Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should people over 40 be banned from nightclubs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,326 ✭✭✭yagan

I can't help feel that the Examiner is grooming her as rage bait. It's very exploitive.

BTW, the last time I was at the EP I was in my thirties and there were a good contingent of much older folks which added to the chilled vibe.

There's no way I'd camp now but we're planning on getting a campervan in the coming years and I'd definitely be on for something the EP and other festivals around the EU.

• Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭thehairygrape

can't help feel that the Examiner is grooming her as rage bait. It's very exploitive

Think you’re right. But it’s a rock and a hard place. I know I shouldn’t react to it but by letting it go you’re almost condoning it. So you give them exactly what they want. Free clicks.

• Registered Users Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Luna84

Over 40 or 40 and above? 🤣 You don't make it clear. I'm 40 on the dot but I haven't been to a night club in a few years so that ugly young woman who wrote the article has nothing to worry about seeing me in a night club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

There's a facebook page called "raved in the 90's" This clown should look at it and see the videos of people in their 20's 30's 40's 50's 60's who were all able to enjoy a night out mixing together. Now we have the current crew her age who think every man over 40 is a sexual predator and if he smiles at her the Gards are called to have this deviant arrested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭Ezeoul

20 year old needs a lesson in ageism.

Whomever in the Irish Examiner that approved this person's "pieces" for publication needs a kick in the arse (and also a lesson in ageism).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,261 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Just another Irish journalist stealing a living writing any garbage that might possibly spark some sort of controversy.

"Old people are like, so old" said every generation in history.

I genuinely feel human beings are getting dumber by the minute.

I doubt anyone in her age bracket actually reads the examiner. I know when I was at that age I was too busy out socialising, which included going to lots of live music attended by people of all ages. Nightclubs obviously tended to have a younger cohort, but pubs weren't certainly not age segregated.

It really is pitiful publishing.

I think it's more than that. I don't think it's the writer stealing the living, but the publisher exploiting a naive person as a conduit to profit from the type of divisive clickbait that defines unregulated social media.

It's a black card for the examiner.

Edit to add that considering they are now part of the same group as the Irish Times they'd have learned from the fake tan cultural appropriation ragebait incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,121 ✭✭✭Bobson Dugnutt

A light-hearted article written by a young woman seems to be getting under the skin of some men. Probably the sort that think Michael O’Leary would be a great Taoiseach; that Ian O’Doherty talks a lot of sense, that Kevin Myers was badly treated, and that any music released since 1998 is terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭Ezeoul

And you can absolutely guarantee it will appear on any backgrund check ordered by a future employer.

Good point.

She probably thinks she is being witty and edgy. I blame the parents.

• Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭thehairygrape

if it was written by a young man I’d have the same reaction. I think Michael O’Leary would make an awful Taoiseach. No idea who O’Doherty is. Haven’t heard of Myers for years and good riddance. Love lots of new music. The latest Daniel O’Donnell release was a belter.
    The old light hearted trope has been used by men for eons to harass women. “Get ‘em out love, sure it’s just light-hearted banter”.

No, that article needs challenging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,186 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

© 1982 Sinclair Research Ltd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭DopeTech

Next we’ll need to get written approval from the president before passing wind. Get out the **** with people wanting to ban this that and the other. Let people live for Christ sake.

I’m not 40 yet but have no intention of frequenting nightclubs when I turn 40 but I shouldn’t be banned from them. Let adults adult whatever way they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69,422 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I think a lot of the laughing is at the OP who is so desperate to be down with and agreeing with the yutes.

Any birdies today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,531 ✭✭✭Heroditas

My wife read the article and also the one where she said she feels that full stops in text messages are aggressive and said "yer wan needs a slap and get over herself"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,121 ✭✭✭Bobson Dugnutt

Water off a duck’s back, Francie. Wouldn’t be letting the opinions of random strangers on the internet get to me. I’d suggest getting hot under the collar about a puff piece in the Cork Examiner isn’t great either.

4 birdies this morning. Playing very well at the moment. If I was able to putt then I’d be dangerous.

Maybe let the water exit the same way when you encounter bad click bait journalism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭eggy81

A great piece you described it as in your op. No need to back down to light hearted now that you see you’re pretty much on your own. Though I’d say you’re well used to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭Deregos.

"Real men don't dance, they sit, sweat and curse" .

Why wont GAA football fans these days admit Die Hard 5 is muck?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,261 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

I doubt it's getting under anyone's skin.

It's just the dullest sort of commentary imaginable.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,268 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

No, just another case of generation zzzzz thinking having access to a smart phone makes their opinion worth listening to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,602 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I don’t buy the examiner but if I did I’d just say after that, no more, blindingly brutal muppet journalism. 🤪 Trashy tabloidy, attention / reaction seeking BS…

Last nightclub I was in was either coppers, a party I was invited to or around the same time Tamangos for a family thing….

Both between 15-20 years ago….. didn’t like them then, haven’t changed my mind…. Places like that get hyped up beyond and then you go and are like, “ seriously, this is it like ? Errrr, after all the shouting and BS and paying X at the door and then X for drinks ..this is it…!?“. Before that one called (I think) the vaults ??? in the IFSC, work thing again.

if one of my younger cousins has a 21st or whatever and I get invited to X nightclub, I’ll show a face for two hours, exercise hopefully a right as an adult to enter a licensed premises and spend time there with whomever, buying food, drinks, enjoying it / not enjoying it, whatever..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭con___manx1

THe young people of today missed all the proper days of nightclubs and underground raves. They have no idea how **** it is today. The pubs were full even on weekdays during the early 2000s celtic tiger era.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,076 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Jaysis, if anyone’s still wondering why young people have no interest in Boards, this thread may offer a clue 😂

‘Twas a light-hearted piece, made me laugh, because I totally see where she’s coming from. Not for a moment do I think she’s actually serious about seeing anyone, regardless of their age or anything else, being banned from nightclubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,365 ✭✭✭pgj2015

There are still good raves to go to but the woman who wrote that stupid article is too boring to go to them. She will have settled down by 30 and be living an even more boring life then with no friends.

if anyone’s still wondering why young people have no interest in Boards,

Sssshhhh!!! Don't be giving her and the Examiner ideas for articles.
    Why do we have to be 'wondering' about who uses the site? Are ages in profiles?

And who cares? If they don't wanna use it, so what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,380 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Anyone saying " it was better in my day" is just old.

Things start to look different as you age but the experiences are usually the same for the generations.

Unless you had to go to war, then I guess you could legitimately tell the younger generation they have it easier than you did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭screamer

Couldnt give a rats if i never saw the inside of a nightclub again, but

its truly amazing how the all accepting, anything goes Gen Zers want to ban people…. perhaps not as woke as they make out to be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,365 ✭✭✭pgj2015