Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Captains/Presidents prize

• 19-08-2024 11:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭

Winner of our Presidents prize at the weekend now has 6 Presidents and 5 Captains to his name. This must be more than anyone in the country surely. I wonder is there anyone else around with a record like this?

Post edited by slave1 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭willabur

"record"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭Infoseeker1975

His prize should be that he has to be Captain or President the following year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Pdoghue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭blue note

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭coillcam

Nah put him as handicap sec or team manager for interclubs. Know's a thing or two that would no doubt help 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,116 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

they are all looking at me weirdly in the office here after I broke my shite laughing out loud at this one.

well you'd have to break your shite laughing because otherwise this type of carry on would break your heart.

i'm sure the gentleman in question is suitably embarrassed

• Administrators Posts: 54,417 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Are the handicap committee not empowered to make handicap adjustments for players like this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭Quahog217

Index is 7.7ish. could easily play off 2. Is actually well in with the committee and sponsors stuff and manages teams, what a great little club we have....I am so proud 😀

Sorry I should have added this gentleman won golfer of the year too last year.....and his handicap was higher at the end of the year than when he started 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭paulos53

I am fairly certain that I know the club and person in question. There won't be a hint of embarrassment

HC committee in their annual review can (and should) adjust someone's index when it isn't where it's meant to be.

I know but unfortunately this has not been done....also won the club matchplay last year! Some people are untouchable in certain clubs I guess. Also I think this person is on the committee with the people who are on the HC committee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

Your club should play the captains prize over 2 weekends. That way this guy will have his handicap cut twice to win the captains prize. That's what they did in my club to screw the cowboys.

It's played over 36 holes so you can get cut twice

but they can’t just cut the crap out of someone because they “could easily play off 2”

It would have to be based on returned scores. We don’t know what this guys scores have been

if only there was a way someone might be able to look up the scores returned for this individual……. They could even post screen shots here and not even embarrass the man (although by sounds of it he would be quite proud) because screen shots wouldn’t have to show his name or anything 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

Yes that's what I said. I think that was a genius idea.

I won't he posting any scores, general normal scores are between 28-32pts. Golfer of the year comps then from 38-44. Can turn it on like a switch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Must be throwing in a ton of general play rounds to work the handicap back up quickly too

100%. pure and simply cheating unfortunately and in broad daylight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭bakerbhoy

Only playing the system that is there.GI hold most of the responsibility with parameters governing the system. Have similar in my club.. Individual cut by HC comm by over 6 off index after complaint by interclub opponents. He has most of it worked off already… waste of time . these guys are just laughing at any HC sec trying to manage this.

Fair point....in this case he's actually on the committee so he pretty much has free reign.

so he is on the handicap committee and is facilitating himself to game the system by not abiding by the rules?

make a complaint to the committee and if they don't act, make a complaint to Golf Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭almostover

We had someone win our captains prize on the Aug bank holiday weekend by 13 shots! 18 hole qualifier followed by a 10 hole playoff. He was a nett 19 under par in total over 28 holes. Was cut 4 shots I believe and I heard he has 2 of them back already with the Preseidents prize coming up next weekend. Madness......the WHS is a sham really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭token56

Guy in our club won the captains prize last year by 9 strokes playing off a handicap of 37. Handicap reduce by normal WHS to 34 after but not touched by the committee. Didn't play the captains this year but another big comp win with 48 points, what can you do against that.

I think over 8 shots better than handicap is a 1 shot cut, over 10 is 2 shot cut

Should be automatically applied I think. For winter scores can be manually applied

I think you're right except I think it's based on the score differential rather than shots.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Nothing to do with WHS, all handicap systems can be manipulated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭DiegoWorst

While it is true that all handicap systems can be manipulated, it is the degree to which WHS can be manipulated that is worrying. Under this system, a handicap can increase by up to 5 shots per year. General Play is being used to accelerate that increase.

There are two clubs I know of that have presented Captains prizes to repeat winners, in both cases the winners had managed to claim the full 5 shots on top of their low index from the previous year.

He is on the club committee not the handicap committee but they wouldn't do anything anyway.

well you have to ask

Them if they refuse without valid reason and if there is valid reason that something should be done (we don’t know based on what you have told us) then you make complaints to golf Ireland

Simply moaning about it on the internet will not get you anywhere

That's a fair point will look into the golf ireland side of things

Exceptional score reduction is -1 when 7 shot better than HC and -2 for 10 shots better. It gets applied to the last 20 scores and only buffers out fully when 20 new scores come in.

@token56, there's a reason why most clubs now have a maximum handicap limit and require a full developed index (20+ scores) to win their comps. The wildest scores are usually from players who are new goflers with large handicaps. They rapidly drop their index and are almost guaranteed to have some huge scores within 6-12 months. Once they play more over time the handicap eventually aligns with their ability.

If yer man in this case is clearly sandbagging as soon as majors are done I'd be raging to not see it dealt with. I don't know what GI will do here tbh, they'll probably say talk to the handicap committee/secretary. If it was my club I round up a bunch of lads and vote some genuine people into committee roles to clean it up. You'd be surprised how much a small group can impact a club's trajectory. Worth considering canvassing now, well in advance of the AGM.

Regardless, it's another reason why the upward movement of handicaps needs to be restricted further. Allowing 5 shots back to a low single-digit player who's not experienced genuine physical/medical difficulties is just not realistic or fair. Too easy to manipulate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,055 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Interesting article -

https://irishgolfer.ie/latest-golf-news/2021/12/03/first-year-of-whs-has-not-gone-well-2/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭big_drive

Think a definite issue is that you can move your handicap very quickly in WHS. Before in old system the most you could get was a 0.1 back.

Now you can put in casual rounds plus 9 hole scores are allowed. Previously guys had to wait for a competition but now if they have the time available you could get multiple scores submitted in a week. I know in my club there's no fee to submit casual rounds, so the bandits don't even have to pay to build their handicap. At least before they'd have to do it through a competition and pay the entry fee.

So it's become easy enough to shoot a good score, win a prize and have the shots you lost gained back in a couple weeks ready to win another competition.

Thank you....don't want to mention names but as you can see there is no point in bringing this issue to the club.....nothing will be done.

One other note, I'm 99% sure one of the handicap committee has recently started working for golf ireland in some capacity......how fooooked up is that!!!

will look out for him so when the boards GS hit there in a few weeks time 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

I still haven't read how you effectively manage this to stop it happening. Without really going after specific people. And people like this can be litigious. It could be a minefield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭thewobbler

One solution might be to implement a “designated events” tool using WHS data.

This is back of a cigarette packet calculations, but say clubs were able to allocate up to 4 “designated events” per annum.

• each player’s handicap index on the day is derived from their single lowest index during the past calendar year.
    • A minimum of 6 qualifying rounds would be required to enter the event.
    • the maximum handicap for designated events would be 36.

I’m not saying this would definitely work. And I do think it would be a slow burner to get going. But I do believe that after 2-3 seasons, these “designated events” would either a) be the ones that members really cherish, or b) would prove my other longstanding theory that if there’s 100 mediocre golfers in a field, then at least one of them is going to shoot his lights out on any given day…. which isn’t cheating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 muck.savage

There was a captain's day played over 2 weekends in a club in West of ireland in first full year of WHS. The eventual winner had a great first round, so got cut. Then played a load of casual rounds during the week. He had a higher handicap for the second weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭blue note

I don't like the idea of naming and shaming the guy publicly. Aside from anything, we have no idea how accurate the OP is. It is easy enough for someone with an agenda to come onto a anonymous forum and put up a scurrilous story about someone. I'm not saying that's the case here, but I'd want to be certain of the story before discussing it with his name attached.

I'm not accusing you of lying OP and I acknowledge you didn't name him. But bashing someone based on an anonymous post on the internet is a dangerous practice. And anyone doing it should have a think about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,939 ✭✭✭Russman

Exactly this, its almost impossible to prove anything. IMHO, Golf Ireland won't go near an alleged situation like this with a 10 foot barge pole.

The worst thing is I knew when I paid my 25 quid to enter I had no chance but still done it haha

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Closing thread and deleting indications of person and club involved