork price is not just for Cork city it's also for the smalls towns and villages and for developments of single one off dwellings and small developments of anything from 2-4 houses to 10-20.

Cost for the treatment unit for my sons house will be 5k+, planing, plans and detailed house plans cost 5k the fencing, clearing and roadway will cost another 5k, electricity and water 3-4k, putting in sewers etc another couple k abd he is doing a lot of the work himself

Leitrim is probably mainly one off housing so that would account for the difference work cost, people doing one off houses tend to finish to a higher standard.

In Louth I suspect that developers may be finishingbto a higher standard, a slightly larger house than in Dublin to attract buyers from Dublin. It labour costs are probably similar to Dublin due to public transport options

Slava Ukrainii

These figures are for exactly the same spec, same finish, same size 3 bed semi, with same infrastructure on site eg mains sewage, water etc.

That's kind of the point of producing the figures, so they are comparable.

So none of your theories would explain the cost differentials.

Any other ideas?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭PeadarCo

The thing is though building a house in say the middle of Dublin and a town in Leitrim are not comparable. The specs can be the complete same but the costs required to deliver these specs can be very very different. There was an article in the independent/Irish times of residents in Dublin giving out about the building of student accommodation because of the issues with dirt and traffic caused by cement workers and the builders in general. In a rural town that's less of a concern. Again in Dublin cement trucks have to deal with more delays caused by traffic potentially requiring more trucks because of lower efficiency. In a less developed area it's not a problem. That's just one example.

There is no reason why building costs for the same housing spec should be the same across the country. Local factors impact labour and material costs.

Of course you'd expect regional differences, that's obvious and intuitive.

The point I am making the Scsi regional differences appear to be counter intuitive.

Of course I might be missing something very obvious hence why I am asking the question.

What are the local factors that you can think of that would cause the finishes on exactly the same size and spec of 3 bed semi in Louth to cost over 50k, whereas it almost half that in Dublin at 26k.

Or sanityware costs three times as much in Galway as in Dublin?

Remember this the average, most commonly built house, so the explanation must be something very obvious.

What is it?

Fairly simple as another poster mentioned houses in Louth may have a more expensive finish to attract people from Dublin. Remember the overall spec and size might be the same but elements such as finish, stuff like house hold appliances etc installed could all be different. Ultimately you would have to big into the details but the answer is going to be very boring and not some grand conspiracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,562 ✭✭✭Timing belt

ask anyone old enough if you want to verify it…ask as pay was determined based on gender and marriage status? This started to change 50 years ago but still existed (unofficially just like women were paid less despite laws being in place) into the mid 80’s and although abolished before this time it was common practice to get promoted when you got married which was another way of implementing this.

Yes it sounds crazy today but it was aligned to church goals of marriage, bread winner etc. and church had big influence so it continued in Ireland long after other countries introduced equal rights and banned such practices. Let’s not forget when a woman got married she legally had to give up her job…..I’m sure there are hundreds of sources on line as this is actual history not just some urban legend.

There is no difference in fittings and finishings, that's the whole point. It is expressly mentioned that the build costs are based on hypothetical average three bed semis of the same size and finish.

As this exchange with you and others has shown, there is no obvious explanation.

If you as a private individual had a comparable site in Dublin, Louth and Galway and were pricing the build of three houses exactly the same size and spec in each location, and your QS came back with 50k finishes in Louth vs 26k in Dublin, and sanityware three times the price in Galway as Dublin, your first instinct would be somebody was yanking your chain and massaging the figures.

The variances are so large and so counterintuitive, so seemingly implausible, at the very least you'd ask why.

But when it comes to throwing taxpayers money at the problem nobody has a issue with it. Everybody seems to think it is totally plausible.

That's also a bit baffling to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

A woman had to give up her job only if she worked in the public sector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,729 ✭✭✭RichardAnd

I can confirm some of this as I have a lot of family in the civil service. Women generally did leave after marriage up until the 80s or so. It may seems very strange to a modern eye, but to someone of the past, having both parents working whilst the children are in day care would probably seem equally strange.

They might not have had to give up there job in the private sector but the vast majority did or else worked part-time

Slava Ukrainii

There us no such thing as an exact same houses. Actually I had not completely read your orginal post, I actually taught it was actual data from actual house prices. However it hypothetical prices of hypothetical houses.

I presume these are Chartered Quantity Surveyors. Take the Northwest region how many 3 bed semi's are actually build there over the last 5 years I doubt if there was any substantial housing developments in the region. So the prices for there are a probably a guesstimate of the actual cost.

There Is a certain amount of development outside major cities like Limerick Cork and Galway. Did the CQS just look up there own cost figures and take averages. For instance in area like the NW the CQS may never be asked to cost a significant amount of site work, the developer may do that directly himself.

In Louth I woukd definitely say the level and quality of finish is to attract buyers from Dublin.

And after all that it goes back to what an Irish teacher once said about grammer rules

"the exception proves the rule"

because if you have different prices in different regions is often due to regional discrepancies.

After all my contributions maybe you can give your opinion as to why there are differences because I woukd like to hear your conspiracy theory

Slava Ukrainii

It's the SCSI. And prior to reading the post you replied "everything is more expensive In Dublin". In differing ways Dav010 and PeadarCo did the same. That's because it is intutive to assume that everything is more expensive in Dublin. That's the whole point - the SCSI are reporting somehting totally counterintuitive and nobody is even asking why.

I don't think it is some great conspiracy - they're a lobby group for vested interests trying to influence government policy, specifically keeping the taxpayers funds to bridge the affordability gap flowing.

I think the most plausible explanation is that the market is setting average house prices and developers will price them at the market will pay for them - that seems totally reasonable.

However in order to keep the taxpayers funds bridging the gap between what the average buyer can afford and the selling price the SCSI need to show the gap is caused by the build cost rather than market forces.

You can make a plausible argument for this in Dublin and much can be explained by increased land and labour costs. That's intuitive as you've shown.

But if you were to use the similiar fittings and finishes costs for Dublin in other markets eg Louth, Galway, Leitrim etc the build costs including developers margine would show no affordability gap - this would be lower than market value.

SO the obvious answer is to simply massage some of the costs to inflate the price confident that nobody will question them.

It's not a conspiracy, just the most intuitive and plausible explanation of figures that are counterintuitive and implausible.

Lobbyists will lobby, that's not a crime or a conspiracy. But when they're talking bull it should be called out for what it is.

I am open to hearing any more intuitive or plausible explanation, but to date I've yet to hear one.

You are not interested in a more intuitive explanation. You either don't like or understand the figures and have decided it's a conspiracy to keep prices high/get money from the government. Saying a lobby group is trying to deceive the government with it's report and you have no evidence (you haven't indicated that you have any specialist knowledge that would add any credibility to your vague feelings) to suggest otherwise is the definition of a conspiracy.

It's not intuitive to think things costs more in Dublin. In Dublin you have large economies of scale, you have a large workforce that have access to relatively cheap public transport(IE no need for a car). In rural areas you don't. Certain utilities are so expensive to provide in rural areas the government has to step in. It's the same for all urban areas there are large efficiencies. Living in rural areas can in many ways be more expensive than an urban area require a car etc. You also have a lower pool of labour and if you want to get stuff delivered from far away or people to come to work from far away all that will add costs. And again this is just skimming the surface of the complexity of cost of living in urban v rural areas

it also applied in the private sector…and did so long after it changed in public sector in some cases

As I have said before developers margin can be easily adjusted up or down by the price the developer pays his investment company that owns the land.

As for costs some materials etc will be cheaper in Dublin if large scale developments and can benefit from economies of scale.

Labour generally will be more expensive due to higher rents or travel costs etc. and a builder that had local work will settle for a lower price (if they have to) rather than spend 3 or 4 hours travelling everyday and paying for fuel etc.

security costs whether it’s insurance/stolen materials or cctv linked to Garda stations in Dublin and security guards present or just paying some gangsters protection money.

Cost of specialists equipment, traffic management systems, cranes, etc and health and safety where site access is tight and involves public roads and footpaths and needs staff directing traffic or working unusual hours.

I’m sure there are other costs where prices will differ but generally these will be on the finished spec of property and ensuring it fits in with existing developments etc.

Sure, I am not disputing there will be cost variances in different locations for exactly the reasons you mention - that's just common sense and totally to be expected.

But do you have a view on the specific question I asked about loos and gutters in Galway - three times more expensive than Dublin - and finishes in Louth - twice the price of the Dublin?

I know you're not suggesting traffic management or health and safety is behind this variance.

So, if it is not massaging the figures by vested interests, what is the cause of such a large variance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭Villa05

Like an apprentice TD program over the last couple of pages with the dodging of the actual questions asked

Well done @hometruths great observations

Honestly don't know. I don't know enough about the industry and to be fair by your own admission neither do you. You've don't have any evidence that's it's the falsification of figures. Leaping to conclusions because you don't understand something is text book conspiracy theory.

Common sense is a meaningless phrase. Remember a few hundred years ago it was common sense that the sun went around the earth, it was common sense that the 4 humors were accurate when it comes to medicine. I could keep going with examples of how often common sense can be completely wrong. So common sense is evidence of nothing.

Again to talk about Galway are we talking about a house out in the middle of no where in Connemara or Galway city, or is it a rough average. Connemara is going to be more expensive due to less labour competition and higher travel and delivery costs. The point about finishes has been explained numerous times but you keep dismissing it. Again remember this Hypothetical house doesn't exist and if the report uses historical data from an area it will use the costs of a typical finish in this area.

You've made the assumption in one of your posts that everything in Dublin should cost more because it was common sense. Any decent knowledge of utilities/infrastructure/ construction/manufacturing would tell you urban areas provide large economies of scale that helps in a lot of ways versus more rural areas. Obviously it's not black and white but you are trying to apply "common sense" to a complex area. You need to be very careful of the Dunning Kruger effect.

Realistically to properly understand the differences you would need to review the details of the data, it's assumptions, where the figures that make up the data, limitations (no data set is perfect)etc etc,. You will also need a degree of knowledge about the industry.

You've made a huge leap to make an accusation that the figures have been falsified/massaged when some of your questions can be explained without even back of envelope calculations or any remote investigation of the data.

variance has to be down to mainly labour costs and land and house specs. As local markets will have different standards used.

Guttering should be same cost as long as work not required on drains and using like for like. Realistically the only difference should be that you may require more fixings on account of weather etc….. but suspect the example your using is using different materials e.g. more solid anti rust metal v cheap plastic guttering which would account for a price differential and one may be preferred/standard in a local market over another.

Loos as a product yet again should be the same if no work on drains required. But if work is required it will differ depending on the soil, access and etc and whether additional considerations are needed due to a flooding or old drainage etc….

The massaging of figures is mainly done on the profit on the land

• Registered Users Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭PommieBast

When did it actually properly end in Ireland? Was still just about a thing with my grandparents (married 1940) over in the UK.

1973 (I think) but continued into 80’s in practice just like the way equal pay for women didn’t happen the second the law was passed.

Should be the same - at least we're in agreement on that it would appear.

But clearly not the same as they are over three times more expensive in one region compared to another.

Still no clearer as to why that might be.

Yep, it's quite stunning the straws that some posters will clutch at, as well as the dodging and deflecting. I wish I understood the motivation.

You've made a huge leap to make an accusation that the figures have been falsified/massaged when some of your questions can be explained without even back of envelope calculations or any remote investigation of the data.

You keep saying this and that I've dismissed it, can you run those explanations past me again? I must have missed them.

Edit to add: Is it the finishes in Louth cost twice as much in Dublin because the average house in Louth needs a far higher standard of finish than the average house in Dublin in order to entice Dublin buyers?

are they identical specs and products used? Probably not that’s a small cost….main costs differences will be labour and land

So what if something costs 3 times, 100 times more so what? It's an observation fair enough but you have provided no evidence that's it's wrong. Your prejudices IE common sense are not evidence

All you done made a few observations which you don't understand fair enough and then jump straight to this is some big conspiracy about the figures being massaged. Again you have no evidence that the figures are wrong. Your only evidence is that they don't match your prejudices(IE common sense). Anyone who actually calls you out on this suddenly has malign motives. This approach is text book conspiracy theory. Look at vaccines denial, flat earthers etc you have the same approach. Find something they don't understand, don't make an effort to find/listen to boring if complicated explanation, jump to conspiracy, and then accuse anyone who calls them out as being part of the conspiracy. Your posts on the report follow that same process.

You have made some interesting observations. But all they are is observations. It would be interesting to see some of the reasons behind the actual figures. Particularly from someone with hard evidence or knowledge of the industry.

Building houses of any size and amount is complicated and requires specialist knowledge. It's no different from any occupation. A person may as well tell a doctor how to do their job because their "common sense" overrides years of training and experience.

Again don't know I don't have any specialist knowledge in the area and I'm not going to say the figures in the report are wrong because I don't understand them.

Or put it another way if you think the report is wrong can you provide a breakdown of what you think the costs should be in Louth versus Dublin? Provide what you think the Dublin cost should be and what you think the costs should be in Louth. Be as specific as you can and the reasons behind any differences.

Edit - just to clarify I don't doubt there are errors in the report particularly as it uses basically an imaginary house that doesn't actually exist. But in trying to cost this "average house" you have to make a lot of assumptions some which will better than others. You also have the normal statistical issues that come with using any average.