Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Newstalk Megathread Nov 2022

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,436 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

If the match is more important for both them and spectators, maybe it's time this anthem charade was dropped altogether.

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭Mohat Mogeansai

if anyone at newstalk catches wind of any anti anthem sentient , than before you know it we have the topic-of-the-day thing , with them all self righteously indignant harumping any semblance of something traditional and old fashioned ( which may be a valid point about something extolling the virtues of blood sacrifices for the motherland etc) .

However , this will envitably lead to a social media campaign to “ update “ the anthem and before you know it we’ll have Jonny Logan presenting a tacky tv show to give us a nice modern ,wishy washy, fastidiously catholic scrubbed , gender,carbon , but not politically neutral ,over wrought show tune sang by Panti Bliss and a newly arrived Tent Enthusiast .

And we should call it Bitchz Do Be Tripping To The Irish Stylee

this whole eat the rich stuff isn’t landing when this guy sounds like the Duke of Kiddiminster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,662 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

What imbecile decides what makes it into the hourly news?

Benjamin Netanyahu has addressed the US congress. Peter Andre has defended Strictly.

Those were the last two stories at 9 o'clock.

when it’s Peter Andre addressing the UN , and Benny N cha cha cha-big in strictly , then it’s possibly news . Rihanna saying she watched Banshees isn’t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭Field east

Psychopaths

An individual on Newstalk , this morning, Thursday between 7.30 to8 am talking about a report on psychopaths. The damage they can do , how to ‘spot’ them in an interview, etc, etc,
    Has anyone out there have an idea of how to get hold of the report

aren’t physcopaths what cockneys use to bike to work in the mornings ?

Sick of hearing about Saoirse Ronan getting married for the 101st time.

• Registered Users Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Zymurgist

What exactly is the relationship between Newstalk and the Communications Clinic?

I see they have been sending their Head of training to discuss things with Pat Kenny on a fairly regular basis in addition to Terry Prone who seem to have a standing twice weekly invite to the station.

It seems odd that a communications training organisation is on talking about any and everything, nevermind the fact that Terry Prone is Anton's mother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,441 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Supposedly they give an "expert opinion" on how the Government and others should be communicating. Anton worked on Today FM before Newstalk. He's not the worst for the lightweight stuff.

Wouldn't be surprised if some of these contributers pay for the privilege.

Oh dear, let's not call the poor old vulture funds "vulture funds".

• Registered Users Posts: 176 ✭✭sub3wannabe

This new show Unified on a Sunday evening is pretty loony left stuff.

Openly debating transitioning children. God for the days of Glenroe.

Post edited by sub3wannabe on

Where do they get all these IDF apologists? The ridiculously named Daniel Epstein O'Dowd.

Whatever about "bar room bores", Healy being an EV cheerleading bore.

• Registered Users Posts: 167 ✭✭deise man

He was exceptionally annoying this morning. Had the misfortune of hearing him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,141 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

I turned on the end of Newstalk Breakfast on Wednesday just as they were finishing up. Healy read out a listeners text that started along the lines of the listener not felling safe in Dublin City centre, no go areas etc. Coleman wouldn't even let Healy finish reading the text and went on a rant saying his 16 year old daughter goes into the city centre so it must be safe. He wouldn't allow Healy even butt back in.

It tells a lot when I felt sorry for Healy to have to work with Coleman, usually I feel sorry for anybody who has to work with Healy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Anyone else find Shane Beatty's news bulletins on Newstalk Breakfast incredible annoying? He raced through two actual news items just now this morning before proceeding to add his own fluff piece about crocs being cool again, or something along those lines. Hardly qualifies as news and is a very obvious attempt to force his personality onto the show.

Just read the bloody news!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Coleman gets obnoxious when he clambers onto his high horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭Expunge

Yeah. The Camp voice plus the PR fluff "surveys" used at the end of almost every bulletin (the kicker!) is really hard to take. It gives the "talent" something to riff on with hilarious consequences.

Their JNLR numbers are up so somebody likes it!

Also, with the former Newstalk editor going over to Montrose to run the radio business over there from next month, expect raucous hilarity at the various junctions on Morning Ireland and News at One.

That virus has already eaten in to Drivetime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,791 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

had stephenie priesner on this week instead of Moncrieff. It meant the Pat Kenny Show was the only time is was possible to listen to newstalk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Much prefer Stephie P over Tom Dunne or Luke O’Neill standing in.

Don't get me Tom is great at the music show and Luke is grand with the science slots, and podcasts, just not a fan of them taking the reins from Seán.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

On again today. It's like someone's mam presenting a show.

(She is a mam as she keeps reminding us)

I really want to listen to movies and booze on Moncrieff, like every week. I'm not sure I can bring myself to listen to an our of her. Did she mention she developed autism ?

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭rdser

Hes obnoxious...on his horse or not. A more arrogant presenter you would be hatd pressed to find.

no can't listened to them. Sean was the only thing that made it listenable. that group chattering now are fecking painful

The slot with herself and another mam discussing bringing kids to a festival when neither of them have been to one was a joke.

Thankfully nearly over now, she never adds anything interesting to the conversation. Please come back Sean.

• Registered Users Posts: 660 ✭✭✭mjsc1970

The permanently offended for others now offended at an RSA ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

At this stage I'm beginning to suspect that these "permanently offended" are just members of the media creating outrage for them to "report" on..