Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New electric shower issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭Umpalumpa

I know most of you think I'm the plumber but here is a screenshot of the conversation after it stopped working the first time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Doolittle51

Well if you haven't paid the invoice yet, then you're in a great position. Judging by his grasp of the english language though, he might not be the genius plumber he thinks he is. I'd be inclined to tell him to take his shower back and f** off with himself

It's fully paid for.He gave a receipt but I've asked for a detailed invoice for the work carried out

Sorry for your loss

Ye I'm pretty gutted.Im hoping the plumber will either send an electrican to sort it out or as an poster mentioned,just refit a power shower

I'll still report him either way but I'm pretty sure I'll be stuck replacing it at my cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Plumber can go to jail for this & €5000 fine. I'd imagine he'll do whatever it takes to avoid this.

It's not good enough that he rectifies himself or regular electrician. You must get the cert at the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,186 ✭✭✭standardg60

Apologies, it's so inept it's beyond belief it was installed by a 'company'.

So you knew the first time that it tripped the MCB yet because the light was off they blamed the switch?

Cowboys, is the inspector from safe electric?

Don't let them back in before he visits, cost arguments are the least of their worries I would think.

Ye emailed the inspector for my area on safe electric.

II'll Also give him a call tomorrow.If he does come out is there a cost?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,186 ✭✭✭standardg60

No, not if it's nothing to do with you.

Let us know how you get on.

Yep will do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭drury..

So whos idea was this change from power shower to instantaneous?

You say you know nothing about plumbing so you hardly made the request

I would have assumed plumber would simply swap like for like unless told otherwise , lot simpler for him

Maybe the sales pitch was instant hot water or something?

Absolutely no charge. His goal is safety and prevent deaths.

And here's the funny thing.I was told by an electrican in work that to change from a power shower to electric is a messy job so just get a power shower.

It was only after the job was done and I got home did I realise they fitted an electric shower at the same price quoted for a power shower.

When I spoke to the main fella the following morning ( It was 2 of his lads who fitted it ).he said it was miscommunication on his end.

Seems odd that they would go to that trouble

They knew to reconfigure the plumbing for instantaneous and proceeded with this additional work yet are so incompetent on the basic electrics needed for it

And you knew it was an instantaneous right away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭XsApollo

I wouldn’t let whoever did this back in the house, get your money back, any push back from them threaten them that you will report them. After you get your money back then report them.

Only for your posting history I would think this is a wind up.

Ye I'm going to push him tomorrow.Theres another little twist that I just found out

Plumber Who I contacted replaced an electric shower for me last year and his highly recommended for a couple people I know.

It turns out he got another company to fit the shower.He said originally he was sending a couple of his lads to do it but it was a different company.

I presume they share a lot of work between each other but I presume it's the out sourced company I need to chase

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭XsApollo

the outsourced company?

Who did you pay to do the job and who issued the receipt? That’s who you chase.

I paid the fellas who.installed the shower.I thought they just worked for the fella who I rang and did work for me before.

Receipt issued by the outsourced plumbers

I should have asked this the first day because if it was cheap enough then it totally removes the chance that it was done correctly. How much did you pay

In Dublin you will pay €1200 to €1500 for what you got done but done correctly and certed

Paid €800

Any word back from your plumber yet?

Yes but I have to constantly chase them.Im away at the moment so they are coming over Monday.Rang the main fella and he was evasive when I questioned him.

He said he will get it sorted no matter what it takes

How itf this ever happened , to change the plumbing and fit instantaneous and use existing electrics is baffling

The company was creating unnecessary work and hazards all around

You need a REC and a plumber to revert back to a power shower

The electrics for the existing instantaneous is major work with new wiring to shower and controller needed

They definitely didn't charge your for an electric shower installation at that price.

What is happening with Safe Electric? They should come out before original installer makes any further alterations.

Personally wouldn't let original installer back on the property. This is life and death. Their actions could kill you or a family member

What they were doing is beyond trouble

Fitting the instantaneous and then bypassing the switched fuse spur and no controller in place

Every competent plumber is well aware of the difference between power shower and instantaneous and the electrical requirements

Most power shower have far smaller than 2.5mm cable. Power runs from a 3 amp spur. Cable here could be as small as 1mm.

Original installer shouldn't be allowed back to make good. Even if he has REC to make safe he can't be allowed to get away only to do it again. This guy needs to be stopped forever

I've reported it online with safe electric but no reply yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭This is it

I thought you had someone confirmed to come out?

Edit, sorry, you said you had emailed and would call.

Ye I did call but was advised report it through rhe website and an inspector would be assigned

I'd have hoped they would arrange a home visit by now. Long delays allow rogue tradesmen time to make the work compliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Iguarantee

Your plumber has potentially installed electrical components that are neither fit-for-purpose, nor are they installed correctly as the law mandates.

This has happened me once in the past; a had a fire in my house as a result of incorrectly installed wiring. Whilst the fire was localised to the fuse board, it was my 3 year old daughter that spotted it (because I was taking a shower at the time).

I was extremely lucky, I wouldn't count on being that lucky again, so I ensure that any electrical work is carried out using the right components by someone who knows what they're doing and can substantiate that with the correct qualifications.

Your plumber may mean well (or they may just be cheap c*nts), but ask yourself this: how are they going to compensate you if your house burns down, or someone in it dies, as a direct result of their negligence?

Any feedback from Safe Electric yet?

Got an email asking me to fill out a detailed account of what happened.

Inspector hasn't come out

I'm stunned at how slow they are. I would have thought they would inspect the set up immediately for fear that you might let the tradesman rectify it instead of waiting

The slow response from safe electric is disappointing but not surprising really. The hassle involved in reporting an issue and providing a detailed account of the situation would put a lot of people off even bothering. A quick site visit by an inspector should be carried out without delay, but I guess their main job is to inspect REC's work, and maybe reports from lay people take second place.

If they really want to protect homeowners from unsafe electrical work, some serious ads might help. A humorous ad with a guy dressed as a cowboy does nothing to inform lay people of the risks of poor electrical work. People don't take things seriously if they are presented in a non serious fashion.

It would be much more helpful to inform people of the risks, with particular attention on high risk electrical work, like showers, car chargers, cookers etc. Most people probably aren't even aware that electrical work in bathrooms is restricted and needs to be certified by a REC. And most people have no idea which appliances use more power and present a higher risk of fire if installed incorrectly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,828 ✭✭✭meercat

unfortunately from a similar previous issue I encountered,safe electric will pass the buck to the C.R.U

They will only consider this if a rec did the work. They can then sanction their member.
    it’ll be a whole lot of hassle for the o.p

contact the CRU directly for a quicker response o.p

There has to be this procedure in place

Otherwise they'd be dealing with all manner of random telephone complaints etc.

I see you have another thread on this in consumer issues. How’d you get on with safe electric and cru. You’ll need some report if you’re trying a small claims court

Nothing with safe electric and CRU just took the details but nothing else.

Have a fella coming in next week to replace the electric shower with a power shower.

get some sort of report done as you have no chance of getting anything from small claims court without evidence

That’s a real issue with safe electric and cru .the time it takes to investigate.people can’t wait so long to get issues fixed and end up sorting them out before anything gets checked

I have all the messages between me and the plumber and a video that he sent me of the shower and switch when he installed it.

I'll get the new plumber to give a breakdown invoice of what he had to do.Hopefully that's enough to get a claim.I

Youll need to revert to the switched spur that was replaced

Ye had a plumber out and he knows what went on with the other fella.He said its an easy job

you’ll also need a rec to do this and provide a certificate and test records for this work

Ye he had an electrican out with him

I believe you😁