Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vice President Kamala Harris vs Donald Trump 2024

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,033 ✭✭✭Flaneur OBrien

Well, it does work. People usually enjoy living in the same country as the family and friends they grew up with, and want their children to have the same or better opportunities.

Max pay is not $xx,xxx,xxx amount. It is based on how much your lowest paid member of staff is paid.

Say a CEO's pay was tied at a very generous 50 times what you lowest paid employee is paid (including bonuses) which is for argument sakes, $20,000 a year. The CEO would be paid $1,000,000.

It they want to be paid $1,500,000 a year, they have to increase that lowest paid salary to $30,000.

The only limit to the CEO's income is the maximum they can pay their lowest paid employee.

And like I say, if they don't like it, the door is open. Others will step in and take their place.

I would imagine its basically rounding the troops and good for moral in the party before the last push. i just dont think it has any effect on the outcome but thats just my opinion.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

True , but it's not really 11 weeks though, voting starts as early as September 6th in some States so he is rapidly running out of time to influence those voters before they get their ballots.

All through September , early voting opens up across multiple States , including big swing states like PA and WA .

Then you look at the stuff that's going to be front page news all through September.

• September 5th - He's in court for the DC Election interference case.
    • September 6th - He's back in NY for his E Jean Carroll appeal hearings
    • September 16th — Update from Judge Marchan on the impact of the SCOTUS immunity ruling on the Stormy Daniels case
    • September 18th - Sentencing hearing for above case (subject to the ruling on the 16th)

Time is NOT on his side for this new plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,711 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

The point is not that there isn't the time for things to change it is whether Trump has the ability to change.

He has shown nothing in the last 8 years to suggest he has the ability to adapt. He has one way. Punch down. Attack and belittle.

That isn't working atm. It might, but current evidence suggests it won't. So he needs a new approach. The last few weeks have, if anything, seen him double down on his strategy rather than looking to change.

Yesterday he posted fake Taylor Swift pictures and a video accusing Kamala of sleeping her way to the top. So no evidence of change there.

The polls are not the problem. The gaps are within MoE in most cases. The issue is that what can Trump do to reverse the momentum? He has had his conference. Had the assignation attempt. I don't see where the positive news comes from.

There is little doubt that Trump will score some hits, but he seems incapable of sticking to any one message and so any bump will be short lived as he creates yet another gaff.

but all that front page news stuff could be a boost for Trump..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,270 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

An appeal for rape and an election interference case is unlikely to win him votes with undecideds. Those who it will likely influence are the people who are voting for him no matter what. For others it's simply drawing attention to how unsavory he is.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

How ?

None of his "appeals" hold any legal water - They are utter nonsense and are re-hashes of the same appeals that have failed before and will get bounced in short order , just like all the others.

All they do is remind everyone that he's a convicted criminal and accused of Treason.

The only one that is possibly good news for Trump is if Merchan decides that some or all of his 34 convictions in NY are invalid because of the SCOTUS ruling.

Now , obviously that's good news personally for Trump in that he doesn't go to jail but politically , I'd argue that a ruling like that would actually favour Harris as she can point to the massive risks of having Presidential immunity etc.

I don't see Trump winning more votes because he gets off on what is essentially a technicality given to him by hand picked SCOTUS seats - The people that agree with that ruling are already voting for Trump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭Rawr

The court dates might help him a little, depending on how he handles it I guess. If he leans into his boring old complaints about how the judges work for Biden etc…that likely won't do much for him.

I had worried before about how a conviction would be spun by Donnie if he was leading in the polls. He could have easily spun it as "Election Interference" and "the Dems trying to steal the election!!!1!". But now that everything turning into such a very public failure for him, I suspect that this line of attack won't resonate as well when it looks like he will likely be beaten anyway, conviction or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭erlichbachman

That sounds great, but this is corporate tax, and corporations have no emotional bond to a country. What it actually means is more of the larger corporations will base elsewhere for tax incentives, and that means less tax paid and less jobs in Kamala’s USSA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭Repo101

While I would agree with most of what you have said, I strongly disagree with the momentum being against Trump. Harris hasn't really been able to differentiate herself from Biden to the average voter. Yes, she has much more appeal to the left, but I think this will be at the expense of of the center and center-right democrats. Outside of the age issue, Harris carries all the same problems Biden had, including Israel-Palestine.

I strongly doubt Middle America will see much appeal in voting for either.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 27,121 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Those protesting are overwhelmingly unlikely to have ever voted in the first place to be honest.

You'd have to demonstrate that this actually leads to a tangible exodus of companies and I'm doubtful if that's particularly true. Meanwhile Trump has already praised Musk going up against unions and firing whoever he wants. So I'm not seeing any indication that he's better for the future of workers.j

Plus increased taxation can have knock on impacts in payback to the average person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭Rawr

Comraide Kamala's USSA!

Ah….bless. It's not going well in MAGAworld these days is it? I get it, it's not fun to be part of a decaying and weird idioligy based on little more than hating anything that goes against your beloved Orange Lummox. Got nothing useful to add, so lets just pretend that everything we don't like is Communism. Let's make seemingly clever plays on old state ancronyms. That'll make it better….right?

So now we have a USSA? I wonder if that goes well with the Trump's pro-Russia GOCCCP? See, I can do it too. And of course…it means nothing.

That view isn't supported by the data available, which shows her picking up support across the spectrum of voters not just from "the left".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,548 ✭✭✭weisses

And how are you challenging the narrative exactly?…. If you do it honestly you bring up valid counterpoints (arguments) to challenge said narrative. So far I have seen little constructive debate from you.

Trump is a convicted felon etc but none of that which is in the news for the last few years has had an effect on his popularity. the election is still 50/50. it is being completely over estimated the bearing trumps demeanours will have on the outcome of this election, voters dont actually care either way. Trump will be headline news 4 weeks out from the election and is reflective of that famous Oscar Wilde quote. it will not harm him anyway.

thats your opinion. i have brought up numerous arguments. dont know how i am dangerous though ?

There are already laws on the books preventing them from doing that to any great degree (or at least anymore than they do now).

The proposed increase in Corporation tax still leaves it lower than it was before Trump cut it to benefit himself and his donors.

That cut didn't bring any growth or any benefits to the US Economy - It just fed Shareholder payouts and share buy back schemes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,548 ✭✭✭weisses

No its a fact ….. Give me a few examples of a valid counterpoints you offered to challenge the narrative on this thread, resulting in a healthy debate… I couldn't find any going over your posts, I might missed them, as you seem to know straight away you brought up numerous arguments you might want to link them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,294 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

America is screwed either way, but in very different ways, depending on how you want to be screwed.

Screwed by being led by a ticket that is veering its party ever further towards full-on socialism, or screwed by being led by a narcissistic strongman wannabe with the moral decency of a cabbage.

the fact that Kamala has been able to get away with doing no political interviews or outlining any real policies until now is a testament to just how bad the Trump campaign is, and how utterly ludicrous he is.

i mean this - if the GOP could have even moderately reformed and got away from him, Kamala would be toast. she is utterly vacuous without a shred of genuine likeability, while her running mate seems like he's insane. but the GOP didn't do that, and so we have what we have.

the choice Americans have is an utterly lamentable one. it really is.

Do you think undecideds are gonna be persuaded by ongoing legal cases including an appeal on a rape? Before you said the campaign has a strategy, now it's hoping that his criminality gives him a bump in the polls. The more likely scenario is that gives Harris an easy avenue for attacking Trump and playing up the prosecutor angle.

well you obviously didnt look to far, look at the last 2 pages of this thread. you will see plenty of argumenting/debating.

Because of the nonsense that is the Electoral college , US Elections are always close to 50:50 no matter who the candidates are , which is why small moves in a small number of places make a huge difference.

Harris will win the popular vote by 3 or 4% at least and possibly more , but the Election will be decided by a few hundred thousand voters across 5 or 6 States.

If you think that a constant barrage of news about Trump being a rapist and a convicted felon that isn't even allowed to vote in the Election he is running in will be a positive for Trump because "all publicity is good publicity" I think you are mistaken.

The news that the FBI were taking another look at the evidence around Clintons email server stuff had a massive impact on the final result.

And , just like Trumps news , that was all information that had been out there and discussed for months and months before , but the idea that there might be something new tipped the scales , even when there wasn't.

Trump being actually convicted and given a suspended sentence along with more fines (which I think is the likeliest outcome) will absolutely shift the needle.

It's largely moving the goal posts when you abandon your previous points.

"Veering towards Full on Socialism" - Ah would you stop.

Nothing and I mean NOTHING being proposed by the Democrats in the US is even remotely close to a distant cousin of Socialism.

Please explain what things you think are examples of "full on Socialism"? given that everything being suggested by them are fairly watered-down versions of policies that exist in almost every other democratic country on earth , none of which are havens for "full on socialism"

you are misrepresenting what i said. i said trump has plenty of time for a strategy with Harris and it was the op who brought up trumps trials not me - i just answered saying he might get a bump from it and he might not. i have no idea what will make undecideds vote either way most likely the economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Yvonne007

Some of Kamala's policies sound really good for the American people. If only she had been in some sort of position of authority for the past 3 years to implement them…

And if it's the economy that will be the most important - Which it usually is to be fair, then Trump is in trouble there too as all the indicators are going in the wrong direction for him.

Inflation is dropping fast , Interest rates are about to be cut , Wages are increasing and most economists are saying that the threat of recession is receding fast.

Trump has tried twice now in the last week to talk about the economy (where he could make in-roads if done right) but each time he lasted about 5 minutes before he wandered back to his usual output of personal insults and whining about stolen elections and how everyone is mean to him.

Trumps path to victory such as it is is , requires strict message discipline from him - And there is 50+ years of evidence showing he is incapable of that.

As pointed out already, postal voting starts in a few weeks so he's potentially losing a load of potential voters. Trump equally has made it clear that he's unwilling to follow any strategy his staff give him. Assuming a rape appeal might gain him voters is also a pretty huge leap, if anything it brings the kind of individual he is into sharp focus, just weeks before the election.

At the current rate, it feels like people will be saying two weeks out that he's got loads of time to change his attitude.