Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Army Chaplain stabbed in Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,215 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

The only difference for a sixteen year old is that he won't be named.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 49,843 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Well, he probably will be. In the sense that someone will post it to social media somewhere but name the wrong person…

For the second time, there's nothing in the Irish Times about Islamic propaganda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,332 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Fine, so most people will just jump to conclusions then as to these lads cultural backgrounds.

There are situations where the normal rules regarding identification of juveniles before the courts should be lifted as regards identification. For the greater common good.

And I'd hope that you might like to see the common good served??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

Well there was this morning when I read it, perhaps they edited the articles since then. They do mention radicalisation and issues with peacekeepers in Mali so I would be baffled if it was a different motivation to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,090 ✭✭✭suvigirl

There is nothing remotely in the common good from naming a juvenile, It's just plain nosiness.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 49,843 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

What greater common good is served by naming him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,319 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

So that Gripit or whatever it's called has less chance of misidentifying him and his family, thus far more families will be safe from the ensuing mob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,847 ✭✭✭Flaneur OBrien

Now this is before the courts, why is this thread still open?

Warned: If moderator intervention is required it is better to contact a moderator/report the thread.

Post edited by Big Bag of Chips on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,332 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

To cease speculation of course. It's clear that when accurate information is not supplied, then the public will make their own judgement. Going by the theory of the wisdom of crowds, it's likely that the public judgement will be correct in the absence of hard info.

If there are people who are genuinely concerned about this act being attributed unfairly to a cultural group not normally associated with Irish society, then they should too be urging clarification.

That some aren't leads one to suspect their true motives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,738 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

in fairness the Sunday World website has some informative details this morning.

The suspect family are originally from the U.K. and settled in ireland.

He had come to the attention of AGS because he was openly posting pro-ISIS material under his own name online

Suspect particularly obsessed with ISIS and Radical Islam

5 warning shots had to be discharged and 3 members of the army were involved in subduing his frenzied knife attack

My thoughts and prayers are with the innocent victim - the army chaplain Father Paul Murphy.

I hope the likes of the posters who want to quibble over minor issues will now realise the seriousness and concern over this dreadful attack.

Or you could just choose to stop speculating and stop justifying speculation?

Front headline of the Irish Daily Mail states “teenager planned attack on chaplain for days”

IF true this is even worse than a “spontaneous” incident - It shows hardened radicalised intent.

And then we have some contributors to the thread asking why I am concerned about Irish society and how it is developing.

And what sort of a country will be left for our children to deal with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,834 ✭✭✭volchitsa

Why “debatably”? I know lots of people were/are very eager to discount religion but that’s a stretch:

“He appears to have hated himself because he was a gay Muslim man. He couldn’t reconcile his religious beliefs with his own sexuality. There is no evidence to suggest he was seriously mentally ill or suffering from psychosis,” one source familiar with the case said.

Reem Alsalem UNSR Violence Against Women and Girls@UNSRVAW "Very concerned about these statements by the IOC at Paris2024 There are multiple international treaties and national constitutions that specifically refer to#women and their fundamental rights to equality and non-discrimination, so the world has a pretty good idea of what women -and men for that matter- are. Also, how can one assess whether fairness and justice has been reached if we do not know who we are being fair and just to?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,617 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Nothing in the Irish Times about Islamic propaganda.

Are we in a fake news alternate reality here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,486 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Not a new thing and not just linked to politics. The girlfriend got mugged on James Street (Dublin) in the late 90's, Gardai got a description, but off the record said they probably knew who it was but could do nothing about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,687 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

The SDU are investigating the incident due to a potential link to terrorism.

Early indications based on investigaton of his personal devices, suggest he may have been radicalised by extremist Islamist content online. He is allegedly already known to authorities, and was being monitored to some extent.

There has been an increase in dissemination of Jihadist propaganda and communications by organised extremist Jihadist groups and ideological supporters over the last year.

It started with the latest outbreak of hostilities between Israel and Hamas in Gaza in Oct '23; then the claimed Islamic State Khorasan Province attack in Moscow this year.

Calls for attacks in Europe ramped up with the UEFA games and the Olympics. International interagency counter terrorism operations have been successful this far.

Though low capability attacks with vehicle ramming and bladed weapons are the most credible threats emanating from unorganised and radicalised individuals.

I read somewhere that this kid may have spent time in the U.K., it's unknown at this time if he showed signs of radicalisation, either in person or, otherwise over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭eggy81

It’s suvigirl lad. She more than likely wrote the news. You should know that by now.

Warned: Trolling. Attack the post, not the poster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,717 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

…yup we ve done everything we can to fcuk this place up for our younger generations, the most serious issue being in regards housing, so, go us…..

Warned: Keep it civil please. The site has a swear filter for a reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,642 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Oh look, its the back seat mod laying down the law.

Warned: Report any post you have a problem with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,847 ✭✭✭Flaneur OBrien

And there's a report button as well ;)

Warned: Continuing to derail the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭mikethecop

Front headline of the Irish Daily Mail states “teenager planned attack on chaplain for days”

n fairness the Sunday World website has some informative details this morning.

The suspect family are originally from the U.K. and settled in ireland.

He had come to the attention of AGS because he was openly posting pro-ISIS material under his own name online

Suspect particularly obsessed with ISIS and Radical Islam

so radicalized Islamic terrorist who planned an specific attack on the chaplain …….

some people wont believe that there is a threat even when they feel the blade on their own neck , same happened in france , same in the UK Germany Belgium etc etc .

Again radical Islam is not compatible with western civilization and only one can exist in a single place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,090 ✭✭✭suvigirl

• Registered Users Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Nermal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,032 ✭✭✭Cordell

First step towards a solution would be admitting that we have a problem, and we're not there yet.

am i allowed to have an opinion now that the "facts" are as i suggested they were or is it the substance that disturbs you ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,258 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

If you are not going to contribute positively to society

then

you will receive nothing from the state.

There. We can add it to the Constitution.

It's not hard.

Strong sense that some posters on this thread would much prefer a “media blackout” with little to no facts given to the public, and then the whole incidence hushed up and forgotten about ASAP.

Why is that the case??

We need to discuss this problem transparently and openly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,981 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I think that if a minor is convicted of terrorist acts, they should be named after conviction.

The concern I have is that minors could be used as Trojan Horses to commit acts of terrorism, and if they are not named it may be easier for their "handlers" to use them for these acts.

Naming them might bring its own problems, but it's something that's on my mind anyway for the above reason.

admitting the problem is the first action and some deluded people are still a long way from that,

properly resourced and supported state security and effective and long lasting sentencing or removal of the threat

i get the feeling that security on military facilities have s suddenly become a lot tighter.